Nigerian scammer duped into handwriting Harry Potter :)

• 12-09-2009 09:06PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭joseph brand

This is Golden, just feckin hilarious.

TITLE: Harry Potter & The Well of Scammers
    SCAMMER NAME: Joyce Ozioma
    SCAMMER LOCATION: Nigeria
    SCAMBAITER: Shiver Metimbers

http://419eater.com/html/joyce_ozioma.htm

What better way to keep a scammer busy than to make them copy an entire book by hand?

there are links to all her hand written pages (293) . ROFL :D:D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

If you ever need proof there is a god! :D
    LOL Classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭sean0

lollol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Nahh.. give me David 'Spider letter' Thorne any day.

No offence, just not my thing.
    Also, who's sad enough to scan 290 pages as well?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Brilliant! :)

I like the carved head one on 419eater.com.

Here we go http://419eater.com/html/bigman.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

this story is awesome and it should be known. At least one scammer out there got what was coming to him....maybe Sony should incorporate it into their latest ad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭joseph brand

http://www.419eater.com/html/trophy_room.htm

Down the page of photographed scammers, on the left, is a guy with a loaf of bread, (I think) on his head. hahaahahahaha

They obviously have a good sense of humur. :rolleyes:

I can't really access these photos. If anyone can find these or others, please post them up. Give us all a good larf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

It was kinda funny... More the circumstances, not the content of the messages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

419eater is fairly cringey by and large. During the 3 or 4 tales I've read over the years I've felt like I'm catching loserdom from the sado's who spend days emailing d'Africans, putting these stories together, scanning those pages, etc etc.

Spider letter F T ultimate W.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I liked the story, the con man got conned:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Ruu wrote: »
    Brilliant! :)

I like the carved head one on 419eater.com.

Here we go http://419eater.com/html/bigman.htm

WOW. He gets the guy to carve a head, then paint a 17ft pirate poster, (which he fakes), and then we end up with a 'Dead Parrot sketch' acted by some Nigerians. LOL

The carved head is pretty cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Flying Abruptly

That was brillant, funniest thing I've read in awhile. I really dont know how people can fall for these emails. Those Nigerians must think theyre the smartest people in the world sitting in their internet cafes coming up with those sh!tty elaborate stories and sitting back waiting for the money to start rolling in.
    brummytom wrote: »
    Nahh.. give me David 'Spider letter' Thorne any
    Also, who's sad enough to scan 290 pages as well?!
    Those stupid scammers who thought they were getting paid for it,thats who. The guy who posted this only had to post them from his email.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

lol! They fell for a story as unbelievable as their own! Classic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Read about this before, absolute classic.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

I love that site, check this one out - he made an idiot scammer read the entire hitch-hikers guide to the galaxy book aloud, and he put it up online. Pure hilarity!

http://419eater.com/html/booked.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭procure11

I think it commendable that these fraudsters are being caught at their own game....but I have some issues though:

As a Nigerian myself

>There is evidence that suggest that not all this ridiculous emails/letters etc emanates from Nigeria or Nigerians.This Model(so to speak) is being copied /emulated by gangs in other African countries/Middle east/Europe.

>Secondly ,in all honesty anyone that falls for these scams is just as greedy as the scammers themselves.I have had the misfortune of reading some of these texts and it all sounds very ridiculous and unbelievable that only a fool would fall for them.

I think the strategy is to appeal to the greedy and dishonest(that want to reap from where they have not sown) but surprisingly there is a huge market out there unless this would be not be an issue at all.

Why would any sensible or sane individual give money out in return for some bounty they are not entitled to! thats a personal problem not a Nigerian problem tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

procure11 wrote: »
    >There is evidence that suggest that not all this ridiculous emails/letters etc emanates from Nigeria or Nigerians.This Model(so to speak) is being copied /emulated by gangs in other African countries/Middle east/Europe.

Yeah, I've read (in a book :cool:) that it's quite common in Holland as well.

Had a look through 419eater only the other day. This has to be the best pic from the trophy room:

http://forum.419eater.com/forum/album_pic.php?pic_id=16&full=true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Flying Abruptly

hat not all this ridiculous emails/letters etc emanates from Nigeria or Nigerians.This Model(so to speak) is being copied /emulated by gangs in other African countries/Middle east/Europe.

Agree aswell, ive been getting a few emails from scammers posings as AIB with email domains and links to tawain. Its crazy when they expect you to believe its actually an offical email from AIB when the emails are things bimiz8674[at]hotmail.com

I find it hard to believe that these attempted scams are still going on!

Surely by now everyone should be aware of their existance! It must be worth their while sending out the spam, otherwise they'd have given up!

It's the fake bank emails that annoy me more!

Possibly ,I am not aware of that.While I am not condoning the actions of a few(being the operation word) Nigerians...those that fall for such idiotic narratives are just as guilty.
    I have read Medical doctors/Phd holders etc losing their life-savings to some Nigerian youths that have not completed the equivalent of a leaving cert,how do you explain that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

This one is absolutely brilliant. He manages to convince the scammer out of money not once but twice.:D

http://www.419eater.com/html/joe_eboh.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I have read Medical doctors/Phd holders etc losing their life-savings to some Nigerian youths that have not completed the equivalent of a leaving cert,how do you explain that?

Hefty medical school/post-grad loan bills?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Rev. BlueJeans

I think it commendable that these fraudsters are being caught at their own game....but I have some issues though:

As a Nigerian myself

True. The overwhelming majority of advance fee fraud etc., is overwhelmingly Nigerian. The police response is farcical at best over there, which promotes the activity. While the Russians etc. and Bangladeshis are creating an increased presence of their own, this still remains the case.
    Secondly ,in all honesty anyone that falls for these scams is just as greedy as the scammers themselves.I have had the misfortune of reading some of these texts and it all sounds very ridiculous and unbelievable that only a fool would fall for them.

Ah here it comes, the sound of the other shoe. The next response from those who scam (and yes, I've come across quite a few, I baited scammers from years, most of 'em spoke Igbo or Yoruba), is that they only do it to get their own back on the "white man" (their phrase).
    think the strategy is to appeal to the greedy and dishonest(that want to reap from where they have not sown) but surprisingly there is a huge market out there unless this would be not be an issue at all.

Not the case. This is an over simplistic and over sympathetic argument. Nigerian 419 scammers (they are the vast majority, and I make no apology for referring to them as such), make fraudulent bids on advertised goods, paying with fake cheques, they phish bank account info, they pose as attractive men or women seeking love (sweetheart scams), and take the identity of terminally ill patients in order to tug at the heartstrings of the victim.
    would any sensible or sane individual give money out in return for some bounty they are not entitled to! thats a personal problem not a Nigerian problem tbh

Unbelievable.

That is quite true. Among the Nigerian ex-pat community. Cases have come to light here as well, unfortunately :(
    Possibly ,I am not aware of that.While I am not condoning the actions of a few(being the operation word) Nigerians...those that fall for such idiotic narratives are just as guilty.

A number of reasons. Sheer volume of numbers, variance, a speckling of greed/loneliness/willingness to help, the fact that many people are unaware of such scams, however clumsy the execution, and a bit of old fashioned stupidity.

Sure, we're just as guilty as those poor Nigerians. We're not all mugus, you know.

As a Nigerian myself

>Secondly ,in all honesty anyone that falls for these scams is just as greedy as the scammers themselves.I have had the misfortune of reading some of these texts and it all sounds very ridiculous and unbelievable that only a fool would fall for them.

I think the strategy is to appeal to the greedy and dishonest(that want to reap from where they have not sown) but surprisingly there is a huge market out there unless this would be not be an issue at all.

Why would any sensible or sane individual give money out in return for some bounty they are not entitled to! thats a personal problem not a Nigerian problem tbh

Certain individuals are greedy by nature and seem to lose all commonsense when the carrot of easy money is dangled in front of them! Some get what they deserve!

The worst ones are the "sob stories", these leeches will bleed dry any gullible individual that is stupid enough to fall for the line - scambaiters tend to hang these out to dry.

Hefty medical school/post-grad loan bills?

Abysmal!!

There is absolutely no reason to justify participating in such practices,this is not paddypower or bingo where you are aware of all the variables.

The perpetrators of this crimes could also justify their actions to poverty or the need to drive a merc!

You want a good life, you work for it and bear the cost!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Rev. BlueJeans

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/cambridgeshire/3444307.stm

Did this fellow deserve what happened to him then?

Some people will justify anything...
    Abysmal!!

There is absolutely no reason to justify participating in such practices,this is not paddypower or bingo where you are aware of all the variables.

The perpetrators of this crimes could also justify their actions to poverty or the need to drive a merc!

You want a good life, you work for it and bear the cost!

Poor sod! that scam was the last straw for him, but he was in dire straits already.

I remember the former Mayor of Northampton falling for a scam as well and took the money personally to a southern African country and was taken hostage.

edit: linkey http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/1438872.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

What better way to keep a scammer busy than to make them copy an entire book by hand?

there are links to all her hand written pages (293) . ROFL :D:D:D

ROFLMFAO :D:D:D

Scammer fail! :D:D:D:D

True. The overwhelming majority of advance fee fraud etc., is overwhelmingly Nigerian. The police response is farcical at best over there, which promotes the activity. While the Russians etc. and Bangladeshis are creating an increased presence of their own, this still remains the case.

Ah here it comes, the sound of the other shoe. The next response from those who scam (and yes, I've come across quite a few, I baited scammers from years, most of 'em spoke Igbo or Yoruba), is that they only do it to get their own back on the "white man" (their phrase).

Not the case. This is an over simplistic and over sympathetic argument. Nigerian 419 scammers (they are the vast majority, and I make no apology for referring to them as such), make fraudulent bids on advertised goods, paying with fake cheques, they phish bank account info, they pose as attractive men or women seeking love (sweetheart scams), and take the identity of terminally ill patients in order to tug at the heartstrings of the victim.

Unbelievable.

That is quite true. Among the Nigerian ex-pat community. Cases have come to light here as well, unfortunately :(

A number of reasons. Sheer volume of numbers, variance, a speckling of greed/loneliness/willingness to help, the fact that many people are unaware of such scams, however clumsy the execution, and a bit of old fashioned stupidity.

Sure, we're just as guilty as those poor Nigerians. We're not all mugus, you know.

You mentioned that you have baited scammers for years ....interesting that you didnt start from home ,you could have been quite busy with property developers and some bank officials.

I repeatedly mentioned in earlier posts that Yes! some Nigerians participate in these fraudulent practices but like a poster mentioned banks in Ireland repeatedly warn customers every month/week/day about divulging their personal details from infilterators...you are surely not going to blame Nigerians for that...Are Ya ?

Yes ,admittedly Nigeria has serious problems with Corruption and fraud but it is in the open and if you look closely efforts are being made to curtail it.

Nigeria has sacked Ceo of banks and arrested them for fraudulent practices and also chasing loan defaulters that benefitted from gross misappropriation of funds:

http://allafrica.com/stories/200908210004.html
    http://allafrica.com/stories/200908250008.html
    and yet some countries are still pussy-footing about bringing defaulters to justice.
    (Read the website quotes above if you can).

You have come across a few Nigerians ( lets say 100 or maybe 1000)...how many of them actually??...we have a population of arguably over 150 million and you have come to a conclusion to refer to them as Nigerian 419 scammers and you expect me or any rational person to take you seriously!

The world we live in nowadays requires a high level of vigilance .Every website that offers goods and services for sale reiterates the need to be smart and watchful.Fraud happens all the time from Irish nationwide to NNPC in Nigeria to the wall street.It is your prerogative to cop on and tread carefully.

Hey Rev...I would never condone any form of fraud but it is also good to use some form of common sense.

He worked in an Higher institution and should have known better .Lets face reality what is "INTERNET LOTTERY"...doesnt make sense tbh.

He was expecting gains from a lottery he never subscribed to in the first place...simply wrong!