Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nigerian scammer duped into handwriting Harry Potter :)

• 12-09-2009 8:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

This is Golden, just feckin hilarious.

TITLE: Harry Potter & The Well of Scammers
    SCAMMER NAME: Joyce Ozioma
    SCAMMER LOCATION: Nigeria
    SCAMBAITER: Shiver Metimbers

http://419eater.com/html/joyce_ozioma.htm

What better way to keep a scammer busy than to make them copy an entire book by hand?

there are links to all her hand written pages (293) . ROFL :D:D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

If you ever need proof there is a god! :D
    LOL Classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭sean0

lollol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Nahh.. give me David 'Spider letter' Thorne any day.

No offence, just not my thing.
    Also, who's sad enough to scan 290 pages as well?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Brilliant! :)

I like the carved head one on 419eater.com.

Here we go http://419eater.com/html/bigman.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

this story is awesome and it should be known. At least one scammer out there got what was coming to him....maybe Sony should incorporate it into their latest ad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

http://www.419eater.com/html/trophy_room.htm

Down the page of photographed scammers, on the left, is a guy with a loaf of bread, (I think) on his head. hahaahahahaha

They obviously have a good sense of humur. :rolleyes:

I can't really access these photos. If anyone can find these or others, please post them up. Give us all a good larf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

It was kinda funny... More the circumstances, not the content of the messages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

419eater is fairly cringey by and large. During the 3 or 4 tales I've read over the years I've felt like I'm catching loserdom from the sado's who spend days emailing d'Africans, putting these stories together, scanning those pages, etc etc.

Spider letter F T ultimate W.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I liked the story, the con man got conned:D

Ruu wrote: »

WOW. He gets the guy to carve a head, then paint a 17ft pirate poster, (which he fakes), and then we end up with a 'Dead Parrot sketch' acted by some Nigerians. LOL

The carved head is pretty cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Flying Abruptly

That was brillant, funniest thing I've read in awhile. I really dont know how people can fall for these emails. Those Nigerians must think theyre the smartest people in the world sitting in their internet cafes coming up with those sh!tty elaborate stories and sitting back waiting for the money to start rolling in.
    brummytom wrote: »
    Nahh.. give me David 'Spider letter' Thorne any
    Also, who's sad enough to scan 290 pages as well?!
    Those stupid scammers who thought they were getting paid for it,thats who. The guy who posted this only had to post them from his email.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

lol! They fell for a story as unbelievable as their own! Classic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Read about this before, absolute classic.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

I love that site, check this one out - he made an idiot scammer read the entire hitch-hikers guide to the galaxy book aloud, and he put it up online. Pure hilarity!

http://419eater.com/html/booked.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭procure11

I think it commendable that these fraudsters are being caught at their own game....but I have some issues though:

As a Nigerian myself

>There is evidence that suggest that not all this ridiculous emails/letters etc emanates from Nigeria or Nigerians.This Model(so to speak) is being copied /emulated by gangs in other African countries/Middle east/Europe.

>Secondly ,in all honesty anyone that falls for these scams is just as greedy as the scammers themselves.I have had the misfortune of reading some of these texts and it all sounds very ridiculous and unbelievable that only a fool would fall for them.

I think the strategy is to appeal to the greedy and dishonest(that want to reap from where they have not sown) but surprisingly there is a huge market out there unless this would be not be an issue at all.

Why would any sensible or sane individual give money out in return for some bounty they are not entitled to! thats a personal problem not a Nigerian problem tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

procure11 wrote: »
    >There is evidence that suggest that not all this ridiculous emails/letters etc emanates from Nigeria or Nigerians.This Model(so to speak) is being copied /emulated by gangs in other African countries/Middle east/Europe.

Yeah, I've read (in a book :cool:) that it's quite common in Holland as well.

Had a look through 419eater only the other day. This has to be the best pic from the trophy room:

http://forum.419eater.com/forum/album_pic.php?pic_id=16&full=true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Flying Abruptly

hat not all this ridiculous emails/letters etc emanates from Nigeria or Nigerians.This Model(so to speak) is being copied /emulated by gangs in other African countries/Middle east/Europe.

Agree aswell, ive been getting a few emails from scammers posings as AIB with email domains and links to tawain. Its crazy when they expect you to believe its actually an offical email from AIB when the emails are things bimiz8674[at]hotmail.com

I find it hard to believe that these attempted scams are still going on!

Surely by now everyone should be aware of their existance! It must be worth their while sending out the spam, otherwise they'd have given up!

It's the fake bank emails that annoy me more!

Possibly ,I am not aware of that.While I am not condoning the actions of a few(being the operation word) Nigerians...those that fall for such idiotic narratives are just as guilty.
    I have read Medical doctors/Phd holders etc losing their life-savings to some Nigerian youths that have not completed the equivalent of a leaving cert,how do you explain that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

This one is absolutely brilliant. He manages to convince the scammer out of money not once but twice.:D

http://www.419eater.com/html/joe_eboh.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I have read Medical doctors/Phd holders etc losing their life-savings to some Nigerian youths that have not completed the equivalent of a leaving cert,how do you explain that?

Hefty medical school/post-grad loan bills?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Rev. BlueJeans

I think it commendable that these fraudsters are being caught at their own game....but I have some issues though:

As a Nigerian myself

True. The overwhelming majority of advance fee fraud etc., is overwhelmingly Nigerian. The police response is farcical at best over there, which promotes the activity. While the Russians etc. and Bangladeshis are creating an increased presence of their own, this still remains the case.
    Secondly ,in all honesty anyone that falls for these scams is just as greedy as the scammers themselves.I have had the misfortune of reading some of these texts and it all sounds very ridiculous and unbelievable that only a fool would fall for them.

Ah here it comes, the sound of the other shoe. The next response from those who scam (and yes, I've come across quite a few, I baited scammers from years, most of 'em spoke Igbo or Yoruba), is that they only do it to get their own back on the "white man" (their phrase).
    think the strategy is to appeal to the greedy and dishonest(that want to reap from where they have not sown) but surprisingly there is a huge market out there unless this would be not be an issue at all.

Not the case. This is an over simplistic and over sympathetic argument. Nigerian 419 scammers (they are the vast majority, and I make no apology for referring to them as such), make fraudulent bids on advertised goods, paying with fake cheques, they phish bank account info, they pose as attractive men or women seeking love (sweetheart scams), and take the identity of terminally ill patients in order to tug at the heartstrings of the victim.
    would any sensible or sane individual give money out in return for some bounty they are not entitled to! thats a personal problem not a Nigerian problem tbh

Unbelievable.

That is quite true. Among the Nigerian ex-pat community. Cases have come to light here as well, unfortunately :(
    Possibly ,I am not aware of that.While I am not condoning the actions of a few(being the operation word) Nigerians...those that fall for such idiotic narratives are just as guilty.

A number of reasons. Sheer volume of numbers, variance, a speckling of greed/loneliness/willingness to help, the fact that many people are unaware of such scams, however clumsy the execution, and a bit of old fashioned stupidity.

Sure, we're just as guilty as those poor Nigerians. We're not all mugus, you know.

As a Nigerian myself

>Secondly ,in all honesty anyone that falls for these scams is just as greedy as the scammers themselves.I have had the misfortune of reading some of these texts and it all sounds very ridiculous and unbelievable that only a fool would fall for them.

I think the strategy is to appeal to the greedy and dishonest(that want to reap from where they have not sown) but surprisingly there is a huge market out there unless this would be not be an issue at all.

Why would any sensible or sane individual give money out in return for some bounty they are not entitled to! thats a personal problem not a Nigerian problem tbh

Certain individuals are greedy by nature and seem to lose all commonsense when the carrot of easy money is dangled in front of them! Some get what they deserve!

The worst ones are the "sob stories", these leeches will bleed dry any gullible individual that is stupid enough to fall for the line - scambaiters tend to hang these out to dry.

Hefty medical school/post-grad loan bills?

Abysmal!!

There is absolutely no reason to justify participating in such practices,this is not paddypower or bingo where you are aware of all the variables.

The perpetrators of this crimes could also justify their actions to poverty or the need to drive a merc!

You want a good life, you work for it and bear the cost!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/cambridgeshire/3444307.stm

Did this fellow deserve what happened to him then?

Some people will justify anything...
    Abysmal!!

There is absolutely no reason to justify participating in such practices,this is not paddypower or bingo where you are aware of all the variables.

The perpetrators of this crimes could also justify their actions to poverty or the need to drive a merc!

You want a good life, you work for it and bear the cost!

Poor sod! that scam was the last straw for him, but he was in dire straits already.

I remember the former Mayor of Northampton falling for a scam as well and took the money personally to a southern African country and was taken hostage.

edit: linkey http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/1438872.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

What better way to keep a scammer busy than to make them copy an entire book by hand?

ROFLMFAO :D:D:D

Scammer fail! :D:D:D:D

True. The overwhelming majority of advance fee fraud etc., is overwhelmingly Nigerian. The police response is farcical at best over there, which promotes the activity. While the Russians etc. and Bangladeshis are creating an increased presence of their own, this still remains the case.

Ah here it comes, the sound of the other shoe. The next response from those who scam (and yes, I've come across quite a few, I baited scammers from years, most of 'em spoke Igbo or Yoruba), is that they only do it to get their own back on the "white man" (their phrase).

Not the case. This is an over simplistic and over sympathetic argument. Nigerian 419 scammers (they are the vast majority, and I make no apology for referring to them as such), make fraudulent bids on advertised goods, paying with fake cheques, they phish bank account info, they pose as attractive men or women seeking love (sweetheart scams), and take the identity of terminally ill patients in order to tug at the heartstrings of the victim.

Unbelievable.

That is quite true. Among the Nigerian ex-pat community. Cases have come to light here as well, unfortunately :(

A number of reasons. Sheer volume of numbers, variance, a speckling of greed/loneliness/willingness to help, the fact that many people are unaware of such scams, however clumsy the execution, and a bit of old fashioned stupidity.

Sure, we're just as guilty as those poor Nigerians. We're not all mugus, you know.

You mentioned that you have baited scammers for years ....interesting that you didnt start from home ,you could have been quite busy with property developers and some bank officials.

I repeatedly mentioned in earlier posts that Yes! some Nigerians participate in these fraudulent practices but like a poster mentioned banks in Ireland repeatedly warn customers every month/week/day about divulging their personal details from infilterators...you are surely not going to blame Nigerians for that...Are Ya ?

Yes ,admittedly Nigeria has serious problems with Corruption and fraud but it is in the open and if you look closely efforts are being made to curtail it.

Nigeria has sacked Ceo of banks and arrested them for fraudulent practices and also chasing loan defaulters that benefitted from gross misappropriation of funds:

http://allafrica.com/stories/200908210004.html
    http://allafrica.com/stories/200908250008.html
    and yet some countries are still pussy-footing about bringing defaulters to justice.
    (Read the website quotes above if you can).

You have come across a few Nigerians ( lets say 100 or maybe 1000)...how many of them actually??...we have a population of arguably over 150 million and you have come to a conclusion to refer to them as Nigerian 419 scammers and you expect me or any rational person to take you seriously!

The world we live in nowadays requires a high level of vigilance .Every website that offers goods and services for sale reiterates the need to be smart and watchful.Fraud happens all the time from Irish nationwide to NNPC in Nigeria to the wall street.It is your prerogative to cop on and tread carefully.

Hey Rev...I would never condone any form of fraud but it is also good to use some form of common sense.

He worked in an Higher institution and should have known better .Lets face reality what is "INTERNET LOTTERY"...doesnt make sense tbh.

He was expecting gains from a lottery he never subscribed to in the first place...simply wrong!

As a Nigerian myself

Tutt tutt tutt. You seem to lack any sympathy for folks being being robbed. Some people may be gullible, is that a crime? Does it make them bad people? A lot of older folks fall for these, probably lose their life saving or whatever!! Its not very nice. Most people have a little greed in them, if thats what you want to call it, even you. I mean, have you never spotted a 20 pound note on the ground and hastily picked it up and stuffed it in your pocket for fear of hearing, "Hey, that's mine". I'd wager that 20 quid you've done it.

Some people, who aren't so gullible, with a little creativity and time on their hands, decide to teach these lazy thieving swines a lesson. Its all good.

Please dont turn the thread into an 'Awww we're not all like that in Nigeria'. Is supposed to be a funny thread, the stories made me laugh, the only victims are fraudsters. If you see somethign bad in this, then maybe I'm lacking in my head somewhere?? :rolleyes:

Anyway, that Santa Claus picture is hilarious, I'll have to find the story behind it.

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    I love that site, check this one out - he made an idiot scammer read the entire hitch-hikers guide to the galaxy book aloud, and he put it up online. Pure hilarity!

http://419eater.com/html/booked.htm
    I read and recorded a book "THE HITCH HIKERS GUIDE TO THE GALAXY" of 35 chapters with 109 pages which he was due to pay me on Saturday and uptil now, I have not heard any thing from him. Please can you use your office to assist me in relating my complaint to the appropriate office to inform him to pay me my money for the job which I have done for him

All the names of the board members are fake. They are actually related to "pirate" names. Let me explain:

1. Mr. Jim Lad
    "Jim Lad" is a character in the famous pirate book, "Treasure Island". It is not a real name.

2. Mrs. C. Worthy
    Obviously, this is a joke name, meant to sound like "Sea Worthy", describing a ship that is safe to use in the Sea.

3. Mr Valk De Planc
    Again, this is a joke name. It is supposed to sound like the pirate phrase, "walk the plank".

4. Mr. Aye Patch
    Once more, another joke name, made to sound like the "Eye Patch" that pirates sometimes wear.

As you can see, all those names are related to pirates and the sea. ROFLMAO

Scam artist feels hard done by?? At least he is getting some reading done, it's not ALL bad. :) He may even get into sci-fi.

Tutt tutt tutt. You seem to lack any sympathy for folks being being robbed. Some people may be gullible, is that a crime? Does it make them bad people? A lot of older folks fall for these, probably lose their life saving or whatever!! Its not very nice. Most people have a little greed in them, if thats what you want to call it, even you. I mean, have you never spotted a 20 pound note on the ground and hastily picked it up and stuffed it in your pocket for fear of hearing, "Hey, that's mine". I'd wager that 20 quid you've done it.

Some people, who aren't so gullible, with a little creativity and time on their hands, decide to teach these lazy thieving swines a lesson. Its all good.

Please dont turn the thread into an 'Awww we're not all like that in Nigeria'. Is supposed to be a funny thread, the stories made me laugh, the only victims are fraudsters. If you see somethign bad in this, then maybe I'm lacking in my head somewhere?? :rolleyes:

Anyway, that Santa Claus picture is hilarious, I'll have to find the story behind it.

I sympathise with folks that lose their hard earned money to fraudsters...no doubt! and I am aware that is human nature is to find a €50 note on the floor and pick it up..but we are talking about hundreds of thousands of funds here(sometimes in million dollar terms),In such transactions extreme caution and wisdom is expected.

I am not holding brief for Fraudsters here but I am a firm believer in Alan Greenspan's favourite saying " Every individual is entitled to their opinion but no one is entitled their facts"..the fact in this instance is two vices are play and it is exhibited from both parties...Folly and Greed.

I dont know where you got the impression that I want to turn the thread into "we are not like that in Nigeria"...rubbish!...To be honest ..I dont give a hoot about how anyone feels about Nigerians/Irish/English/Germans/Americans etc ...that is their prerogative..nothing to do with moi! My position is ..arguement/debate should be based on facts and not personal opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Ruu wrote: »

That's brilliant! The guy got a pretty awesome bust too. Win-lose (for the scammer anyway). Then the giant painting...then the video production. What genious. ****ing scammers.

EDIT: http://www.419eater.com/images/luthman2.jpg Best pic ever..."Phil Mycrackin with semen"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Hopefully Opinions are based off facts!

I dunno if anyone posted it but there's a Zero Tolerance policy for racial slurs on 419eaters.com.... also :

Unfortunately it is a sad fact of life that the majority of "419" scams do originate from Western and Southern Africa - we estimate 50% - 55% of "419" scam attempts are sent from these places - but these scams also come from places such as England, Spain, Ireland, USA, Canada, The Netherlands, Australia and many more.
    ALL the images here are a direct result of a CRIMINAL or CRIMINALS, trying to STEAL money from people they assume to be innocent soon-to-be victims. They tried all made contact with us first, with the sole intention of stealing our money.
    For the most part these criminals are not, "poor people trying to scratch a living", but are indeed very prosperous compared to their law-abiding countrymen, and many operate in highly organised, and highly successful criminal gangs. Millions of dollars are stolen on a DAILY basis, with absolutely no thought given to victims, who are losing vast amounts of money, homes, relatives, jobs and worse. Contrary to popular belief, it is not just "greedy & stupid people" that fall for these scams.

Man, this site is awesome. I've read a few of these and am coming back for more. It's great to read that scammers can/are getting scammed themselves! HOORAY!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Papad

Which is why these types of crimes are emanating from other European countries.
    Also, let's not forget the people who were murdered when they went to Nigeria to get their money back.

Papad wrote: »
    Which is why these types of crimes are emanating from other European countries.
    Also, let's not forget the people who were murdered when they went to Nigeria to get their money back.

I suggest you go through the news article below:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/worldnews/article-1213282/London-based-eastern-Europeans-used-Barclays-bank-cards-300-000-French-cash-point-scam.html?ITO=1490

Perharps they are nigerians that have nationalised in Slovenia.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

I tend to agree with Procure11. People who get caught out in these ( utterly transparent scams) possilby deserve what they get. Sure they are annoying, but it is rarely little old ladies who are caught out, but people of some self importance.. why? I think because while most of us would wonder why the deceased ex-African dictator has found us on the internet specifically to drop lots of money in our account, the self important would find it normal.

That said, the latest 419'ers are not even trying. Today I got this:
    "Please use it for the good work of God, Please kindly Contact my
    lawyer through this email address if you are interested in carrying
    out this task,(<redacted>@yahoo.com.hk) Tracy Donald"

Thats all. And thats all I ever got.
    What friggin task missus?

Must try harder.

( also seems to be a hong kong address).

Perharps they are nigerians that have nationalised in Slovenia.:rolleyes:

Nigerian scammers tend not to operate card phishing, preferring less sophisticated means of picking your pocket, ones which rely on strength of numbers reporting to an oga (boss) who coordinates things, rather than technological means.

I still have you pegged as being an apologist and somewhat in denial, to say the least.

The fact that Nigerians don't have a monopoly regarding scamming doesn't mean they're not in the vast majority in certain areas. Nor do they all stay in one place...

-Imoh Udoh, an economic migrant from Lagos, set up residency here and carried on scamming operations. It took the combined forces of scambaiters and honest Nigerians (as it seems from the discussion) to foil his efforts.

http://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-21481.0.html

-Fake cheque scam operated by Nigerians in Ireland:

http://forum.gsmhosting.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=147735

-Tony Oba, set up residence in Cork some time ago:

http://www.mugus.com/arinze_udemezue/index-gang.html

They seem to love working out of Amsterdam and the UK too.

I could stay all day posting links, but why bore people?

asdasd wrote: »
    I tend to agree with Procure11. People who get caught out in these ( utterly transparent scams) possilby deserve what they get. Sure they are annoying, but it is rarely little old ladies who are caught out, but people of some self importance.. why? I think because while most of us would wonder why the deceased ex-African dictator has found us on the internet specifically to drop lots of money in our account, the self important would find it normal.

I suggest you look at it again, look at the demographics of the victims, the methods they use, and above all the damage they leave after them. It's got a lot less to do with vanity than it has to do with trust, desperation, loneliness, and believe it or not, apathy.

No point in giving an opinion if you don't take the time to educate yourself on it. I'm actually amazed at the amount of people who seem to think that this is somehow OK.

That said, the latest 419'ers are not even trying. Today I got this:

( also seems to be a hong kong address).

Truth be told, the scams were always clumsy in nature in many cases. 419 scammers at the lower levels are extremely unintelligent people, and generally work from a script. By the way, that's a Hong Kong email. Not the same thing as a location. I could have one of those. Where do the headers originate*?

*This in itself means little, as many internet cafes use satellite providers, often with Israeli IPs-which I guess means our friend will now lay the blame at the door of Zionism.

I suggest you look at it again, look at the demographics of the victims, the methods they use, and above all the damage they leave after them.

Fair enough. I am basing what I said on a particular piece I read - whose link I cannot now find - about how high flyers were primarily caught out - a Judge was mentioned. To a certain extent that makes sense - the scammers tend to say they have found out about the recipient on the internet- Most people have very little footprint on the internet - at least not in their own name.

I could be wrong though, and would welcome a link to correct that mis-information.

Nobody is denying that Nigeria is the primary source of this, but that it may not be the only source.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

Classic.

I also remember reading one that someone posted up here a while back about someone who made money off the scammer. He told the fella that he was connected to a church or something and needed a donation first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

loving the way the guys name is arthur dent:D that alone would have sent alarm bells ringing for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

This is Golden, just feckin hilarious.

TITLE: Harry Potter & The Well of Scammers
    SCAMMER NAME: Joyce Ozioma
    SCAMMER LOCATION: Nigeria
    SCAMBAITER: Shiver Metimbers

http://419eater.com/html/joyce_ozioma.htm

Its always adorable when people find old things ;)

I could be wrong though, and would welcome a link to correct that mis-information.

Nobody is denying that Nigeria is the primary source of this, but that it may not be the only source.

Indeed. Scams come in many forms, phishing being an Eastern European (and Russian) phenomenon, sweetheart scams being divvied up between Nigerians Romanians and Russians, and advance fee/fake cheque/fake website stuff being overwhelmingly Nigerian, as well as being the most common :)

Nothing is absolute though, the Bangladeshi and other nationalities have cropped up from time to time when it comes to AFF.

The other guys attitude irks me though, as if it's always someone else's fault. A common attitude, I have found.

I think you're right about the judge btw, I remember something like that doing the rounds when I was involved in it a bit more.

Actually, many "professionals" have been duped over the years (not to say that they're any more street savvy than you or I of course, because I reckon there's little difference), doctors, legal people etc. The thing to remember is that there was a time when all this was very new, and when it was executed properly, it was a very believable, if unlikely scenario to someone who'd never come across it before. Most people now are wise to it, but there's always a few too isolated, or too silly to know the score. The sweetheart, and bogus cheque/money order scams, as well as phishing are the mainstays now 'cos they're less obvious.

edit: Some funnies;

Tonedeaf singing free of charge, their dancing is nearly better than the Village People.

Dead Parrot.

I'm in awe of how these guys do it.

Fancy an Anus Laptop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,863 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

I suppose you can not read Dutch but this article says you are right.
    And guess who are behind the scam emails send from Holland (amongst other European countries)

Link

Nigerian scammers tend not to operate card phishing, preferring less sophisticated means of picking your pocket, ones which rely on strength of numbers reporting to an oga (boss) who coordinates things, rather than technological means.

I still have you pegged as being an apologist and somewhat in denial, to say the least.

The fact that Nigerians don't have a monopoly regarding scamming doesn't mean they're not in the vast majority in certain areas. Nor do they all stay in one place...

-Imoh Udoh, an economic migrant from Lagos, set up residency here and carried on scamming operations. It took the combined forces of scambaiters and honest Nigerians (as it seems from the discussion) to foil his efforts.

http://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-21481.0.html

-Fake cheque scam operated by Nigerians in Ireland:

http://forum.gsmhosting.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=147735

-Tony Oba, set up residence in Cork some time ago:

http://www.mugus.com/arinze_udemezue/index-gang.html

They seem to love working out of Amsterdam and the UK too.

I could stay all day posting links, but why bore people?

I am not an apologist or denying that some Nigerians are fraudulent.
    My position is that Greed from victims actively feeds this practice.Like you mentioned in one of your posts most of these 419ers are illiterates...how come they are able to swindle very knowledgable folks? The simple answer to that they capitalize on their greed .

You have 40 posts on boards,10 of which are about Nigerians....that is your prerogative but you sound like you have been a victim yourself,I cant help you with that...to be honest.I can only sensitise you that Crime is universal and that Nigerians are not intrinsically dishonest.

We have our challenges just like most countries and I am 100% sure you would agree with me on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Papad

I can only sensitise you that Crime is universal and that Nigerians are not intrinsically dishonest.

Nigeria is one of the most corrupt countries on the planet, but I'm sure it's just a tiny minority. According to the New York Times; it is number 1 (for corruption). Maybe they are just opportunistic.

Papad wrote: »
    Nigeria is one of the most corrupt countries on the planet, but I'm sure it's just a tiny minority. According to the New York Times; it is number 1 (for corruption). Maybe they are just opportunistic.

Papad...You are correct and I would be the first one own up to that.I assume that you are Irish so you would not be privy to the extent of the acute corruption that exists in my country,it is huge especially in the public sector where there is virtually no form of accountability and this naturally filtered down to the average Joe on the street.

Nigeria has admittedly being viewed as a very corrupt nation and rightly so but if you check of late ,things are improving greatly.I am not sure about the NY times but if look at the generally accepted corruption index from TI ,we have moved from being the most corrupt in 2000 to under 100 in the world.

Nigeria remains one of the few countries in the world that have arrested and prosecuting bank executives ,a watchdog body known as the EFCC is very visibly pursuing,arresting and prosecuting these criminals.This phenomenon of fraud was not created in one day,but it is a manisfestation of years and decades of total disregard for the rule of law by successive governments.

My points are:

No two individuals are alike, not to imagine a country with 150 million
    people...we are bound to have our bad eggs

It is absolutely uninformed( sorry that was the best word I could come up with) to make categorical judgements about a particular people based on those bad eggs within .

I still am of the opinion that only greedy people would fall for such scams.It easily decipherable that all of those mails are rubbish and junk...and thankfully the creators of the E-mail system have made available the right place to put them.