1911 Online Census.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

My grandparents managed to mess up on pretty much every box on the form...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

James Connolly and his family:

http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1911/Dublin/Pembroke_West/Lotts_Road__South/10339/

he lists his birthplace as Monaghan but he was actually born in Scotland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭Riddle101

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,370 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭GeeNorm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

GeeNorm wrote: »

Oh you found me out. :rolleyes:

It's actually easier to find Dev's census entry than finding that article from 2007, besides like I read the Irish Times!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,585 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

"If Deaf and Dumb; Dumb only; Blind; Imbecile or Idiot; or Lunatic:" If that was still there how many of us would sneakily mark family members as Lunatics or Idiots? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,585 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

This seems kind of bad, job titles "laundress"... uses the prison form, under crime it says "not committed", no other info

Edit: found more info on this place, The Good Shepherd Magdalen Laundry Cork
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRbdJ3npAHA

http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1911/Cork/Cork_No__4_Urban__part_of_/Carrignaveigh/389625/

http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/reels/nai001863835/

bigkev49 wrote: »
    That was an hour and a half ago. Ridiculously addictive stuff, even recorded the stock levels on our family farm back in the day.

Where did you find stock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭Mizu_Ger

Found my Da's grandparents house. His Mother was 3 at the time and they had a 90 year old lodger in the house with them. He's listed as a farm labourer. WTF is a 90 year old doing labouring on a farm?

Are they going to this for any more census?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Michael Collins (I hate Fine Gael but I had to see what he was up to in 1911).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

Escapism wrote: »
    I think its deadly that I can see my great grandfathers writing!!! sadly i found no rich relatives .... there goes the dream :)

Maybe I'm wrong but I'm pretty sure these forms were filled in by people going from house to house. I don't think it was the homeowners themselves.

I've been looking at census information from 1901 and 1911 over the Summer for work and a lot of the forms have the same handwriting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

Scien wrote: »
    Same happened for me, then i 'browsed by place' until i found my Town & street name. Found my Great Grandfathers gaff complete with 4 Childers & a servant from Tipperrary.

The PDFs are great. Fair play to the National Archives for putting them up. Must have been a royal pain in the bottom scanning Thousands of Documents like that.

Edit: Nice to see James Joyce had some Cork Blood in him! :D

Thats a 1901 census return! Where did you find that?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

I think they are still updating the 1901 Census online. The 1911 census was well preserved.
    The next cenus was not until 1926

Old census returns are valuable historical and genealogical records. Unfortunately, the returns for 1813, 1821, 1831, 1841 and 1851 censuses were destroyed when the Custom House was burned in 1922.

The 1861 and 1871 census returns were deliberately destroyed. The 1881 and 1891 census returns were pulped because of the paper shortages during the 1914-18 War. Of the pre-Independence censuses only the 1901 and 1911 census returns remain intact today.

The 1901 and 1911 censuses were undertaken under legislation which made no provision for the confidentiality of the information recorded on them. These were made available as public records in 1961 via a warrant made by the Minister for Justice under the Public Records (Ireland) Act, 1867. They are the most frequently used records in the National Archives mainly for genealogical research.

Visit the National Archives site: www.nationalarchives.ie/censusrtns.html

The extensive use of the 1901 and 1911 census records and the public acceptability of their availability after 50-60 years prompted the inclusion of a provision in the Statistics Act, 1993 which allows census returns to be made available as public records 100 years after the relevant census.

This means that the 1926 census records will be open to the public by the National Archives in the year 2026. By that time almost all of the persons covered in the 1926 census will be deceased. Although there was demand for a shorter period it was considered that 100 years was necessary to comply with the spirit of confidentiality promised to respondents.

Maybe I'm wrong but I'm pretty sure these forms were filled in by people going from house to house. I don't think it was the homeowners themselves.

I've been looking at census information from 1901 and 1911 over the Summer for work and a lot of the forms have the same handwriting.

I think it would depend on the census taker.
    One of the forms handwriting is sooooo bad it looks just like mine. That has to be genetics.

One of my greatgrandmothers kept Roscommon people as domestic slaves. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Jeanious

Jaysus, in that prison one: "If deaf and dumb, dumb only, blind, lame, decrepit"....PC brigade my ar$e!

I thought that a lot of the handwriting looks the same alright, but mother of jaysus, that'd be a labour-intensive way of doing it wouldnt it? Maybe they all just had similar writing back in the day?!

Actually i just checked a couple of returns, and the signature of the Head of the Family is the same as the actual writing on the form.

Beside the "enumerator's signature" it says something to the effect of "i state this form is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge"...sure how would he know if its true and accurate...by searching the house and questioning everyone?!!

Either way, seriously interesting find OP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Awesome, thanks. Gunna do a bit of research now as soon as me ma gets back.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I can't read anything on those PDFs. The whole thing seems a little pointless too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

eh.......zoom??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

LOL - note the emphatic double-swipe of the pen through the profession/occupation column for Sinead DeValera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,370 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Moonbaby wrote: »
    I think it would depend on the census taker.
    One of the forms handwriting is sooooo bad it looks just like mine. That has to be genetics.

One of my greatgrandmothers kept Roscommon people as domestic slaves. :eek:

Were there any red lights on the old homestead at all?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Does anyone know where you can look at a a census from a later year? I don't even know the names of my parents' grandparents so I can't look them up on the 1911 one!

no the next census was not taken until 1926.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

How many years have to pass before a census can be made public?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

100 I think.

This means that the 1926 census records will be open to the public by the National Archives in the year 2026. By that time almost all of the persons covered in the 1926 census will be deceased. Although there was demand for a shorter period it was considered that 100 years was necessary to comply with the spirit of confidentiality promised to respondents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

If it's 100 years before a census can be released Why do we have the 1911 census then????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Found my mother's side, they were all Irish speakers which is cool.

My father's side doesn't exist apparently lol :o