Worst driving you've seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Come to galway, indicators are nothing but a decoration here, quite a few people don't bother using them including the mayor as i have witnessed.

As for roundabouts here? Forget it... Chaos! Definitely the worst county for drivers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Eduardo for Arsenal last night.

oh, driving....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

zero19 wrote: »
    As for roundabouts here? Forget it... Chaos! Definitely the worst county for drivers...

Send'em the Milton Keynes, that'll learn'em. ;)
    Q, How many roundabouts are there in Milton Keynes?

A, 300 actual roundabouts, unless you incliude the painted bumps then over 1000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

See what happens when you drive a skoda?? Holy ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

I don't drive myself but have seen the walkinstown roundabout at rush hour. It's a matter of kill or be killed. People making way for trucks as trucks make way for buses. It's very primal. It's the one place where the ten year old Ford Escort always outperforms the new BMW 635i because the owner of the beemer has more to lose in a crash.
    Car drivers are weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

in galway a few years ago i was leaving the Headforf Road Shopping centre exiting onto the roundabout with lights. The car in front was indicating right fair enough i was as well as i was heading for the dublin road. The old git then swings right wrong way around the roundabout forcing cars out of his way and off he went.

I'm still amazed he wasnt killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Last sunday I was driving home along the m1, quite busy too as all the Monaghan and Tyrone cars were heading home from the match. as i'm approaching the turn-off for my exit, i notice the occupants (mum,dad and 2 kids in the back) of the car alongside me in the other lane all glancing in my direction.

I assume they're trying to see if there's room to change lane so I slow down a bit (nice gal that I am). Next thing one kid has rolled the wondow down and chucks a paper cup of something at my car!!!now, if this had happened on a normal road i would have been irritated but I was going 100km p/h and got such a fright I very nearly crashed!!!

A few months back I was on the dual carriageway and a tractor (yes,a TRACTOR) was in the fast lane and me in the normal lane. He then proceeds to change into my lane with no indicator OR checking to see if it's clear. nearly ran me off the road.dick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭confused-dazed

ok roundabouts.
    left lane/ nearside lane is for going left unless otherwise stated and or going straight. outside land is going straight and or turning right (or third exit as in most cases). when using the outside lane going straight please have the cop on that you do not pull into the left lane after going straight through the roundabout. the amount of morans that do this is unreal. a classic example of this is the roundabout at the halfway house heading for blanch. i always use the left lane here and as i'm leaving the roundabout (after going straight) the amount of gob****es that try and pull across me from the outside lane is unreal.
    just an add on
    when approaching a roundabout in the outside/offside lane you do not use this lane to turn to your immediate left
    and
    when approaching a roundabout in the inseide/nearside lane you do not use this lane to turn to your immediate right
    aunburn ave onto N3, the inside lane here is for turning left and going straight. the outside lane for you morans that dont know how to read a road marking is for going straight and turning right only.this lane is not for turning left.. gob****es
    lane discipline
    road markings are there and there to be obeyed. please dont hog two lanes with one car, please dont make two lanes out of a single lane.
    shopping centre car parks.
    whoooooo this is a biggie for me.
    blanch S.C. car parks. those markings with a continous white line then broken lines going across mean you obey the line nearest to you. so in the case of a continous white line going across it means do not ****ing enter.
    those arrows in the middle of said lanes are there to let you know the direction of traffic. it does not mean you can drive against the /towards the traffic.
    some of you will say car parks mean jack ****. fair enough i say. but hit me when and we'll see who's right and who's wrong. i will take you to the ****ing cleaners. ohhh i'll hog the whole lane and not move an inch over if i have to why becasue you should'nt be coming towards me.
    indicators
    an indicator is not a right of way thats for you morans that dont know the rules of the road. 99% of people think that just because they indicate( thats for those of you that know where the indicator switch is by the way) they have right of way.well think again pal you're wrong.
    i've high lighted alot of stuff here simply because alot of full license holders shouldn't be let near into car let alone drive one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 496 ✭✭renraw

I had a car accident last year. As I was approaching a very sharp bend, I slowed down, as ya do. But as soon as I reached the very corner of the bend (doing about 30 mph on a main road) I had a fraction (quite literally) of a secoond to react to a silly woman who had stopped her car right on the bend. I clipped her car and damaged her bumper and the crumple zone in my car kicked in and I ended up in the ditch.

She really didn't have a clue that cars would be coming round the bend at speed. Only for the abs on the car I would have caused some serious damage. Silly woman!

Novella wrote: »
    Sunday morning, driving up the quays in Dublin to work. Was running a wee bit late so popped into the bus lane, which by the way is not a bus lane on Sundays or outside the hours of 7am to 7pm on every other day. That was fine, moved along a bit quicker until I stopped at a red traffic light.

Noticed the driver in the car beside me trying to get my attention. Thought he might have wanted directions so let my window down.

"I don't see no fcuking taxi sign on your roof, you stupid bitch! Think you're better than everyone else, do ye? Drivin' yer ma's car, are ye?" etc!

I was in shock, sitting there thinking this could not possibly be happening!!! I pointed out the sign to him, told him anyone could actually use this lane on a Sunday, that I don't think I'm better than anyone else and that the car is, in fact, my own!

Then when the lights changed, I went to move off but he pulled his car out in front of mine in the middle of a fcuking junction and drove on, tapping on his brakes every few seconds. IDIOT!!!!
    nobody has the right to pull someone up over driving in bus lanes especially the .... that think they own the bus lanes. the only people that can do you for driving in a bus lane illegally are the guards.i've often had taxi drivers flashing me when i'm in the bus lane. now as well as owning the roads they think they can enforce bus lanes as well. well to you i say **** off. you're not a guard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭mandysmithers

I was recently driving on a main road near me, and I could have sworn the car in front was driven by a drunk person - it was literally going from the left side of the lane, over to the right, and back again. It was a learner driver....but seriously, unless you have Parkinsons, you should be able to keep your arms still whilst driving. Eventually it came to traffic lights, so the driver must have panicked, and she stopped, on the whilte line diving the two lanes, and proceeded to put on her hazards. I wasn't surprised when I passed to see that it was a black woman. In my experience, they are absolutely the WORST drivers I have ever encountered. Boy racers are dangerous, but at least they can actually drive - this woman simply couldn't.

Back to boy racers....god, I've seen so many examples of their dangerous driving, where they not only endanger their own lives but the lives of others, that I just don't really care anymore when I hear about a young man in his late teens/early 20s dying in a 'single car collision' where the 'car in which he was travelling lost control and crashed into a wall'. I know that may seem harsh, but cars don't lose control when sitting in a driveway, they lose control when driven at crazy speeds (I'm not counting bad tyres etc. although you should be aware of that, and get the replaced or drive according to the conditions if the road is wet etc.) I know they're only young, and feel invincible etc. but how stupid do you have to be to not cop on when there are so many fatal crashes reported involving people in your demographic, doing exactly what you're doing??!!! And it's even worse when they kill or maim an innocent bystander :mad: I ****ing hate the lot of them.

The bus lanes on Dublin's quays are from 7am to 10am and again from 4pm to 7pm.

Yup.
    you must be thinking of the bus corridor, which is a complete failure.
    bus lane times for quays are wrong. north quays.
    mon-sat
    7am-10am and 12noon- 7pm. there is only a 2 hour lull for motorists here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

I have some bad experiences of my own, but I have decided to turn this into a confession, rather than a witch hunt. I have a horrible habit, that I can't seem to break, that when I am in car parks, if a car ahead of me pulls over to the right, with the intention of reversing into a space on our left, I try to nip by behind them, rather than wait. I know, I know, I am a bastard, and I am trying to fix it, I've been shouted at numerous times, but I just can't help it :(

As for other people's antics, I once got over-taken by a boy racer on a seriously dangerous bend, as in one where if you go over the edge, it's a 2 foot drop to the path, then about 15 feet down to rocks! (coast road between portmarnock and malahide, at high rock to be specific). I was hittin a generous 65km/h at the time, but I guess it just wasn't enough for some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I was recently driving on a main road near me, and I could have sworn the car in front was driven by a drunk person - it was literally going from the left side of the lane, over to the right, and back again. It was a learner driver....but seriously, unless you have Parkinsons, you should be able to keep your arms still whilst driving. Eventually it came to traffic lights, so the driver must have panicked, and she stopped, on the whilte line diving the two lanes, and proceeded to put on her hazards. I wasn't surprised when I passed to see that it was a black woman. In my experience, they are absolutely the WORST drivers I have ever encountered. Boy racers are dangerous, but at least they can actually drive - this woman simply couldn't.

perhaps there was something wrong with her steering wheel/column??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭m3llowship

I wasn't surprised when I passed to see that it was a black woman. In my experience, they are absolutely the WORST drivers I have ever encountered.quote]

Dayum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭m3llowship

I wasn't surprised when I passed to see that it was a black woman. In my experience, they are absolutely the WORST drivers I have ever encountered.
    quote]

..............WOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Some people are hilarious on roundabouts. Worse driving I've seen is on the small roundabouts though, people dont realise the same rules apply. I've come close to being smacked by drivers who just drive through them as if they dont exist.

Oh, and the woman who drove into the back of me in town at the start of the month and blamed me. Thats up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

keano_afc wrote: »
    Some people are hilarious on roundabouts. Worse driving I've seen is on the small roundabouts though, people dont realise the same rules apply. I've come close to being smacked by drivers who just drive through them as if they dont exist.

Oh, and the woman who drove into the back of me in town at the start of the month and blamed me. Thats up there.

You've just reminded me of another time it was on one of those mini roundabouts. The guy stops on the round about I mean on the painted white circle. The passenger then gets out walks across the road talks to someone, and she then walks very unsteadily and slow (stupid looking shoes, she could barely walk) to the car and gets in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Longboard

Here are 2 that spring to mind...

The first is a lesson in Karma. It happened between 2 nearby coastal villages (I won't name) in west cork in the early hours of the morning a few years back. Two individuals drinking in 2 different pubs desided to drive home drunk at the same time. The first approaching a 4 road cross saw lights coming from the opposite direction, thought it was the gardai, so logically he slowed down, turned off his lights and waited for the other car to pass. The lights coming from the other direction was infact the other drunk driver who had the same idea as idot A and also desided to slow down and turn off his lights. After a few moments, both thought the coast was clear so they moved off leaving there lights off just in case. Result: Idot A managed to collide with Idot B in complete darkness at the cross road.

The second happened at the kinsale roundabout in cork during rush hour before the flyover was built. For those that don't the roundabout, it is a 3 lane roundabout that was a nightmare for conjestion. As i was going onto the roundabout from the Douglas side, 2 black men in nissan sunny coming down from the airport hill turned right on the roudabout into 3 lanes of oncoming traffic. I had to slam in brakes to avoid hitting them. Both men started to panic, so the traffic stopped to let them do a 3 point turn on the round about. I have never in my life seen 2 people get so much abuse from so many people at one time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭komodosp

1. A car in front of me mysteriously drifts across the road to the "oncoming" lane and back again as if to overtake an invisible car... Without indicating

2. On the motorway by Portlaoise, A car driving in the opposite direction (coming towards me!) but on my carriageway. (Yes I was going the right way!)

3. At a T-Junction the lights were red. We were on the minor road. An artic comes tearing down the main road (he has the green light). When suddenly, a truck about the size of a bread van slams on the accelarator and starts heading into the junction. He stopped just in time though.

4. Another T-Junction, once again I am on the minor road, this time no lights. I look to the right and see a car coming, so I put my foot on the brake. Then I look left just to see how the traffic is from that side. By the time I reach the junction I have stopped and am looking in front of me to see the car who had been coming from the right stopped right in front of me, driver looking at me like a f***** idiot. He then drives off again. I can only conclude that he saw me looking the other way, thought I wasn't paying attention and deliberately tried to make me crash into him! A$$hole!

5. I had just begun driving so a little naive, once again a T-junction with me on the minor road. See a car coming from the right, indicating left. But then my surprise as he doesn't turn left, he was indicating to pull in shortly after the junction. Haven't trusted indicators since but did at the time. If I had arrived earlier at the junction I would have assumed he was turning left and pulled out in front of him. A small thing but still dangerous!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

One of my mates started driving early this year and I've been in the car with him a fair few times. He smokes spliffs in the car, keeps his left hand on the gearstick at all times, and frequently goes over 90kph in residential areas, all the while swearing at the incompetence of other drivers and raging at people staying within the speed limit, claiming that driving slowly is actually more dangerous. He was in at least three tips with stationary vehicles in his first month of driving. Like every motorist in the world, he thinks he's an excellent driver.

There's also a young women living near me who has her L-sticker slapped on the right-hand side of the windscreen, right in her line of vision.
    I have been driven in quite a few different countries but i can honestly say that this only happens to me in Ireland..... on almost a daily basis.

To be honest, I've seen much more dangerous driving on the continent. Drivers in Spain and France in particular tend to be way more bullish than Irish ones and frequently ignore the rules of the road. Take a spin down the Champs-Élysées in Paris (after taking out a Life Assurance policy) to see some truly lethal driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭donkey balls

driving through abbeyleix last friday evening heading towards dublin when i see in the distance this artic truck heading towards cork the driver pulls over to my side of the road into a small bus stop.

his trailer was blocking the whole side of the road and the driver gets out to use the banklink without a care in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Pace2008 wrote: »
    One of my mates started driving early this year and I've been in the car with him a fair few times. He smokes spliffs in the car, keeps his left hand on the gearstick at all times, and frequently goes over 90kph in residential areas, all the while swearing at the incompetence of other drivers and raging at people staying within the speed limit, claiming that driving slowly is actually more dangerous. He was in at least three tips with stationary vehicles in his first month of driving. Like every motorist in the world, he thinks he's an excellent driver.

I have to confess I've gotten the habit of keeping my left hand on either the gear stick or the hand break but that's to stop the dog from squeezing in through the front seats and getting on my lap.

Also I really do think that most if not all crap drivers think they're great or at least claim to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭mandysmithers

m3llowship wrote: »
    I wasn't surprised when I passed to see that it was a black woman. In my experience, they are absolutely the WORST drivers I have ever encountered.

Dayum

Is that supposed to be 'damn' in some sort of American accent??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

I have to confess I've gotten the habit of keeping my left hand on either the gear stick or the hand break but that's to stop the dog from squeezing in through the front seats and getting on my lap.
    That is potentially dangerous driving right there and it's a bit worrying if you don't realise it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭MOH

Use to live on a one way street, one of four which effectively formed a large one-way square. At least one a week some idiot would decide that their time was too precious to spend the extra two minutes driving around the other three sides, and come up it the wrong way. Nearly got knocked down twice in the first month living there since I wouldn't be looking for cars coming from the wrong direction. The best are the ones who decide it's OK to travel the length ot a one-way street, as long as you're facing the right way, so reverse all the way along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Orla K wrote: »
    - I was cycling on a wide road and passing out slow moving traffic one guy got jealous and as I was passing him moved into the left, I ended up nearly falling over and knocking his wing mirror off. He saw me before he did it too and he had the cheek to beep at me after it.

Happens to me all the time when cycling. I make sure to deliberately clip the wing mirror if I see that the driver has done it deliberately.

For me it has to the be the West African women around Blanchardstown. Weaving about the road; grinding the gears as they change gears; overshooting turn-offs then reversing in the middle of the main road to make another go of it; driving through red lights, realising their mistake, then reversing back through the junction while the light is red before waiting at the stop line to go again; taking about 10 mins to execute a 3 point turn; driving with head turned round shouting at children in back; the list goes on.
    when approaching a roundabout in the outside/offside lane you do not use this lane to turn to your immediate left
    and
    when approaching a roundabout in the inseide/nearside lane you do not use this lane to turn to your immediate right
    aunburn ave onto N3, the inside lane here is for turning left and going straight. the outside lane for you morans that dont know how to read a road marking is for going straight and turning right only.this lane is not for turning left.. gob****es
    lane discipline
    road markings are there and there to be obeyed. please dont hog two lanes with one car, please dont make two lanes out of a single lane.

The amount of idiots who don't know how to use the roundabouts round there is unreal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Some fairly ropey driving in this clip:

Ropey music you mean, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭komodosp

Kind of off-topic (i.e. in the driver's defense)... A friend of mine got stopped by the guards for driving the wrong way down William St. in Limerick.

But, (unless they've fixed it recently) there's no "One-Way" or "No Entry" sign at the top of William St! (He wasn't from Limerick himself)