Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst driving you've seen

• 26-08-2009 5:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Ok mods I'm asking this here instead of the motors forum because it's mostly just drivers in that forum and there's plenty of people who don't drive and have seen bad driving or even been in a car with bad drivers.

Here's some of mine

- I was cycling on a wide road and passing out slow moving traffic one guy got jealous and as I was passing him moved into the left, I ended up nearly falling over and knocking his wing mirror off. He saw me before he did it too and he had the cheek to beep at me after it. Another time in the same spot a guy tried to block my way, he was looking at me in the rear view mirror, when he copped I was looking right at him he moved out.

-I know someone who was drunk driving and on the phone at the same time:rolleyes: he went to turn a corner from a stopped position and ended up turning too much and went into a bridge it was bridge1-0car no damage to the bridge, luckily for him it was about 7 or 8 on a Sunday morning so nobody was around. I've been in the car with this guy and in his old car he he was lighting a fag, winding down the window, turning the wheel and answering the phone somehow he tried to do all this at the same time and somehow he didn't crash but I was terrified.

-since those times I've started driving myself and the most recent stupid driving was by a truck driver. He was passing out a tractor, fair enough I've no problem with that except he was doing in at a bend in the road and I turned the corner to be faced with a lorry. Luckily somehow anything was avoided but I did have to break and I think the tracker did as well to give him space to move in.

-Lastly, the boy racers need a mention. I was driving down a quite enough big road. I heard that horrible breaking noise behind me. I looked in the rear view mirror and saw some boy racer (with girlfriend beside him - laughing) right behind me and he was flashing his lights and looking in his rear view mirror. He was in the middle of a race with the car behind him and I happened to get in the way. After a little bit the road widened up again (I think it was a bus stop) and a car passes me on my left instantly followed by a car on my right where they blindly turn into a housing estate at speed. I couldn't even get either plate numbers they were either too fast or too close (when behind me).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

What really gets my goat are the amount of morons going around roundabouts on the outside lane to the 3rd or even 4th exit...... pavillions roundabout in Swords is lethal for it. There is a gender issue with this but I wont say it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,833 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

What really gets my goat are the amount of morons going around roundabouts on the outside lane to the 3rd or even 4th exit...... pavillions roundabout in Swords is lethal for it. There is a gender issue with this but I wont say it....
    the south africans strongly deny that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

I have seen so much stupidity on the roads.....if I was to post everything I had seen boards would crash and everyone would go into panic mode.

On that note! Read the f*ckin R.O.T.R. all you bad drivers (and stick to them)!!

Kill yourself if you want to (I could not care less), however do not even think about risking my life or those of my passengers with your bad driving behaviour!!!

/rant

the south africans strongly deny that.

That particular South African if quite likely to be a better than average driver :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

A motorcyclist passed me out in Summerhill, Dublin 1 doing a wheelie at about 50mph and went through red lights at a pedestrian crossing with kids waiting to cross.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Some fairly ropey driving in this clip:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

where to begin....

1) tractors plodding along the hard shoulders of motorways

2) again on motorways people driving normaly in the over taking lane then 200m b4 a bloody exit crossing over 2 sometimes 3 lanes of traffic to exit

3) a certain gender driving along doing their bloody make up, while texting, while changing the radio at the same time.

i could keep going but people would lose interest reading it:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭OnTheBalls

I hate this! It is everywhere! I've often had to drive around three or four times to get off the roundabout!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭ttm

Well the guy in front of me in the carpark about 40 mins ago would be on the list. He drives 20m past a car parking space realises its the last one in the car park so throws the car in reverse to back into it.

Sorry mate I'm keeping my distance but at 10kph or less I don't think I'm too close if I'm 15m away from you but it would be a good fcuking idea if you looked behind before trying to reverse through me! OK so I reverse out of your way and what do you do? Look at me as if I'm some sort of moron? Yep congratulations you passed the advanced how to piss people off parking skills test and no I didn't want the space I was on my way out of the car park.

It didn't supprise me as I looked back from the road to see that you had parked sorry abandoned your car across the car parking space leaving it very difficult for the driver of the car next to you to open his door so don't be supprised if you get a big scuff down the side of your passenger door :confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭The End Of Days

I have witness people stopping on roundabouts just past their exit, waiting to reverse back.

I kid you not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Mayoegian

dannym08 wrote: »
    3) a certain gender driving along doing their bloody make up, while texting, while changing the radio at the same time.

Yes, crossdressers do have a tendency to drive badly:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

I have been driven in quite a few different countries but i can honestly say that this only happens to me in Ireland..... on almost a daily basis.

It is so bad, i am now actually surprised when it doesnt happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

This is totally off topic, but the 526 outbound from Mount Pleasant - the bridge climbs at such an angle - its so smooth - so deserted.

Next time I'm out there I need to hit 115mph and see if I cant catch some air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 vtec49

Mayoegian wrote: »
    Yes, crossdressers do have a tendency to drive badly:pac:
    And usually are very angry.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Orla K wrote: »
    Worst driving you've seen

What an insensitive question...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭irishthump

There's roundabout near me in Sallynoggin and it's lethal. There is a small shopping centre right after the 1st exit off the roundabout, but most people for some strange reason don't treat it as an exit. So if you come up to this roundabout and are taking the 3rd exit, ie the one AFTER the shopping centre you have to position yourself in the outside lane to avoid having an accident with some fu*khead rather than the inside lane like you're suppossed to do.

Now, how fu*ked up is THAT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Sunday morning, driving up the quays in Dublin to work. Was running a wee bit late so popped into the bus lane, which by the way is not a bus lane on Sundays or outside the hours of 7am to 7pm on every other day. That was fine, moved along a bit quicker until I stopped at a red traffic light.

Noticed the driver in the car beside me trying to get my attention. Thought he might have wanted directions so let my window down.

"I don't see no fcuking taxi sign on your roof, you stupid bitch! Think you're better than everyone else, do ye? Drivin' yer ma's car, are ye?" etc!

I was in shock, sitting there thinking this could not possibly be happening!!! I pointed out the sign to him, told him anyone could actually use this lane on a Sunday, that I don't think I'm better than anyone else and that the car is, in fact, my own!

Then when the lights changed, I went to move off but he pulled his car out in front of mine in the middle of a fcuking junction and drove on, tapping on his brakes every few seconds. IDIOT!!!!

Novella wrote: »
    Sunday morning, driving up the quays in Dublin to work. Was running a wee bit late so popped into the bus lane, which by the way is not a bus lane on Sundays or outside the hours of 7am to 7pm on every other day. That was fine, moved along a bit quicker until I stopped at a red traffic light.

Noticed the driver in the car beside me trying to get my attention. Thought he might have wanted directions so let my window down.

"I don't see no fcuking taxi sign on your roof, you stupid bitch! Think you're better than everyone else, do ye? Drivin' yer ma's car, are ye?" etc!

I was in shock, sitting there thinking this could not possibly be happening!!! I pointed out the sign to him, told him anyone could actually use this lane on a Sunday, that I don't think I'm better than anyone else and that the car is, in fact, my own!

Then when the lights changed, I went to move off but he pulled his car out in front of mine in the middle of a fcuking junction and drove on, tapping on his brakes every few seconds. IDIOT!!!!

One of the worst characteristics of Irish drivers is that they simply don't read road signs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I would say it would have to be in italy when i drove on the wrong side of the road...:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I hitched a lift up Baja California and got picked up by a drunken idiot in a rented jeep, (Probably stolen) who swerved over to the wrong side of the road dodging on coming traffic almost hitting a motorcyclist head on, I jumped out as soon as he got stuck in traffic and reported him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

Couple of things have happened to me in my time that stick in my mind.
    1. So many people on the road do not understand how to safely navigate a roundabout. Case in point, I was traveling from Dublin to Cork and took the offramp off the N8 to the roundabout to Portlaois/Abbeyleix so I approach the roundabout and this woman in a micra comes roundabout the wrong way. I just apply the breaks and come to a complete stop wait with traffic building behind me and being beeped to high heaven for about 30 seconds and low and behold this woman comes round again still going the wrong way, then she pulled over on the hard shoulder still facing the wrong way on the main road to Abbeyleix. I mean FFS.

2. Another time I was going from Cork to Cobh. I just came through he Dunkettle roundabout and after joining the N25 when I see a car about 400 yards past the round about, reversing down the fast lane. I pulled in quickly and got her attention, she said she missed her exit, I told her to continue on and use the Flyover another 1km down the road but she told me to feck off and mind my own business, so I left her to get her car totaled.

I'm not trying to bring in the gender arguement these are just 2 experiences that I have has that stick in my mind, there are probably an equal amount of bad drivers in both sexes.

princess Di's driver.

spoofilyj wrote: »
    I'm not trying to bring in the gender arguement these are just 2 experiences that I have has that stick in my mind, there are probably an equal amount of bad drivers in both sexes.

Women tend to do stupid things like drive where they shouldn't, not concentrate, not look out for other road users etc.

Men tend to "declare war" on other road users, overtake in dangerous places etc

So you're probably correct!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

spoofilyj wrote: »
    Couple of things have happened to me in my time that stick in my mind.
    1. So many people on the road do not understand how to safely navigate a roundabout. Case in point, I was traveling from Dublin to Cork and took the offramp off the N8 to the roundabout to Portlaois/Abbeyleix so I approach the roundabout and this woman in a micra comes roundabout the wrong way. I just apply the breaks and come to a complete stop wait with traffic building behind me and being beeped to high heaven for about 30 seconds and low and behold this woman comes round again still going the wrong way, then she pulled over on the hard shoulder still facing the wrong way on the main road to Abbeyleix. I mean FFS.

2. Another time I was going from Cork to Cobh. I just came through he Dunkettle roundabout and after joining the N25 when I see a car about 400 yards past the round about, reversing down the fast lane. I pulled in quickly and got her attention, she said she missed her exit, I told her to continue on and use the Flyover another 1km down the road but she told me to feck off and mind my own business, so I left her to get her car totaled.

Well if you look at my examples they are all guys. I'm sure I've seen bad women drivers but I can't remember any, the insanity that men do seem to me to be much more memorable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Encountered one of those "risk my life and all around me to get infront of that car even though it is practical gridlock" arseholes this morning. It is people like him that need to plough into a tree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Let me see..

Driving about 70mph down a dual carriageway and notice I'm rapidly approaching a car on the outer lane which was about 2000 yards ahead of me.
    Much too fast...and then I copped why...the old git was driving on the same lane as me, AGAINST me. :eek:
    Slowed right down to about 20mph, put on my hazards and forced him into the ditch between both carriageways.
    Got out,,,fcuked him out of it for going the wrong way down a dual carriageway and told him to turn his ass around and take the next roundabout off.
    Luckily it was quiet at that time of morning.

Another one was where a truck and myself was heading up a bypass to get onto another road. Old guy (wtf? ) comes down against us..gets out of his car and starts fcuking us out of it for driving the wrong way...needless to say once we pointed out his error he got his ass back into the car fast enough..

Another time...driving a narrow country road and can see a tractor approx 400 yards coming against me.
    Some twat in a micra (boy racer) is ripping along behind me (70mph+) and goes to overtake...stupid pr1ck doesn't see the tractor and only for me slamming on my brakes as soon as he moved to the outer lane did he make it back in with about 5 yards to spare.
    I was kinda sorry that I reacted so fast as I would have laughed if he had ploughed into the tractor..however he did have a passenger so I'm glad I didn't ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

popped into the bus lane, which by the way is not a bus lane on Sundays or outside the hours of 7am to 7pm on every other day.

The bus lanes on Dublin's quays are from 7am to 10am and again from 4pm to 7pm.

One of the worst characteristics of Irish drivers is that they simply don't read road signs!

Yup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

On the Barntown roundabout in Wexford some years ago, I witnessed a driver who missed their exit, stop, do a 3 point turn and head back to the exit they intended to take. Luckily, there were only a couple of cars on it at the time.

If anyone knows that roundabout, the Council usually plant it with beautiful flowers during the Spring and Summer. Early one Sunday morning, I came across an 'auld dear who parked on the INSIDE of the roundabout, got out and carefully picked a nice floral arrangement for herself. A thieving dangerous driver.

Anyone who comes on here and says they are a brilliant driver is kidding themselves. We Irish are terrible drivers, it is just to what extent each of us is, being the only difference

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

<inserts weak John Daly drinking anecdote>

OT though, My Ma was giving me a lift down to the village one day and it was taking a little longer than usual. I was engrossed in the crossword and didn't notice anything amiss until my normally phlegmatic mother (she has more patience than Job) gets irritated and rants," Honestly Fairness, I swear this bottleneck gets worse every day." There was a funeral on and she had pulled in behind the parked cars instead of the line of traffic that is normally there. We could have been there for hours. Christ we nearly had to call an ambulance we were laughing so hard. So we left the car there and went for a pint and a laugh. I told her it reminded me of the time when I was little that she thought she'd rolled a six to land on Go in monopoly when actually she'd rolled a five and landed on me landlord little brother's Hotel laden Shrewsbury Road.
    Good Times.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

Poor you feel sorry for ya - what a bloody wank3r he was.

For me: quite simple really, Australia.. bloody shower of nutters on the roads. People in commodores and falcons, think they own the feckn road. Indicators must be optional on a lot of these aussie cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Come to galway, indicators are nothing but a decoration here, quite a few people don't bother using them including the mayor as i have witnessed.

As for roundabouts here? Forget it... Chaos! Definitely the worst county for drivers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Eduardo for Arsenal last night.

oh, driving....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

zero19 wrote: »
    As for roundabouts here? Forget it... Chaos! Definitely the worst county for drivers...

Send'em the Milton Keynes, that'll learn'em. ;)
    Q, How many roundabouts are there in Milton Keynes?

A, 300 actual roundabouts, unless you incliude the painted bumps then over 1000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

See what happens when you drive a skoda?? Holy ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

I don't drive myself but have seen the walkinstown roundabout at rush hour. It's a matter of kill or be killed. People making way for trucks as trucks make way for buses. It's very primal. It's the one place where the ten year old Ford Escort always outperforms the new BMW 635i because the owner of the beemer has more to lose in a crash.
    Car drivers are weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

in galway a few years ago i was leaving the Headforf Road Shopping centre exiting onto the roundabout with lights. The car in front was indicating right fair enough i was as well as i was heading for the dublin road. The old git then swings right wrong way around the roundabout forcing cars out of his way and off he went.

I'm still amazed he wasnt killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Last sunday I was driving home along the m1, quite busy too as all the Monaghan and Tyrone cars were heading home from the match. as i'm approaching the turn-off for my exit, i notice the occupants (mum,dad and 2 kids in the back) of the car alongside me in the other lane all glancing in my direction.

I assume they're trying to see if there's room to change lane so I slow down a bit (nice gal that I am). Next thing one kid has rolled the wondow down and chucks a paper cup of something at my car!!!now, if this had happened on a normal road i would have been irritated but I was going 100km p/h and got such a fright I very nearly crashed!!!

A few months back I was on the dual carriageway and a tractor (yes,a TRACTOR) was in the fast lane and me in the normal lane. He then proceeds to change into my lane with no indicator OR checking to see if it's clear. nearly ran me off the road.dick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭confused-dazed

ok roundabouts.
    left lane/ nearside lane is for going left unless otherwise stated and or going straight. outside land is going straight and or turning right (or third exit as in most cases). when using the outside lane going straight please have the cop on that you do not pull into the left lane after going straight through the roundabout. the amount of morans that do this is unreal. a classic example of this is the roundabout at the halfway house heading for blanch. i always use the left lane here and as i'm leaving the roundabout (after going straight) the amount of gob****es that try and pull across me from the outside lane is unreal.
    just an add on
    when approaching a roundabout in the outside/offside lane you do not use this lane to turn to your immediate left
    and
    when approaching a roundabout in the inseide/nearside lane you do not use this lane to turn to your immediate right
    aunburn ave onto N3, the inside lane here is for turning left and going straight. the outside lane for you morans that dont know how to read a road marking is for going straight and turning right only.this lane is not for turning left.. gob****es
    lane discipline
    road markings are there and there to be obeyed. please dont hog two lanes with one car, please dont make two lanes out of a single lane.
    shopping centre car parks.
    whoooooo this is a biggie for me.
    blanch S.C. car parks. those markings with a continous white line then broken lines going across mean you obey the line nearest to you. so in the case of a continous white line going across it means do not ****ing enter.
    those arrows in the middle of said lanes are there to let you know the direction of traffic. it does not mean you can drive against the /towards the traffic.
    some of you will say car parks mean jack ****. fair enough i say. but hit me when and we'll see who's right and who's wrong. i will take you to the ****ing cleaners. ohhh i'll hog the whole lane and not move an inch over if i have to why becasue you should'nt be coming towards me.
    indicators
    an indicator is not a right of way thats for you morans that dont know the rules of the road. 99% of people think that just because they indicate( thats for those of you that know where the indicator switch is by the way) they have right of way.well think again pal you're wrong.
    i've high lighted alot of stuff here simply because alot of full license holders shouldn't be let near into car let alone drive one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 496 ✭✭renraw

I had a car accident last year. As I was approaching a very sharp bend, I slowed down, as ya do. But as soon as I reached the very corner of the bend (doing about 30 mph on a main road) I had a fraction (quite literally) of a secoond to react to a silly woman who had stopped her car right on the bend. I clipped her car and damaged her bumper and the crumple zone in my car kicked in and I ended up in the ditch.

She really didn't have a clue that cars would be coming round the bend at speed. Only for the abs on the car I would have caused some serious damage. Silly woman!

nobody has the right to pull someone up over driving in bus lanes especially the .... that think they own the bus lanes. the only people that can do you for driving in a bus lane illegally are the guards.i've often had taxi drivers flashing me when i'm in the bus lane. now as well as owning the roads they think they can enforce bus lanes as well. well to you i say **** off. you're not a guard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭mandysmithers

I was recently driving on a main road near me, and I could have sworn the car in front was driven by a drunk person - it was literally going from the left side of the lane, over to the right, and back again. It was a learner driver....but seriously, unless you have Parkinsons, you should be able to keep your arms still whilst driving. Eventually it came to traffic lights, so the driver must have panicked, and she stopped, on the whilte line diving the two lanes, and proceeded to put on her hazards. I wasn't surprised when I passed to see that it was a black woman. In my experience, they are absolutely the WORST drivers I have ever encountered. Boy racers are dangerous, but at least they can actually drive - this woman simply couldn't.

Back to boy racers....god, I've seen so many examples of their dangerous driving, where they not only endanger their own lives but the lives of others, that I just don't really care anymore when I hear about a young man in his late teens/early 20s dying in a 'single car collision' where the 'car in which he was travelling lost control and crashed into a wall'. I know that may seem harsh, but cars don't lose control when sitting in a driveway, they lose control when driven at crazy speeds (I'm not counting bad tyres etc. although you should be aware of that, and get the replaced or drive according to the conditions if the road is wet etc.) I know they're only young, and feel invincible etc. but how stupid do you have to be to not cop on when there are so many fatal crashes reported involving people in your demographic, doing exactly what you're doing??!!! And it's even worse when they kill or maim an innocent bystander :mad: I ****ing hate the lot of them.

The bus lanes on Dublin's quays are from 7am to 10am and again from 4pm to 7pm.

Yup.
    you must be thinking of the bus corridor, which is a complete failure.
    bus lane times for quays are wrong. north quays.
    mon-sat
    7am-10am and 12noon- 7pm. there is only a 2 hour lull for motorists here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

I have some bad experiences of my own, but I have decided to turn this into a confession, rather than a witch hunt. I have a horrible habit, that I can't seem to break, that when I am in car parks, if a car ahead of me pulls over to the right, with the intention of reversing into a space on our left, I try to nip by behind them, rather than wait. I know, I know, I am a bastard, and I am trying to fix it, I've been shouted at numerous times, but I just can't help it :(

As for other people's antics, I once got over-taken by a boy racer on a seriously dangerous bend, as in one where if you go over the edge, it's a 2 foot drop to the path, then about 15 feet down to rocks! (coast road between portmarnock and malahide, at high rock to be specific). I was hittin a generous 65km/h at the time, but I guess it just wasn't enough for some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I was recently driving on a main road near me, and I could have sworn the car in front was driven by a drunk person - it was literally going from the left side of the lane, over to the right, and back again. It was a learner driver....but seriously, unless you have Parkinsons, you should be able to keep your arms still whilst driving. Eventually it came to traffic lights, so the driver must have panicked, and she stopped, on the whilte line diving the two lanes, and proceeded to put on her hazards. I wasn't surprised when I passed to see that it was a black woman. In my experience, they are absolutely the WORST drivers I have ever encountered. Boy racers are dangerous, but at least they can actually drive - this woman simply couldn't.

perhaps there was something wrong with her steering wheel/column??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭m3llowship

I wasn't surprised when I passed to see that it was a black woman. In my experience, they are absolutely the WORST drivers I have ever encountered.quote]

Dayum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭m3llowship

I wasn't surprised when I passed to see that it was a black woman. In my experience, they are absolutely the WORST drivers I have ever encountered.
    quote]

..............WOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Some people are hilarious on roundabouts. Worse driving I've seen is on the small roundabouts though, people dont realise the same rules apply. I've come close to being smacked by drivers who just drive through them as if they dont exist.

Oh, and the woman who drove into the back of me in town at the start of the month and blamed me. Thats up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

keano_afc wrote: »
    Some people are hilarious on roundabouts. Worse driving I've seen is on the small roundabouts though, people dont realise the same rules apply. I've come close to being smacked by drivers who just drive through them as if they dont exist.

Oh, and the woman who drove into the back of me in town at the start of the month and blamed me. Thats up there.

You've just reminded me of another time it was on one of those mini roundabouts. The guy stops on the round about I mean on the painted white circle. The passenger then gets out walks across the road talks to someone, and she then walks very unsteadily and slow (stupid looking shoes, she could barely walk) to the car and gets in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Longboard

Here are 2 that spring to mind...

The first is a lesson in Karma. It happened between 2 nearby coastal villages (I won't name) in west cork in the early hours of the morning a few years back. Two individuals drinking in 2 different pubs desided to drive home drunk at the same time. The first approaching a 4 road cross saw lights coming from the opposite direction, thought it was the gardai, so logically he slowed down, turned off his lights and waited for the other car to pass. The lights coming from the other direction was infact the other drunk driver who had the same idea as idot A and also desided to slow down and turn off his lights. After a few moments, both thought the coast was clear so they moved off leaving there lights off just in case. Result: Idot A managed to collide with Idot B in complete darkness at the cross road.

The second happened at the kinsale roundabout in cork during rush hour before the flyover was built. For those that don't the roundabout, it is a 3 lane roundabout that was a nightmare for conjestion. As i was going onto the roundabout from the Douglas side, 2 black men in nissan sunny coming down from the airport hill turned right on the roudabout into 3 lanes of oncoming traffic. I had to slam in brakes to avoid hitting them. Both men started to panic, so the traffic stopped to let them do a 3 point turn on the round about. I have never in my life seen 2 people get so much abuse from so many people at one time.