Ryanair backs yes vote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭leitrim lad

well everyone ,im not trying to start a feud here ,but its our own fault, we voted for corruption, and thats what made the likes of o leary rich, and thats what kept fianna fail in power,

so its time now to come out of the bushes and block the capital, and block it until the corruption steps down, and let us the people vote for a government we think will run the country in a mannerly way that will benefit us all,

i tried to arrange a meeting with a certain minister ,last week only to be told he had a full diary, and in responce to my phone call i got a snotty letter more or less telling me to **** off , and dont be annoying him, this man was my best friend when he asked me to canvass for him 2 years ago, so im a party member turned sour and i wont stop until i get revenge,

because corruption starts at the top, with a barrister and a solicitor running the country,

how much is it going to cost us the ordinary people to run this referendum again ,our money, but sher what about it , its them thats spending it,

o leary can scam us for bringing a leather wallet over a certain weight on a flight to wherever, but the government are in the same tent pissing out on top of us the ordinary people.

and i heard in the grapevine if they dont get a yes vote ,they will ratify it anyway, somehow or another

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

boredzeee wrote: »
    Fairy muff!

yea

well everyone ,im not trying to start a feud here ,but its our own fault, we voted for corruption, and thats what made the likes of o leary rich, and thats what kept fianna fail in power,

so its time now to come out of the bushes and block the capital, and block it until the corruption steps down, and let us the people vote for a government we think will run the country in a mannerly way that will benefit us all,

i tried to arrange a meeting with a certain minister ,last week only to be told he had a full diary, and in responce to my phone call i got a snotty letter more or less telling me to **** off , and dont be annoying him, this man was my best friend when he asked me to canvass for him 2 years ago, so im a party member turned sour and i wont stop until i get revence,

because corruption starts at the top, with a barrister and a solicitor running the country,

how much is it going to cost us the ordinary people to run this referendum again ,our money, but sher what about it , its them thats spending it,

o leary can scam us for bringing a leather wallet over a certain weight on a flight to wherever, but the government are in the same tent pissing out on top of us the ordinary people.

and i heard in the grapevine if they dont get a yes vote ,they will ratify it anyway, somehow or another

Nothing shurer than it`l be rushed through on the sly like everything else in this country, I for one wont be helping rush this sh&t through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 boredzeee

i tried to arrange a meeting with a certain minister ,last week only to be told he had a full diary, and in responce to my phone call i got a snotty letter more or less telling me to **** off , and dont be annoying him, this man was my best friend when he asked me to canvass for him 2 years ago, so im a party member turned sour and i wont stop until i get revenge,

Not trying to be smart, but who are the ordinary people?

the people who lost their jobs and are now on the dole or waiting for it, the people who arent in golden circles,
    the people who arent politicians,
    those of us who are trying our best to save our businesses and keep what ever few employees we have left in work,
    the tax payers

they are the ordinary people , and they are the people who should be running this country, or atleast have a choice in picking an honest bunch to run it,

not a crowd who bring in michael o learey to pull off a pr stunt to get a referendum passed

That's grand. What you're saying is 99% of people are ordinary people.

and heres a list of people who are not on my list of friends,

politicians
    bankers
    anyone asscoiated with either of the 2 above
    michael o leary
    the brits

take note of the above named parties, and examine and then you will figure out thats whats wrong with this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Micheal O'Leary is a hypocrite. He calls Trade Unions gready, what the hell is he then. He's definately not just saying he wants a yes vote for the good of the Irish people. He wants a yes vote so that he can get more money. However even though he does make a good point in his argument I can't take anything he says as truthful.

Anyway I find it to be a lazy strategy when people who support the yes vote say that Ireland would be nothing without the EU. By that reasoning we should never have left Great Britain. The thing is though, if we do vote yes because of our dependence on the EU, dosen't that mean that the EU will always know that Ireland is nothing without the EU and will hold that over our heads for many years to come. I don't like the idea of being blackmailed into voting yes. Although i'm not saying we'll be thrown out by voting no i'm just saying it's easy for countries like France and Germany to refuse votes but Ireland can easily be stepped on by the EU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

Rebelheart wrote: »
    Václav Klaus and the Czech Republic.

Irish people are seriously delusional if they think it is smart to vote against Lisbon. Waiting in the wings is the most anti-Irish group the Irish people have ever known: British nationalists/eurosceptics. With their daily weapons, the Oirish tabloids, they are impatient with the thought of recreating what they call the "British Isles" where the Irish give up on their thoughts of independence and get into their "proper" position as a mere regional identity of the English state that is currently named the United Kingdom. Did anybody else see their delight when we voted 'No'? As if, all of a sudden, a 'No' vote meant a vote in favour of British rule in Ireland. That was a warning shot for me anyway. I didn't vote then; this time I will definitely vote, and vote 'Yes'.

I long for an Ireland which has fully embraced the metric system, is inspired by the French health system, Scandinavian environmental policies, German professionalism and generally takes the best from the EU. The current Ireland is still unfortunately a slavishly Brit-copying society. That is not worth defending, never has and never will be. That is not the Irish national identity that I support.

My only hope is that the next batch of EU money has huge qualifications forcing us to become a truly European nation. If some backward people still want us to remain tied to Britain and its archaic measurement systems and xenophobic newspapers then go and seek British funding for this state.

The EU has to get tough with the Gay Mitchell and Seán Ó Neachtáin types in Irish political society: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2008/1217/1229035813072.html.

Well said, and as much as I'm against a lot of elements of Lisbon, its the reasons you point that I'll probably be voting Yes after voting No the last time. I don't want our country associated or put in the same boat as eurosceptic, anti-EU, ultra-nationalist, anti-immigration, far-right groups like the British Conservatives, Polish Conservatives, UKIP, Holland's Party of Freedom, or individuals like Jean-Marie Le Pen.

The 'end of the world' scenario the government tried to paint last year if we voted No hasn't happened, we're still attracting foreign direct investment, and we now have more major companies basing their European HQ here than ever before. But the perception of the country has changed abroad, and we're being seen more now as a eurosceptic country like Britain and the Czech Republic, and we're clearly not. And voting No again will only reinforce that perception amongst other European countries and like you say, serve to give the impression to far-right groups in Britain that we're somehow wanting to get closer to Britain than Europe, and work together to rebuild the 'British Isles' that can counter the Franco-German influence in the EU.

It comes down to voting for the lesser of the two evils, and for me thats definitely a Yes vote.

politicians
    bankers
    michael o leary
    the brits

take note of the above named parties, and examine and then you will figure out thats whats wrong with this country

Gotta love the banks, every penny this country had was poured in to bail out the bastards and they in return pull overdrafts on most of the small businesses in Ireland and completely ****ed them over. They then have the neck on them to ring and ring and ring to inform you that you have not cleared your overdraft. Absolute bast%rds! Maybe if they did their job right the 1st time and actually backround checked half of the ridiculous mortgages they gave out the 1st time, things wouldnt be half as bad as they are.

This country is built on a foundation of corruptness and who ya know.

As for Lisbon, if the paddys looked after their own insteada ****n worrying about Europe then maybe the fukn dole queues in Ireland wouldnt be so long.

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Micheal O'Leary is a hypocrite. He calls Trade Unions gready, what the hell is he then. He's definately not just saying he wants a yes vote for the good of the Irish people. He wants a yes vote so that he can get more money. However even though he does make a good point in his argument I can't take anything he says as truthful.

How does Lisbon help him or Ryanair out in any way? What can Ryanair do post-Lisbon that they can't already do? Anything that could've benefitted the likes of Ryanair or O'Leary was guaranteed in the Maastricht Treaty, Lisbon won't make a difference to Ryanair's business.

politicians
    bankers
    michael o leary
    the brits

OK.

Which politicians? All politicians or particular parties/ personalities? Modern government has to be run by elected officials...so there are always going to be politicians... so when do ordinary people become politicians that you don't like?

Which bankers? The lovely helpful girl at the till? The banker who pulled a few strings to help you the young couple get a mortgage or the investment banker who made some dodgy deals?

How do you mean associated? My bro works in a bank...me? I have a friend who is an independent councillor.....me? It's just too vague.

Michael O'Leary. Grand so, don't like him personally but he has given a fair amount of Irish people a job as well as revolutionising (by all objective accounts) the airline industry.

The Brits? Seriously? All Brits? My granda was born in London, so I suppose I'm part British. I've loadsa friends from the UK..I support Man Utd......But I'll stop being patronising...I guess you mean the British establishment, successive governments, most likely the royal family etc..

I'm not trying to get a rise...I just hate generalisations like that and while I can see reason behind parts of it and understand that many people will agree with you I just can't for the life of me understand why it's in a thread on the Lisbon Treaty.

i have just put the jigsaw together,

o leary, gets a tax break from the corruption in the dail, to slow down his cuts in dublin and shannon, which will earn him a few million in saved revenue bills,

so in return for this totally legal above board secret deal, he ploughs 500k into this campaign to help his buddies in the government ,who are on their knees ready to be be-headed by air lingus shareholders for not letting
    o leary buy them out for double what the shares are worth today

you see corruption works for them, so its time for us to put a stop to it

i have just put the jigsaw together,

o leary, gets a tax break from the corruption in the dail, to slow down his cuts in dublin and shannon, which will earn him a few million in saved revenue bills,

so in return for this totally legal above board secret deal, he ploughs 500k into this campaign to help his buddies in the government ,who are on their knees ready to be be-headed by air lingus shareholders for not letting
    o leary buy them out for double what the shares are worth today

you see corruption works for them, so its time for us to put a stop to it

wow, how could I've been so blind...:rolleyes:

OK.

Which politicians? All politicians or particular parties/ personalities? Modern government has to be run by elected officials...so there are always going to be politicians... so when do ordinary people become politicians that you don't like?

Which bankers? The lovely helpful girl at the till? The banker who pulled a few strings to help you the young couple get a mortgage or the investment banker who made some dodgy deals?

How do you mean associated? My bro works in a bank...me? I have a friend who is an independent councillor.....me? It's just too vague.

Michael O'Leary. Grand so, don't like him personally but he has given a fair amount of Irish people a job as well as revolutionising (by all objective accounts) the airline industry.

The Brits? Seriously? All Brits? My granda was born in London, so I suppose I'm part British. I've loadsa friends from the UK..I support Man Utd......But I'll stop being patronising...I guess you mean the British establishment, successive governments, most likely the royal family etc..

I'm not trying to get a rise...I just hate generalisations like that and while I can see reason behind parts of it and understand that many people will agree with you I just can't for the life of me understand why it's in a thread on the Lisbon Treaty.

if your ass was a smart youd be a model now

What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Feck, I'll be in Australia. Can we vote from abroad?

Confab wrote: »
    Feck, I'll be in Australia. Can we vote from abroad?

Nope, pretty sure you can't, unfortunately (unless you're a member of the DF, Garda or on state business or something). Pretty ****ty alright...something should be sorted out. It's the franchise section of the Dept. of Environment to get in touch with for official word.

Just looked on their website, and looks like they've painted up one of their planes for the campaign:

yes-vote1.jpg
    yes-vote2.jpg
    yes-vote3.jpg

Nope, pretty sure you can't, unfortunately (unless you're a member of the DF, Garda or on state business or something). Pretty ****ty alright...something should be sorted out. It's the franchise section of the Dept. of Environment to get in touch with for official word.

Id imagine its most like things here, all depends on who ya know:rolleyes: If you know the right people, you might be able to vote even though yer not here to vote.

Jim236 wrote: »
    Just looked on their website, and looks like they've painted up one of their planes for the campaign:

yes-vote1.jpg
    yes-vote2.jpg
    yes-vote3.jpg

Ive flown quite a few times with Ryanair, I will based on the above never book a flight with them ever again, hand on heart never again.

its a stunt alright

that will go horribly wrong when that thing falls out of the sky, and o leary is found with an extra hole or 2 in him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

You will be listening to pro Lisbon BS over the intercom throughout your two hour flight along with YES blurb pasted all over the inside of the cabin and in thier inflight rag.. :rolleyes:

Ill take the Boat. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

You have to hand it to O'Leary and his mastery of the PR stunt. This will not only generate column inches filled with the word Ryanair but the company, if officially part of the campaign will be allowed to poster the country with a poster like:
    Vote yes to lisbon
    Message brought to you by
    Ryanair
    The low fares airline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,978 ✭✭✭meglome

Ive flown quite a few times with Ryanair, I will based on the above never book a flight with them ever again, hand on heart never again.

I dunno now but maybe as an astute businessman he really thinks it's in the best interests of Ireland and obviously Ryanair. Maybe he actually knows a thing or two about what he's saying and we should listen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭FutureTaoiseach

He already supported Lisbon last year. No doubt Ryanair will profit from the provisions in Lisbon to increase cheap labour in the economy, such as Article 15(1) of the Charter of Fundamental Rights, which allows asylum-seekers to work by declaring that "everyone has the right to work". No doubt Ryanair welcome the provisions of the proposed Article 29.4.7 (para 7 of the 28th Amendment to the Constiotion Bill 2009) of the Irish Constitution which will allow the Government (with Oireachtas consent) to take us into the Schengen Area, abolishing passport checks on travel between 25 countries and Ireland. The agenda behind Lisbon is the race to the bottom and cheap-labour - just like Nice (which I foolishly voted for twice).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I wouldn't take advice from anybody who could potentially make a profit from a vote either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

So O'Leary's take on it is: Irish Govt. sucks vote for Lisbon to put more powers in the hands of the EU. Wow well done. How about we do as the yes side claim and deal with lisbon in October and our poxy government in the next general election?
    Strange how all the Yes supporters who get so angry at people saying they will vote no to stick it to the government missed this thread....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Mrmoe wrote: »
    I wouldn't take advice from anybody who could potentially make a profit from a vote either way.

We'll all profit from a yes and suffer from a no when the EU turns against us. So trust nobody.

Anyway, we all know the EU will make us abort our babies and then conscript them into an army to fight. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Has anyone else heard the argument being put out that a no vote may impact on the cost of Irelands borrowing.

Can see the Yes vote easily winning simply due to our present economic mess.