Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryanair backs yes vote

• 26-08-2009 5:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭

Ryanair has said it will spend “more than €500,000” campaigning for a Yes vote in the October 2nd referendum on the Lisbon Treaty.

The move comes a week after the general manager of the multinational company Intel in Ireland said voting Yes to the treaty was hugely important for the future of foreign investment in Ireland.

In a statement, Ryanair said it believed it was “vital” that the Irish electorate give a “resounding ‘Yes to Europe’” in the referendum.

The treaty was rejected by 53.4 per cent of those who voted in a referendum in June last year.

Chief executive of Ryanair Michael O’Leary said: “I believe it is vital that every Irish voter on 2nd October next votes in the referendum and votes ‘Yes to Europe’. Ireland’s membership of the European Union and the euro has transformed our economy and the lives of millions of Irish people today.”

“Ireland’s future success depends on being at the heart of Europe and our membership of the Euro. The European Central Bank came to Ireland’s rescue last year when the combination of appalling mismanagement by Bertie Ahern’s government over the past decade left Ireland hopelessly unprepared for the effect of the property/banking crisis and the recession which would, if it were not for Europe’s help, have caused a collapse of the Irish economy.

"The difference between Iceland and Ireland was not one letter, but rather Ireland’s membership of the European Union and the euro," he said.

“Without Europe and the euro, the Irish economy would be run by our incompetent politicians, our inept civil service and the greedy public sector trade union bosses, who through social partnership have in recent years destroyed Ireland’s competitiveness, created an epidemic of useless quangos and feathered the nests of the public sector at the expense of ordinary consumers in Ireland."

Mr O'Leary said he believed the Irish electorate must vote Yes to the treaty in October or "our economic future will be destroyed by Government and Civil Service mismanagement and the narrow vested interests of the public sector trade unions".

Chairman of the Peace and Neutrality Alliance (Pana) Roger Cole said the Ryanair announcement was not a surprise to him but he said limits must be placed on the amount that private companies could spend in a referendum or election campaign.

Mr Cole said it was "not reasonable that the corporate media can jump up and down" when money was being spent by bodies such as Libertas on a No campaign, and that the media not have anything to say about similar sums of money being spent by companies such as Ryanair and Intel to promote a Yes vote.

The Standards In Public Office Commission, the independent body which oversees spending in elections and referendums, confirmed yesterday there was no spending limit for individuals and companies.

“It is only when they start receiving donations that the legislation kicks in,” a spokeswoman said.

She said the commission, in its annual report, had called for a redefinition of what constituted a “third party”, subject to limits on spending in a referendum campaign.

It argued that the definition should not be determined on the basis of whether an individual or group had received a donation, but should focus instead on how much they spent.

They should be regarded as “third parties” if they intend spending over a certain threshold.

Mr Cole said the Irish people had rejected the Lisbon Treaty last year in a democratic vote.

“Now they are being forced to vote again on exactly the same treaty. One the key reasons why the EU political/media elite support the treaty is because it accelerates the process of the militarisation of the EU via the European Defence Agency and the ‘revitalises Nato’.

“Now these same firms that are part of the military-industrial complex and have a vested interest in war can spend billions of euro bullying the Irish people into submission.”

Would Mr. Cole care to provide any proof for his accusations?

Also, I'm no fan of Michael O Leary, far from it, but the bit I have in bold I think sums up the problems of this country in 1 sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

“Without Europe and the euro, the Irish economy would be run by our incompetent politicians, our inept civil service and the greedy public sector trade union bosses, who through social partnership have in recent years destroyed Ireland’s competitiveness, created an epidemic of useless quangos and feathered the nests of the public sector at the expense of ordinary consumers in Ireland."

No matter what you might think of Ryanair, or Michael O'Leary ... it's hard to find a flaw in this statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Except Voting NO does not mean a vote to leave Europe\EU.
    trout wrote: »
    No matter what you might think of Ryanair, or Michael O'Leary ... it's hard to find a flaw in this statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

BOFH_139 wrote: »

Granted. I'm not arguing for or against Lisbon II ... I'm not in a position to argue that.

I was remarking on his soundbite ... it just seems very concise and quite an apt summary of recent times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭narwog81

BOFH_139 wrote: »

the same small country voting No to a european treaty for the third time in a decade could very quickly find itself wthout very many friends....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭ChickenScratch

Aaah they're just narky cos we're allowed the oppurtunity to vote, unlike so many other countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭leitrim lad

its a PR stunt, and there is some insentive in it somewhere for o leary

narwog81 wrote: »
    the same small country voting No to a european treaty for the third time in a decade could very quickly find itself wthout very many friends....

i can clearly see your point , but we all must remember that we have been a member of this so called union in europe alot longer than the majority of ****pots ,who are trying to put pressure on us ,so is it not about time we told them to **** off, back to eastern europe for once and all,for instance turkey in europe, one example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭narwog81

i can clearly see your point , but we all must remember that we have been a member of this so called union in europe alot longer than the majority of ****pots ,who are trying to put pressure on them ,so is it not about time we told them to **** off, back to eastern europe for once and all,

if the founding states had taken that attitude in 1973 then we wouldnt be a member at all.

when you think about it, has Ireland been a net contributor or benefactor to Europe?

I think Ireland takes Europe for granted, we dont realise how much we actually owe to our EU membership...

if the founding states had taken that attitude in 1973 then we wouldnt be a member at all.

when you think about it, has Ireland been a net contributor or benefactor to Europe?

I think Ireland takes Europe for granted, we dont realise how much we actually owe to our EU membership...

again i can see your point but the point i was trying to make is, its all media bull**** ,that is speculating ireland will be ran to the fires of hell ,and expalled from europe out into the middle of the pacific for not ratifying this treaty, they forget that ireland was in the eec/eu since the founding states have , and it is one of the most longstanding countries in europe,were not blowins like romania , and turkey over in asia looking to get in ,were in and have the tshirt to prove it, we cant be expelled from europe, over a little treaty, its against our rights, if that was the case there would be no eu.

and its about dasm time these blowins and the media were told this , and told for once and all not to be stirring ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

Fear-based decisions are seldom good decisions. Every country given a chance to vote on recent EU treaties has voted NO. And they would this time too, but the people are not being allowed a say.

agreed i didnt like the way the brits done it ,and the germans and french followed, and remember yer man the ex eu president his government stood down ,and he was against the treaty ,but his government wanted to ratify it without even telling the people of their country,

what country was that i cant think of its name

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

trout wrote: »

As much as it evidently is part of human nature to search for heroes, there are no heroes in life, least of all a businessman.

Michael O'Leary is no Chuck Feeney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

This is an obvious PR stunt by O Leary to suck up to the pro Lisbon Governments and EU Parliament. 500K is nothing to pay for what he hopes to gain out of this in return. It won't change my mind on my previous decision.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

and remember yer man the ex eu president his government stood down ,and he was against the treaty ,but his government wanted to ratify it without even telling the people of their country,

what country was that i cant think of its name

Václav Klaus and the Czech Republic.

Irish people are seriously delusional if they think it is smart to vote against Lisbon. Waiting in the wings is the most anti-Irish group the Irish people have ever known: British nationalists/eurosceptics. With their daily weapons, the Oirish tabloids, they are impatient with the thought of recreating what they call the "British Isles" where the Irish give up on their thoughts of independence and get into their "proper" position as a mere regional identity of the English state that is currently named the United Kingdom. Did anybody else see their delight when we voted 'No'? As if, all of a sudden, a 'No' vote meant a vote in favour of British rule in Ireland. That was a warning shot for me anyway. I didn't vote then; this time I will definitely vote, and vote 'Yes'.

I long for an Ireland which has fully embraced the metric system, is inspired by the French health system, Scandinavian environmental policies, German professionalism and generally takes the best from the EU. The current Ireland is still unfortunately a slavishly Brit-copying society. That is not worth defending, never has and never will be. That is not the Irish national identity that I support.

My only hope is that the next batch of EU money has huge qualifications forcing us to become a truly European nation. If some backward people still want us to remain tied to Britain and its archaic measurement systems and xenophobic newspapers then go and seek British funding for this state.

The EU has to get tough with the Gay Mitchell and Seán Ó Neachtáin types in Irish political society: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2008/1217/1229035813072.html.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

The majority of the other countries in the EU, if they got the chance, would have voted no. There too much left untold and covered up to believe in a yes vote and for that reason i'm voting no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

junkyard wrote: »
    The majority of the other countries in the EU, if they got the chance, would have voted no. There too much left untold and covered up to believe in a yes vote and for that reason i'm voting no.

you do realize that referendums are illegal in some EU countries

like Germany where they were last used by Hitler to .. well if you ever read a history book you know what ...

who are you to force your beliefs on people of other countries?

and what exactly is being covered up? or being untold?? and by whom? and more importantly why?

take your tinfoil hat off and get off the weed man, you want to vote NO thats fine, but enough of this conspiracy nonsense being sprouted, there are people reading boards that would actually believe you without doing some further research of their own, but of course its easier to tell lies...

can you even come up with one reason to vote NO that actually has anything to do with the treaty?

no?? didn't thinks so!

please go to the European politics forum to gather more information and some education

same on you

/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

It's bullyboy tactics from now on so is it? I can make my own mind up thanks, I don't need to be told what to do by the likes of you.

junkyard wrote: »
    It's bullyboy tactics from now on so is it? I can make my own mind up thanks, I don't need to be told what to do by the likes of you.

once again do you have one reason to vote NO that has anything to do with Lisbon and doesn't involve a lie or a paranoid delusion?

yah didnt think so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

Shower a c&nts, I`ll be voting NO once again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 boredzeee

Sigh.

I swore to myself I wouldn't get involved in internet Lisbon debate this time around, but this has to be corrected.

As NO voters like to lump the Constitutional Treaty and Lisbon together let's look at the facts;

Spain voted yes to constitutional treaty.
    Luxembourg voted yes to constitutional treaty.
    France voted no to constitutional treaty.
    Netherlands voted no constitutional treaty.
    Ireland voted no to Lisbon treaty.

So, in fact two countries have voted yes to recent EU treaties and if you wanna take the combined popular votes of all these electorates and compare the results you'll find the Yes side have it by around four million votes.

Listen, everyone should make up their own mind by listening to the various arguments, but come on, what you've said is just wrong, either by mistake, ignorance or just laziness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Fair play donating €500,000 plus €3.50 cc charge.

Rebelheart wrote: »

Irish people are seriously delusional if they think it is smart to vote against Lisbon. Waiting in the wings is the most anti-Irish group the Irish people have ever known: British nationalists/eurosceptics. With their daily weapons, the Oirish tabloids, they are impatient with the thought of recreating what they call the "British Isles" where the Irish give up on their thoughts of independence and get into their "proper" position as a mere regional identity of the English state that is currently named the United Kingdom. Did anybody else see their delight when we voted 'No'? As if, all of a sudden, a 'No' vote meant a vote in favour of British rule in Ireland. That was a warning shot for me anyway. I didn't vote then; this time I will definitely vote, and vote 'Yes'.

I long for an Ireland which has fully embraced the metric system, is inspired by the French health system, Scandinavian environmental policies, German professionalism and generally takes the best from the EU. The current Ireland is still unfortunately a slavishly Brit-copying society. That is not worth defending, never has and never will be. That is not the Irish national identity that I support.

My only hope is that the next batch of EU money has huge qualifications forcing us to become a truly European nation. If some backward people still want us to remain tied to Britain and its archaic measurement systems and xenophobic newspapers then go and seek British funding for this state.

The EU has to get tough with the Gay Mitchell and Seán Ó Neachtáin types in Irish political society: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2008/1217/1229035813072.html.

i do agree with some of your points, and you are aware that tory ,as in the tory party is the old irish word for outlaw,

but we will never let what the brittish did to us in the past ,happen again, and germany wouldnt either ,not with all the money we owe them at present ,

the brits still havent copped on that they are only a small country like us and their "brittish colonies "could be wiped off the face of the earth in a day if they stepped on the wrong toes, hence them doing deals like letting go the lockaby bomber, this is ass licking by them at its height,

and europe doesnt think much of their queens head currency either,

my opinion is europe is a good thing ,but there is something about this treaty i dont like ,it has been hidden to well, for long enough, and you know what they say about someone who has something to hide

Shower a c&nts, I`ll be voting NO once again.

who is a shower of *****?

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    who is a shower of *****?

The Irish Government for a start and M O leary for second.

I 100% agree.

Not gonna use it as a basis for how I vote on Lisbon though.

boredzeee wrote: »
    I 100% agree.

Not gonna use it as a basis for how I vote on Lisbon though.

Ah obviously not me only reason for voting no, I just like stating that they are c$nts. Each to their own re the vote thats why we all get one vote each.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Anyone that has ever been shafted by Ryanair should now vote No. :)

That's grand. We're all friends here!

My opinion is that it really shouldn't make up any part of the reason to vote one way or another (in your case No). And really I ain't trying to tell you how to vote, but the ramifications of accepting or rejecting Lisbon will be around far longer then either O'Leary or the current government.

That's grand. We're all friends here!

My opinion is that it really shouldn't make up any part of the reason to vote one way or another (in your case No). And really I ain't trying to tell you how to vote, but the ramifications of accepting or rejecting Lisbon will be around far longer then either O'Leary or the current government.

Thats grand Ive read up on the treaty and no is the way for me.

Fairy muff!

well everyone ,im not trying to start a feud here ,but its our own fault, we voted for corruption, and thats what made the likes of o leary rich, and thats what kept fianna fail in power,

so its time now to come out of the bushes and block the capital, and block it until the corruption steps down, and let us the people vote for a government we think will run the country in a mannerly way that will benefit us all,

i tried to arrange a meeting with a certain minister ,last week only to be told he had a full diary, and in responce to my phone call i got a snotty letter more or less telling me to **** off , and dont be annoying him, this man was my best friend when he asked me to canvass for him 2 years ago, so im a party member turned sour and i wont stop until i get revenge,

because corruption starts at the top, with a barrister and a solicitor running the country,

how much is it going to cost us the ordinary people to run this referendum again ,our money, but sher what about it , its them thats spending it,

o leary can scam us for bringing a leather wallet over a certain weight on a flight to wherever, but the government are in the same tent pissing out on top of us the ordinary people.

and i heard in the grapevine if they dont get a yes vote ,they will ratify it anyway, somehow or another

Fairy muff!

yea

well everyone ,im not trying to start a feud here ,but its our own fault, we voted for corruption, and thats what made the likes of o leary rich, and thats what kept fianna fail in power,

so its time now to come out of the bushes and block the capital, and block it until the corruption steps down, and let us the people vote for a government we think will run the country in a mannerly way that will benefit us all,

i tried to arrange a meeting with a certain minister ,last week only to be told he had a full diary, and in responce to my phone call i got a snotty letter more or less telling me to **** off , and dont be annoying him, this man was my best friend when he asked me to canvass for him 2 years ago, so im a party member turned sour and i wont stop until i get revence,

because corruption starts at the top, with a barrister and a solicitor running the country,

how much is it going to cost us the ordinary people to run this referendum again ,our money, but sher what about it , its them thats spending it,

o leary can scam us for bringing a leather wallet over a certain weight on a flight to wherever, but the government are in the same tent pissing out on top of us the ordinary people.

and i heard in the grapevine if they dont get a yes vote ,they will ratify it anyway, somehow or another

Nothing shurer than it`l be rushed through on the sly like everything else in this country, I for one wont be helping rush this sh&t through.

i tried to arrange a meeting with a certain minister ,last week only to be told he had a full diary, and in responce to my phone call i got a snotty letter more or less telling me to **** off , and dont be annoying him, this man was my best friend when he asked me to canvass for him 2 years ago, so im a party member turned sour and i wont stop until i get revenge,

Not trying to be smart, but who are the ordinary people?

the people who lost their jobs and are now on the dole or waiting for it, the people who arent in golden circles,
    the people who arent politicians,
    those of us who are trying our best to save our businesses and keep what ever few employees we have left in work,
    the tax payers

they are the ordinary people , and they are the people who should be running this country, or atleast have a choice in picking an honest bunch to run it,

not a crowd who bring in michael o learey to pull off a pr stunt to get a referendum passed

That's grand. What you're saying is 99% of people are ordinary people.

and heres a list of people who are not on my list of friends,

politicians
    bankers
    anyone asscoiated with either of the 2 above
    michael o leary
    the brits

take note of the above named parties, and examine and then you will figure out thats whats wrong with this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Micheal O'Leary is a hypocrite. He calls Trade Unions gready, what the hell is he then. He's definately not just saying he wants a yes vote for the good of the Irish people. He wants a yes vote so that he can get more money. However even though he does make a good point in his argument I can't take anything he says as truthful.

Anyway I find it to be a lazy strategy when people who support the yes vote say that Ireland would be nothing without the EU. By that reasoning we should never have left Great Britain. The thing is though, if we do vote yes because of our dependence on the EU, dosen't that mean that the EU will always know that Ireland is nothing without the EU and will hold that over our heads for many years to come. I don't like the idea of being blackmailed into voting yes. Although i'm not saying we'll be thrown out by voting no i'm just saying it's easy for countries like France and Germany to refuse votes but Ireland can easily be stepped on by the EU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

Rebelheart wrote: »

Well said, and as much as I'm against a lot of elements of Lisbon, its the reasons you point that I'll probably be voting Yes after voting No the last time. I don't want our country associated or put in the same boat as eurosceptic, anti-EU, ultra-nationalist, anti-immigration, far-right groups like the British Conservatives, Polish Conservatives, UKIP, Holland's Party of Freedom, or individuals like Jean-Marie Le Pen.

The 'end of the world' scenario the government tried to paint last year if we voted No hasn't happened, we're still attracting foreign direct investment, and we now have more major companies basing their European HQ here than ever before. But the perception of the country has changed abroad, and we're being seen more now as a eurosceptic country like Britain and the Czech Republic, and we're clearly not. And voting No again will only reinforce that perception amongst other European countries and like you say, serve to give the impression to far-right groups in Britain that we're somehow wanting to get closer to Britain than Europe, and work together to rebuild the 'British Isles' that can counter the Franco-German influence in the EU.

It comes down to voting for the lesser of the two evils, and for me thats definitely a Yes vote.

politicians
    bankers
    michael o leary
    the brits

take note of the above named parties, and examine and then you will figure out thats whats wrong with this country

Gotta love the banks, every penny this country had was poured in to bail out the bastards and they in return pull overdrafts on most of the small businesses in Ireland and completely ****ed them over. They then have the neck on them to ring and ring and ring to inform you that you have not cleared your overdraft. Absolute bast%rds! Maybe if they did their job right the 1st time and actually backround checked half of the ridiculous mortgages they gave out the 1st time, things wouldnt be half as bad as they are.

This country is built on a foundation of corruptness and who ya know.

As for Lisbon, if the paddys looked after their own insteada ****n worrying about Europe then maybe the fukn dole queues in Ireland wouldnt be so long.

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Micheal O'Leary is a hypocrite. He calls Trade Unions gready, what the hell is he then. He's definately not just saying he wants a yes vote for the good of the Irish people. He wants a yes vote so that he can get more money. However even though he does make a good point in his argument I can't take anything he says as truthful.

How does Lisbon help him or Ryanair out in any way? What can Ryanair do post-Lisbon that they can't already do? Anything that could've benefitted the likes of Ryanair or O'Leary was guaranteed in the Maastricht Treaty, Lisbon won't make a difference to Ryanair's business.

politicians
    bankers
    michael o leary
    the brits

OK.

Which politicians? All politicians or particular parties/ personalities? Modern government has to be run by elected officials...so there are always going to be politicians... so when do ordinary people become politicians that you don't like?

Which bankers? The lovely helpful girl at the till? The banker who pulled a few strings to help you the young couple get a mortgage or the investment banker who made some dodgy deals?

How do you mean associated? My bro works in a bank...me? I have a friend who is an independent councillor.....me? It's just too vague.

Michael O'Leary. Grand so, don't like him personally but he has given a fair amount of Irish people a job as well as revolutionising (by all objective accounts) the airline industry.

The Brits? Seriously? All Brits? My granda was born in London, so I suppose I'm part British. I've loadsa friends from the UK..I support Man Utd......But I'll stop being patronising...I guess you mean the British establishment, successive governments, most likely the royal family etc..

I'm not trying to get a rise...I just hate generalisations like that and while I can see reason behind parts of it and understand that many people will agree with you I just can't for the life of me understand why it's in a thread on the Lisbon Treaty.

i have just put the jigsaw together,

o leary, gets a tax break from the corruption in the dail, to slow down his cuts in dublin and shannon, which will earn him a few million in saved revenue bills,

so in return for this totally legal above board secret deal, he ploughs 500k into this campaign to help his buddies in the government ,who are on their knees ready to be be-headed by air lingus shareholders for not letting
    o leary buy them out for double what the shares are worth today

you see corruption works for them, so its time for us to put a stop to it

i have just put the jigsaw together,

o leary, gets a tax break from the corruption in the dail, to slow down his cuts in dublin and shannon, which will earn him a few million in saved revenue bills,

so in return for this totally legal above board secret deal, he ploughs 500k into this campaign to help his buddies in the government ,who are on their knees ready to be be-headed by air lingus shareholders for not letting
    o leary buy them out for double what the shares are worth today

you see corruption works for them, so its time for us to put a stop to it

wow, how could I've been so blind...:rolleyes:

OK.

Which politicians? All politicians or particular parties/ personalities? Modern government has to be run by elected officials...so there are always going to be politicians... so when do ordinary people become politicians that you don't like?

Which bankers? The lovely helpful girl at the till? The banker who pulled a few strings to help you the young couple get a mortgage or the investment banker who made some dodgy deals?

How do you mean associated? My bro works in a bank...me? I have a friend who is an independent councillor.....me? It's just too vague.

Michael O'Leary. Grand so, don't like him personally but he has given a fair amount of Irish people a job as well as revolutionising (by all objective accounts) the airline industry.

The Brits? Seriously? All Brits? My granda was born in London, so I suppose I'm part British. I've loadsa friends from the UK..I support Man Utd......But I'll stop being patronising...I guess you mean the British establishment, successive governments, most likely the royal family etc..

I'm not trying to get a rise...I just hate generalisations like that and while I can see reason behind parts of it and understand that many people will agree with you I just can't for the life of me understand why it's in a thread on the Lisbon Treaty.

if your ass was a smart youd be a model now

What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Feck, I'll be in Australia. Can we vote from abroad?

Confab wrote: »
    Feck, I'll be in Australia. Can we vote from abroad?

Nope, pretty sure you can't, unfortunately (unless you're a member of the DF, Garda or on state business or something). Pretty ****ty alright...something should be sorted out. It's the franchise section of the Dept. of Environment to get in touch with for official word.

Just looked on their website, and looks like they've painted up one of their planes for the campaign:

yes-vote1.jpg
    yes-vote2.jpg
    yes-vote3.jpg

Nope, pretty sure you can't, unfortunately (unless you're a member of the DF, Garda or on state business or something). Pretty ****ty alright...something should be sorted out. It's the franchise section of the Dept. of Environment to get in touch with for official word.

Id imagine its most like things here, all depends on who ya know:rolleyes: If you know the right people, you might be able to vote even though yer not here to vote.