Dissidents setting up checkpoints

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Kalashnikov_Kid

Biggins wrote: »
    Yep but sadly some clearly don't get that. They are still living in the dark ages of thinking and doing things. Didn't work for them then and its not working for them now.
    The people of Ireland don't want them or want anything to do with them.
    They can run around like face covered rats all they want in the dark. The only people they are really fooling is themselves and clearly, with they operating in the dark, that's as far as their foresight and intelligence can extent to. Just not far enough to see the light, any light of intelligence!
    The IRA was supposedly the best terrorist army in Ireland at the time - and even they (the vast majority of their members/units) kopped themselves on and saw what was working, what wasn't and what the people supported and didn't!

These scurrying rats will get as far as they have gotten already, dark country land and hedgerows.
    Their actions are just laughable and they are the biggest sad joke of all!

From an objective point of view, I don't think I would have called the IRA South Armagh operations in the past 'laughable' at all. Maybe that was not exactly what you meant, but your post is quite derogatory towards their military achievements. During the Troubles, I dont think the British Army could ever say they were truly 'in control' of South Armagh. Even the use of high-tech surveillance techniques and intimidation tactics (think Crossmaglen, Forkhill) never quite managed to achieve their end goals. The IRA used their informal networks and superior knowledge of the local land to their advantage on many occassions.

Put it this way - I look at the recent difficulties the British Army experieced in Iraq and Afghanistan and often wonder where they are going wrong. Then I open up a map of South Armagh and realise that if they couldn't keep control of an area of maybe 100mls2 if their lives depended on it - quite literally - then their Middle East exploits are inherently futile, IMO - well thats another matter anyway.

You are right in that the popular political sentiment of the people of Northern Ireland ultimately sowed the seeds for the demise of the active IRA campaign in South Armagh, but at the height of the troubles they operated a water-tight system that you would openly laugh at at your peril if you lived in its vacinity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

True and sad. Like a horse wearing blinkers, can only see what its wants to see in just one direction - not the full scene or picture.

People are moving on, slowly but surely, some slower than others.

It scares the crap out of the extremists. What purpose have they then?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭fintonie

storm in a tea cup, its over

there is nothing new in what is going on in certain areas of the north, likewise nothing new in whats going on in Dublin, Cork, Limerick,

the human mind is there to be educated or stifled,

there will always be people looking for a leader regardless of the situation,

the world is full of violence and corruption, look at the guy who got home to die for a few barrels of oil,

we are the destruction, peace is so easy to live in yet all over we chose hardship, death, destruction,

humans me thinks, not if there is to be a future for this planet and this species, war unfortunately will be the deciding factor,

we strive to survive to explore to be better while doing our best to make ourselves extinct.

it takes time to grow old to learn, if the world was full of 40+ year olds there would be feck all hassle,

youth drive determination but most of all a mind which will allow itself to be controlled will always have the negative outcome.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

From an objective point of view, I don't think I would have called the IRA South Armagh operations in the past 'laughable' at all. Maybe that was not exactly what you meant, but your post is quite derogatory towards their military achievements.

If there is one thing that pisses me of big time, its those that are unwilling to (a) see what is actually written and (b) TRY to put words in my mouth!

WHERE EXACTLY is the part in my post that is quite derogatory towards previous IRA military achievements? :mad:
    POINT IT OUT PLEASE!!!

I stated:
    The IRA was supposedly the best terrorist army in Ireland at the time - and even they (the vast majority of their members/units) kopped themselves on and saw what was working, what wasn't and what the people supported and didn't!
    What's running around like cowardly rats now is NOT the IRA.
    - DON'T ATTEMPT to associate the present out of date fools with the previous members of the IRA and their more open actions.
    Its fooling no one but the stupid who might fall for it!

If you have misread the previous:
    These scurrying rats will get as far as they have gotten already, dark country land and hedgerows.
    Their actions are just laughable and they are the biggest sad joke of all!

We all are talking here in this thread about the CURRENT fools in the bushes up north.
    Where the heck are you going by bringing up the actions from another decade of the IRA South Armagh unit???

Sometimes I really dispare at the reading and comprehension skills that our education system is producing!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

wasnt there a similarly themed thread last month about another bunch of tools glorious freedom fighters, threatin youngfellas for hangin around being youngfellas, in cavan??

its worrying if tomfoolery like this is startin to go on again unchecked.

Biggins I already told you I wasnt sure what exactly you were getting at - i.e. ranting about what passes for current republican activity or the IRA in general, so I picked up on the tone of your post wrongly. I in turn havent made any comparison to IRA activity past and present, so maybe you could read my post more carefully too :pac:

Im not part of the conspiracy dont worry, and I have enroled at the Derek Zoolander School for Kids Who Can't Read Good (and who want to do other things good too) for September so no need to worry about me ;)

wasnt there a similarly themed thread last month about another bunch of tools glorious freedom fighters, threatin youngfellas for hangin around being youngfellas, in cavan??

its worrying if tomfoolery like this is startin to go on again unchecked.

Those youngfellas hangin around being youngfellas were apparently drug-users who had regularly engaged in violence and vandalism among the locals, or is that what passes for acceptable behaviour in rural Ireland these days I dont know.

...so I picked up on the tone of your post wrongly...

Thats fair enough and fair play to you - to your credit and standing - you admit that.
    I thank you and wish others that do and more often do same, have the similar balls to admit it with errors occur (sadly their ego's won't let them).
    Your the correct type of debater whom is best seen on forums such as the present one.
    I look forwards to further discussions with you. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭S-Murph

Was the NAZI party democratic too just because civilians thought they were doing the right thing and joining too?
    Is the Taliban democratic too just because their volunteers joined?
    Is the Chinese Army democratic just because its civilians are making up its numbers!

But its not about democracy. Democracy is what you are attempting to use as a base for an argument. Democracy is built upon, created and preceeded by violence. Talk of democracy is empty. What you are actually talking about is a legitimate use of violence for social purposes.

The state is a self perpetuating entity of violence. One in which the ideology of 'democracy' is used for its validation and perpetuation.

What I am saying is, violence and the use of authority is what matters. Whether that use of authority is 'just' is entirely subjective to the individuals involved.

To many millions of people the Nazi party was perfectly legitimate. And if you were one of those people in Germany spouting about democracy, well then, you would be dealt with by the authorities. Whether that was 'right' or 'wrong' is up to individuals to subjectivly evaluate. You are not an Godly authority on the matter.
    Have you bothered at all to read their IRA/Sinn Fein manifesto for Ireland and the direction in which they want to take it?

IRA and Sinn Fein :confused:

What have they got to do with anything. What I do know is that they plan to perpetuate and bolster the present capitalist economic arrangements. That cant be a good thing.
    Your statement that "the IRA are an entirely democratic institution..."is just laughable and a poor reflection on the quality of research into the institutional background of the organisation your espousing for.

Really, how so?

S-Murph wrote: »
    Really, how so?

Long story short - if you really have to ask, go back to school.
    If you want an education as to the details of the language, direction and contents of republican philosophy and agendas, go do your own further study.
    I'm not going to further try to teach someone who clearly is wearing blinkers of their own form.

Please feel free to continue the out of date republican ideology trolling anyway in the meanwhile...
    Its been so successful so far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

What an empty argument.

Besides the fact that British terror rains down death and destruction on entire nations and countries of many millions, to whom they never had a say in the matter, using 'democracy' as an argument is useless.

When it comes to 'states', violence in and of itself creates the mandate. For you see 'democracy' requires a 'body of people' to extract a 'mandate', - a majority.

However, 'the body of people' is an arbitrary construct, nothing definite and entirely subjective.

It is the british state, through violence, which asserts its authority over its subjects and thus defines "the people" to which it rules and can extract its mandate.

Violence preceeds any mandate. Violence preceeds and defines the "democracy".

It could equally be argued that the IRA are an entirely democratic institution in that those who join are volunteers, and participate directly.

"The IRA" being that arbitrary majority to which I choose, and which suits my own purposes - as you have done yourself.

As the saying goes, "one mans freedom fighter is another mans terrorist".
    a back seat hero

Long story short - if you really have to ask, go back to school.

Please feel free to continue the out of date republican ideology trolling anyway in the meanwhile...

So far in this thread I have not defended republicans.

But whatever you do, dont use that superior education and knowledge of yours to address the arguments put forth. :rolleyes:

getz wrote: »
    a back seat hero

What are you a soldier, PSNI or garda?

Or do you just like cheerleading like myself.

Hypocrisy knows no bounds.

But its not about democracy. Democracy is what you are attempting to use as a base for an argument. Democracy is built upon, created and preceeded by violence. Talk of democracy is empty. What you are actually talking about is a legitimate use of violence for social purposes.

Yep, we've been through the violence part already and are now in the democracy phase.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    Yep, we've been through the violence part already and are now in the democracy phase.

Well clearly not, seeing as Irish republicans have taken authority unto themselves, and continue to challenge the authority of the state.

So long as states exist, violence will also exist, and 'democracy' will continue to be defined by that violence.

...But whatever you do, dont use that superior education and knowledge of yours to address the arguments put forth. :rolleyes:

Nothing to do with addressing the arguments - I just have the eventual kop on (as so do others as per their previous comments) to know when to give up further fuelling your futile efforts and trying to direct you from your clearly blinkered view.

Bye...

Nothing to do with addressing the arguments - I just have the eventual kop on (as so do others as per their previous comments) to know when to give up further fuelling your futile efforts and trying to direct you from your clearly blinkered view.

Bye...

Blinkered :pac:

As I have said, I havnt actually defended republicans yet. I believe my argument to be the most objective so far on this thread.

Im afraid it is you who has the ideological blinkers on. (to the point where you accused me of speaking "out of date republican ideology" - despite never speaking about, nor defending "republican ideology"). :rolleyes:

Dont talk to me about blinkers.

What are you a soldier, PSNI or garda?

Or do you just like cheerleading like myself.

Hypocrisy knows no bounds.
    this post is about dissedents setting up checkpoints,but your contribution has been to push your anti/brit hate at any moderate,you are obviously still a young man,when you get older you will find [like everything else in life] you will look at thing differently.its called life learning.

this post is about dissedents setting up checkpoints,but your contribution has been to push your anti/brit hate at any moderate...

EXACTLY - but he don't get/see that! And he still wonders why I use the term "blinkers"?
    No point in debating with him further - its pointless and wasted on him given his tirades and their out of date direction.

Further thought: This thread should be closed. Its now going/gone nowhere fast.

this post is about dissedents setting up checkpoints,but your contribution has been to push your anti/brit hate at any moderate,you are obviously still a young man,when you get older you will find [like everything else in life] you will look at thing differently.its called life learning.

Look, I know many ""dissident"" republicans who are probably twice your age, and are still active in their respective organisations.

Is that where you and Dr. Biggins retreat to, - when all else fails, mouth off about how much older you are and how little education I have? LOL I guess the saying "dont argue with a fool as he will turn it around and beat you with experience" comes to mind.

How pathetic.

Whatever you do, dont address the arguments put forth. It might hurt.

LOL Clearly he is now not listening either! LOL

Mods - Lock this crap up please! I'm outa here.

EXACTLY - but he don't get/see that! And he still wonders why I use the term "blinkers"?
    No point in debating with him further - its pointless and wasted on him given his tirades and their out of date direction.

Further thought: This thread should be closed. Its now going/gone nowhere fast.

Debate?

You think making empty assertions about how little education I have is a debate?

Debating is addressing each others arguments. I addressed yours and you scuppered off.

You didnt debate, you patronised.

Sorry but not trolling any futher.
    I HONESTLY wish you good health sir.
    Bye.

Well clearly not, seeing as Irish republicans have taken authority unto themselves, and continue to challenge the authority of the state.

So long as states exist, violence will also exist, and 'democracy' will continue to be defined by that violence.

I'll set up the After Hours Peoples Republican Army then and we'll take authority upon ourselves to attack the state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

They never asked me. I live in this state and don't want to be represented in any way, shape or form by a bunch of violence-obsessed thugs who have nothing other to do than rely on the imagined support of a long weary proportion of society who now just want to move on.

Just let them make the move into fully fledged thuggery for once and for all and leave the unjustifiable "freedom" crap out of it.

Look, I know many ""dissident"" republicans who are probably twice your age, and are still active in their respective organisations.

Is that where you and Dr. Biggins retreat to, - when all else fails, mouth off about how much older you are and how little education I have? LOL I guess the saying "dont argue with a fool as he will turn it around and beat you with experience" comes to mind.

How pathetic.

Whatever you do, dont address the arguments put forth. It might hurt.
    if the dissident republicans are living to 138 years of age ,i think i will join them,i was a young man in the 60s ,i believed in flower power,peace not war man,and free love,now i only believe in free love,[i never pay for it]

Long Onion wrote: »
    They never asked me.

Fair enough. The British and Irish states didnt asked me either, and when born, I automatically became a subject. And if I disagree with them, well thats what prisons are there for.

We dont have much choice in the matter. The gun makes the law.

The question is whether we should support that violence, irrespective of where it comes from.
    I live in this state and don't want to be represented in any way, shape or form by a bunch of violence-obsessed thugs who have nothing other to do than rely on the imagined support of a long weary proportion of society who now just want to move on.

Well thats your viewpoint. You have a state with weapons of mass violence on your side.

Nationalists in the north simply capitulate to the violence of the British state. Some dont, and hence the existence of the IRA.

They disagree, and do not wish to be ruled by the British state, and use what is availible to resist that.

This resistance is not necessarily regressive, id argue the opposite. Using the language of "moving on" is ideological rhetoric. It dosnt help matters, or our understanding.
    Just let them make the move into fully fledged thuggery for once and for all and leave the unjustifiable "freedom" crap out of it.

I dont believe them to be thugs. And from those I know who engaged in the struggle for a socialist republic both past, and present, I believe them to be far from it.

K-9 wrote: »
    I'll set up the After Hours Peoples Republican Army then and we'll take authority upon ourselves to attack the state.

You could do that. Maybe you could learn a few things from Chechen fighters. Oh wait, dosnt the Chechan Republic only have a population of 1.1 million and Russia 140 million?

uh ooo. Its not democratic. I guess the chechens will have to wait for a Russian wide vote on the matter, with a body of people defined by the Russian state itself. Oh lordy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭jape

Checkpoint?

Feck, my tax is out date :(

jape wrote: »
    Checkpoint?

Feck, my tax is out date :(

Carry a gun. Thats a sure way to assert your 'rights' and authority on the matter. You can then call yourself an 'official' tax evader when stopped.