Stop someone from Killing themself?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Who do you think wrote that? I was depressed for weeks.

Do you feel suicidal?
    Can you act for less than 20,000 a year?
    You're not in a union are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Do you feel suicidal?
    Can you act for less than 20,000 a year?
    You're not in a union are you?

No/Yes/How dare you

It's casting couch time.
    Bow bow. Chicka chicka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Suite.

It's casting couch time.
    Bow bow. Chicka chicka.

How do you cast a couch?

You line a whole load of them up for interviews?

IvySlayer wrote: »
    How do you cast a couch?

You line a whole load of them up for interviews?

Of course. But on the downside It's more cushion for the pushin.

Kill me already before I have to endure more puns.

Night lads :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

Without doubt i would try and intervene.when i was out on junior night one of my friemlnds killed herself because of her results.if i hadn't chosen to stay out another 30 minutes then i could have saved her.It's a pretty awful feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭skregs

I killed myself once. Pain in the arse really, wouldn't recommend it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

This thread is absolute bollox.... if this thread had started when Michael Jackson had killed himself , we'd all be banned.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

skregs wrote: »
    I killed myself once. Pain in the arse really, wouldn't recommend it
    This thread is absolute bollox.... if this thread had started when Michael Jackson had killed himself , we'd all be banned.......
    Welcome to AH ,were nothing , not even suicide is not taken serious ,including your posts .

goodnight .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I don't think many people would kill themselves just to hurt their family.
    David Platt tried that before.

He survived.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭skregs

Latchy wrote: »
    nothing... is not taken serious

I think you'll find the correct usage of negatives is in fact a deadly serious matter

Latchy wrote: »
    Welcome to AH ,were nothing , not even suicide is not taken serious ,including your posts .

goodnight .

It is when it's some ****in grade A nutjob though, because he was a celeb and was never "found guilty" of being a dirty Pedo..... **** that.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

Anyone ever see Office Space?

If you have you'll remember the scene:pac:

It is when it's some ****in grade A nutjob though, because he was a celeb and was never "found guilty" of being a dirty Pedo..... **** that.:mad:
    Exactly, Not Guilty.

skregs wrote: »
    I think you'll find the correct usage of negatives is in fact a deadly serious matter
    if you read my posts you would see that but your post on the subject like mine, is just another post except mine are not as flippant ..you understand the difference ?

Exactly, Not Guilty.

So why couldn't we say we didn't give a shiiite he died and make "distasteful" jokes??

We are not talking about MJ who as far as I am aware ,died of ' misadventure ' ie , not intentional although that has yet to be proved

So why couldn't we say we didn't give a shiiite he died and make "distasteful" jokes??

What has that got to do with him being tried and found not guilty??

Also he didn't kill himself, so off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Strange thread, if you knew someone was killing themselves 20 feet away, you're saying you'd have to think about it?

Of course, that was directed @ everyone here.

Overheal wrote: »
    Strange thread, if you knew someone was killing themselves 20 feet away, you're saying you'd have to think about it?

No, OP was asking in general.

Overheal wrote: »

Ok , I was at a party a few years ago and saw this girl was turning a whiter shade of pale .Now even though I had a few drinks down me I knew this girl was overdosing ( on something besides the booze ) so my natural instincts kicked in and I dragged her round to the loo and eventually got the response I wanted ie, make her puke ,which she did .Turns out she had being at somebody elses house earlier in the evening and had being spiked with some concoction or other .The pure colour of her face frightened me me enough to sober up in time , enough to want to make the difference .She was my friend ,I cared about her

I am sure many people find themselfs in the same situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

No, OP was asking in general.
    I know just I find it hard to believe anyone would need to think twice before stopping someone from killing themselves if they knew, and could prevent it.

Me too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

I would have to say, as someone who would be considered in the high risk category, I wish every potential suicide victim could read an Agatha Christie book which I think is called Loophole? It is a murder mystery where a nasty vindictive individual tries to frame his ex-wife for a murder he commits. Anyway this appalling miscarriage of justice is prevented by a man who witnessed how the set-up was done. He saw a piece of rope hanging down a cliff where it shouldn't be. The man was about to commit suicide. But by not committing suicide he saved an innocent woman from going to prison and living a life of unjustified hell, and brought a very dangerous individual to justice. It always reminds me of what my mother says to me in my lowest times. "You have to hold on, because you don't know how important you might be, God puts everyone here for a reason."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

Way to ruin the book. Am I first?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

I don't like people who say that tbh.

If someone reaches a point where they want to kill themselves they probably genuinely believe that no one will care or that there family and friends will be better of without them.

I don't think many people would kill themselves just to hurt their family.

But by the same token, if everyone who suffered or hit a rough patch in their lives just took the easy way out instead of trying to deal with their problems, then there would be hardly any of us left.

In this day and age of The Samaritans, free councelling and Pieta House, there is ALWAYS someone who cares. IMO it is selfish. And I'm speaking from personal experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Agonist

I would have to say, as someone who would be considered in the high risk category, I wish every potential suicide victim could read an Agatha Christie book which I think is called Loophole? It is a murder mystery where a nasty vindictive individual tries to frame his ex-wife for a murder he commits. Anyway this appalling miscarriage of justice is prevented by a man who witnessed how the set-up was done. He saw a piece of rope hanging down a cliff where it shouldn't be. The man was about to commit suicide. But by not committing suicide he saved an innocent woman from going to prison and living a life of unjustified hell, and brought a very dangerous individual to justice. It always reminds me of what my mother says to me in my lowest times. "You have to hold on, because you don't know how important you might be."

Load of cack. I mean, if it works for you then great. But we're not all put here on earth with a special purpose, except for the Steve Martins among us.
    There's plenty to stay alive for apart from some ill-defined possible future reason.