Non Alcaholic Lager

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,289 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Becks non alcaholic has 0.3% in alcaholic in it which i thought was funny

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

rubadub wrote: »
    Well it is very unusual to see cans in pubs.

In my local a pint of coke would be €8.40

If you don't see the point of N/A beer, then whats the point of coke?

ye i know most dont, its the only pub i kno that sells cans

and coke is equally pointless. water is the best option but can get boring and coke is jus something different to drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

kearnsr wrote: »

and erdinger is 0.4%

why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Lord Derpington

rhapsody! wrote: »
    Out of curiosity, can under 18's buy non alcohol lager? I saw it in Lidl the other day and couldn't help but wonder.

I'm 18 anyway, but I was curious.
    Lager tastes like piss anyway.

Nope, was buying NA beer in tesco one day some lovely Erdinger.
    Till did the usual beserk red flassy light and approval needed tone...

Bit thick really when you consider the amount of alcohol in it, more alcohol in mouthwash

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,289 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

and erdinger is 0.4%

why?

I've no idea but had hours of fun taking the piss out of a friend who was drinking it so she could give us a lift home telling her she was pver the limit.

She'd have to drink about 60 of them to get a buzz!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

ye i know most dont, its the only pub i kno that sells cans

and coke is equally pointless. water is the best option but can get boring and coke is jus something different to drink.
    Well originally you said
    dannym08 wrote: »
    i honestly don't see the point of N/A Beer. Just drink Coke, its cheaper
    So I presume you do see the point now,
    -something different to drink, and cheaper than coke in most pubs.
    If your pub was the only one selling cans I don't see why you couldn't see this point to begin with.
    kearnsr wrote: »
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Low-alcohol_beer
    In the United States, beverages containing less than 0.5% alcohol by volume (ABV) were legally called non-alcoholic, according to the now-defunct Volstead Act. Due to its very low alcohol content, non-alcoholic beer may be legally sold to minors in most American states.

In the United Kingdom, the following definitions apply by law (correct as of May 2007):[1]

No alcohol or alcohol-free: not more than 0.05% ABV
    Dealcoholised: over 0.05% but less than 0.5% ABV
    Low-alcohol: not more than 1.2% ABV
    In the rest of the European Union, beer must contain no more than 0.5% ABV if it is labelled “alcohol-free.”
    reminds me of the teenage years when we gave somebody non-alcoholic beer and told him it was some new kind of import. We then watched him progressively get drunker through the night
    Placebo as mentioned, but also
    http://www.sciencedirect.com/science?_ob=ArticleURL&_udi=B6WHN-4D159F7-FT&_user=10&_rdoc=1&_fmt=&_orig=search&_sort=d&_docanchor=&view=c&_searchStrId=980558735&_rerunOrigin=google&_acct=C000050221&_version=1&_urlVersion=0&_userid=10&md5=c3f99fee566eeaeae61358d148e8bbb1
    With the availability of non-alcoholic beer, many patients are substituting non-alcoholic beer for regular beer. Moreover, several clinicians advocate the use of non-alcoholic beer by alcoholics when there is a possibility of relapse. However, patients with alcoholic end-stage liver disease can accumulate substantial circulating ethanol levels even when they consume non-alcoholic beer. We present a case of a patient with end-stage liver disease who achieved a blood alcohol level of 57 mg/dL after drinking non-alcoholic beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,774 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

brummytom wrote: »
    What's wrong with Becks?
    Never found it a problem to get non-alcohol lager in pubs.. but Erdinger might just be a hard one to get hold of?

Prefer Cobra 0% myself
    Aren't you like 15.

What are you at drinking.

I drink to get drunk. Drinking non-alcoholic beer is like riding your sister, its a ride but its just not the same*.

i'm aware some comedian said this before. I just can't remember who it is to quote him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Lord Derpington

Weirdet non alco i ever seen was Bav, i mean its not as if anyone drinks Bav for its amazing taste.

Just remembered, if anyone is in Kilkenny looking a nice pint of non Alcoholic, Zuni on Patricks Street do Erdinger NA on tap.
    Its nice resturant too, but has a bar in the front.
    Maybe a list of places that do Non Alcohlic on tap would be a good idea if people are finding it hard to find em.
    Although i suppose here would be a better place for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

why is it so difficult to get decent unleaded lager in pubs?
    im off the beer at the moment and have taken a shine to erdinger blue label but its near impossible to get it. i went into a pub on the quays last week with my two brothers and asked the barman what N/A he had and the cheeky wanker said 'tap water', then becks.
    went to another pub and they only had becks as well so in the end i had a pint of heineken that was poxy and ended up only drinking a quarter of it.
    it seems that pubs dont want non drinkers on their premises

Get that BGRH sign out of your sig tbh. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Des wrote: »
    Get that BGRH sign out of your sig tbh. :rolleyes:

its only temporary des;), have to give the liver at least a fighting chance of survival

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Non alcoholic beer is like eating your sister's pussy. I tastes the same but it just isn't right.

Bah! Dave McSavage jokes begone!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

Non alcoholic beer is like eating your sister's pussy.

And you know this how?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭fullback4glin

Drinking non-alcoholic lager is alot like going down on your sister, it tastes the same but you just no somethings not right!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Drinking non-alcoholic lager is alot like going down on your sister, it tastes the same but you just no somethings not right!

Thank god. You got here just in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Quazzie wrote: »
    Aren't you like 15.

I drink to get drunk. Drinking non-alcoholic beer is like riding your sister, its a ride but its just not the same*.

i'm aware some comedian said this before. I just can't remember who it is to quote him
    Was it this guy..?
    Non alcoholic beer is like eating your sister's pussy. I tastes the same but it just isn't right.

Don't see the point in non-alcho beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭tbaymusicman

It all taste gross has anyone tried the tesco low alcohol cider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Jeanious

Jaysus, if youre drinking, then drink. If youre not, drink coke or water or something. What with the absolute slop we get over here, i dont know a whole load of people who drink beer for the taste anyway!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

coyle wrote: »
    Jaysus, if youre drinking, then drink. If youre not, drink coke or water or something. What with the absolute slop we get over here, i dont know a whole load of people who drink beer for the taste anyway!

The likes of Paulaner and erdinger appear to be getting more popular on tap around the country. Many pubs near me have a fine selection of bottled and draught beers. It's rarely the case where you have a choice between the guinness tap, the harp tap or the smithwicks tap anymore.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,665 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

In the last budget
    Excise Duty on low alcohol beer and cider reduced by 50% (ABV of less than 2.8%)

Has anyone noticed these lower alcohol drinks on sale anywhere and if they are signifigantly cheaper in pubs ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 couch13

Whats the point? who likes the taste of beer?

couch13 wrote: »
    who likes the taste of beer?
    Well judging from sales probably a billion or so...

I have met 2 lads who said they did not like the taste of beer, and only drank to get drunk, they drank bud which is understandable. Dunno why they don't just go for spirits and soft drinks they do like, though that is an expensive habit.

Has anyone noticed these lower alcohol drinks on sale anywhere and if they are signifigantly cheaper in pubs ?
    Well if they followed their normal pricing policy I would expect them to be significantly more expensive in pubs. i.e. getting close to being softdrinks, in many pubs a shandy will be more expensive than a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Non alcoholic beer is like eating your sister's pussy. I tastes the same

My sister's pussy tastes like non-alcoholic beer?

That's pretty cool!

Sofaspud wrote: »
    My sister's pussy tastes like non-alcoholic beer?
    It does indeed, I also like to jam a wedge of lime in it to keep the flies away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

couch13 wrote: »
    Whats the point? who likes the taste of beer?

*Raises hand*

I'm not saying I don't drink it to get drunk but if I didn't like the taste of the stuff I wouldn't drink it full stop. There's plenty of other ways to get drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Quazzie wrote: »
    Aren't you like 15.

I am yeah - I like the taste of beer/lager tbh (no idea what the difference is). It's Carling for me at the moment.

My mates drink to get pissed, I don't.