Is Galway worse than Cork and Dublin?

Wompa1 wrote: »
    In reply to the last guy there was close to 100 people arrested on the Thursday night alone of race week. I am from Galway and it is full of hippy scum but it's still by far better than Cork and Dublin. I'm not even a big fan of Galway either it's just how it is.

I was out the Tuesday, Thursday and saturday nights of race week. On cross street and quay street etc and I didnt see the slightest bit of trouble or scumbaggery Everybody was having a great time and the atmosphere was fantastic. Three of the best nights I have had in a very long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭D-A-V-E

El Siglo wrote: »
    Seriously, Dublin gets a good bashing on boards along with Cork, I'm from neither of these places, but Galway always seems to escape even though it's full of crusty hippy, Hallelujah, crappy acoustic guitar playing, sandle wearing, white man with dreads, over sized wooly jumper wearing knobs. Am I wrong to say that Galway is the smug self righteous, hippy capital of the country and worse than Dublin and Cork put together?:rolleyes:

Your thoughts ladies and gentlemen!:D

and Limerick?! Limerick get an awfull doing too, most of it from people who havent even been to the place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

rossie1977 wrote: »
    because dublins such a massive city on a world scale ;)

all irish "cities" are nothing more than large towns, dublin with 400,000 isn't even in the top 100 cities population wise in europe never mind the world (in before claims dublin is 1 million, ah thats the whole county, galway should claim tuam and ballinasloe ;)) dublin is smaller than well know metropolises like bradford ffs
    I totally agree. The only reason I do like Dublin so much because it's the best (my personal opinion!) of what we've got. The 'closest' to a proper city.

That's why I'm moving to London next year, if not New York :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

I totally agree. The only reason I do like Dublin so much because it's the best (my personal opinion!) of what we've got. The 'closest' to a proper city.

That's why I'm moving to London next year, if not New York :p

just because somewhere is bigger though doesn't make it better, there are numerous cities in the states better than NYC, despite NYC being by far the bigger, san francisco blows NYC out of the water, las vegas too for things like entertainment and nightlife, i prefer nice to say paris or marseille, despite the other two being much bigger

D-A-V-E wrote: »
    and Limerick?! Limerick get an awfull doing too, most of it from people who havent even been to the place!

i like limerick, nice town, great base for a weekend away, same with waterford, though limerick has more to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

just because somewhere is bigger though doesn't make it better, there are numerous cities in the states better than NYC, despite NYC being by far the bigger, san francisco blows NYC out of the water, las vegas too for things like entertainment and nightlife, i prefer nice to say paris or marseille, despite the other two being much bigger
    I just really love New York and London, and why not live somewhere you love? You'll be happier! Size doesn't really come into it :confused: Again, it's all down to personal preference - just because you think San Fran is better doesn't mean I'm wrong for thinking I want to live in NY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭KerranJast

i like limerick, nice town, great base for a weekend away, same with waterford, though limerick has more to see
    Only downside to Limerick (from someone who lives there) is there isn't the same range of going out places as in Cork, Dublin or Galway. What is there can be great craic though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

D-A-V-E wrote: »

Apologies, note the time of when I opened this thread, I was very much tired and I will indeed make the necessary changes to rectify the situation, lest we forget about Limerick. I will say though, +1 on the nightlife in Limerick, it is great craic down there. Rubberbandits are also pretty good!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

And Sligo. I was in Sligo once and I was told to "phuck off back to Dublin yeh chunts" about 5 times by different people

cornbb wrote: »
    Bads:
    Crap weather

i dunno, just back from norway and when it rains there it really rains, i got soaked despite being in full "waterproof" rain gear from head to toe walking around bergen one night, never saw rain like it in all my time living here in ireland and certainly nothing like it in galway, if it rained like that here we would be under water after a week, i always found galways weather to be decent, the town itself, better than roscommon certainly, better than sligo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Grimes wrote: »
    And Sligo. I was in Sligo once and I was told to "phuck off back to Dublin yeh chunts" about 5 times by different people

south-park-smug-313.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,738 ✭✭✭BigEejit

Stevecw wrote: »
    Galway is quality!! Hard to beat a night out that includes fish & Chips in McDonaghs (best chipper in Ireland) then on to Taffes where u will have great night & get with some one...who u and her will go to CP's or Karma and you know the rest ..giggity!!! ;)
    Christ, that exactly the kind of night I used to have there >15 years ago though. Good times :D

(what was Karma called before they changed its name?, unlikely to ne a new one .... there used to be a place called nono's where my 40 year old brother used to prey on all the desperate unmarried 40+ year old women, its not that place is it?)

BigEejit wrote: »
    (what was Karma called before they changed its name?, unlikely to ne a new one .... there used to be a place called nono's where my 40 year old brother used to prey on all the desperate unmarried 40+ year old women, its not that place is it?)

karma was the alley before the name change

what was Karma called before they changed its name?,

It was "The Alley" before Karma.

Edit: beaten to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

padi89 wrote: »
    :confused: Link please? Didn't read or hear any report of that.
    There were 50 arrests over the Bank holiday Weekend reported in a few papers.
    http://www.galwayindependent.com/local-news/local-news/almost-50-arrests-over-weekend/

Woops sorry I was wrong. I saw it on Galwaynews.ie but it probably was 50, didn't think it was the weekend though because what I read was on the Friday. I was in Eyre Square playing chaffeur at 3 in the morning and go to see the carnage. Saw 2 guys arrested in the space of 15 minutes. Probably just thrown in the drink tank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭teddy_303

Grimes wrote: »

I don't know what part of Sligo you were in. Sounds like you were well out of Sligo town. Anyone from an urban area in rural areas get that in every country in the world, almost at least.If you were in town, you would have either met normal civilised people, or a big bunch of knack bags, neither of whom speak like you mentioned earlier,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,738 ✭✭✭BigEejit

I'll just say i lived in dublin (only 6 months, it was enough) and Cork for 7 years and Galway for 8 years and Galway wins hands down for quality of life ....

If I had to move back to Ireland it would be back to Galway.

What's with the blatant racism on this thread re Dublin? I agree it's a sh1thole but what do Asians/other foreigners have to do with that? The only problems I've ever had in that city have been from the heroin addicted scumbag white locals. When was the last time a Chinese person mugged you, harassed you, egged a bus stop or threatened you for not giving them some 'spaaare chaaa-unge' on the quays? The only time I read about Asian people in the papers, it seems to be when they're attacked or harrassed (the bus driver whose bus got hijacked comes to mind). Does it just offend your eyes to see so many 'foddiners' on the streets? Very weird attitude, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Fair point there Izzy Wizzy. Get a real reason to hate Dublin folks. No shortage like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

[quote=[Deleted User];61607938] Does it just offend your eyes to see so many 'foddiners' on the streets? Very weird attitude, imo.[/QUOTE]

Its more to do with the changing face of Dublin. Dublin is losing everything it was and evolving and there is nothing Dubliners can do to stop it. Its a fact of life but people dont like it. Thats all. Im sick of people throwing around the term "your racist" whenever they see someone dissaprove of anyone remotely physically different from them. Dublin has lots of these types of people aswell. The Anti-Scumbag. just as irritating and intrusive to your rights. ALso knows as The Green party :D

There are thousands and thousands of foreign people in Dublin. There are areas of Dublin that are no longer considered "Irish" areas and the Irish "culture" has become diluted in a new multi-identity mess of cultures and peoples that Dublin has come. Some people think thats bad, some think its good. Personally I couldnt care less as I hate the dump anway.
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Christ, that exactly the kind of night I used to have there >15 years ago though. Good times :D

Kno Kno's as it was called is now the GPO. And has been for the past 17 years I think. :D

And as a Galway Person I may be biased but when the sun is shining and the temperature is up Galway is the most beautiful place in the world. Pity that only happens 1 or 2 days a year.

And before anyone says I'm full of it..Galway is not just a single street with Pubs ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Woops sorry I was wrong. I saw it on Galwaynews.ie but it probably was 50, didn't think it was the weekend though because what I read was on the Friday. I was in Eyre Square playing chaffeur at 3 in the morning and go to see the carnage. Saw 2 guys arrested in the space of 15 minutes. Probably just thrown in the drink tank

You must be wrong, there is or was no mention of this on Galwaynews.ie and i would read it most days, tried a search too but nothing.Even if there were 50 arrests on the Thurs the local rags would have been having a field day but i didn't see any report of this all week.You've gone from 100 arrests on the Thurs to "probably" 50 but there is still no evidence of this.The only report of arrests that week that i read was the one i linked to you, which the guards said was "fairly standard" for such a busy weekend.Lets not blow things out of proportion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭enry

i hate galway it has the real poverty of the west in it. only jokin its great :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

wow i knew us dubs were despised in Cork but never knew we were hated by Galweigans too! When these threads come up it's amazing the amount of animosity towards Dublin and ill informed views that come up! Yes there's a heroin problem here but it's probably in every town/city in Ireland on a smaller scale. People complaining about Asians here? Doesn't even warrant a response!
    Have been to Connemara a few times and it's really beautiful. Have been meaning to go to the city for a couple of nights sometime but are Dubs really not welcome there? Or are you selective about what kind of Dubs you want visiting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭nerophis

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    wow i knew us dubs were despised in Cork but never knew we were hated by Galweigans too!

I think there's a healthy animosity towards Dublin from ALL counties in Ireland- it's the classic us/them situation. The Irish, Welsh, Scots have a go at the English, the rest of England has a go at Londoners. County people have a go at City people- it's everywhere. Don't feel bad BraziliaNZ- you can always pretend you're from Galway! Then everyone will envy and respect you.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Have been to Connemara a few times and it's really beautiful. Have been meaning to go to the city for a couple of nights sometime but are Dubs really not welcome there? Or are you selective about what kind of Dubs you want visiting?

galway is and has always been a city of the tribes, you have every nationality under the sun mingling together on a few small streets till the early hours of the morning every night, why do you think dubs wouldn't be welcomed there :confused: the town embraces hen parties like there is no tomorrow, knacker dwarves, warty old woman, crazy talk to themselves old men and even mayo people, so you will be grand :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

[quote=[Deleted User];61607938]What's with the blatant racism on this thread re Dublin? I agree it's a sh1thole but what do Asians/other foreigners have to do with that? .[/QUOTE] It's called inclusion but I agree they really let the team down they have no problem setting up mafias in other countries what's with the laziness when they come to Ireland? The Filipinos had a good weed growing racket going here though so maybe the other Asian immigrants could learn something from them.
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

nerophis wrote: »
    I think there's a healthy animosity towards Dublin from ALL counties in Ireland- it's the classic us/them situation. The Irish, Welsh, Scots have a go at the English, the rest of England has a go at Londoners. County people have a go at City people- it's everywhere. Don't feel bad BraziliaNZ- you can always pretend you're from Galway! Then everyone will envy and respect you.

there is nothing healthy about the animosity towards roscommon from all other connaught counties but i don't think i or any of my other county men/women are going to worry about it, its far worse than than anything i have ever seen towards dubs, on the train home a week ago i saw mayo girls abuse a few roscommon lads wearing jerseys, the roscommon lads did nothing but the girls starting spraying perfume after they left and calling them names, leitrim fans chant "better to be a paki than rossie" at us during games, maybe they are all jealous of us :D

offaly people are called biffos ffs, everyone paints someone from cavan with the same brush, this is life in ireland, deal with it

roscommon lads wearing jerseys

Sheep stealers!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

there is nothing healthy about the animosity towards roscommon from all other connaught counties but i don't think i or any of my other county men/women are going to worry about it, its far worse than than anything i have ever seen towards dubs, on the train home a week ago i saw mayo girls abuse a few roscommon lads wearing jerseys, the roscommon lads did nothing but the girls starting spraying perfume after they left and calling them names, leitrim fans chant "better to be a paki than rossie" at us during games, maybe they are all jealous of us :D
    It's called having the craic, basically those lads got pawned by a bunch of girls, no wonder nobody respects ye're county. :pac: