Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help in getting a puppy in Dublin!

• 01-08-2009 10:21am
    Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭

just a quick one. myself and my girlfriend wish to get a small puppy in our house. im sure theres loads of tips on here where to go, but ive been looking for ages on various sites and still confused. i was born in the countryside, normallly if we ever wanted a puppy, we would know somebody who had pups through school/family/freiends etc. its not that straightforward in dublin!

ideally, we would like a small dog, as the garden in the house is not that big, but still bigger than normaly. so, where do i look? i live in dundrum area, are there any pounds nearby (i think theres one in rathfarnum!) or is there anybody on here that has young puppys that need a good home!?

we are fully aware of what is involved, the care needed etc. i had a dog for 15 years but she died last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I think the DSPCA has a premises on Mount Venus Road (Rathfarnham).

If its just a pet you want then a rescue is the way to go. So far I've rescued two cats and my dog Richo and its very rewarding.

Infact my daughter who's just 13 remarked last night, after playing with Richo just how happy he is and that it makes her sad that he'd be dead if we didn't rescue him, its those kind of comments which make rescue worth it.

Keep us up to date with your choice of dog - and last, we all love to see photos of the members pets!.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Sigma Force

Greyhounds are total couch potatoes might be an option.
    It can be confusing esp. when there are so many up for adoption but take your time and have a good look at the websites before you travel to see any.
    That way you might get a clearer idea.

My middle pooch is 5 years old and we got a pup a couple of weeks ago and the difference is huge, eventhough we've always have pooches. You forget so quickly all the little things you need to do for a pup. Mainly keeping any little bits off the floor so he doesn't swallow them lol. My floors are clean for once. My other two pooches are so mature compared to him although all are equally nutty.

Best of luck with your search you're bound to find a pup that suits.

• Registered Users Posts: 49 irlande_euroluv

Yeah, the D.S.P.C.A. in Rathfarnham do great work, and they always have beautiful dogs that really need good homes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭li-evo7

The best website for gettin dogs is www.donedeal.ie! i have bought two dogs that I found on that site. New ones go up nearly every few minutes and there are loads of jack russels and other small breed that would suit you:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭lil'bug

i'd avoid done deal there is a lot of puppy farms who advertise there
    puppies do go quick from pounds and rescues so i'd get in contact with your local rescues and give hem your details
    good luck :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Avoid the likes of donedeal.ie. It sounds like you're open to a rescue dog so maybe try dogsindistress.org or the DSPCA. Dogs in Distress also have dogs that are in the pound on the Urgent Action Needed section. You get the dog straight from the pound if it's still there and don't go through a home check etc but at least with a rescue you know more about the dog so it might be the best option for you. Good luck in finding the perfect dog :)

Clare Bear wrote: »
    Avoid the likes of donedeal.ie. It sounds like you're open to a rescue dog so maybe try dogsindistress.org or the DSPCA. Dogs in Distress also have dogs that are in the pound on the Urgent Action Needed section. You get the dog straight from the pound if it's still there and don't go through a home check etc but at least with a rescue you know more about the dog so it might be the best option for you. Good luck in finding the perfect dog :)

There is no problem with donedeal as long as you chose the right people! I know lots of people who have got dogs on that site and they are not all puppy farms!I know of at least 20 reputable breeders on the site as I am involved with dog showing. And it is not always better gettin a dog from rescue centres as they dont always know more about the dog unless they have been surrendered by the owner. They are strays the rest of them or have been awarded to the pound due to neglect. Therefore you never know where they came from all you have to go by is the rescue centres word that they are a safe and loving dog. I know of people who have gotten rescue dogs and they turn out to be a nightmare.You would have to chose very carefully.

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭ASTRACLUB

i bought my pomerian from donedeal.ie, no hassle, cash payment and i got whatever was mentioned,
    no problemo! recommended!

• Registered Users Posts: 43 paulbhoy

yes but rescuing a dog who might only have a few days left is surely a better idea than lining the coffers of some [EMAIL="b@st@rd"]b@st@rd[/EMAIL] who doesnt give a damn about the welfare of the dog who the majority of sellers on dondeal are!!!!!!!
    OP i got my dog through homewordbound.ie the lady there goes to pounds around the country and trys to link someone like yourself with a suitable dog you go and meet her to collect the dog all you do is cover her costs ie petrol she really does do a great job !!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

ASTRACLUB wrote: »
    i bought my pomerian from donedeal.ie, no hassle, cash payment and i got whatever was mentioned,
    no problemo! recommended!

Yeah and you also got a 5 week old puppy so I wouldn't be going around recommending it.

Donedeal is a site where people who don't know what they're doing can get whatever they want. Unless the OP really knows what they're at then chances are they'll come across some very dodgy breeders on it and I for one wouldn't recommend they put themselves in that position.

OP, try http://www.dogsindistress.org/ They're always looking for puppys to rehome so they should have some and you'll have rescue back-up.

i tried all the dog pound first and could not found any puppy and all other dogs were older.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

And you couldn't leave your name and wait for some to come in, which they do all the time, or go and find a decent breeder or register with a rescue?

• Registered Users Posts: 199 ✭✭caspermccormack

paulbhoy wrote: »
    yes but rescuing a dog who might only have a few days left is surely a better idea than lining the coffers of some b@st@rd who doesnt give a damn about the welfare of the dog who the majority of sellers on dondeal are!!!!!!!
    OP i got my dog through homewordbound.ie the lady there goes to pounds around the country and trys to link someone like yourself with a suitable dog you go and meet her to collect the dog all you do is cover her costs ie petrol she really does do a great job !!!

Don't tar eveyone with the one brush!, I have sold my Pups on Donedeal, and it was not as straight forward as phone up,arrive with cash and pic your dog. I personaly think it is a good place to find a dog, but common sense will steer you clear from the puppy farms, and they are on the site, but ask the correct questions and it will become clear someone selling legit pups from the cash hungry swines. The net is full info on selecting a breeder and getting the right rescue dog for you, like the following link.
    http://www.brittanysonline.com/questionsbyb.html

I think i am very happy with my selection and the puppy i have bought,
    I have no issue with seller and the overall deal,
    Pup was born on 2nd of july and i got it on friday,
    it is a cross of Pom and Bichon F and i liked it and got it,
    This is week 6 and i am bringinig him to wet for 1st vaccination,
    Pup is doing absloutely fine, by the way, breeded had 15-17 new pup of different kind (Bichon-Fri) (Lab) (****zu) etc.

Yes, pup was not registered and i did not mind, i was getting more better equipped offer from donedeal (registered, vaccination, worm etc) but i liked this one and got it, so happy. By the way, i am not connected to done deal in any way!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Dublin141

15 - 17 different kinds of puppies at the one breeder? You're happy you supported a puppy farmer??? Well done, you. :rolleyes:

Those smaller breeds are recommended to be with their mother for ten weeks!! And of course it isn't registered, it's a mongrel!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Pup is doing absloutely fine, by the way, breeded had 15-17 new pup of different kind (Bichon-Fri) (Lab) (****zu) etc.

Yes, pup was not registered and i did not mind, i was getting more better equipped offer from donedeal (registered, vaccination, worm etc) but i liked this one and got it, so happy. By the way, i am not connected to done deal in any way!!!

Are you for real?? Firstly puppy farmer by the sounds of it!!! The pup is barely 6 weeks old and you took it??:confused::confused:
    How could you buy from such person, it screams puppy farmer, no decent breeder would have all those breeds of dogs.

Edited to say : You cant register cross breeds/mongrels anyway, so of course it wasnt registered. How much of your hard earned money did you hand over for this cross breed i wonder?? You would have been better off going to the pound and getting one for little or nothing and giving the rescue the money as opposed to a puppy farmer breeding these poor dogs to make a quick buck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭messygirl

Donedeal is an excellent resource, of course you will get really bad breeders but you can also find genuine breeders looking for the best homes. We got our guy from donedeal, and the breeder was respectable, got him three years ago and she has only bred one litter since from her kennel. Perfect temperment and beautiful dog, no health problems (except an ear infection which is normal for floppy ears)

You have to ask the right questions, if you want a purebred registering is important because it means the mother cant be bred more than six times in her life, and thus makes it harder for puppy farms to sell registered pups.

Make sure you research the age they come home, 9 and a half weeks is good, no less than eight.

Remember that just because you view the pups doesn;t mean you have to buy one, the dog will be with you for 14 years hopefully so is worth waiting for the right one.

Research the lists of questions to ask and the lists of costs associated. Have a long think about your future and will a dog fit in with all your plans.

Pound vs to buy, both very good arguments for each side but if you are a young couple I would buy a pup from a reputable breeder and make sure it is socialised correctly so in the future when youhave kids the dog will fit in with everyones lifestyle.

best of luck! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

The overall gist of your post is 'I I I", "me me me" and 'I got a good deal".
    You bought a living creature which has left it's mother far too early, is a mongrel (which you could have got from the pound, they are full of puppies) and you don't seem to give a damn. Well congratulations on whatever petty amount of money you've saved now, cos trust me, you'll be spending it at the vet's later on.

Buying a puppy should not involve getting the cheapest deal you can. You're not buying a 3-piece suite or a used car (although a lot of people would put more thought into those purchases than they seem to put into buying a living creature).

Shame on you for lining the pockets of a puppy farmer.

Folks
    think from other side, if the puppy is a cross, whats his fault in it?
    Does he not deserve a home?
    What is the harm in having cross bread?

People talking about Dog Pound etc, can someone show me any one available either 8 months pomerian or shizu please?
    why are you guys givin out,
    i did spend 200 and i dont regret it, the pup is so cute and healthy that we are happy to make him part of our family, If he is a cross, its not his fault.

As far is breeder is concern, she did not hide anything from me, she told me on site that it is cross and no registered, no issue,

It was my first puppy and we dont want to return it or give it to someone else just becuase we can't get him registered? pics,

Attachment not found.J2.jpg

Number one, there have been pomeranians and shih-tzu's lately in Ashton pound alone so that's a cop off anyway.

You're missing the point completely.

People aren't saying cross breeds shouldn't be homed, they are saying people shouldn't spend lots of money encouraging breeders to overbreed and mix breeds at will when there are lots of crossbreeds in pounds and rescues that need homes. There are lots of purebreds in pounds and rescues too.

Surely you see the logic that by creating business for puppy farms, you are enabling them to continue overbreeding their dogs when there are already so many homeless and unwanted dogs out there. Ireland has a horrible reputation for puppy farms all because people are allowing puppy farmers to profit instead of giving a home to a puppy or dog who may be put down due to no fault of its own.

No reputable breeder would home a dog at five weeks, that's crazy. I don't know why anyone would want to buy from an irresponsible breeder in the first place but after seeing firsthand that they are in fact a puppy farm? That's shameful.

Just had a quick look on the Dogs in distress site who deal with Ashton pound. Here are some Poms that have been there recently either rehomed or fostered.

http://www.dogsindistress.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=2690

http://www.dogsindistress.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=2746

http://www.dogsindistress.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=2454

Here are some shih tzus - there was another one but I can't find it now.

http://www.dogsindistress.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=2688

That's just one place alone so don't say it's impossible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Astraclub, I am glad that you found a nice puppy and I hope you guys have a great life together.

However, by supporting a puppy farmer you have inadvertanly helped condemn hundreds of other puppies to a life of misery. If you love dogs (which I'm sure you do) you cannot support the practice of puppy farming. You pup was lucky to have got you - but think about its brothers and sisters.

I do not believe for one second that there were no Pomeranians or Shih-Tzus anywhere for rescue. They are two of the most common breeds in the country. Even if they are not Pomeranians or Shih Tzus, the country is full of small fluffy dogs.
    If I only had the circumstances at the moment, I would take this little guy home in a second- http://petsireland.invisionzone.com/lofiversion/index.php/t72103.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 BEAUTYXX

hi i think you should get a king charles!!
    :Pthey are the most loving dogs ever!
    and also they dont need much walking at all!!

You are all very self righteous on the 'puppy farm' front aren't you!And I bet none of you that are slandering donedeal have any personal experience with the site so really you don't know what you are talking about and are probably basing your insinuations on a few adds you have seen. If you go through all the dogs for sale you will obviously see the MAJORITY of sellers are NOT puppy farms. Fair enough it would be nicer to get a dog that would maybe be put to sleep but it would also be nicer to get a dog that you have from a pup and from when you can know everything about it. Everyone has different opinions on the matter but if someone wants to buy a pup off someone who has 15 other pups that is their choice and good luck to them. There is no need to try and bad mouth to them about it and slag them off for buying it. It really is none of your business.It is their decision and up to them.It doesnt matter where the dog is from ..they all need a home!!

*rant over*

li-evo7 wrote: »
    You are all very self righteous on the 'puppy farm' front aren't you!

No, I just don't agree with lining their pockets.
    It really is none of your business.

Yes it is. Animal welfare is everyone's business. I'm not sure if you've noticed, but these dogs cannot speak for themselves, so it is up to people to do it for them.
    It doesnt matter where the dog is from ..they all need a home!!

Yes it does.
    *rant over*
    Glad to hear it.

Magenta wrote: »
    No, I just don't agree with lining their pockets.

Yes it is. Animal welfare is everyone's business. I'm not sure if you've noticed, but these dogs cannot speak for themselves, so it is up to people to do it for them.

Yes it does.

Glad to hear it.

First of all if you dont agree with lining their pockets then it your choice.I dont agree with puppy farms either, but the fact of the matter is we are trying to help this person with finding a dog and I made a suggestion about donedeal as I have a lot of experience with the site and would say nothing but great things about it and then people come on and start ranting about puppy farms and that donedeal is all puppy farms!Get a life!

My advice can be just as useful as the rest of you.I wouldn't give it unless I knew what I was talking about. I just got a new pup today off the donedeal coincidentally!! bred by a lovely couple who have only bred one other litter from the bitch.The pups are vaccinated,paper trained , wormed etc and are the nicest example of the breed I have seen.. Like I said the majority of people are not puppy farms so there is no need for people ranting about animal welfare and what not when I simply told him to go have a look at the site.What dog he choses is up to him obviously.

Of course it matters where the pup comes from. Buying from a puppy farm perpetuates the cycle. If people buy, they breed more. Fact. I wouldn't support anyone who overbreeds their dogs and makes them live in squalor without any socialisation if my life depended on it. Perfectly healthy dogs are being put down and abandoned every day. The numbers would be a lot less if there were no puppy farmers. They are breeding the mothers every time they are in heat until they can't breed any more. Have you any clue how unhealthy that is for the mother? Or how unhealthy the pups can be? And then the unhealthy pups can be bred from when they get old enough?

Anyone who says fair play to someone who buys from an obvious puppy farmer does not give a **** about animals. Someone has to. And as for donedeal? I haven't dismissed donedeal as an avenue but I look at donedeal every day and it's a fact that most of the puppies sold on that site come from puppy farmers. In the majority of cases this is what happens. They aren't thick, they don't take photos of filthy puppies cowering in their own **** in a tiny cage or a dark shed. They use cute photos that makes it seem like they are genuine caring breeders. Yet the same people post the exact same ad every month using the exact same photos. People go to visit them and feel so sorry for the animals that they take them home. The puppy farmer doesn't care, they got their money and know they have more bitches to breed from and that there are more eejits out there that will give them business. There are pups (not the first time) being advertised as 3 weeks old. The ad usually gets removed but it still gets put up. And by the way there are plenty of abandoned pups in the pounds and rescues in this country. There are also a lot of reputable breeders. Nobody has an excuse for purchasing from a puppy farmer.

people come on and start ranting about puppy farms and that donedeal is all puppy farms!

Nobody said DoneDeal is all puppy farms. Can you quote them on it?
    Get a life!

That's not nice.
    I just got a new pup today off the donedeal coincidentally!!

OK, some of the posts must have hit a nerve so.
    The pups are vaccinated,paper trained , wormed etc and are the nicest example of the breed I have seen..

Were they registered? Because the majority of dogs on that site aren't. What age were they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Just my input here- I've gotten my dog off buy and sell, and my pup off donedeal. I would take any dog any size, but my mothers terrified. We had a lhasa from a pound before and she loved it. We tried other dogs, from pounds or from breeders and they never lasted a week with her. I hated that so i went in search of a lhasa, found one on buy and sell. Not registered, almost 2yrs old, had had a mixed litter herself. Was only taking it if my mother bonded with her upon meeting and she did. Now i don't believe she was the best cared for - just things we've noticed. But they weren't sellin other dogs. My pup i got on donedeal, needed a companion and knew only a lhasa would do. Found a pup with a lovely lady in cork. I asked a lot of Qs as i wouldn't be interested in supporting someone dodgy. She was very helpful answered everything. The pup was a day short of 9wks when I got her, chipped, wormed, registered, and the woman was so sad to see her go. She asked for updates on how she was getting on etc.