Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aiming for October...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

Well done Rachel :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭racheljev

Lashing rain this morning, wore the wrong jacket, sore legs, rain in my eyes... BUT ran 4.25 miles in 43"04'. Not fast I know, but kept going, no walk breaks, just running. Now excuse me while I hit the shower to warm myself up.. brrrrrr...

Horrible run this morning. 4.86 miles in 50"39'. Legs felt like lead, every step hurt. 13 weeks to the marathon, who am I kidding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

racheljev wrote: »
    Horrible run this morning. 4.86 miles in 50"39'. Legs felt like lead, every step hurt. 13 weeks to the marathon, who am I kidding?

I had a run like that yesterday, I think it's the after effects of the big push on Saturday, don't worry about it, your trining is going very well and another 13.5 weeks of dedication will have very well prepared

You're doing really really well. Don't let one bad run make you doubt yourself

Thanks for the encouragement. Just one of those days I guess. Everything hurts and when the alarm went off at 6, I was so tempted to stay in bed. But I didn't and I suppose I should take comfort in the fact that I dragged my sorry a$$ around almost 5 miles. Might take tomorrow as a rest day and see how I feel then. Saturday is supposed to be a 10 mile lsr - will wait and see.

10 miles, 10 miles! Well 10.01 to be precise, in 96"33'. Just kept running this morning. Took 30 sec walk break at 20, 40, 60 and 80 mins for jelly baby and drink. Ran the rest. It was actually very hot out, sun in my face from about mile 6. Ran from my house (just off Griffith Ave, Marino) to Whitehall, Finglas, Cabra, Phibsboro, Fairview, Malahide Rd and home (sorry, this only makes sense to Northside Dubs ;)) Am VERY happy with my morning.:D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Well done. A little thing for you to remember after a bad session, it's the bad ones you look back on when you're feeling down in a race and they're always the ones you look back on and get strength from.

Well done!

Ran for 25 mins, didn't map it so not sure how far - think it was around 2.5 miles. Just jogged easy, with a bit on grass. Then walked few mins to get home. Nice and relaxing on a Sunday morning!:)

3 miles on the button this morning, in 28"34'. Grand run, bit out of breath but legs fine. Think I'm bit tired cos we were at U2 last night - walked to and from Croke Park (only 30 mins away but still!) and then danced for 2 hours, brilliant concert! Anyway, run fine, 6 miles tomorrow.

Sore, sore, sore. 2.5 miles of sore calves and shins. Noteven going to mention time cos it was crap.:(

Dodgy tum all last night. Feel a bit like worn out dish rag this morning. Will see how I feel tomorrow and might try run. Not sure if I'll manage 12 miles though. Will have to wait and see...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

You're having a tough time of it this week rachel, you poor thing. Hope you feel better soon. I had such a bad week last week- no motivation and questioned was I able for this at all. I struggled through it though with everyones words of encouragement and its amazing - a week later Im flying it again. You will be the same I bet with a day or two of rest. OUr bodies are wrecked at this stage- well for me Im not used to this constant training at all.

Thanks very much for that, it's just really a sh** week - quite appropriate how it ended last night / this morning really! Fingers crossed it changes tomorrow...

Went out this morning for a little while, 26 mins to be precise. Didn't map it so not sure how far I ran, just went out to see how I got on. I was tired - prob cos my food intake yesterday consisted of toast and tea ;)- but at least I got out. Will try again tomorrow.

4.27 miles in 42 mins exactly. Nice run, not a bad morning. Only problem was my socks. Both of my fav pairs had hole in the toes :eek: right foot only, which I only discovered when I put them on. How did I not notice that? Into Arnotts this morning for more!

5.95 miles this morning in 59"22'. Felt ok, legs a bit tired but kept going. I quite like the route I followed this morning, it's got a good bit of ups and downs. Still quite slow though, would like to be faster but just not able for it yet (and that's a very big yet;))

3.78 miles in 36:27. KNACKERED this morning - 3 yr old decided to have a bad dream at 3 am and 4.30 am, so didn't get much sleep. Alarm went off at 5.55 as usual and was SO tempted to stay in bed, but I didn't so now I feel all virtuous and smug :D Won't get much running done this weekend - off to Brussels first thing in the morning with in-laws for sis-in-law's mini hen weekend. Bringing my runners anyway, so hoping to get out even for a little while. Have a good weekend y'all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭beamgirl

Enjoy your weekend well earned after getting up so early dont know if i'd have the determination...

Have a great weekend rachel, you would never catch me getting up that early for anything:)

Thanks lads - I have to get up that early cos OH goes to work just after 7.30, he's not home till 7ish by which stage I'm not able for running. And if I don't get out in the morning, I have to bring the babas with me - can't see them liking an easy 4 miler:rolleyes:

Got back from Brussels last night - great weekend. Went running on Saturday morning. Found a lovely park to run in (of course, got lost on the way to the park:rolleyes:) Ran around, up, down, through the park for an hour. No idea of distance, but I ran at my usual pace for over an hour (including back to hotel) so reckon I must have done about 6 miles. Did a lot of walking over the weekend, but not going to count that as cross training! Didn't get out this morning cos I'm just too tired but will def go out tomorrow morning.

3.85 miles in 35:50. Finally plucked up the nerve to run around Fairview Park on my own - ran along the side and then did two laps of one of the football pitches. Just didn't like it, felt quite nervous running on my own, which I have never felt before. Concrete roads and footpaths for me it is, so... Then again, I ran faster than normal cos I'm a wuss so, every cloud etc etc;)

6.13 miles in 1:01:32. Lashing rain the whole way around. Miles 1 - 3 were grand, did most of mile 3 on the grass. Mile 4 horrible, miles 5 & 6 grand again. Not sure whether to run tomorrow or not - might get extra days rest for Saturday race in park. Will see how legs feel later and decide then.

Had a bad feeling about this. Didn't feel great yesterday - stomach acting up again. Got up this morning and felt minging. If it had been a regular lsr, I wouldn't have done it. Anyway, got to the park nice and early but still had to queue for a loo! Felt a bit under pressure as a man with a megaphone kept roaring "5 minutes to the start, hurry up". As if I wanted to be standing there... Went to the back of the 90+ pen, much better organised than the 5 mile, very little congestion. Did the first 3 miles in just under 30 mins, but then cramps hit. Felt really bad for miles 4 & 5. 5 mile time was 52:00. Rallied a bit for mile 6, but cramps back again for miles 7 & 8 - seriously thinking of finding a bush to hide under at that point. All I wanted to do was cry and fling myself at the St Johns ambulance man :o. Just keep going, just keep going, I kept saying. I went through the whole "i'll never make the marathon, who am I kidding" towards the end of mile 8. Mile 9 marker gave me a bit of a boost and I made it to the end. Just as I turned the final corner, my OH and kids were roaring at me and jumping up and down. That pushed me down the last few metres. Thought the end was very well organised - got through to goody bags and out in a few mins. Walked slowly back up to OH and kids and almost collapsed into OH's arms. Kids devoured contents of goody bag and spar lunch box cos I thought I was going to hurl. Anyway, home now, tea and toast eaten and staying where it should, feeling a bit more resigned about the whole thing. The time I had in my head was 1:40 and I did 1:44:56 feeling like sh!t, so I think that's positive. So - that was my day, how was yours?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Considering you felt bad your time wasn't too far off your target. Well done for hanging in there and getting through it. The next day will be a better day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Just read through the entire log there, you are doing very very well so far:) I sure hope you keep it up and make that goal of finishing the DCM, it's quite an achievement i have yet to do myself yet hope to do also!!

Good hustle, keep it up:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭krankykitty

Well done - couldn't imagine going through that feeling sick and yet getting such a good time. You must have really pushed yourself..

The loo queues were crap all right, got stuck in one of those myself.

Excellent run under terrible conditons rachel, imagine what you can achieve when you are feeling 100%. Well done :)