Are you a Primark/Penneys fashionista?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭BaileysComet

Pennys are great for acessories amd ultra high-fashion items because they will fall out of shape and out of fashion at approximately the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭kizzyf

Pennys are great for acessories amd ultra high-fashion items because they will fall out of shape and out of fashion at approximately the same time.

Bit harsh as some of the clothes are better quality than those I've bought in other high street stores such as Warehouse and Topshop but then again the less people that shop in Penneys the more stock left for me.

I love Penneys. I've so many nice things from there and I get loads of compliments on them. You just need to choose carefully and/or alter the stuff a bit. Lots of things have big tacky flowers or beads sewn on but you can cut them off. I get all my underwear, socks and tights there, pyjamas are great as well as the odd jumper, T shirt, coat. What are their jeans like? I'm looking for a pair of straight leg jeans and can't afford to pay more than 20e!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Used get nearly all my clothes there a few years ago but haven't found anything good there for ages. Menswear section can be very hit and miss: last time I was there there was nothing that caught my eye.

I always buy my jeans there though - bought two pairs that were extremely comfy, cheap and long lasting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

Yeh I love penneys for basics, pjs, undies and accessories. I wouldn't really buy any of their "high fashion" stuff though. I hate seeing other people walking around in "my" clothes and it happens so often with penneys stuff:).
    Actually get work trousers there as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭!!!

I'm a guy and wouldn't go near the place. My sister bought me a t-shirt from there once and made me wear it that night, I saw about 4 people on the street wearing it before I got to the pub and when I was in there I had 2 people say "Penneys?" to me. Worst penneys' experience ever! I went home and changed, and to this day I literally cringe thinking about it!

Snob drama queen? So be it. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭idontknowmyname

I worked for them for years as both sales assistant and manager- it was great cause I'd see what was coming out of the deliveries and I'd get the staff to get me my size straight from the delivery box and put it away.
    I've been in the one in Marble Arch and it's a flipping nightmare, I worked in O'Connell St and Mary St and this one is far more insane, don't really like it.

They opened a new bigger store in Tooting in London which is near me, it's fabulous!! I was in Swords a few weeks ago and got a pair of flip flops, cost me €3, everyone in work keeps asking me where I got them. Actually gonna head down to the Tooting branch today as need to get a few cheap bits and pieces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Corb

I now get most of my clothes from Penneys, I love their clothes and it's all I can afford so beggars can't be choosers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭bubblicious

Absolutely love Penney's, it's brilliant for just picking up a string top or cardi or whatever! Don't think I've bought underwear anywhere but Penney's! I used love their shoes but lately, the quality has gone downhill, they fall apart after a few weeks (what can you expect for €6 I know) but I've also shoes that have lasted me well over 2 years! Bought a gorgeous skirt in there for €13, my sister bought practically the exact same in River Island for €45 - bargain!

Heading to Liverpool in August for a few days, can't wait to hit the Penney's there, it's meant to be unreal! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

Can't get much clothes in there myself being a larger lass and all, but love all their little fecky accessories and the shoes do alright, sandals and all are grand but the heels just cut the feet off me. Got a pair of gorgeous black wedges in there last year, wore them to Time and my legs were shaking I was in so much pain and they cut my feet to bits.

Still, you can get all yer accessories in there for less than half the price of Accessorize and they're basically the same, so I can't complain really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭fifomania

Hate to go against the grain here but i find penney's clothes don't fit well on the whole. i used to buy the bulk of clothes in it, their accessories are great and the odd nice item of clothing, even their homeware stuff is great but there is just something not right about the fit! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

Nope. Never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭biZrb

I've been in the one in Marble Arch and it's a flipping nightmare, I worked in O'Connell St and Mary St and this one is far more insane, don't really like it.

They opened a new bigger store in Tooting in London which is near me, it's fabulous!!

Thanks for sharing that, I'm moving to London in a few months and I really don't want to have to brave the Marble Arch store that often, its totally crazy in there! I'll definitly be going to the Tooting one in future

I bought a pair of longer leg skinny jeans for £8 in the last time I was over there and they are amazing, i find it really hard finding skinny jeans that are a nice colour that also don't look like flood pants on me! I was so happy to find a pair for only £8 too.

I bought a pair of skinny jeans about 4 years ago in the Hammersmith store and I wore them to death and they were indigo when I bought them and they are just like regular blue jeans now, all the dye has disapeared, I've washed them so many times! But the quality of them is brilliant, they've lasted a lot longer than I thought they would. Although saying that I've bought t-shirts in there and they've gone out of shape after a few washes, so it really depends on what you buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

cant beat the penneys mens t shirts, boxers, novelty socks and the odd nice hoodie for 9 euro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭flahers

Liverpool Pennys must be the biggest ever, five floors and absolutely brilliant range of everything. Went over in March and going over again next week to do some serious shopping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭BlackandGold

+100 for Penneys. Nowhere else can you find such fashionable clothes for so cheap. I do NOT see the purpose of spending anything like 200 for a dress etc. Bought one for €9 for my holidays and wore it twice! And I'll wear it again! NINE EURO LADS!!!!! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Yup, sooo cheap, can't afford much else! Though some of the clothes are shocking- I was in there last week and seen shiny hot- pant thingys that Bruno would be too ashamed to wear and neon yellow leopard print scarves!:pac:

Mind you, you can find good bargains on tops, cardigans, and basics like lingerie and socks, so I'll always have a look in there if I'm shopping.

I don't buy many clothes in Penney's simply because the shop in Killarney is utter shite. It's tiny and they never have anything good in there! However when I'm in college in Cork I sometimes find things in the one in Wilton. There is a brilliant Penney's in Tralee but I rarely go to Tralee.

It's great for socks. And cardigans, love their cardigans. Shoes there never fit me. Size 5 is too small, 6 is too big.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭YT

I find that some things from Penneys last quite well if you take care of them properly. I bought a pair of boots there about 5 years ago and they are still on the go! I bought a pair of black linen trousers there a couple of years ago for one Euro, and top them up every now and again with a machine dye.

I bought a jacket recently and got some Iron on patches, instantly changed it and people keep asking where I bought it.

You can't go wrong with a little black dress from penneys either, I have one that's a couple of years old and have worn I don't know how many times, always changing the accessories.

I bought a 5 pack of knickers the other day for a Euro. Where else would ya get it?!

The only problem I have with their jeans (and I have it in most places) is that they fit my legs perfectly but not my waist, if I go up to the next size the legs are too big. But as I said I find that in most places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭1071823928

i love penneys!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    its actually the best value for money shop out there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭1071823928

flahers wrote: »
    Liverpool Pennys must be the biggest ever, five floors and absolutely brilliant range of everything.

are you cereal??????????????
    5 FLOORS???!!!!!!!!!!
    holy moses! im on my way to liverpool!!!!!:):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,595 ✭✭✭The Lovely Muffin

I love Penneys stuff.

I have clothes I got there a few years ago and I still wear them, they've lasted longer than some other stuff I have which were got from more expensive stores.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭carasbars

hanner wrote: »
    i love penneys!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    its actually the best value for money shop out there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Kolo

€3 for a pair of nice flip flops!! You have to go there, especially for holiday shopping

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭SmellySockies

I adore pennys!!! I get fed up of clothes pretty fast so at least Im not getting fed up of a top that cost like 40 in river island when I can get similar in pennys for like 7 :D
    Shopping sprees in pennys are the best :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭bills

penneys is great !! & has home stuff now too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭DenMan

Going back to coll in Sept so will be stocking up on t-shirts in there. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭taram

bills wrote: »
    penneys is great !! & has home stuff now too.

Handtowel, massive bath towel, 4 facecloths: 10 euro. In about 8 colours, great quality. All my basics are Pennys, 95% of the stuff is the same quality as what my sister would buy in River Island or Debenhams, and what isn't same quality, well it cost me like 3 euro, I'll live :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Liquorice

fifomania wrote: »
    Hate to go against the grain here but i find penney's clothes don't fit well on the whole. i used to buy the bulk of clothes in it, their accessories are great and the odd nice item of clothing, even their homeware stuff is great but there is just something not right about the fit! :rolleyes:

Have to say I agree! They always sit a little strangely, probably because of the fabric quality. I also find that they don't cater very well to shorter (me) or skinnier (definitely not me) girls because the sizes don't go down too far, and they never seem to have many of the smaller sizes in stock.

That said, their accessories are fantastic. I have their scarves, hairbands, necklaces and flats spilling out of my drawers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Spent €100 in Penneys in Dublin at the weekend and got absolutely loads of clothes. I love the place. Pity the one here in Kilkenny is so bad. Its very small and carries a limited range of womens clothes, and usually the tacky ones at that.