Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you a Primark/Penneys fashionista?

• 09-07-2009 10:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Sales up 20% year on year. Did you contribute?
    Sales at the Primark chain of clothes stores - which trades as Penneys in Ireland - are running 20% ahead of a year earlier, according to a trading update from its parent company Associated British Foods.

ABF said Primark sales in the 40 weeks to June 20 were 20% ahead of the same period last year despite difficult trading conditions in the UK.

It said this was due to underlying sales growth, as well as an expansion of retail space at the chain, which now has 190 stores.

Primark now has 13 stores in Spain, and has also recently opened its first stores in Germany and Portugal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭mandz

Yup... cheap and cheerful clothes... :o) What's the point in paying for an overpriced top when you can get a similar one in Pennys?!

Though I did become more cautious after watching the programme that was aired on BBC last year... especially when they kept showing my top I'd just bought on it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

Yes i'm a convert. The little hands of those used to make the clothes means the stitching is great and keeps overheads down :rolleyes::)

....allegedly

Seriously though, jeans for 13 euro. Happy days. I usually do a big shop in there twice a year. I generally get a few pairs of jeans, several shirts, a couple of jumpers and a pair of shoes and it has never cost more than 200 euro.

One thing if you're a bloke though, buy the good quality shirts (Butler and Webb) They're worth the extra cash and they're not see through like the cheaper ones.

In short, Penneys rocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

They're cheap, and I'm cheap.

It works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

When I was a postgrad student I lived in Penney's. These days not so much - though you can still find great stuff in there occasionally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

I looooove Pennys! Im currently wearing a pair of their €6 summer sandals which loads of people have commented on. Ive gone to both extremes in the past (buying expensive and back to cheap) and although expensive clothes do last slightly longer, its not long enough to warrant spending €40+ on a pair of flip flops or the like in Aldo when Pennys will do fine. The Primark near Marble Arch in London is amazing!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭mandz

anniehoo wrote: »
    The Primark near Marble Arch in London is amazing!!:D

I know!!! I went to London with my boyfriend at Easter and our hotel was around the corner from it. When I seen it I was like "OH MY GOD!!!" and had a nice walk around as it was quiet though I went in again when it was busy and had to leave as I almost fainted!! So many women bargain hunting... got a funky fresian cow designed suitcase in there...I love it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

If I was a woman maybe but the mens is absolutely woeful so I steer clear. I prefer to buy a few items of good quality clothes that'll last years rather than lots of cheaper ones that might rip, go out of fashion quickly etc, not to mention the working practices they export

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

PennEys is indeed awesome! I especially love the accessories (scarves, bags, socks etc) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Paulyh

i must admit, i buy all my work clothes there.........except shoes.
    they do good chinos for guys.
    all though, i am wearing a penny's shirt, and as one poster before pointed out, it is kind of see through now that i look at it :eek::o
    but you cant beat no name stuff.
    if your stuck for some thing to wear i always run in a grab stuff for next to nothing!!! (i live pretty close to one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I looooove Penney's! I have bought a few pairs of gladiators in there and so many people ask me where they're from! Also love their new range of make up, very cool. It's so cheap I can now actually have different colour eyes every day of the week :) Have never bought jeans or anything in there but their underwear is pretty cute. Basically, I love it for popping in with a basket and just picking up a few bits and bobs, always cheers me right up!!!!

Penneys is great for alot of things, crap for some others.

I have a pair of wedges (actually I have them in two colours) and they came with a chiffon sequenced ribbon that tied around your ankle, I swapped that for a ribbon of a box of butlers chocolates and people have gone mad for these wedges thinking they are designer - they were €16!

some of the stuff is rubbish, but if you know how to choose the right things then you can look fab and be head to toe in cheap clothes!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

i think I have those wedges too, with the satin toe and heel, they are lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Too feckin right I shop there. Only prob is you gotta change your outfit with accessories or wait a few months to wear the clothes as everyone else wears the clothes too!!

I've a pair of red shoes from Penneys and I get compliments about them every time I wear them. And they only cost me 18e. :)

Ginny wrote: »
    i think I have those wedges too, with the satin toe and heel, they are lovely.

Yeh they're a mule with embroidery and jewells on the wedge - they rock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

I'd love if Penneys (with an E!!) had a website, because I would be first to use it! Don't always find my size in there (depends when the stock is delivered I guess). But love Penneys. Haven't been too impressed with their accessories the past few months but their dresses and shoes are great value!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭sillyputty

I wore something i got in Penneys to the work Christmas party last year, wouldn't have dreamed of doing that a couple years ago but their stuff has really improved in recent times and i have been converted.
    I just stay away from the shoes - my feet end up in bits after wearing anything from Penneys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

their stuff has really improved in recent times

+1.

Primark/Penneys are on a role lately, good classic pieces at bargain prices. I refuse to feel too guilty about shopping there (THE DEVIL WEARS PRIMARK OMG!!!11) because lets be honest, you could buy a lovely Adidas top for €80 and I'd still bet it wasn't made by some unionised worker making anything near min. wage.

Only thing is, their t-shirts have absolutely no fit to them at all, big massive baggy things! I do swear by Penneys for basics, a few pairs of jeans have lasted longer than pairs that cost 4 or 5 times the same.

Anyone who says they never shop there lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭kizzyf

Quantity over quality I say. Half of my wardrobe is from there. Absolutely love the place. I'm als picking up t'shirts for a euro or a dress that is only 3 or 7 euros! I love their flat shoes, dresses, undies, pjs, jumpers and coats. Their sizes can run big though so sometimes can be hard to get something small enough to fit. I disagree with what some people say about the clothes being poor quality and falling apart. I have dresses still that I bought years ago and they are still perfect. In saying that the only item I bought there that I was really disappointed with was a coat that I paid 45 euros for and it looked reallly shabby few weeks later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

Love Penneys but find the store itself offputting, the one in Cork city is always insanely busy and I really hate it. I was however recently in their store in Wilton and it was paradise! Everything was actually laid out in order and easy to access. I love their fishnets, tights, socks, accessories etc. Their make up is lovely too. I don't usually buy t-shirts there as they all look huge(I like fitted t-shirts), even in the smallest size. I really wanna try their jeans, cardigans and shoes :)

Long live Penneys I say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

the stuff for kid girls is great - €1.50 for a t-shirt, brill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

Penny is too expensive for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭compsys

If I was a woman maybe but the mens is absolutely woeful so I steer clear. I prefer to buy a few items of good quality clothes that'll last years rather than lots of cheaper ones that might rip, go out of fashion quickly etc, not to mention the working practices they export

+ 1 on that. The men's clothes are f*cking atrocious. I've never understood this fascination with Pennys. Perhaps the women's clothes are better, but obviously I don't spend much time looking at them. H&M is the same in that the women's range seems way better, although some of the men's stuff can be excellent (underwear, blazers for example).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Love Penneys but find the store itself offputting, the one in Cork city is always insanely busy and I really hate it. I was however recently in their store in Wilton and it was paradise! Everything was actually laid out in order and easy to access. I love their fishnets, tights, socks, accessories etc. Their make up is lovely too. I don't usually buy t-shirts there as they all look huge(I like fitted t-shirts), even in the smallest size. I really wanna try their jeans, cardigans and shoes :)

Long live Penneys I say!

If I'm shopping in Penneys in Dublin City Centre I go early in the morning otherwise the place is like a bomb hit it. I'd also hit both the O'Connell street branch AND Mary Street store as they sometimes stock different stuff! The stores in Swords and Dundalk are better laid out so it's not so much of a hassle whatever time you go at.

Was in the Primark store in Liverpool and it was great. 5 Floors! Really well laid out. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭tanyaog2007

the pennys in newbridge is class too like 3 floors plus the make up is fair good esp the eyeliner:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭vixenbees

i get my socks in penneys thats about it!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I do enjoy Penneys but I can't stand the one in Cork City. The crowds mean I can't see or get to anything. When I stay with my boyfriend in Tralee, I try to pop into the branch there. It's huge and quiet and tidy and actually a pleasant shopping experience!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

I almost don't like telling people this because it's my sneaky way of shopping but Penneys in Athlone on a weekday is amazing, not a soul in there :D

Having lived in Cork, Galway and Tralee I can categorically say Athlone is the best one, just as much stuff as the others (more stuff than Galway) and laid out really well, and doesn't look like a herd of cows just rampaged through it, unlike Galway! Normally if I see something in the Galway store I wait a few days until I'm in Athlone, browse around the tidy shop and try it on, it's great!

I almost always have some item on from there, today it's my 13euro long cardigan and 6euro flats, oh and my giant bag that everyone compliments, 11euro! Anywhere that sells bright pink skinny jeans for 13euro has my vote, and they're the softest nicest jeans I've ever bought, Happy Days :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

I love Penneys. I'm a poor unemployed student so I do all my shopping in Penneys and H&M. I hate the one on Mary Street in Dublin when it's busy but it's the best one...

Fabulous shop, and I'd also love if they had a site, it'd be great to not have to tackle the shop and dig through piles upon piles of clothes for your size!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

fonpokno wrote: »
    I'd also love if they had a site,
    They do http://www.primark.co.uk it seems to be a work in progress though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,771 ✭✭✭✭fits

Its disposable clothing pretty much. Very little you buy in there lasts. Thats grand for statement fashion pieces but I'll buy my basics elswhere.

Actually I havent been in it at all in ages, I got well sick of it in my student days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭BaileysComet

Pennys are great for acessories amd ultra high-fashion items because they will fall out of shape and out of fashion at approximately the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭kizzyf

Pennys are great for acessories amd ultra high-fashion items because they will fall out of shape and out of fashion at approximately the same time.

Bit harsh as some of the clothes are better quality than those I've bought in other high street stores such as Warehouse and Topshop but then again the less people that shop in Penneys the more stock left for me.

• I love Penneys. I've so many nice things from there and I get loads of compliments on them. You just need to choose carefully and/or alter the stuff a bit. Lots of things have big tacky flowers or beads sewn on but you can cut them off. I get all my underwear, socks and tights there, pyjamas are great as well as the odd jumper, T shirt, coat. What are their jeans like? I'm looking for a pair of straight leg jeans and can't afford to pay more than 20e!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Used get nearly all my clothes there a few years ago but haven't found anything good there for ages. Menswear section can be very hit and miss: last time I was there there was nothing that caught my eye.

I always buy my jeans there though - bought two pairs that were extremely comfy, cheap and long lasting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

Yeh I love penneys for basics, pjs, undies and accessories. I wouldn't really buy any of their "high fashion" stuff though. I hate seeing other people walking around in "my" clothes and it happens so often with penneys stuff:).
    Actually get work trousers there as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭!!!

I'm a guy and wouldn't go near the place. My sister bought me a t-shirt from there once and made me wear it that night, I saw about 4 people on the street wearing it before I got to the pub and when I was in there I had 2 people say "Penneys?" to me. Worst penneys' experience ever! I went home and changed, and to this day I literally cringe thinking about it!

Snob drama queen? So be it. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭idontknowmyname

I worked for them for years as both sales assistant and manager- it was great cause I'd see what was coming out of the deliveries and I'd get the staff to get me my size straight from the delivery box and put it away.
    I've been in the one in Marble Arch and it's a flipping nightmare, I worked in O'Connell St and Mary St and this one is far more insane, don't really like it.

They opened a new bigger store in Tooting in London which is near me, it's fabulous!! I was in Swords a few weeks ago and got a pair of flip flops, cost me €3, everyone in work keeps asking me where I got them. Actually gonna head down to the Tooting branch today as need to get a few cheap bits and pieces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Corb

I now get most of my clothes from Penneys, I love their clothes and it's all I can afford so beggars can't be choosers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭bubblicious

Absolutely love Penney's, it's brilliant for just picking up a string top or cardi or whatever! Don't think I've bought underwear anywhere but Penney's! I used love their shoes but lately, the quality has gone downhill, they fall apart after a few weeks (what can you expect for €6 I know) but I've also shoes that have lasted me well over 2 years! Bought a gorgeous skirt in there for €13, my sister bought practically the exact same in River Island for €45 - bargain!

Heading to Liverpool in August for a few days, can't wait to hit the Penney's there, it's meant to be unreal! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

Can't get much clothes in there myself being a larger lass and all, but love all their little fecky accessories and the shoes do alright, sandals and all are grand but the heels just cut the feet off me. Got a pair of gorgeous black wedges in there last year, wore them to Time and my legs were shaking I was in so much pain and they cut my feet to bits.

Still, you can get all yer accessories in there for less than half the price of Accessorize and they're basically the same, so I can't complain really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭fifomania

Hate to go against the grain here but i find penney's clothes don't fit well on the whole. i used to buy the bulk of clothes in it, their accessories are great and the odd nice item of clothing, even their homeware stuff is great but there is just something not right about the fit! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

Nope. Never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭biZrb

I've been in the one in Marble Arch and it's a flipping nightmare, I worked in O'Connell St and Mary St and this one is far more insane, don't really like it.

They opened a new bigger store in Tooting in London which is near me, it's fabulous!!

Thanks for sharing that, I'm moving to London in a few months and I really don't want to have to brave the Marble Arch store that often, its totally crazy in there! I'll definitly be going to the Tooting one in future

I bought a pair of longer leg skinny jeans for £8 in the last time I was over there and they are amazing, i find it really hard finding skinny jeans that are a nice colour that also don't look like flood pants on me! I was so happy to find a pair for only £8 too.

I bought a pair of skinny jeans about 4 years ago in the Hammersmith store and I wore them to death and they were indigo when I bought them and they are just like regular blue jeans now, all the dye has disapeared, I've washed them so many times! But the quality of them is brilliant, they've lasted a lot longer than I thought they would. Although saying that I've bought t-shirts in there and they've gone out of shape after a few washes, so it really depends on what you buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

cant beat the penneys mens t shirts, boxers, novelty socks and the odd nice hoodie for 9 euro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭flahers

Liverpool Pennys must be the biggest ever, five floors and absolutely brilliant range of everything. Went over in March and going over again next week to do some serious shopping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭BlackandGold

+100 for Penneys. Nowhere else can you find such fashionable clothes for so cheap. I do NOT see the purpose of spending anything like 200 for a dress etc. Bought one for €9 for my holidays and wore it twice! And I'll wear it again! NINE EURO LADS!!!!! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Yup, sooo cheap, can't afford much else! Though some of the clothes are shocking- I was in there last week and seen shiny hot- pant thingys that Bruno would be too ashamed to wear and neon yellow leopard print scarves!:pac:

Mind you, you can find good bargains on tops, cardigans, and basics like lingerie and socks, so I'll always have a look in there if I'm shopping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I don't buy many clothes in Penney's simply because the shop in Killarney is utter shite. It's tiny and they never have anything good in there! However when I'm in college in Cork I sometimes find things in the one in Wilton. There is a brilliant Penney's in Tralee but I rarely go to Tralee.

It's great for socks. And cardigans, love their cardigans. Shoes there never fit me. Size 5 is too small, 6 is too big.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭YT

I find that some things from Penneys last quite well if you take care of them properly. I bought a pair of boots there about 5 years ago and they are still on the go! I bought a pair of black linen trousers there a couple of years ago for one Euro, and top them up every now and again with a machine dye.

I bought a jacket recently and got some Iron on patches, instantly changed it and people keep asking where I bought it.

You can't go wrong with a little black dress from penneys either, I have one that's a couple of years old and have worn I don't know how many times, always changing the accessories.

I bought a 5 pack of knickers the other day for a Euro. Where else would ya get it?!

The only problem I have with their jeans (and I have it in most places) is that they fit my legs perfectly but not my waist, if I go up to the next size the legs are too big. But as I said I find that in most places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭1071823928

i love penneys!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    its actually the best value for money shop out there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!