Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pure Mule

• 25-07-2009 04:08PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭

First series of Pure Mule being run tomorrow night on RTE. Best thing RTE have done in a long time I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I always felt Pure **** would have been a better name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

i seem to usually find agreeing with you mossy but not on this i'm afraid. I liked that show, i agree with op that otmwas by far the best show rte have churned out in a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I can accept that some people like it. It just wasn't for me. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

ziedth wrote: »
    i seem to usually find agreeing with you mossy but not on this i'm afraid. I liked that show, i agree with op that otmwas by far the best show rte have churned out in a while.
    yes first three episodes in particulare were excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Baile an Locha

I thought it was excellent, true perspective of rural town life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Beth1978

It was a great series. They're making series two at the moment in Birr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,523 ✭✭✭weemcd

would quite like to see this again, quite true to life, especially small town ireland, everyone knows everyone's buisness imo, decent enough entertainment

"pure fúúckin mule bi"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Xabs

Showing this sorry excuse for entertainment again?

There was a good show on a few years ago called "Legend"
    which is much more worthy for a re-run...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Cecil Mor

Legend was utter RTE crap. Floyd Whelan havin his Merc's roof removed by the most polished well spoken Tallagh head imaginable. Gangsters were ridiculous, Garda nice guy in forbidden love with local hoodlum's Ma and a load of f*ckin' about with a fitted kitchen. Pure crap, only good thing about it was yer man who did'nt know what a tracker mortage was...

Beth1978 wrote: »

is any of the original cast (apart from obviously the late tom murphy) in it??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

Beth1978 wrote: »

It's no Soupy Norman in fairness....

Xabs wrote: »
    Showing this sorry excuse for entertainment again?

legend was a load of bo**cks!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,273 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

is any of the original cast (apart from obviously the late tom murphy) in it??

I think Garett Lombard is still in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭tbaymusicman

That is so weird i only asked this on my facebook yesterday haha:D:D

what a feckin show plus the gurl in it was yummy cant remember her name but she had the sick mammy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭xr2central

pure mule was and still is the best show ever on rte,its so like real life in a small town in Ireland, ya sure there is no big action scenes or major life changing story lines but that is the whole point of the show you either get it or you don't, i heard a lot of people criticise the accents etc. (mostly people fom big cities) but that is actually how people speak in the midlands, anyone that did not give it a full chance the first time should use the repeats to watch it again maybe from a different perspective, PURE LEGEND would be a better name imo

R.I.P. Tom Murphy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭xr2central

actually well i am here, anyone know is it possible to get the first series on DVD???:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

Unfortunately you can't get it on dvd. I thought RTÉ might stick it up on the net for a while, but no luck there either.

It's absolutely class, I only came across it again by chance on Sunday night, really good to see again. I heard (from the reliable source of Wikipedia) that the Autumn one is only going to be a 2-episode special, looking forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Ya it's disappointing that RTE hasn't put it up on the net. I missed the 1st episode on Sunday night. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Unshelved

I heard that one episode centres around a funeral (I wonder if that's the Tom Murphy character) and is filmed in the Old Court Hotel in Birr. Dawn Bradfield, Charlene McKenna and Liam Carney are all back. Don't know who else though.

Edited to add - http://www.rte.ie/arts/2009/0702/puremule.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Chumpski

Wasn't one guy named Scoby? Genius. I mean the name and that he took on a married woman (ex rose of tralee too)! Good on ya Scoby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Watched it the other night. I'd be one of RTE's biggest critics, but I thought this was good. Usual batch of voiceover actors, actors from other programs (which annoys me), but besides that it was great. The accent on yer wan with the big teeth is a bit much though.

Yes saw the first three episodes. The guy from the Clinic is up in Episode three as far as I know. Yes wonder will they deal with post celtic tiger ireland in new eps. would be interesting angle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭nessie911

I thought it was excellent, true perspective of rural town life

Pure Mule was crap, it had such bad story lines, it is not a true perspective of rural town life, i live very close to where pure mule was filmed, and where it is being filmed at the min, and it is not at all like that. people have real lives and real problems... And we dont sound like that, like thay sound like thay have been bet up or sometin... maybe they should try get some good actors and directors too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

nessie911 wrote: »
    Pure Mule was crap, it had such bad story lines, it is not a true perspective of rural town life, i live very close to where pure mule was filmed, and where it is being filmed at the min, and it is not at all like that. people have real lives and real problems... And we dont sound like that, like thay sound like thay have been bet up or sometin... maybe they should try get some good actors and directors too...

Ye do sound like that to everybody else though.

Pure Mule was good solid, well made entertainment. Not to everyone's taste perhaps but undeniably well crafted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Paulj

Anybody know if it'll be possible to stream this off RTE's website? Would love to see this again but i'm outside the country for a few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭nessie911

AnonoBoy wrote: »

We dont sound like that. I started college in limerick last year and no one knew where i was from, and they all laught at how pure mule made us sound, and laught at the fact that i didnt sound at all like that crap program...

I dont no anyone who speaks like that. I think some areas of tipp but not around where i live.

have relations from Tipp (Templemore area) so I thought Pure Mule was a very good portrayal of country life. Found nothing wrong with the accents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Paulj wrote: »
    Anybody know if it'll be possible to stream this off RTE's website? Would love to see this again but I'm outside the country for a few months.

Not a hope I'd say. It's definitely not on the RTÉ Player (just checked).

From the FAQ "We aim to make programmes available in the RTÉ player the day after broadcast. If a programme is not available the day after broadcast on RTÉ One and RTÉ Two, we may not have the rights to make it available on the RTÉ player."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

pure mule was great , the accents are a little too flat though , people in the midlands speak like tinkers for the most part

nessie911 wrote: »
    AnonoBoy wrote: »

We dont sound like that. I started college in limerick last year and no one knew where i was from, and they all laught at how pure mule made us sound, and laught at the fact that i didnt sound at all like that crap program...

I dont no anyone who speaks like that. I think some areas of tipp but not around where i live.

Maybe they were laughing at your spelling.

Seriously though, as much as I dislike that show the characters do capture the accents pretty well it has to be said.