Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

pulled by park ranger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

eoin wrote: »
    Oh, now you've gone and done it. You just had to post facts that are there in plain English. No doubt someone will tell you to get off your high horse too.
    Gone very quiet in here since though, hasn't it?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Think I'll have a few quid in the 6.15 in Galway - #8 Park Ranger 28/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Bluetonic wrote: »
    Think I'll have a few quid in the 6.15 in Galway - #8 Park Ranger 28/1.

It might be worth a few quid if he can do the 65 km/h he claims he can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Maruney

Anan1 wrote: »
    See my last post above.

Finally, the mod has got back on topic.

Maruney wrote: »
    Finally, the mod has got back on topic.
    Perhaps you're not familiar with the idea that there may be more than one salient point to a discussion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Well, the park ranger having to do 65kph to catch up doesn't mean the op was speeding. It definitely means the park ranger was if his speedo was any way accurate.
    Is the park ranger allowed to break the law? Surely if they were to inforce speeding a speed trap is the only way to do it, guessing using your own speedo is comical, unless the op was doing 120kph or something mental.
    Imagine it went to court? I'd say the ranger would be laughed at! No proof the op was speeding, but he admits he was himself!

Quint wrote: »
    Well, the park ranger having to do 65kph to catch up doesn't mean the op was speeding. It definitely means the park ranger was if his speedo was any way accurate.
    Is the park ranger allowed to break the law? Surely if they were to inforce speeding a speed trap is the only way to do it, guessing using your own speedo is comical, unless the op was doing 120kph or something mental.
    Imagine it went to court? I'd say the ranger would be laughed at! No proof the op was speeding, but he admits he was himself!
    TBH, I can't see it as ever having gone to court. The park ranger felt the OP was speeding and gave them a bit of a talking to, i'd say that was about the size of it. The OP came on here whining about the legality of a park ranger stopping them, was joined by a herd of low horses, and it now appears that the PR was well within his rights. Is there anything more to see here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,270 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

The OP came on here whining about the legality of a park ranger stopping them, was joined by a herd of low horses

You were dying to trot that one out...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

In before lock. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

What's the posted speed limit in the phoenix park?

Vegeta wrote: »
    What's the posted speed limit in the phoenix park?
    50 km/h

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Right so, he did 65kph to catch up with her. So she must have been doing about 55-60kph? More likely towards the bottom end of this scale as he had to catch up with her.

Now unless he happened to have a properly calibrated speedometer then he was about 10-15% out. So he really caught up with her, he was more likely doing about 56-59kph. Which would put the op in around 50kph.

What is the speed limit on that road?

For the last time, the limit is 50 km/h.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Right so, he did 65kph to catch up with her. So she must have been doing about 55-60kph? More likely towards the bottom end of this scale as he had to catch up with her.

Now unless he happened to have a properly calibrated speedometer then he was about 10-15% out. So he really caught up with her, he was more likely doing about 56-59kph. Which would put the op in around 50kph.

Thats what I was thinking. If he had to do 65 "to catch up", the op was hardly flooring it. Maybe if the op is blond, assuming it's a girl, he wanted an excuse to stop her and have a chat:D
    OP, report him for being a pervert

Bond-007 wrote: »
    50 km/h

That's not in any of the bye laws I've seen though. The one on the phoenix park website says "30km" which is not even a speed

And the SI #6/1926 doesn't state a speed so its obviously outdated

Anyone have the more up to date SI?

Indeed the Park Constable can stop you if you break any of the bye laws but I don't see the 50km/h limit in any of them.
    This: http://www.phoenixpark.ie/about/phoenixparkact/ confirms that the park warden was acting legally and would have been within his rights to arrest the OP. Here's the relevant extract:
    7.—

(1) If any person in the Park and within the view of a park constable does any act which is an offence under any section of this Act or any bye-law made under this Act, or is in contravention of any such bye-law, such park constable, if in uniform, may do both or either of the following things, that is to say:—
    ( a ) demand from such person his name and address, or
    ( b ) order such person to leave the Park.
    (2) If any such person as aforesaid refuses to give his name or refuses to give his address to a park constable upon demand by, such park constable as aforesaid, or gives a name or address which is known to or reasonably suspected by the park constable to be false or fictitious, the park constable may without warrant arrest and take into his custody such person.

I have seen plenty of 50 km/h signs in the park.

Anyone have the more up to date SI?
    SI 374/2008 which is not relevant to the current situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

Onkle wrote: »
    ou should report him for speeding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

Onkle wrote: »
    Not in those interviews. They really were tough. That DeVore lad has a serious stare and will suss if you are lying

Huh? When I was a mod back in the day I just logged in one day to find out I was made a mod how times have changed. And DeVore is just a big fluffy bunnie!
    gnxx wrote: »
    Interesting reading in both of these:

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1925/en/act/pub/0031/index.html
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1926/en/si/0006.html

Park constables can be appointed by OPW. It appears to me they can indeed enforce traffic rules and if you refuse to give your name and address they can "without warrant arrest and take into his custody such person" !!

Here are the extracts from the acts:

4. (3) Drivers of vehicles in the Park shall comply with the provisions of these bye-laws and shall conform to such orders for the regulation of traffic in the Park as may be given by any member of the Gárda Síochána or any park constable or contained in any notice by the Commissioners exhibited in the Park.

7.—(1) If any person in the Park and within the view of a park constable does any act which is an offence under any section of this Act or any bye-law made under this Act, or is in contravention of any such bye-law, such park constable, if in uniform, may do both or either of the following things, that is to say:—
    [GA]

( a ) demand from such person his name and address, or

( b ) order such person to leave the Park.

(2) If any such person as aforesaid refuses to give his name or refuses to give his address to a park constable upon demand by, such park constable as aforesaid, or gives a name or address which is known to or reasonably suspected by the park constable to be false or fictitious, the park constable may without warrant arrest and take into his custody such person.

So according the word of law the park ranger had no right to ask the OP her name or her details. The park ranger can only ask this of the male half of the population....

BTW speeding and getting caught nowt you can do about it. No point in complaining take your punishment.

How ever someone other than a Guarda pulling you over and demanding the information. Heck I would be the one ringing the guards while sitting infront of the ranger.
    Hello Guarda? Yes I have a man here who pulled me over and started acting like a member of the force and has failed to produce identification to that effect....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭com1

Maybe I should change my name to Pedantic Pat...

Is a 'Park Ranger' a 'Park Constable'? I am not so sure - http://www.labourcourt.ie/labour/labcourtweb.nsf/cfcbbe5c5fe85fa680256a01005bb356/80256a770034a2ab80256a220033d204?OpenDocument

And if this is the case do Park Rangers have the same powers of arrest as Park Constables?

And remember "No person shall ride a horse in any place where horse riding is prohibited" (http://www.phoenixpark.ie/about/phoenixparkbyelaws/) whether they be low or high...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭miju

so the park ranger is also entitled to break the speed limits too cos I'm fairly certain theres only three types of vehicles that are permitted to do so.

I have seen plenty of 50 km/h signs in the park.

My point is that a Park Constable (which are different from a Park Ranger) can only enforce the bye laws within the Act and I don't see a 50km/h bye law in there anywhere for him to enforce.

That's me being a pedant though

That would leave the Gardaí to enforce the speedlimit.

From reading the Act and SI(s) I would have thought so too.

Vegeta wrote: »
    My point is that a Park Constable (which are different from a Park Ranger) can only enforce the bye laws within the Act and I don't see a 50km/h bye law in there anywhere for him to enforce.

That's me being a pedant though
    I presume the '/h' missing from here: All motorists must adhere to the speed limit of 30 km is a typo on the website. Common-sense would dictate that the webmaster simply garbled the change from 30mph to 50km/h?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Ah, common sense.
    Which isn't.
    And which has no legal weight at all.
    And which apparently wasn't on display during the incident the OP described.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

me too, its a coming:D

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 18,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭Solitaire

Bond-007 wrote:

Oh yes, a flame war instigated by the board moderator and now raging between other moderators! Methinks this thread will have to close before they start swinging their own Banhammers at each other's heads and cause Boards to implode! :D

I presume the '/h' missing from here: All motorists must adhere to the speed limit of 30 km is a typo on the website. Common-sense would dictate that the webmaster simply garbled the change from 30mph to 50km/h?

Now fair enough if it is a mistake but that is the phoenix park website (which means it stands for diddly squat) and I cant see reference to a speed limit in the few SI I have looked at.

On the Irish Statute site there are only 2 SI listed when a search is done and neither mention any speed limit as a bye law and there is none in the Act itself either.

So we are agreed a Park Constable can enforce bye laws but where (bar the phoenix park website because that's not exactly a solid reference and it contains obvious errors) is the bye law stating a speed limit, be it in mph or kph?

I am genuinely looking at this objectively, so if the bye law exists and someone can find it, then they can. If it doesn't exist then I guess they cant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭kdevitt

I just rang the superintendant for the Phoenix Park to attempt and settle this. The rangers do not have the power to pull people over, and they are not authorised to do so - they can and do refer any details to the Gardai though.

Carry on...