PS3 NAT & MEDIASHARING

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭eioneill

ok lads. Can yis both log into your routers and try find and tell me what the DHCP range is set to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭James Bong 79

ok mine is set from 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.1.32

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Copyright

mine is,
    Start : 192.168.1.1
    End : 192.168.1.200

My router is netopia 2247 nwg, are you sure that can do nat 2?

ok mine is set from 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.1.32

Ok James your DHCP range is fine. You're able to connect your PS3 with Nat 3. So the Static IP is set up correctly. I'm presuming that there is a problem with the Ports mate. Just double check them and ensure that they are all enabled. Put the firewall on the router page to LOW. Dont worry if you have a firewall for your PC then its fine. Turn off Media sharing on your PS3 for the moment. Unplug your router for 2 mins. Start it back up. Give it a couple of mins and go through the connection settings on the PS3 again. You shouldn't have to change anything when you click manual. Just keep pressing X. If all is correct you should have NAT 2.

Copyright wrote: »
    mine is,
    Start : 192.168.1.1
    End : 192.168.1.200

My router is netopia 2247 nwg, are you sure that can do nat 2?

Ok mate change the DHCP range end to 192.168.1.48

Netopia 2247 nwg is capable of Nat 2 as that's what I had and my brother still uses this aswell.

Double check everything and do as I posted in last comment and let me know then.

eioneill wrote: »
    Ok mate change the DHCP range end to 192.168.1.48

Netopia 2247 nwg is capable of Nat 2 as that's what I had and my brother still uses this aswell.

Double check everything and do as I posted in last comment and let me know then.

Hey, changed DHCP , checked over everything, still nat2, emm, have you got msn or any IM ?, looks like i've done something wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭James Bong 79

it still wont work, this is really strange!!! i went through all the steps again really slowly and still i have nat type 3! im on the verge of taking a hammer to that poxy netopia router!!!!!!!!!!!

Very strange fellas. I'm finished here for the day and unfortunately cant get to a comp tonight. Have a movie premiere to attend. Try knocking the firewall off in your router set up. If possible take screen shots of your router pages showing the exact ports you opened and email them to me and he'll have a look tomoro morning and try sort this out for yis. I'll pm my email address.

Chat tomoro.

Eamo

Was just on official PS website and pulled this from the FAQ

If you are able to connect to the Internet but cannot get into Sony Computer Entertainment Europe's (SCEE) game servers or network, it may be a firewall issue. Here are the TCP and UDP Port numbers you will need to connect to SCEE game servers. If you need port numbers for games published by other companies, you will need to contact them directly for additional information.
    [Note: Make sure to enable these TCP/UDP ports in both directions and are entered into the TCP and UDP port fields in your router / modem. Please contact your Internet Service Provider or router manufacturer for proper instructions on how to input port information for your network.]
    All games published by SCEE may use the following ports for communication with game servers:
    • TCP Ports: 80, 443, 5223, and 10070 - 10080
    • UDP Ports: 3478, 3479, 3658, and 10070
    For PLAYSTATION Network:
    • TCP Ports: 80, 443, 5223
    • UDP Ports: 3478, 3479, 3658
    I cant think of anything else. I'll set my PS3 up in my gf's house at the weekend and open all the ports on her Eircom connection. I'll revert back to yis over the weekend.

any luck mate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 wedgess21

u still hAVING this problem i have the same router as you and cannot get nat 2 u cannot get nat2 on netopia i have been on to eircom about it and checked nearly every site i have tried all what is been said in this forum ABOUT 2 MONTHS AGO and it doesnt work ur best off getting netgear router DG834G in argos its €105 but i went into currys and got it for €10 today havent set it up yet cos im not at home but shud b nat2 netopia routers r no good from wgat every1 tells me.my gf has netgear router and is nat 2 with not 1 network problem never gets disconnected so if u want perfect r near perfect internet on ur ps3 with mediasharing then get netgear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 weldon855

iv d netopia 2247 router wit nat 2. plus mediashare it can be done.

weldon855 wrote: »
    iv d netopia 2247 router wit nat 2. plus mediashare it can be done.

how did you get it like this ?

created two custom services and put them onto my ps3s ip. dont hav to change any settings on ps3 just give it an ip so it doesnt change.ur ps3 will have to be on and connected to d router to assign d service to it.

ps3tcp:
    global port range : 80-65535
    base host port : 80
    protocol : TCP

ps3udp:
    protocol : UDP

created two custom services and put them onto my ps3s ip. dont hav to change any settings on ps3 just give it an ip so it doesnt change.ur ps3 will have to be on and connected to d router to assign d service to it.

ps3tcp:
    protocol : TCP

ps3udp:
    protocol : UDP

thanks, but for me when I try to open them, it overlaps a lot of services, ?

does it overlap other services dat u created or d ones already on the router?
    if its d other ones u urself created previously den ul have to delete all the ones u made. n den make d 2 new ones.

if it overlaps wit d ones on d router (ie age of empires....etc)
    den u probly have d firmware for the 2247nwg.
    if dats d case u can download d 2247-02 firmware n update dat onto ur router and den create d services n it shud work.
    but only do dat if ur familar wit doin dat knda stuff cos it will reset d routers wireless wpa key to a diffrent wep key so ul hav to connect to d router via a network cable to change it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,258 ✭✭✭RangeR

does it overlap other services dat u created or d ones already on the router?
    if its d other ones u urself created previously den ul have to delete all the ones u made. n den make d 2 new ones.

if it overlaps wit d ones on d router (ie age of empires....etc)
    den u probly have d firmware for the 2247nwg.
    if dats d case u can download d 2247-02 firmware n update dat onto ur router and den create d services n it shud work.
    but only do dat if ur familar wit doin dat knda stuff cos it will reset d routers wireless wpa key to a diffrent wep key so ul hav to connect to d router via a network cable to change it back.

Jesus, will you ever type properly. txt speak is shoite and not allowed in these here parts.

I tryed updating my netopia 2247 nwg eir to the 2247 02 firmware and its completley broke my internet , the dsl light is flashing it wont load at all, I cant get on the site to re download the old firmware to go back can someone plz link it to me, im in an internet cafe now please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,258 ✭✭✭RangeR

Copyright wrote: »
    I tryed updating my netopia 2247 nwg eir to the 2247 02 firmware and its completley broke my internet , the dsl light is flashing it wont load at all, I cant get on the site to re download the old firmware to go back can someone plz link it to me, im in an internet cafe now please

Can you access the Netopia web interface?

Chances are that it's not broken. When you put on new firmware, the device is usually wiped of all configuration. You need to enter eircom's authentication details. Ideally you should have written down details of your WAN configuration before you upgraded. I don't have those details. Sometimes you can use a generic username and password, sometimes you have to use the details supplied by eircom. Ring eircom broadband support to get those details. Please have your account details ready when you ring them.

If the above is correct, installing an older firmware will not resolve your issue.

You should ask for assistance here before trying these things, if you are not sure what you are doing.

Just in case : Netopia Firmware Download Page

RangeR wrote: »
    Can you access the Netopia web interface?

Chances are that it's not broken. When you put on new firmware, the device is usually wiped of all configuration. You need to enter eircom's authentication details. Ideally you should have written down details of your WAN configuration before you upgraded. I don't have those details. Sometimes you can use a generic username and password, sometimes you have to use the details supplied by eircom. Ring eircom broadband support to get those details. Please have your account details ready when you ring them.

If the above is correct, installing an older firmware will not resolve your issue.

You should ask for assistance here before trying these things, if you are not sure what you are doing.

Just in case : Netopia Firmware Download Page

I added firmware for nwg and im back online w00t :D

did you connect to the router with a network cable after you updated it. cos it changes ur wpa and wireless wont work until you connect using the cable.

its connected via ethernet?

Ok, A problem ive got ( had this b4 my internet went ) after about 2 mins i get an error saying you have been signed out of playstion network , dno what the problem is there :( I cant play online, but I have managed to get firmare on eircoms site and updated to that ( which fixed my rotuer ) still says my model is now 2247 02 for some reason but I set up static nat and opened then ports and now I have NAT 2 :D I just have to sort out the other problem, any idea's ?

get rid of d static nat (keep d ports open though)and it shud work and stil be nat2.

yeah still signs me out after about 5 mins ? :(

or if i do auto I still get NAT 3 :confused:

check on the connection settings on d ps3 that you hav the right numbers for the default router and dns 1 and 2. other than that i know that eircom has been slightly messed up the last few weeks because there dns servers where messes up. you havin any issues loading webpages on your pc. ? at d min am not even using eircoms dns because its still havin issues with lost connections.
    http://support.eircom.net/

no luck unfortunately :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 juanpablo1983

Alright guys,

If you follow this short video, you will go from NAT type 3 to TYPE 1 in minutes. Trust me, it works. keep trying it. No need to mess around with your router settings.

Let me know when it works for you.

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,562 ✭✭✭The tax man

Alright guys,

If you follow this short video, you will go from NAT type 3 to TYPE 1 in minutes. Trust me, it works. keep trying it. No need to mess around with your router settings.

Let me know when it works for you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Q_PrT_rmkY&feature=related

Seriously, was that your best attempt at humour? :rolleyes: