Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PS3 NAT & MEDIASHARING

• 21-06-2009 4:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭

Hey,

I Have NAT 3 at the moment, I've had to open ports to play fifa/call of duty etc, but I still cant connect to some of the features on them, Also I cant do a voice chat on psn, with nat 3, But my media sharing works, I Use tversity,

I've looked up around the boards and found that youtube video of the guy showing us on eircom how to get NAT type 1, which I done and I can connect to all games and do chats now, I get some errors when I sign in ? not sure what there about,
    Everything else seems ok apart from one thing,
    MediaSharing !

1 Thing I use the ps3 a lot for is media sharing, Once I set it up to NAT 1, It no longer connects to my pc or 'tversity'
    so I've to go back to nat 3 just for that
    It gets so annoying
    can someone help me to work media sharing on nat 1.

Also, Im not sure if i've posted this in the right place , If I havent please move it to the correct forum,

Adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 wedgess21

u can only use media sharing if u are nat 2 or 3 u cannot use media sharing using nat1 what router u using

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Copyright

netopia 2247,

Ive got loads of ports open and I cant get on nat 3 at all

wait ur on nat 1 but want 2 be nat 3??????

wedgess21 wrote: »

no, On normal settigns I get NAT 3, I have opened ports but still cant do somethings, I do get mediasharing which is great, If I do like that video says I get nat 1, but mediasharing doesnt work on nat 1, So I Like nat 1 only for no mediasharing , I Want nat 2 lol

least u get nat 1 haha i cant get it and i have the same router.u cant get nat 2 on the netopia if u want nat 2 then ur going have to get a new router like im going have to ur best getting netgear anyone i talked to uses netgear and seems to be the best for nat 2 and they can accept invites and dont get dissconnected r nothin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,367 ✭✭✭ongarite

I think the easiest option for all these Eircom Netopia NAT threads, would be to refuse the router if you sign up with Eircom & buy a decent wireless router than has properly functioning NAT & uPnP.

Cool, Can someone link me the right netgear one to get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,367 ✭✭✭ongarite

Copyright wrote: »
    Cool, Can someone link me the right netgear one to get?

I've had this router for 4 years and never had a media streaming or online gaming, voice chat issue with it.

http://shop.ebay.ie/?_from=R40&_trksid=p3907.m38.l1313&_nkw=netgear+dg834gt

excellent, thanks very much mate!!

So, I just buy that connect all the wires up and im ready to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭redman85

wedgess21 wrote: »

I recently changed to Nat 1 from Nat 3 and ever since I have had non stop problems. login out of PSN, not even being able to log onto PSN and every online game has lag and just quits.

I'v tried to get back to Nat 3 but couldnt. I'v looked online but its only to nat 1.

Anyone know how to get back to Nat 3?

Thanks and sorry for hi jacking the thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭eioneill

Hey guys, heres a guide to having absolutley FLAWLESS ps3 online, very important parts shall have an asterix (*) to the left hand side of the post,
    i shall also give brief explanations of why youre doing these things, and what they actually DO:

basically your ps3 connection has a NAT type , this basically says how your connection to your router is, TYPE 1 means its directly connected to the internet so its perfect for gaming (most likely will not be able to media share as you are connected directly to internet), TYPE 3 means it can connect to the internet but the connection isnt perfect/very laggy, a result of this is not being able to go into chat rooms, ea nation games not working etc. well we try to get NAT type 2 which is wirelessly connected to the internet , but perfectly connected here we go!!

*give your ps3 a static ip address*
    *okay this isnt too complicated, see every time a router gets accessed by a device (ps3, desktop, laptop etc.) it assignes it an ip address randomly depending on who logs in first,

on ps3
    Disable the media server function in 'network settings'

We need our ps3 to have an ip address that isnt given out randomly, as we will need it to have the same address,so you write down a new ip address, say 192.168.1.50 we use .50 because you probably will never have 50 devices on your router at any given time!

Sign into psn using the new ip beforehand, to do that just use the custom ip (192.168.1.50) and use the same settings but use your IP GATEWAY(see next paragraph) as the bar saying DEFAULT ROUTER.
    do a wireless 'automatic' network connection and see if nat type 3 comes up at the end, if so, were on track

*find out our internets ip details*
    i had awful guff with this online because bad wording of ip addresses and such was used , SO I WILL MAKE THIS CLEAR

*run a command prompt, on your desktop click 'start'-'run'-'cmd' in the command prompt , type ipconfig/all and click 'enter'

*now, write down the numbers for these addresses: IP GATEWAY,DNS SERVER 1, DNS SERVER 2 they will be used later on.

*fiddling with your router*(in the good way!)
    *okay , now we are going to open some ports on your netopia router, DONT WORRY ITS NOT DANGEROUS, because we will only let these ports be opened when your ps3 'asks for them' so to speak, and considering your ps3 doesnt get viruses, you are safe!

*in your internet address bar type in your 'IP GATEWAY' you just got from the command prompt, just the numbers and dots, no need for a 'www' or any of that! on netopia routers the gateway is generally 192.168.1.254 so i will use that for now.

type 192.168.1.254 in the browser address window. and your netopia router page should appear, im gonna make this as easy as possible , so bear with me for a minute, were now going to 'open' and 'enable' the ports and 'enable' your ps3's ip address to know to receive these ports.

*okay click EXPERT MODE on the left hand column, click 'YES , ENTER EXPERT MODE', double click the word 'configure, go down and click on 'NAT' click 'STATIC NAT' click the dropdown icon, see if your ip address is there, if so click it, click on done.

Now im going to list a range of ports and what to do with them , we will call the example port aaaa .
    click on NAT as you did earlier,(notice how the ps3 ip is there , listed under static ip? thats good)
    click DEFINE CUSTOM SERVICE click in 'PORT FORWARDING' , select next , type anything in the service name, something that you will know its related to the ps3,

see the settings for 'global port range' if its only one port thats being entered enter the same port in the left and right hand boxes, in every case , enter the lower port in the box below saying 'base port' even if theres only one port, and chage the TCP/UDP settings according to every port.

heres the ports , repeat the same process for each one, after that window, select the static ip address you made in the drop-down list so it gets forwarded only for the ps3

* TCP port 80
    TCP port 443
    TCP port 5223
    UDP port 3478-3479
    UDP port 3658-3659

*now we 'enable' them all, when your done, click NAT on the left hand side, click the dropdown menu that has 'age of empires' written on it and scroll to the bottom, click on the ports you made with the asterix beside them (*) and click enable , then enter the ps3 ip address in the bar , to 'enable them just for the ps3' okay ,

*now click 'configure ' on the left and then click 'connection ' and tick the box that says "upnp"

now,to summarise, we should have , when we click NAT on the left hand column, a:

static NAT address, enabled, thats the ip youre going to use on your ps3
    7 ps3 ports, all enabled to the 'host device' of your ps3's ip

*now , enter basic mode, click firewall, and set to low, this isnt dangerous as long as you have a desktop firewall such as windows or mcafee etc...
    save changes, and RESTART YOUR ROUTER!

now, turn your ps3 off, then on again , now go to Network settings and click network settings, im putting this in bullet form for easiness

-wireless/wired(though this guide is based on a wireless connection)
    -CUSTOM
    -enter security settings
    -now for your ip info CLICK MANUAL
    -where it says 'ip address' enter the STATIC IP ADDRESS YOU MADE UP
    -subnet mask is normally 255.255.255.0
    -DEFAULT ROUTER, this wants you to input your GATEWAY number you wrote down
    -DNS 1/primary , enter the one you wrote down,

i dont think the ps3 needs it , try it without using the 2nd one,

-cick NEXT
    -'proxy server' DONT ENABLE THAT
    -upnp , enable if you could in your router

thats all , save settings and do connection test, see what nat type comes up at the end, if its 2 , its perfect! dont do anyhting to your router and congratz! if not , perhaps a bit of the guide was overlooked, if that isnt the case either leave me a post and ill try and help,

Hey eioneill,

I use apple airport extreme as my wireless router. Does this affect the nat type?

redman85 wrote: »
    Hey eioneill,

I use apple airport extreme as my wireless router. Does this affect the nat type?

Alright redman85,

The netopia router is one of the worst around at the moment for Nat issues. Most of the newer routers have UPnP so they will automatically configure themselves to NAT 2 for the PS3. Best way for you to check is go to Network settings and connection status I think its called. Scroll down to the bottom and it will tell you your NAT type. If you have type 2 your sorted. If not you will need to open your ports mate. I use homeplugs myself instead of wireless. They work a treat for me.

Thanks eioneill.

On my ps3 its says nat 1 but I'm having so many problems with lag and getting disconnected from the psn that I would rather go back to nat 3 where I had no problems at all. Is this possible?

Okay, I entered in the new ip address on the ps3 network setup , along with my dns, and it says error in dns :( ?

redman85 wrote: »
    Thanks eioneill.

On my ps3 its says nat 1 but I'm having so many problems with lag and getting disconnected from the psn that I would rather go back to nat 3 where I had no problems at all. Is this possible?

redman85 it is possible to go back to Nat3 alright but would make no sense if you want to play and chat over the PSN. Best off opening the ports and playing on Nat 2. If you want to go to Nat3 though, click network settings, Internet connection settings, Wireless, Scan, Custom, and then keep clicking right and when you see the PPPOE option, scroll up to automatic instead of PPPOE and that should give you Nat 3. Then go about opening up the ports mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭James Bong 79

hey eioneill!
    ive followed your guide there but i still keep getting nat 3! i think this could be to do with upnp?? because even though it is ticked(i didnt have to tick it, it was done automatically) in the router and enabled on the ps3, it still comes up as not available! i've gone through the guide and im pretty sure ive done everything else right!!

Okay, I entered in the new ip address on the ps3 network setup , along with my dns, and it says error in dns :( ?

Alright Copyright. When exactly are you getting the dns error? Is it when you test the internet connection? Ensure that you have selected manual instead of PPPOE when you're going through the options when your setting up your internet.

hey eioneill!
    ive followed your guide there but i still keep getting nat 3! i think this could be to do with upnp?? because even though it is ticked(i didnt have to tick it, it was done automatically) in the router and enabled on the ps3, it still comes up as not available! i've gone through the guide and im pretty sure ive done everything else right!!

Hi James,

Regarding upnp, the netopia eircom routers do not have this function on them. So it will always come up as not available.

Right let me see, when you opening up the ports on your router page did you make sure that you were opening up the ports to the static IP address you gave your PS3?

i did and they show up in the nat section under services. but when you say that there should be 7 ps3 ports, do you mean five when you count 3478-3479 and 3658-3659 as one "service" each? also do you keep age of empire enabled??

eioneill wrote: »
    Alright Copyright. When exactly are you getting the dns error? Is it when you test the internet connection? Ensure that you have selected manual instead of PPPOE when you're going through the options when your setting up your internet.

yep thats what I done, when I get to test it says IP passed, internet connection failed , and the error is DNS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭wcarey1975

yep thats what I done, when I get to test it says IP passed, internet connection failed , and the error is DNS

I got this aswell when I went back to NAT2 from NAT1. I used the settings that I used previously and it worked initially but then errored out and wouldn't connect to PSN it failed everytime. I eventually discovered that I had been using the incorrect DNS server I address all along. I changed these to match my current setting on my router and it worked and is still working without issue still two weeks later. It just seemed strange as thesee were the settings that I used to use and had no issues before. Anyway it's just my 2c.

wcarey1975 wrote: »
    I got this aswell when I went back to NAT2 from NAT1. I used the settings that I used previously and it worked initially but then errored out and wouldn't connect to PSN it failed everytime. I eventually discovered that I had been using the incorrect DNS server I address all along. I changed these to match my current setting on my router and it worked and is still working without issue still two weeks later. It just seemed strange as thesee were the settings that I used to use and had no issues before. Anyway it's just my 2c.

I used the DNS off my router page, and thats where I get the error :( , ipconfig gives the same dns number

i did and they show up in the nat section under services. but when you say that there should be 7 ps3 ports, do you mean five when you count 3478-3479 and 3658-3659 as one "service" each? also do you keep age of empire enabled??

Yes sorry it will show up 5 but 7 ports will be open. When you click on Nat could you post whats showing on your router page and I'll try help ya sort it

I used the DNS off my router page, and thats where I get the error :( , ipconfig gives the same dns number

Alright go back to the start and we'll try again. Do everything automatic on the PS3 and you should get Nat 3. Then go to connection status on your PS3 and write down the details from that. ie. Default gateway DNS, Primary, etc.

thanks a million!!:)
    here it is: NAT (Games and Other Services)

NAT (Games and Other Services)

Network Address Translation (NAT) must be enabled to support gaming/services and IP Passthrough features of the Router.
    Enable NAT

This page allows you to host games and other services over an Internet Connection.

Service Name Age of Empires: The Rise of Rome, v.1.0Age of WondersAsheron's CallBaldur's GateBattlefield CommunicatorBuddy PhoneCalista IP PhoneCART Precision Racing, v 1.0Citrix Metaframe/ICA ClientClose Combat for Windows 1.0Close Combat III: The Russian Front, v 1.0Close Combat: A Bridge Too Far, v 2.0Combat Flight Sim 2: WWII Pacific Thr, v 1.0Combat Flight Sim: WWII Europe Series, v 1.0Dark ReignDelta Force (Client and Server)Delta Force 2Diablo II ServerDialpadDNS ServerDune 2000eDonkey 2000eMuleF-16, Mig 29F-22, Lightning 3Fighter Ace IIFTPGNUtellaH.323 compliant (Netmeeting, CUSeeME)Half LifeHellbender for Windows, v 1.0Heretic IIHexen IIHotline ServerHTTPHTTPSICQ 2001bICQ OldIMAP ClientIMAP Client v.3Internet PhoneIPSec IKEJedi Knight II: Jedi OutcastKaliKazaALime WireLinks LS 2000Mech Warrior 3MechWarrior 4: VengeanceMedal of Honor Allied AssaultMicrosoft Flight Simulator 2000Microsoft Flight Simulator 98Microsoft Golf 1998 Edition, v 1.0Microsoft Golf 1999 EditionMicrosoft Golf 2001 EditionMidtown Madness, v 1.0Monster Truck Madness 2, v 2.0Monster Truck Madness, v 1.0Motocross Madness 2, v 2.0Motocross Madness, v 1.0MSN Game ZoneMSN Game Zone (DX7 and 8 Play)Need for Speed 3, Hot PursuitNeed for Speed, PorscheNet2PhoneNNTPOperation FlashPointOutlawspcAnywhere (incoming)POP-3PPTPQuake IIQuake IIIRainbow SixRealAudioReturn to Castle WolfensteinRoger WilcoRogue SpearShoutCast ServerSMTPSNMPSSH serverStarCraftStarfleet CommandStarLancer, v 1.0TelnetTFTPTiberian Sun: Command and ConquerTimbuktuTotal AnnihilationUltima OnlineUnreal Tournament ServerUrban Assault, v 1.0VNC, Virtual Network ComputingWestwood Online, Command and ConquerWin2000 Terminal ServerXBox Live GamesYahoo Messenger ChatYahoo Messenger PhoneZNES
    "*" denotes custom service

Services
    Service Name Service Mode Host Device
    Age of Empires, v.1.0 Server 192.168.1.13

*psn 3 Server 192.168.1.50

*psn network Server 192.168.1.50

*psn network 2 Server 192.168.1.50

*psn4 Server 192.168.1.50

*psn5 Server 192.168.1.50

Static NAT
    Static NAT Address 192.168.1.50

sorry its just a copy and paste, hope this is enough!!

Ok that looks fine mate. Now can you go onto your PS3 and go to Network connection, Internet connection status and tell me what ip address is showing for the PS3. Headin on my lunch now I'll check back after I'm back.

well i did that there and my ip address is 192.168.1.50!!

Ok that looks fine mate. Now can you go onto your PS3 and go to Network connection, Internet connection status and tell me what ip address is showing for the PS3. Headin on my lunch now I'll check back after I'm back.

ok mate I done that, got the settings from what its like on automatic, put all them settings in custom only changed IP to 192.168.1.50 , and it connects , I get NAT 3, this is good ? :) ?

I've setup the static nat, put firewall on low, opened ports, changed IP on ps3 to the static nat, and I still get NAT 3 :(

ok lads. Can yis both log into your routers and try find and tell me what the DHCP range is set to?

ok mine is set from 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.1.32

mine is,
    Start : 192.168.1.1
    End : 192.168.1.200

My router is netopia 2247 nwg, are you sure that can do nat 2?

ok mine is set from 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.1.32

Ok James your DHCP range is fine. You're able to connect your PS3 with Nat 3. So the Static IP is set up correctly. I'm presuming that there is a problem with the Ports mate. Just double check them and ensure that they are all enabled. Put the firewall on the router page to LOW. Dont worry if you have a firewall for your PC then its fine. Turn off Media sharing on your PS3 for the moment. Unplug your router for 2 mins. Start it back up. Give it a couple of mins and go through the connection settings on the PS3 again. You shouldn't have to change anything when you click manual. Just keep pressing X. If all is correct you should have NAT 2.

mine is,
    Start : 192.168.1.1
    End : 192.168.1.200

My router is netopia 2247 nwg, are you sure that can do nat 2?

Ok mate change the DHCP range end to 192.168.1.48

Netopia 2247 nwg is capable of Nat 2 as that's what I had and my brother still uses this aswell.

Double check everything and do as I posted in last comment and let me know then.

Ok mate change the DHCP range end to 192.168.1.48

Netopia 2247 nwg is capable of Nat 2 as that's what I had and my brother still uses this aswell.

Double check everything and do as I posted in last comment and let me know then.

Hey, changed DHCP , checked over everything, still nat2, emm, have you got msn or any IM ?, looks like i've done something wrong

it still wont work, this is really strange!!! i went through all the steps again really slowly and still i have nat type 3! im on the verge of taking a hammer to that poxy netopia router!!!!!!!!!!!

Very strange fellas. I'm finished here for the day and unfortunately cant get to a comp tonight. Have a movie premiere to attend. Try knocking the firewall off in your router set up. If possible take screen shots of your router pages showing the exact ports you opened and email them to me and he'll have a look tomoro morning and try sort this out for yis. I'll pm my email address.

Chat tomoro.

Eamo

Was just on official PS website and pulled this from the FAQ

If you are able to connect to the Internet but cannot get into Sony Computer Entertainment Europe's (SCEE) game servers or network, it may be a firewall issue. Here are the TCP and UDP Port numbers you will need to connect to SCEE game servers. If you need port numbers for games published by other companies, you will need to contact them directly for additional information.
    [Note: Make sure to enable these TCP/UDP ports in both directions and are entered into the TCP and UDP port fields in your router / modem. Please contact your Internet Service Provider or router manufacturer for proper instructions on how to input port information for your network.]
    All games published by SCEE may use the following ports for communication with game servers:
    • TCP Ports: 80, 443, 5223, and 10070 - 10080
    • UDP Ports: 3478, 3479, 3658, and 10070
    For PLAYSTATION Network:
    • TCP Ports: 80, 443, 5223
    • UDP Ports: 3478, 3479, 3658
    I cant think of anything else. I'll set my PS3 up in my gf's house at the weekend and open all the ports on her Eircom connection. I'll revert back to yis over the weekend.

any luck mate?

u still hAVING this problem i have the same router as you and cannot get nat 2 u cannot get nat2 on netopia i have been on to eircom about it and checked nearly every site i have tried all what is been said in this forum ABOUT 2 MONTHS AGO and it doesnt work ur best off getting netgear router DG834G in argos its €105 but i went into currys and got it for €10 today havent set it up yet cos im not at home but shud b nat2 netopia routers r no good from wgat every1 tells me.my gf has netgear router and is nat 2 with not 1 network problem never gets disconnected so if u want perfect r near perfect internet on ur ps3 with mediasharing then get netgear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 weldon855

iv d netopia 2247 router wit nat 2. plus mediashare it can be done.

weldon855 wrote: »
    iv d netopia 2247 router wit nat 2. plus mediashare it can be done.

how did you get it like this ?

created two custom services and put them onto my ps3s ip. dont hav to change any settings on ps3 just give it an ip so it doesnt change.ur ps3 will have to be on and connected to d router to assign d service to it.

ps3tcp:
    global port range : 80-65535
    base host port : 80
    protocol : TCP

ps3udp:
    protocol : UDP

created two custom services and put them onto my ps3s ip. dont hav to change any settings on ps3 just give it an ip so it doesnt change.ur ps3 will have to be on and connected to d router to assign d service to it.

ps3tcp:
    protocol : TCP

ps3udp:
    protocol : UDP

thanks, but for me when I try to open them, it overlaps a lot of services, ?

does it overlap other services dat u created or d ones already on the router?
    if its d other ones u urself created previously den ul have to delete all the ones u made. n den make d 2 new ones.

if it overlaps wit d ones on d router (ie age of empires....etc)
    den u probly have d firmware for the 2247nwg.
    if dats d case u can download d 2247-02 firmware n update dat onto ur router and den create d services n it shud work.
    but only do dat if ur familar wit doin dat knda stuff cos it will reset d routers wireless wpa key to a diffrent wep key so ul hav to connect to d router via a network cable to change it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,265 ✭✭✭RangeR

does it overlap other services dat u created or d ones already on the router?
    if its d other ones u urself created previously den ul have to delete all the ones u made. n den make d 2 new ones.

if it overlaps wit d ones on d router (ie age of empires....etc)
    den u probly have d firmware for the 2247nwg.
    if dats d case u can download d 2247-02 firmware n update dat onto ur router and den create d services n it shud work.
    but only do dat if ur familar wit doin dat knda stuff cos it will reset d routers wireless wpa key to a diffrent wep key so ul hav to connect to d router via a network cable to change it back.

Jesus, will you ever type properly. txt speak is shoite and not allowed in these here parts.

I tryed updating my netopia 2247 nwg eir to the 2247 02 firmware and its completley broke my internet , the dsl light is flashing it wont load at all, I cant get on the site to re download the old firmware to go back can someone plz link it to me, im in an internet cafe now please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,265 ✭✭✭RangeR

I tryed updating my netopia 2247 nwg eir to the 2247 02 firmware and its completley broke my internet , the dsl light is flashing it wont load at all, I cant get on the site to re download the old firmware to go back can someone plz link it to me, im in an internet cafe now please

Can you access the Netopia web interface?

Chances are that it's not broken. When you put on new firmware, the device is usually wiped of all configuration. You need to enter eircom's authentication details. Ideally you should have written down details of your WAN configuration before you upgraded. I don't have those details. Sometimes you can use a generic username and password, sometimes you have to use the details supplied by eircom. Ring eircom broadband support to get those details. Please have your account details ready when you ring them.

If the above is correct, installing an older firmware will not resolve your issue.

You should ask for assistance here before trying these things, if you are not sure what you are doing.

Just in case : Netopia Firmware Download Page