RSA absolutely taking the piss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

hate this shlt. i'm a massive sexist when it comes to driving..

women can't drive, stop fuking making adds like this.

I wouldn't say women can't drive, I just think they are glossing over the reality of what makes a "safe driver". Just cos you've got a pussy or a dick between your legs ain't going to mean **** to mr crash barrier if you run into him.

I try to stay as gentlemanly as possible when it comes to females, but this continued onslaught of sexism from their side is just more and more making me say "**** it".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭irelandrover

markok84 wrote: »
    I betcha women can't steer with their knees while writing a text message with their right hand and eating a McFlurry with their left.

How do you hold the McFlurry? Is it between your knees that are steering. Because that would be impressive. Unless you can hold and eat a McFlurry with one hand. Which is equally as impressive.

You get a hard on, then use it as a podium for the McFlurry. I'd like to see a female driver pull that off (the trick, not the dick ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭donkey balls

the mad thing is 2 female friends of mine who i havent seen in a long time where f88kers for drink driving one had the excuse well if i get stopped by the gardai i will them that my sis is a gardai...

i would like to see the stats on the amount of drink driving offences
    male v female.

i drive for a living and got my full licence back in 96/97(artic trucks) and can honestly say that women by far are the worst out on the road.
    they have very little patience there has been &will be times when im reversing into a place and they drive straight upto the side of the truck they cant go any where as the road is blocked with me reversing into the bay or driving up the inside lane while im turning to the left.

as for the radio ad if we get it banned the womens lib&bleeding heart club will be up in arms rant over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

Pffft, you wait til it melts completely and then suck it through a straw of course.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

DarkJager wrote: »
    Its bull****. How many accidents are caused by the actions of female drivers who don't realise it, leaving the male driver to take the blame and bump the statistics?

Eh? :confused: What are you trying to say here?

the mad thing is 2 female friends of mine who i havent seen in a long time where f88kers for drink driving one had the excuse well if i get stopped by the gardai i will them that my sis is a gardai...

i would like to see the stats on the amount of drink driving offences
    male v female.

i drive for a living and got my full licence back in 96/97(artic trucks) and can honestly say that women by far are the worst out on the road.
    they have very little patience there has been &will be times when im reversing into a place and they drive straight upto the side of the truck they cant go any where as the road is blocked with me reversing into the bay or driving up the inside lane while im turning to the left.

as for the radio ad if we get it banned the womens lib&bleeding heart club will be up in arms rant over

I want that advert off the radio, end of story. If not, I want a female targetted version of the same advert to be aired.

padi89 wrote: »

That women are so clueless and pay so little attention while driving that they dont even realise that by pulling out into oncoming traffic they will cause an accident

Driver enters intersection - female driver pulls out with any care for whats oncoming - driver crashes into wall/barrier trying to avoid her - female driver is already out of sight.

Clearer now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

why do women never let you out if there is a line of traffic and you are coming out of a side road?

Because they're doing their makeup in the rear view mirror so they don't actually see you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Being serious here for a minute, you can march all the statistics you like out but what they are doing is gerneralising people into a group. That's where the problem starts. Anyone able to dig up whether catholics, jews or muslims cause more accidents? What about blacks or whites? It doesn't happen and if it did and a minority grouping were found to be a higher risk it sure as hell wouldn't be played on in adverts.
    If you are going to challenge drivers, challenge beliefs not groups.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

But its not, its about trying to save lives, and according to statistics, young men claim more lives than any other group on the roads.

Maybe because there are the highest number of drivers on the road?? Many young males are inexperienced and immature so will cause the highest rate of accidents. However it doesnt mean every young male is like that which the ad is conveying.

jaysus lads with all these replies im sure were going get loads of abuse of the womens lib club

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Driver enters intersection - female driver pulls out with any care for whats oncoming - driver crashes into wall/barrier trying to avoid her - female driver is already out of sight.

Clearer now?

Clearer in only that your talking absolute bollocks and your example is as bad the ****e add your mouthing off about :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

All things being equal (i.e. not drunk etc) every person who drives is an equally dangerous driver. Driving is the most dangerous thing men AND women do every day.

As such both groups should be treated absolutely the same, all the way from insurance prices to emphasis on driving safely.

As the OP has said several times, numbers and circumstances are not equal so stats cannot be treated as the golden rule in road safety. If more men drive, then more men are likely to crash...that's laws of averages, not an inditement on a males driving.

jaysus lads with all these replies im sure were going get loads of abuse of the womens lib club

Let them ****ing bring it. I've got plenty of venom waiting for them.

Clearer in only that your talking absolute bollocks and your example is as bad the ****e add your mouthing off about :pac:

You obviously don't drive if that scenario isn't clear to you. Either that or you're female.

Driving is the most dangerous thing men AND women do every day.

As such both groups should be treated absolutely the same, all the way from insurance prices to emphasis on driving safely.

As the OP has said several times, numbers and circumstances are not equal so stats cannot be treated as the golden rule in road safety. If more men drive, then more men are likely to crash...that's laws of averages, not an inditement on a males driving.

agree 100% also you can be the safest driver on earth that still doesnt mean you not going be involed in an rta.
    there is also another ad doing the rounds about women only insurance surely that cant be alowed i.e cheaper because of gender

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,178 ✭✭✭Mena

Also is the issue of foreign drivers a sensitive one because there seems to be no mention of them when it comes to road safety. Even though a lot of accidents that you hear mentioned on the radio include the term "foreign national".

Because we've actually been a ) taught properly and b ) gone through a test that takes more than half a brain cell to pass :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Ddad

tech2 wrote: »
    Maybe because there are the highest number of drivers on the road?? Many young males are inexperienced and immature so will cause the highest rate of accidents. However it doesnt mean every young male is like that which the ad is conveying.

No, young male drivers are not the highest number of drivers on the road.

Insurance companies work on the basic principle that you pay based on the risk you present to them when you look for insurance. They calculate the risk based on statistics, broken down by age, sex etc. They don't up premiums based on what advertising is on the radio. It's based on what a risk a certain profile presents.

A 35 year old male with a clean history will pay less than a 25 year old female with clean history based on the risk profile.

A 21 year old male will pay a draconian premium because a statistically large percentage of this group cost insurance companies lots in payouts. Totalled cars and serious accidents are very expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 d3481553

Completely agree with DarkJager, I thought I was out on my own getting infuriated by this, but its good to see this ad campaign p1sses off other guys as well.

There is a blatant myth that women are better drivers simply because they drive slower. Absolute horse sh*t. I drive around 100 miles a day and women are just plain bad drivers. Its a bit like women playing football. They just aren't naturally good at it. Obviously not ALL women but certainly the majority.

I think the statistics are definitely hazy because theres no statistics to show how irritating and frustrating women's driving can be.

The other reason this ad campaign is really badly scewed is because in a relationship men do the vast majority of the driving. Consider when yourself and the girlfriend go to the cinema, who drives? the boyfriend. Consider when you go for a drive at the weekend, town, the phoenix park, shopping centre, anywhere, who drives? the boyfriend! Why? Because thats what guys do. I like driving, as do most guys, but most women do not, which could explain why they're bad at it and they're happy enough for us to do most of the driving. Ask yourself how many girls you see driving around with a guy in the passenger seat? Not many. That is why if there is a crash, the statistics will almost always show that it was the man driving and the woman was the passenger. The RSA dont seem to have copped this rather obvious point.

I think it was the OP also made the point that this kind of sexist discrimination would NEVER happen the other way round. God forbid we should say a bad word against women in this day n age.

Man I love a good rant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I sorry, but that **** grinds my gears. Pure sexist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 d3481553

Excellent stuff 4Xcut :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

The RSA have been getting more and more desperate because none of their campaigns have had much effect in reducing traffic accidents.

Like it or not statistically the most dangerous people on the road are young males by a huge margin so it makes sense to target them as a specific group, but quite how the RSA feel patronising them is going to through to them I've no idea. People just switch off the TV or radio, or get annoyed they are being singled out as some kind of harden criminal menace when the vast majority haven't done anything.

Another strike out for the RSA

Wicknight wrote: »
    The RSA have been getting more and more desperate because none of their campaigns have had much effect in reducing traffic accidents.

Like it or not statistically the most dangerous people on the road are young males by a huge margin so it makes sense to target them as a specific group, but quite how the RSA feel patronising them is going to through to them I've no idea. People just switch off the TV or radio, or get annoyed they are being singled out as some kind of harden criminal menace when the vast majority haven't done anything.

Another strike out for the RSA

They really outdid themselves with this advert. I will never ever have any respect for anything the RSA is trying to preach again after suffering through their latest 30 second ****fest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

There are still far more men than women drivers on the road. The average male driver clocks up more miles per year than the average women driver. So it is hardly a surprise that men are involved in more accidents, simply due to the fact there is more of them they drive more often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

They really outdid themselves with this advert. I will never ever have any respect for anything the RSA is trying to preach again after suffering through their latest 30 second ****fest.

They keep up with the "*Graphic violence* How will you live with the shame!!!" ads or the "Slow down boys!! Har har!" ads despite tons of statistics that demonstrate they don't work.

Other countries have had better success with ads that are of the less is more type. I remember a very effective ad in the US which had a group of kids driving a car and nearly crashing into the car in front of them because they were messing. The effect was that it registered as a close call with the viewer as well as the characters, and thus the result was the viewer goes "Must be more careful"

Of course if it had been an RSA ad the kid would have crashed his car into a school bus in front of him that would have burst into flames and fallen off a bridge and onto an enclosure of baby sea lions. Not that it would matter because everyone would have flipped to the other channel by then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

move this to R&R!