Claims of IRA membership

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

super-rush wrote: »
    I know what you are thinking but he actually was a former leader.

Oh I thought you were deliberately making a joke. /thanks withdrawn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

Whatever you say , say nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Rabies wrote: »
    I know what you are thinking but he actually was talking out his arse

Not really http://www.workerspartyireland.net/goulding.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Degsy wrote: »
    The IRA didnt fight the british security forces by recruiting bigmouths to do operations.

Yeah, those recuits were a lot better suited to high ranking positions in their political wing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

damn it!
    -_-

I'll take this defeat. but not one more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I had an encounter with one of these "members" the other week.

My mother was visiting from Canada. She's one of those super paranoid flighty types who says I have meningitis if I have a sore throat, or thinks I'll get raped and murdered if I walk 100ft down the country road to the petrol station to pick up a chocolate bar.

I brought her to Mullingar into the pub I (used to) frequent one afternoon. It's a bit of an "old man pub," you know the type. Good Guinness and some grumpy old men at the top of the bar and not much else. Proper Irish type pub like, figured my mother would love it for its "authenticity" (she eats that stuff up).

So we're sitting there and I get her her first pint of proper Guinness, as she's only ever had the stuff from the can back home. An old weathered man comes and sidles up beside us and starts chattering away as the Irish are wont to do when they've had a couple and there's no one else around to talk to. He'd obviously been after drinking all day and was doing The Sway, but harmless enough.

After awhile he cops that we're not Irish, and although I've lived here for nearly a year at this point and was wise enough to the bullshít that can be spouted on such occasions, my mother was as of yet unprepared. So when he first mentioned the IRA, she turned to me, eyes wild with apprehension, wondering what I had gotten her into.

I, of course, being the complete antithesis of my mother just kind of rolled my eyes at her. And he continued, in a mix of drunken slur and a proper bogger accent;

"Well ah mee-un ah doo-un beleev in hortin' anybody, yanno like. But sum-tymes, ye gotta do what ye gotta do, n' when ah was in de Eye Orr Ay, ah may haf had to do sum unpleasant tings like. The bombs wurr nevar fun but dey had to be done, yanno like. But ah nevar wanted'de hort a soul, I didna."

My mother, turgid with fear at this point, is giving me the Universal Look for "what the hell kind of place did you drag me into?!" and it was all I could do to not burst out laughing. He regaled us with tales of the 'RA and car bombs and The North, and how he had seen "too much, too much." How "nobody should ever have to do what he had to do, nobody should ever see the things he had seen." Oh, the woes and hard times he described.

My mother was transfixed; a mixture of petrification and morbid fascination, held together only by ample pints of Guinness. He, of course, was feeding off of her energy and the stories got more and more detailed and horrific, her eating up every last word.

"Ah miss, ye'd not want ta haf seen the looks on the faces ov the chillun who'd lost der families, ah it'd break yer heart in two so it would, so it would. Sure te see 'em ye'd tink ye wurr in hell itself, so you would. Consider yerselves blessed, girls, so blessed ye never had to witness these horrible tings."

Between revelations he'd take a swig of his pint of Smithwicks, and subsequently spit a fair amount of it back out as he spoke. He was in his own world now, and nobody could take him out of it. The bartender simply shook his head, having heard all the same before.

It was at this point I could tell my mother felt she'd enough Dutch courage to attempt to engage in conversation. However, I'd heard quite enough and decided it was about time to pull my now also swaying mother away from the scene.

I heard a faint "God bless yez!" as we exited the pub.

After we left the pub, all she could say was "My god Liah, are these the kind of people you've been hanging out with around here? Are you sure you're safe? It seems so dangerous! Have you seen any bombs?! I don't want you going out on your own!"

..followed closely by "Oh, but I can't wait to tell everyone back home that I met a real IRA man!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

liah wrote: »
    After we left the pub, all she could say was "My god Liah, are these the kind of people you've been hanging out with around here? Are you sure you're safe? It seems so dangerous! Have you seen any bombs?! I don't want you going out on your own!"

..followed closely by "Oh, but I can't wait to tell everyone back home that I met a real IRA man!"

Bloody foreigners believe anything ya tell them :p

You get people mouthing off the odd time about how they were/are in the 'Ra ... Telling everyone tends to defeat the purpose of being in a "secret organisation" really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Poccington wrote: »
    Bloody foreigners believe anything ya tell them :p.

Ah jaysus stop. She's an absolute hopeless case. Believes every internet FWD:FWD:FWD about how you might have an OMG COMPUTER VIRUS from 1999, and every time I so much as get a headache she's convinced I'm going to die of brain cancer.

Headwreck tbh, thank god I didn't get any of her traits insofar as flightiness. I'm not sure where my no nonsense attitude came from but I'm damn happy I got it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Reminds me of the time Seamus Murphy appeared on the TV quiz show 'Mastermind'..

Magnús Magnússon - "Welcome to the show Mr.Murphy, and what is YOUR area of expertise?".

Seamus Murphy - "Irish rebellions sir".

Magnús Magnússon - "OK Spud, your first question; what day did the Easter Rebellion begin?"

Murphy - "PASS".

Magnús Magnússon - "Your second question, how many British soldiers were killed by rebel forces during the Easter Rising?"

Murphy - "PASS".

Magnús Magnússon - "Mr.Murphy your third and last question; name one of the seven leaders of the 1916 Easter Rising?"

Murphy - "PASS".....

Magnús Magnússon - "Your not very good at this Murphy are you?"..

Voice from the audience "FAIR PLAY TO YA SEAMUS, TELL THE BASTARDS FUCK ALL"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Yes, the IRA kept an online database of their current and past members on google documents.
    Link? Password?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Reminds me of the time Seamus Murphy appeared on the TV quiz show 'Mastermind'..

Magnús Magnússon - "Welcome to the show Mr.Murphy, and what is YOUR area of expertise?".

Seamus Murphy - "Irish rebellions sir".

Magnús Magnússon - "OK Spud, your first question; what day did the Easter Rebellion begin?"

Murphy - "PASS".

Magnús Magnússon - "Your second question, how many British soldiers were killed by rebel forces during the Easter Rising?"

Murphy - "PASS".

Magnús Magnússon - "Mr.Murphy your third and last question; name one of the seven leaders of the 1916 Easter Rising?"

Murphy - "PASS".....

Magnús Magnússon - "Your not very good at this Murphy are you?"..

Voice from the audience "FAIR PLAY TO YA SEAMUS, TELL THE BASTARDS FUCK ALL"..

Youtube link? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

I wonder how many IRA heads there are on Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

None, post reported, shhhhhhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

If they don't have their username in red and "Company Rep: IRA" as their tag, I'd take it with a pinch of salt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Wahey a good old fashion AH RA attack.

Up the Provos!

dlofnep wrote: »

Up the Provos!

OMG iz u Ra hed?

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Dazzler88

Rt. Hon. wrote: »
    says he was an active volunteer in the IRA during the troubles.
    most people are taking your question as a opportunity to express the sense of humour.To be honest with you ive done a lot of research in to The History of IRA,id say more than likely this guy was drink talking.Most Ex-vlounteers dont want people knowing they were in active service because most of them either fell guilty about the destruction caused during the Troubles(by both sides of course)or they dont want the public to know they were part of a secret terriost organisation.I have done interviews with ex-volunteers and they are fairly reclusive people who dont speak openly about the past.Most of them want to leave their past begind them as they probably have physcological problems from such a bloody war.

Up the Provos!
    OMG iz u Ra hed?

Tell 'em FUCK ALL Seamus.

OMG iz u Ra hed?

PASS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

OMG iz u Ra hed?

That's something you'd really need to ask his handlers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

just go to the politics fourm youll see the ira internet army there hanging around with there arab terrorist brothers

Tell 'em FUCK ALL Seamus.

PASS.

I lol'd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

Dazzler88 wrote: »
    most people are taking your question as a opportunity to express the sense of humour.To be honest with you ive done a lot of research in to The History of IRA,id say more than likely this guy was drink talking.Most Ex-vlounteers dont want people knowing they were in active service because most of them either fell guilty about the destruction caused during the Troubles(by both sides of course)or they dont want the public to know they were part of a secret terriost organisation.I have done interviews with ex-volunteers and they are failry reclusive people who dont speak openly about the past.Most of them want to leave their past begind them as they probably have physcological problems from such a bloody war.
    Yeah but this is AH and the truth never got in the way of a good story here. I've often wondered about the age profile of people here - not many seem to remember the constant street closures in Dublin because of bomb alerts etc. I suppose the mindless tittering about the IRA is better than the reality of how bad things were for decades for everyone north and south.

Re the oul lad in the bar, I'd say he was taking the piss out of ye. And in fairness, he obviously provided a good afternoons entertainment

I lol'd.

Free state bastard.

:P

IRISH RAIL wrote: »
    just go to the politics fourm youll see the ira internet army there hanging around with there arab terrorist brothers

We prefer the term Óglaigh na hIdirlíon. And besides, we like hanging out with our Arab terrorist brothers (and sisters, you big sexist). The craic is mighty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

OMG iz u Ra hed?

You're going to have to forgive my lack of empathy towards her. She doesn't classify as a human to me, and is therefore undeserving of one morsel of empathy from me.

the dude decides that people who, in his opinion, are "subhuman" are undeserving of the same human respect and rights that "humans" are entitled to. What does he sound like now? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Rt. Hon.

Dazzler88 wrote: »
    most people are taking your question as a opportunity to express the sense of humour.To be honest with you ive done a lot of research in to The History of IRA,id say more than likely this guy was drink talking.Most Ex-vlounteers dont want people knowing they were in active service because most of them either fell guilty about the destruction caused during the Troubles(by both sides of course)or they dont want the public to know they were part of a secret terriost organisation.I have done interviews with ex-volunteers and they are fairly reclusive people who dont speak openly about the past.Most of them want to leave their past begind them as they probably have physcological problems from such a bloody war.

Like I said, I have heard this claim from dozens of Nordies and have paid no attention to it.

But I would imagine that the typical volunteer was an unemployed thug from a poor area who joined up because he wanted to be feared and 'respected.' His neighbours would all know he was in the Ra and he would enjoy the notoriety. Say he then goes to prison and gets housed in the paramilitary wing and answers to the Ra commander and not the screws. Then he gets let out and moves down south.

He is not special any more. Nobody knows or cares anything about him. He wants to feel that fear and 'respect' again so starts flapping his lip when he has a few on board.

It's not impossible, and I find it far easier to believe than the idea that they were all highly disciplined, special forces types.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

tbh wrote: »
    the dude decides that people who, in his opinion, are "subhuman" are undeserving of the same human respect and rights that "humans" are entitled to. What does he sound like now? :pac:
    Some former British Prime Ministers? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Rt. Hon. wrote: »
    Like I said, I have heard this claim from dozens of Nordies and have paid no attention to it.

But I would imagine that the typical volunteer was an unemployed thug from a poor area who joined up because he wanted to be feared and 'respected.' His neighbours would all know he was in the Ra and he would enjoy the notoriety. Say he then goes to prison and gets housed in the paramilitary wing and answers to the Ra commander and not the screws. Then he gets let out and moves down south.

He is not special any more. Nobody knows or cares anything about him. He wants to feel that fear and 'respect' again so starts flapping his lip when he has a few on board.

It's not impossible, and I find it far easier to believe than the idea that they were all highly disciplined, special forces types.
    Totally ignoring the average joe soap there im afraid!