Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Claims of IRA membership

• 30-06-2009 1:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 25

I know a guy from Derry who - every so often, when he's very drunk - says he was an active volunteer in the IRA during the troubles.

I know this is a very common thing with people from the North and I have heard it hundreds of times before without paying it the slightest bit of notice, but I am not so sure with this particular person.

Is there any kind of databse that can be consulted about this sort of thing, or any kind of local historian who would know this kind of stuff.

Take it as read that I have googled his name with no results

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Pachanga

hes full of crap.

anyone who was involved or is involved will be sitting in the pub having a pint minding their own business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Rt. Hon. wrote: »

Is there any kind of databse that can be consulted about this sort of thing, or any kind of local historian who would know this kind of stuff.
    Yes, the IRA kept an online database of their current and past members on google documents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Ask to see his IRA badge and Bobby Sands mug, they all get one when they pay their membership fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'm a Somali pirate when I've had a few

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Yes, the IRA kept an online database of their current and past members on google documents.

Here's the link:

http://wewanttobeinternedrightnow.blogspot.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

Sure if you ring the guards im sure they'll send you out a list of all the people in the IRA no bother..... Or just look for people wearing the "I'm in the IRA" t-shirt

I'm a Somali pirate when I've had a few

At least you've got a good song to go with that though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

Give the Special Detective Unit at Harcourt Square a ring with his details. If he gets lifted you will know he was a member. If you get lifted you know you were wasting their time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Don't forget the google Calendar for what they did and when. I'm sure it has their next meeting listed there, so you could head along and ask the IRA-HR department for help in the matter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Complete BS, no member is going to boast about it even after a couple of pints.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

KTRIC wrote: »
    Complete BS, no member is going to boast about it even after a couple of pints.

Not strictly true..they do occasionaly mouth off in pubs but NOT if they had any sort of status within the organisation.

Degsy wrote: »
    Not strictly true..they do occasionaly mouth off in pubs but NOT if they had any sort of status within the organisation.

True, whats there to be gained from mouthing off apart from drawing unnecessary attention to your self and your wing ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

He sounds like an alco to me.....

so he probably was in it was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

When i was studying for my leaving cert i spoke to a former leader of the IRA and he told me that anyone who openly tells people they are a member is talking through their arse.

KTRIC wrote: »
    True, whats there to be gained from mouthing off apart from drawing unnecessary attention to your self and your wing ?

Its much the same as young arseholes bragging on the bus about cars they've stolen or windows they've smashed.
    If they're "proper" crims importing a million quids worth of cocaine they tend not to mouth off about it.

The IRA didnt fight the british security forces by recruiting bigmouths to do operations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Pop's Diner

Unlikely.

The first rule of IRA club is you don't talk about IRA club!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

super-rush wrote: »
    When i was studying for my leaving cert i spoke to a former leader of the IRA and he told me that anyone who openly tells people they are a member is talking through their arse.

but ....

/re-reads

but...

ah fvck it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

A man in my town claims he's "RA".

He also sits in the square all day drinking Devils Bit and faps in public places.

I have my doubts........

He also sits in the square all day drinking Devils Bit and faps in public places.

I have my doubts........

Perhaps it's an ingenious cover.......

......or else he's just some drunk wanker

So are they recruiting at the moment ??

I'll have a bit of spare time on my hands soon and I have an un-natural hatred for the English.

I have my doubts........

Volunteering has to have its perks!

Rabies wrote: »
    but ....

/re-reads

but...

ah fvck it!

I know what you are thinking but he actually was a former leader.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Rt. Hon.

Well, to give the full story, he never says it directly. A mate of his once said it to me about him, and I asked him straight out but he refused to give a straight answer. What he says when drunk are basically dark hints that X was telling the truth.

I would have thought there would be journalists and the like who would immediately know who was involved, just like that guy Paul Williams could probably reel off the names of even small time drug dealers and car thieves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭grundie

I worked with a guy in Derry for 4 years. One day he asked me to help him with his CV, the 14 year gap in his work history was quite conspicuous so I asked him about it.

I wish I hadn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

They're easy enough to spot, because they all have black rectangles over their eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

Read a book called Killing Rage by Eamonn Collins. It will give you a flavour for the average muppet who was involved with the IRA. Sounds like that lad has the intellect to have been a low level monkey but if he was/is a member he would know that keeping your mouth shut was/is of paramount importance for such an organisation. In short he's full of it. Kick him in the nuts the next time he says it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Volunteering has to have its perks!

He was to perky for his own good:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 whatsmyname

Its much the same as young arseholes bragging on the bus about cars they've stolen or windows they've smashed.
    If they're "proper" crims importing a million quids worth of cocaine they tend not to mouth off about it.

The IRA didnt fight the british security forces by recruiting bigmouths to do operations.

but were the ira leadership not bigmouths when they were touting to the crown forces, who now just happen to be their lords and masters???

I know what you are thinking but he actually was talking out his arse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

A mate of his once said it to me about him, and I asked him straight out but he refused to give a straight answer. What he says when drunk are basically dark hints that X was telling the truth.

he's either an X-man or an IRA man make up your mind...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Oh I thought you were deliberately making a joke. /thanks withdrawn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

Whatever you say , say nothing.

Rabies wrote: »
    I know what you are thinking but he actually was talking out his arse

Not really http://www.workerspartyireland.net/goulding.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Yeah, those recuits were a lot better suited to high ranking positions in their political wing...

damn it!
    -_-

I'll take this defeat. but not one more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I had an encounter with one of these "members" the other week.

My mother was visiting from Canada. She's one of those super paranoid flighty types who says I have meningitis if I have a sore throat, or thinks I'll get raped and murdered if I walk 100ft down the country road to the petrol station to pick up a chocolate bar.

I brought her to Mullingar into the pub I (used to) frequent one afternoon. It's a bit of an "old man pub," you know the type. Good Guinness and some grumpy old men at the top of the bar and not much else. Proper Irish type pub like, figured my mother would love it for its "authenticity" (she eats that stuff up).

So we're sitting there and I get her her first pint of proper Guinness, as she's only ever had the stuff from the can back home. An old weathered man comes and sidles up beside us and starts chattering away as the Irish are wont to do when they've had a couple and there's no one else around to talk to. He'd obviously been after drinking all day and was doing The Sway, but harmless enough.

After awhile he cops that we're not Irish, and although I've lived here for nearly a year at this point and was wise enough to the bullshít that can be spouted on such occasions, my mother was as of yet unprepared. So when he first mentioned the IRA, she turned to me, eyes wild with apprehension, wondering what I had gotten her into.

I, of course, being the complete antithesis of my mother just kind of rolled my eyes at her. And he continued, in a mix of drunken slur and a proper bogger accent;

"Well ah mee-un ah doo-un beleev in hortin' anybody, yanno like. But sum-tymes, ye gotta do what ye gotta do, n' when ah was in de Eye Orr Ay, ah may haf had to do sum unpleasant tings like. The bombs wurr nevar fun but dey had to be done, yanno like. But ah nevar wanted'de hort a soul, I didna."

My mother, turgid with fear at this point, is giving me the Universal Look for "what the hell kind of place did you drag me into?!" and it was all I could do to not burst out laughing. He regaled us with tales of the 'RA and car bombs and The North, and how he had seen "too much, too much." How "nobody should ever have to do what he had to do, nobody should ever see the things he had seen." Oh, the woes and hard times he described.

My mother was transfixed; a mixture of petrification and morbid fascination, held together only by ample pints of Guinness. He, of course, was feeding off of her energy and the stories got more and more detailed and horrific, her eating up every last word.

"Ah miss, ye'd not want ta haf seen the looks on the faces ov the chillun who'd lost der families, ah it'd break yer heart in two so it would, so it would. Sure te see 'em ye'd tink ye wurr in hell itself, so you would. Consider yerselves blessed, girls, so blessed ye never had to witness these horrible tings."

Between revelations he'd take a swig of his pint of Smithwicks, and subsequently spit a fair amount of it back out as he spoke. He was in his own world now, and nobody could take him out of it. The bartender simply shook his head, having heard all the same before.

It was at this point I could tell my mother felt she'd enough Dutch courage to attempt to engage in conversation. However, I'd heard quite enough and decided it was about time to pull my now also swaying mother away from the scene.

I heard a faint "God bless yez!" as we exited the pub.

After we left the pub, all she could say was "My god Liah, are these the kind of people you've been hanging out with around here? Are you sure you're safe? It seems so dangerous! Have you seen any bombs?! I don't want you going out on your own!"

..followed closely by "Oh, but I can't wait to tell everyone back home that I met a real IRA man!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

liah wrote: »
    After we left the pub, all she could say was "My god Liah, are these the kind of people you've been hanging out with around here? Are you sure you're safe? It seems so dangerous! Have you seen any bombs?! I don't want you going out on your own!"

..followed closely by "Oh, but I can't wait to tell everyone back home that I met a real IRA man!"

Bloody foreigners believe anything ya tell them :p

You get people mouthing off the odd time about how they were/are in the 'Ra ... Telling everyone tends to defeat the purpose of being in a "secret organisation" really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Poccington wrote: »
    Bloody foreigners believe anything ya tell them :p.

Ah jaysus stop. She's an absolute hopeless case. Believes every internet FWD:FWD:FWD about how you might have an OMG COMPUTER VIRUS from 1999, and every time I so much as get a headache she's convinced I'm going to die of brain cancer.

Headwreck tbh, thank god I didn't get any of her traits insofar as flightiness. I'm not sure where my no nonsense attitude came from but I'm damn happy I got it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Reminds me of the time Seamus Murphy appeared on the TV quiz show 'Mastermind'..

Magnús Magnússon - "Welcome to the show Mr.Murphy, and what is YOUR area of expertise?".

Seamus Murphy - "Irish rebellions sir".

Magnús Magnússon - "OK Spud, your first question; what day did the Easter Rebellion begin?"

Murphy - "PASS".

Magnús Magnússon - "Your second question, how many British soldiers were killed by rebel forces during the Easter Rising?"

Murphy - "PASS".

Magnús Magnússon - "Mr.Murphy your third and last question; name one of the seven leaders of the 1916 Easter Rising?"

Murphy - "PASS".....

Magnús Magnússon - "Your not very good at this Murphy are you?"..

Voice from the audience "FAIR PLAY TO YA SEAMUS, TELL THE BASTARDS FUCK ALL"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Link? Password?

Reminds me of the time Seamus Murphy appeared on the TV quiz show 'Mastermind'..

Magnús Magnússon - "Welcome to the show Mr.Murphy, and what is YOUR area of expertise?".

Seamus Murphy - "Irish rebellions sir".

Magnús Magnússon - "OK Spud, your first question; what day did the Easter Rebellion begin?"

Murphy - "PASS".

Magnús Magnússon - "Your second question, how many British soldiers were killed by rebel forces during the Easter Rising?"

Murphy - "PASS".

Magnús Magnússon - "Mr.Murphy your third and last question; name one of the seven leaders of the 1916 Easter Rising?"

Murphy - "PASS".....

Magnús Magnússon - "Your not very good at this Murphy are you?"..

Voice from the audience "FAIR PLAY TO YA SEAMUS, TELL THE BASTARDS FUCK ALL"..

Youtube link? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

I wonder how many IRA heads there are on Boards.

None, post reported, shhhhhhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

If they don't have their username in red and "Company Rep: IRA" as their tag, I'd take it with a pinch of salt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Wahey a good old fashion AH RA attack.

Up the Provos!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

dlofnep wrote: »

Up the Provos!

OMG iz u Ra hed?

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Dazzler88

says he was an active volunteer in the IRA during the troubles.
    most people are taking your question as a opportunity to express the sense of humour.To be honest with you ive done a lot of research in to The History of IRA,id say more than likely this guy was drink talking.Most Ex-vlounteers dont want people knowing they were in active service because most of them either fell guilty about the destruction caused during the Troubles(by both sides of course)or they dont want the public to know they were part of a secret terriost organisation.I have done interviews with ex-volunteers and they are fairly reclusive people who dont speak openly about the past.Most of them want to leave their past begind them as they probably have physcological problems from such a bloody war.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

dlofnep wrote: »

Up the Provos!
    OMG iz u Ra hed?

Tell 'em FUCK ALL Seamus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

OMG iz u Ra hed?

PASS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

OMG iz u Ra hed?

That's something you'd really need to ask his handlers...