Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Promotions' Thread ***Info & Results***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭Rawm2008

As far as production goes...how can you get your hands on some free camera equipment? Can you name for me, off the top of your head right now, people who you can get to volunteer to tape and edit the show for free? Because if you're left editing it yourself, your 80-hour week just became a 100-hour week. And why would they do it for free? I mean, you've a better chance of getting a guy to wrestle for you for free...because you are giving him a wrestling booking where he mightn't have one otherwise...but as far as production goes you've really nothing to offer those people for their time. They'd be doing it for a favour. So can you call on a team who'll put in those hours for you out of friendship alone? Keep in mind, that calling in these kinda favours can also tell you who your REAL friends are and just how loyal exactly they are to you. So it's not nice from a personal standpoint.

This is what i was tryen to say earlyier just couldnt get it out lol dahm writers block, and i refer back to your not payen a cameraman more than a wreslter, a wrestler only has to wrestle for 10-30 mins then hes done, a camera man has to stand around for 3 hours and doing that is such a strain on the body try to keep the camera steady etc after 3 hours of that ur back arms legs etc are all fcked from the strains being put on the muscles,

youd be lucky to get a prodcution company to do you a deal maybe £1000 pershow and they get a percantage of dvds sales, or something, it is a costly thing but when done rite it is a million times better,

an extra 20 hours added to the 80 try an extra 36 or more, considering that uve record onto 3 camers and the shows 3 hours long, thats 9 hours in itself to log in all the footage, thats before any intverviews of skits recorded, then you got to edit the show, see which cmaera has the best angel etc then once that edits done you gotta have comentators come in and watch it and then commentate theres another 3 hours. thats if your doing it all on your own. at least with pro companys theyll work to dead lines etc and wont take forever to get dvds out. And if your lucky they can do live editing which is a huge setup in itself.

DIdnt IWW take forever to get dvds out? or where near the end as it was being done internally by that point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭The Cannibal

Wrestlers put their body on the line and are often at the venue for hours waiting for their 10-30 minutes. They could be there hours before the camera man even arrives. Quite often they'll also be the ones to help you put up your ring and may help with other areas of preparation depending on how commited they are to your cause. They also make or break whether your show actually even comes off as good in any way. The best camera man can't make a crap match seem good.

Shows would be 2 hours, not 3 with an intermission in the middle and small breaks in between matches. That's an hour, then 15 minutes break followed by another hour. The tripod cams would be sufficent to get the action if they need breaks after the bell of each match.

Before you even go into post production you'll pretty much know what you want to do. You'll know what matches worked best and what you generally want to show on a one hour show. In my scenario you'd perhaps do 4 shows on the August bank holiday and then plan to run again in the October bank holiday. So you'll have most of August to work on the production and probably would want to have it out sometime in September to promote for October. Your one hour show will have 2, maybe 3 matches so you can immediatly archive what you know is not going to be used and save yourself the time of editing it. So for 8 hours of footage taken, you'e really only probably going to be editing two hours of that. Say 4 one hour shows that are half hour wrestling, half hour promos, hype, promotion etc with hosts and commentators. Promos don't need that much editing, it's a guy staring at straight ahead at a camera. It might need cropping or a graphic if you're feeling fancy but not much else.

For the super shows starting on the second tour, they'd be 3 hour specials but I would bring in a production company for those to give it a different feel and release those exclusively as DVD or online pay on demand while my online show promotes it. Those would be the only shows I would go to an outside company for until there was a steady stream of income to justify their regular use.

As for the 50k, that could come a number of ways but that's something to sort before you even get started on the wrestling aspect. You could even do a consortium of 5 guys investing 10k each, that way you'd split responsibilities 5 ways and your time wouldn't be so drained. As long as the responsibilities of each investor were made clear before going full steam ahead and someone was made head honcho of seeing everything going smoothly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭Rawm2008

As for the 50k, that could come a number of ways but that's something to sort before you even get started on the wrestling aspect. You could even do a consortium of 5 guys investing 10k each, that way you'd split responsibilities 5 ways and your time wouldn't be so drained. As long as the responsibilities of each investor were made clear before going full steam ahead and someone was made head honcho of seeing everything going smoothly.

But what if the investor didnt want to beinvloved and just wanted a return on there money and a profit as its there money being put at risk etc, leaving alll the risk of the shows doing good etc on one person and if it fails and theese people epext money back legs broken i fear lol
    then you have the scenarior, all 5 guys want to do different things or want to book different people etc creating one massive headache,

Any good cameraman would be there at the same time as everyone else, and depending on the eupiment used cabels might have to layed etc then they got to whitebalance there cameras and compensate for the shows lighting etc, then they got to worry bout the sound as well, nothen worse than haven terrible sound on tape. They would be leaving at the same time as the rest of the wreslters and crew aswell.

Offcourse there not gonna help out with the ring etc thats not what there being payed to do, most wrestlers dont do the ring, hence why ring crews are employed etc.

Not saying the investor thing is how I'd do it I'm just giving a scenario. Obviously you'd have to have things in writng as to who controls the direction of different areas and so on. Personally, I actually would invest my own money despite Leggo's warnings. I'd only do it if I was secure like I said though. I'm a big believer in living with as little debt as possible and if it's my own investment then it's only me who can feck it up and I could walk away at any time without any obligation to anybody cause it's my money and my intellectual property. As long as I can pay bills the worst that can happen is that I go back to square one and sell off all the equipment I've aquired like the ring, camera's etc at a loss but to at least some recouped cost. That's just me though, I don't like having extra factors. Others might feel safer with other people's money, but that is even riskier than my own money in my mind.

I don't deny the wonders a good camera man can do, I just still believe it an unneccesary expense for the starting level. If I was on actual TV, or solely a DVD based company then yeah, but it just wouldn't be feasible in this format. It is one shortcut that would have to be made.

As another note on editing. I actually think that's the part I'd enjoy MOST. During the show you'll have too many things to worry about to actually enjoy the show. When you are editing you are the first to see what the fruits of your labour are and get to determine the final product that the people see. It has it's own sort of creativity. I've always liked editing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

I've stayed out of this thread for the most part (as a mod and as a user) as I am admittedly very uninformed on the nature and history of the Irish wrestling scene. However, there are a couple of things that have sprung up that I can actually make comparisons with.

I perform stand-up comedy and am a promoter in that industry. Anyone who is saying "you don't understand everything that goes into putting on a show", believe me I do. You put on a show once every month or two around the country, get back to me when you have done the wrestling equivilant of putting on a month ling run of stand-up comedy shows at the Edinburgh fringe festival (the largest performance arts festival in the world) with a roster of over 20 performers throughout the run, and that doesn't include the acts we had flying in and out for dates. Spend a minimum of 4 hours a day every day for a month walking around handing out flyers, and then go and perform twice a day aswell. Then do the line-ups and put a show together (putting a comedy show together requires as much attention to balance and styles as a wrestling show believe it or not).

I'm not comparing stand-up comedy to wrestling, but what I a pointing out is that as the promoter it is your duty to try and get the punters in, for the sake of the performers and the audience. If you're promoting, your main job is to get butts in seats, end of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,602 ✭✭✭✭ShawnRaven

orestes wrote: »
    If you're promoting, your main job is to get butts in seats, end of.

One question... what about keeping them in the seats? ie: drawing the same punters back in the same cities/towns? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FFPW_Dean

This past weekend saw Fight Factory once again represented on the Irish wrestling scene:

Sports Entertainment Wrestling King of the Ring Tournament, 20th June 2009, Cookstown Leisure Centre, Cookstown Co. Tyrone:

First Round:
    Joey Cabray def 'Superhero' Sean South

Notes:
    In the absence of notable FFPW members Paul Tracey & Sean 'Maxer' Brennan at this show, Sean South was left to represent Ireland's best training school in SEW's King Of The Ring tournament.
    Although he suffered a first round exit by means of a narrow loss to AWR Stalwart Joey Cabray, South would end up playing a major role in the outcome of the tournament.
    Hot favourite for the King Of The Ring Crown Duncan Disorderly clashed with JC Williams in the semi final round of the tournament, when Duncan had the match all but won, South distracted the ref & tossed a bag of blinding salts into JC Williams, who used these to score a major upset victory over the man who has won every previous SEW tournament.
    The night did not end there however as in the final round, South would again try to intervene on behalf of JC Williams, this time however he was stopped by Disorderly before Joey Cabray could feel the brunt of an enraged & jealous South swinging a ringside chair.
    The end result would be Joey Cabray winning the tournament and the inhumanely large trophy in a very well recieved end result of the evening.

FFPW Would like to remind all who read this that we are always enrolling new members and information on training courses can be found via the FFPW bebo page (in the sig below) or by PM'ing myself or FFPW_Office on boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭littleman

FFPW_Dean wrote: »
    This past weekend saw Fight Factory once again represented on the Irish wrestling scene:

Sports Entertainment Wrestling King of the Ring Tournament, 20th June 2009, Cookstown Leisure Centre, Cookstown Co. Tyrone:

First Round:

Notes:
    In the absence of notable FFPW members Paul Tracey & Sean 'Maxer' Brennan at this show, Sean South was left to represent Ireland's best training school in SEW's King Of The Ring tournament.
    Although he suffered a first round exit by means of a narrow loss to AWR Stalwart Joey Cabray, South would end up playing a major role in the outcome of the tournament.
    Hot favourite for the King Of The Ring Crown Duncan Disorderly clashed with JC Williams in the semi final round of the tournament, when Duncan had the match all but won, South distracted the ref & tossed a bag of blinding salts into JC Williams, who used these to score a major upset victory over the man who has won every previous SEW tournament.
    The night did not end there however as in the final round, South would again try to intervene on behalf of JC Williams, this time however he was stopped by Disorderly before Joey Cabray could feel the brunt of an enraged & jealous South swinging a ringside chair.
    The end result would be Joey Cabray winning the tournament and the inhumanely large trophy in a very well recieved end result of the evening.

FFPW Would like to remind all who read this that we are always enrolling new members and information on training courses can be found via the FFPW bebo page (in the sig below) or by PM'ing myself or FFPW_Office on boards.ie

Unlucky one southy,well done for getting revenge back for it,to bad it didnt work the second time to help jc williams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭Irish Stunner

FFPW_Dean wrote: »

First Round:

Notes:

Wow Southy your just so great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FFPW_Dean

As many of you may or may not know, FFPW members Jordan Devlin & Sean South compete regularly in Scotland as a tag team named 'Green, White & AWESOME'
    So far the duo has been extremely successful, undefeated in tag team competition & the proud holders of both the BCW & PBW tag team championships

They were set to defend their BCW championships tomorrow in a match against 1PW's 'Damned Nation' (Dragon Aisu & Jon Cameron, who will be familiar to CPW fans).

However, we have recieved shocking news here via a BCW news source on the UKFF. See below:
    BREAKING NEWS!!

The Damned Nation will be making their presence known in BCW this Friday when they challenge for the Tag Team Championships.
    The Tag Team Champions, Jordan Devlin and Sean South, were informed of the news and within a few hours an email sent through which was apparently from Sean South said their flight details had been erased from the Flight Companies records. Although neither man did it they are pretty sure the Damned Nation have pulled a few strings and with a limited amount of flights to and from Ireland it is impossible for them to return to Scotland to defend their belts – this however is a breach of contract and therefore they have been STRIPPED of their titles.

So the final match just signed for tomorrow in Kilmarnock Grand Hall THE DAMNED NATION will take on the team of WOLFGANG and RED LIGHTNING for the VACANT BCW Tag Team Championships

source: http://ukff.com/index.php?showtopic=113284&st=15&p=1944432&#entry1944432

More on this story as it becomes available. . .providing all 11 & a half people who read this are interested, of course.

Damn that Damned Nation!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭RAMPAGE1

You could make it to Scotland by foot in 48 hours love ryan air

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭slicus ricus

You cannot be serious! Where in the blue hell are you going to find 5 people to invest €10k each? Particularly in the current financial climate? If I had a free €10k lying around, an Irish wrestling promotion is the last thing I would invest it in. I would have less risk investing in collective funds at the moment - at least you could say with a degree of certainty that your portfolio would increase in value within the next 5 years. But a €10k, 20% stake in an Irish wrestling promotion? No degree of certainty there when it comes to making a profit. I'm not even sure there's much of a market at all for wrestling in Ireland outside of WWE. Look at 1pw in th UK (where there's more of a market for wrestling) as an example of what can happen and that was when times were good!

It's one thing to say i'll get €10k here or €50k there.... but the practicalities are so much different. You would need to be offering a unique and extremely inovative product to get people to part with that kind of money on it. Like, I mean if you could guarentee a weekly show on an national tv station or something, then you might be in business!

Twas only an example and not one that I said would be my route. I'd fancy that one would quite easily find 4 would be promoters other than yourself, convincing them to part with cash and that the sort of deal is good for them is another thing. Promotions have been sprouting up lately. If all these guys pooled money together you'd have a few quid so it is not an impossible scenario. Wouldn't be for me, but it doesn't stop me using it as an example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭slicus ricus

Twas only an example and not one that I said would be my route. I'd fancy that one would quite easily find 4 would be promoters other than yourself, convincing them to part with cash and that the sort of deal is good for them is another thing. Promotions have been sprouting up lately. If all these guys pooled money together you'd have a few quid so it is not an impossible scenario. Wouldn't be for me, but it doesn't stop me using it as an example.

If you wanted to have any say in the direction of your new promotion, the last thing you would want to do is have 4 other promoter having a financial stake in your company! You would make more progress with financial backing from the devil!! I've read through some of the ideas you believe will work which the like of leggo (who has been heavily involved in wrestling promotion) disagrees with. How do you expect to get these ideas past 4 promoters who in reality would probably have a similar mindset to leggo? Do you think Vince McMahon was prepared to share creative control with other promoters? From what I can see, he did the exact opposite.

I don't mean to be shooting you down here, Cannibal, and sorry if it comes across like that; but these are the type of things you will really need to think about if you want go into business. I know you said that it's not the route you would necessarily go but either way, raising funds of €50k is not gonna be easy to do.

You would need contracts with defined roles in place for it to work. But I'm not really too fussed about debating the example since I'd never do it personally. I'm just saying that it's possible with compromise.

GerrySoul wrote: »
    You Basta*d you stole my idea :D

no but seriously i have thought about doing something almost exactly like this
    its just simply..........MONEY

Without a big financial backer or 10-20 very successful shows under your belt to have a good cash supply should something go wrong ya can't do it.

Are you an idot you don t go on the internet teling people your promoting plans . no wonder you didnt draw in tala you don t have a clue what your doing

He didn't tell anyone his promoting plans, he just said he thought about doing it. Not that it would affect him in the least if he did tell people his plans. Worst case scenario, someone steals an idea, but then it's just a case of who implements it better. Promoters have been running side by side with near identical methods for decades.

If he revealed details of business contacts, or rates he gets for different things that would be a different story, but he didn't. He just discussed the merits of an idea and said it would cost too much money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Wacker2009

wow a wrestling page didnt think there was actually wrestling in ireland .

i love wrestling its just the best too bad there are only like 40 people interested in it

He didn't tell anyone his promoting plans, he just said he thought about doing it. Not that it would affect him in the least if he did tell people his plans. Worst case scenario, someone steals an idea, but then it's just a case of who implements it better. Promoters have been running side by side with near identical methods for decades.

If he revealed details of business contacts, or rates he gets for different things that would be a different story, but he didn't. He just discussed the merits of an idea and said it would cost too much money.

ah yeah but when has simon or summers ever been on boards posting like that ans when F.F.P.W Dean comes on he tells you his life story. i mean its obivious he is super hero sean south cause off the way he writes his messages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

ah yeah but when has simon or summers ever been on boards posting like that ans when F.F.P.W Dean comes on he tells you his life story. i mean its obivious he is super hero sean south cause off the way he writes his messages

Isn't Sean South some legend altogether?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Wacker2009

i would use my wrestling company as a way off landering illagal money eg Stolen / Drug money so the c.a.b could not touch it on me that would be the sensible way off running a business. then the controversary around what your doing would attract interest

CJ and Simon are hardly shining examples with the way their fortunes have gone of late. Nothing wrong with friendly debate with potential fans as long as you don't insult them. I personally think it is better to have some interaction than to be a silent wall. So what if he talks of plans. If his plans sound interesting it might even perk up some interest when he puts them into action.

As for Sean South, he's not a promoter nor the offical repsentative of FFPW. He just keeps us up to date and it's appreciated.

Gerard.C wrote: »
    Isn't Sean South some legend altogether?

i dunno an irish version off the hurricane aint that impressive but what ever your into yourself i suppose

CJ and Simon are hardly shining examples with the way their fortunes have gone of late. Nothing wrong with friendly debate with potential fans as long as you don't insult them. I personally think it is better to have some interaction than to be a silent wall. So what if he talks of plans. If his plans sound interesting it might even perk up some interest when he puts them into action.

As for Sean South, he's not a promoter nor the offical repsentative of FFPW. He just keeps us up to date and it's appreciated.

so F.F.P.W dean is Sean South I was not sure . I thought F.F.P.W Dean was ffpw s promoter my mistake .

were you at the IPs let down show in tala?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

i dunno an irish version off the hurricane aint that impressive but what ever your into yourself i suppose

But The Hurricane wears green too! Y'know, we never did find out who The Hurricane is..... and Sean South has green wrestling gear....... jaysus....

So what's your story anyway? What aspects of Irish Wrestling Interest you? Who, apart from The Hurricane, is your favourite Irish Wrestler?

I was there, and was disappointed about the show being canceled cause there was a good roster set up for the night.

Gerard.C wrote: »
    But The Hurricane wears green too! Y'know, we never did find out who The Hurricane is..... and Sean South has green wrestling gear....... jaysus....

So what's your story anyway? What aspects of Irish Wrestling Interest you? Who, apart from The Hurricane, is your favourite Irish Wrestler?

i have been to a few shows and just what i have read here thats all really . whats your story ?

I was there, and was disappointed about the show being canceled cause there was a good roster set up for the night.
    yeah was dissapointing but its not over yet so we will have out day off glory yet

ah well lads almost time for eastenders wrestling aint the only soap i follow ha ha