This new "Volvic Challenge" ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

seimi wrote: »
    I was so pissed off with this advertisement I reported them to advertising standards. It's the first time I made a complaint. Drinking too much water can cause hyper hydration and 1 litre consumed in a few minutes can even be fatal! Don't even get me started on the whole volcano crap.

damn we were gonna have a prob bet on how long it would take to drink 5 litres. i guess that's out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 seimi

In fairness, the special K challenge worked. I dropped a dress size. I was going to leave my cross-dressing days behind but now I wonder... I had special K for breakfast, again for lunch, and a coco-pop in the evening. Ended up with an hourglass figure. Well the bottom half anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭dublintuition

In fairness, the special K challenge worked. I dropped a dress size. I was going to leave my cross-dressing days behind but now I wonder... I had special K for breakfast, again for lunch, and a coco-pop in the evening. Ended up with an hourglass figure. Well the bottom half anyway.

Of course you did. You were starving yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Oh I definetly agree. It's ridiculous - bottled water is a ****ing joke itself. This is just taking it a step further. I'd refuse to associate myself with anyone who would take a challenge to drink water (1.5L...most of us drink that in a day anyway). The market heads at Volvic must be delighted with themselves at this new stroke of genious.

As for the Special K challenge, well, it's something new every season. Getting slim for a summer bikini, getting slimmer after Christmas dinner, getting slimmer before Christmas dinner, getting slimmer for Halloween, getting slimmer for Easter, getting slimmer of Good Friday, getting slimmer for the summer solstice, getting slimmer for the winter solstice, getting slimmer for the next solar eclipse, getting slimmer to fit in a dress, getting slimmer for Mickey Mouse's birthday, getting slimmer for a foreign trip abroad, getting slimmer to look like a model on TV, getting slimmer for St. Paddy's Day, getting slimmer for Oxegen, getting slimmer to be able to go through your own letterbox, getting slimmer for the Simpson's Appreciation Day.
    There's no reason to get fatter there though, funnily enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Fr Martin

What sort of character you developing - An angry tranny? whats your hook?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

damn we were gonna have a prob bet on how long it would take to drink 5 litres. i guess that's out.

About an hour and a half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Keogg

jumpguy wrote: »
    getting slimmer for Oxegen.
    Ah crap I knew there was something i had to do...

yerayeah wrote: »
    WHAT are you on about?!

You'd need to drinking waaaaaay more water than the volvic challenge to cause hyperhydration.

And please enlighten me regarding the physiology of how a litre of water drank relatively quickly can be fatal!
    It's on wikipedia so it must be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

You know what the guy in that ad is the definition of?

A complete and utter douche.

Fr Martin wrote: »
    What sort of character you developing - An angry tranny? whats your hook?
    I was going more grumpy old man. Like the series but grumpier.

There's no reason to get fatter there though, funnily enough.

Which would actually increase their sales even more .....

Oh the idiots never thought of that one, did they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

I saw this ad for the first time tonight, I threw my shoe at the telly it pissed me off so much. You know what other ad really iritates me? That Barry's ad with all those bitches going off to Thailand and one of them manages to nearly leave without her fúcking passport but it's all ok because Mammy packed the Barry's.......... Wise up to fúck, all they need to do to sell Barry's is a mug with Barry's written on it getting filled with tea (making that beautiful sound that only hot tea being poured can make) Job done, I just saved ye millions of euros on advertising... no more horney architects running around the place, no more stupid bitches circumnavigating the world to see tranny double adaptors. [/rant]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

It's on wikipedia so it must be true.
    Well, that showed me!:pac:

Which would actually increase their sales even more .....

Oh the idiots never thought of that one, did they?
    Yeah, if being fat became as popular as being slim, the food market would have the most unprecedented boom in any economic sector (greater than the one they're already having). Special K would disappear altogether, and would be replaced by a box of microwaveable hamburgers.

We're clearly onto something here. I'm on my way to the patent office.

Yeah, if being fat became as popular as being slim, the food market would have the most unprecedented boom in any economic sector (greater than the one they're already having). Special K would disappear altogether, and would be replaced by a box of microwaveable hamburgers.

We're clearly onto something here. I'm on my way to the patent office.

Wait!! *grabs coat because it looks a wee bit nippy out there*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

It's ridiculous - bottled water is a ****ing joke itself.

um no. tap water is pretty awful imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Keogg

I prefer tap water, but one of friends acts like shes allergic to it, she'd probably refuse it if she was dying of thirst

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭c4cat

joey54 wrote: »
    The guy in the ad is a fe*king eejit! Pity he doesn't drown in the bloody volvic!

He is a feckin clever eejit cos he gets paid much better for doing that ad then we get paid for whatever we are doing for a livin, well then, better then most of us i'd say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

Thats depends on your source. I get my water from a well at home and keep a large bottle of it in the fridge all the time, and it taste delicious. Far nicer that any of the bottled waters on the market. But I've lived in places where the tap water tasted like swimming pool water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭c4cat

I am lucky I got crystal clear spring/well water that taste better then volvic

As said, that depends on your source of water. Not sure if it'll work with particularly awful tap water, but those Brita filters really do improve the taste of tap water. Perhaps some will disagree, but we have good tap water here, and we had a filter for a few years and it really made the tap water taste beautiful. I miss that ole filter. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭CommieBaz

Bring back George Volcano and Tyrannosaurus Alan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

yerayeah wrote: »
    And please enlighten me regarding the physiology of how a litre of water drank relatively quickly can be fatal!

If you hold it in your mouth and look up for a couple of minutes, you drown.

Now stop doubting such well thought out scientific research .

Bottled water tastes like plastic.If it tastes better than what comes out of your tap, then your water supply is pretty crap( our your drinking out of the bathroom taps)..

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

http://listverse.com/2009/02/15/top-10-common-medical-myths/
    he Myth: You should drink at least eight glasses of water a day

The origins of this myth is most likely the fact that a 1945 government agency said that the human body needed around 8 glasses of fluid a day. This included the fluid from all of the foods we eat and drinks like tea and coffee. Somehow over time “fluid” turned to “water” and the modern water myth arose. This also lead to silly slogans like “if you are thirsty it is too late” – a concept that would seem to have been invented by water bottlers who have something to gain from excess water consumption in the population in general. So, in reality, if you are thirsty, drink some water. If you are not, don’t.

cba looking up the actual 1945 link , but it exists and IIRC includes water already in solid food like pasta and fruit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

c4cat wrote: »
    He is a feckin clever eejit cos he gets paid much better for doing that ad then we get paid for whatever we are doing for a livin, well then, better then most of us i'd say

What?? I don't want to see anybody in this thread standing up for that fucker .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭Ivona Tinkle

The advertising campaign is working because everyone is talking about it even if it very negative (yes it is headwrecking)

And anyone that buys bottled water are deluding themselves water is water at the end of the day and it is free out of the tap and think about all the tons of waste bottled water creates :mad::(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I like their Lemon & Lime flavoured water. It is now sugar free too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I was so pissed off with this advertisement I reported them to advertising standards. It's the first time I made a complaint. Drinking too much water can cause hyper hydration and 1 litre consumed in a few minutes can even be fatal! Don't even get me started on the whole volcano crap.
    Really?
    I've just gone and drank a pint of water at the sink and then refilled the glass and finished that within 5 minutes of the first one.
    I'm going for a third because I'm always thirsty in the morning. Someone call an abulance for me.

Fizman wrote: »
    You know what the guy in that ad is the definition of?

A complete and utter douche.

I get jokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Elephant Monkey

Volvic add = win - created talk-ability

ACTOR who played idiot = win - gets a shed load of money for being the CHARACTER that they wanted on there campaign. He gets paid even more if the add airs in more countries.

How would you suggest that Volvic should advertise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭MrJetlag

Keogg wrote: »
    That'd be brilliant.
    Lets get that little Twat to drink a litre and a half of Vodka a day. Won't be so fcuking cheeky then will he...:pac:

You know

Now that I'm unemployed and at a loose end I think I might just try the vodka challenge of 1.5 litres of Smirnoff a day for 14 days.

Watch this space.