Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This new "Volvic Challenge" ad.

• 22-06-2009 11:30pm
    Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Anyone see that new Volvic ad -it's fúcking wrecking my head.

Basically some English twat is given a challenge to drink 1.5 litres of Volvic a day.

That's what got me annoyed first - wtf, like 3 pints of water in a whole day. Doesn't everyone drink at least that much daily?

Then he says "I know it's a lot"
    Then at the end he's performing somersaults and whatnot after doing this for a week.

Well call the World Health Organization - seems like Volvic have a miracle cure, everyone can renew lost health and vigour by drinking 1.5 litres of Volvic per day.

Fúcking crap sh1t. ****e ad by a scam artist bottled water company.
    I drink tap water anyway and if I'm out and dying of thirst I'm buying sprite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

" a little cheeky volvic "

yeah it's pretty bloody annoying alright.
    and bottled water is far nicer than tap water btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

The people in these adverts should be shot to death with balls of their own shoite.

F**k you volvic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Keogg

I completely agree, I hate that ad so much. Its so pointless!

Its doesnt make me want to go do that stupid challenge, it just makes me fcuking thirtsy. And don't think I'm going down to the shop to BUY water when there's tap water in my house for free!

I have a feeling this thread will turn into a 'stupidest ad' competition. ...:eek:... That would be an amazing thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭dublintuition

" a cheeky volvic" :rolleyes: Jesus Christ Almighty!!

What a poor marketing plan, ripped straight off from the special K challenge.

Gawbean 1: "How can we up our sales?"
    Gawbean 2: "Lets start a 'volvic challenge' and convince people into buying litres of our water every day for 14 days"
    Gawbean 1: "Genius"

" a cheeky volvic" :rolleyes: Jesus Christ Almighty!!

What a poor marketing plan, ripped straight off from the special K challenge.

Gawbean 1: "How can we up our sales?"
    Gawbean 2: "Lets start a 'volvic challenge' and convince people into buying litres of our water every day for 14 days"
    Gawbean 1: "Genius"

That Special K challenge is utter bull too.
    3 meals a day: two bowls of cereal and a Well-Balanced dinner and no snacks.
    It isn't special K that's making you lose weight if you're on that, its the fact that cereal is healthy and you're not eating a load of crap.
    It'd work much better with bran flakes or cheerios really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭well horse

Agree with the OP. What an twat in that ad.

And you're right. When I saw the ad I couldn't believe it said that 1.5 litres of water was a lot :confused:

If I didnt drink 4 pints of water in a day I'd have a banging headache and I'd feel sleepy. The only thing I'd find "challenging" about drinking 1.5 litres of water a day is that I'd find myself swooning for a draught of water from the tap 2 hours later. That chap must have been chronically dehydrated before taking up the "challenge", typical western-world human :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Pop's Diner

Volvic : Guarenteed to make you feel 300% more camp after 14 days.

Check out his little sissy run at the end of the ad :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

The guy in the ad is a fe*king eejit! Pity he doesn't drown in the bloody volvic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Volvic : Guarenteed to make you feel 300% more camp after 14 days.

Check out his little sissy run at the end of the ad :rolleyes:
    "Watch out boys!.."

.. as you never do know what body cavity he's gonna try and place that baseball mitt in!

Keogg wrote: »
    It isn't special K that's making you lose weight if you're on that, its the fact that cereal is healthy and you're not eating a load of crap.

You're dead right, no arguments here, its crap too. But there's no doubt that it has raised the sales of special K. Volvic unoriginally thought they would copy this. Well they should fail....FAIL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

I drink medium fizzy water, I get 9 litres of it for about a euro and it's nice :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

SV wrote: »
    " a little cheeky volvic "

yeah it's pretty bloody annoying alright.
    and bottled water is far nicer than tap water btw.

First thing that sprang to mind when i seen this thread.

"a cheeky little volvic" Ooh goo wan you little rebel!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 seimi

I was so pissed off with this advertisement I reported them to advertising standards. It's the first time I made a complaint. Drinking too much water can cause hyper hydration and 1 litre consumed in a few minutes can even be fatal! Don't even get me started on the whole volcano crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Wasn't Volvic that used the line "There's. something in the water"? always though that was pretty stupid marketing line, i dont want something else in the water, just water please.

You're dead right, no arguments here, its crap too. But there's no doubt that it has raised the sales of special K. Volvic unoriginally thought they would copy this. Well they should fail....FAIL
    Thanks, and you're right too, Special K is far too popular. It used to be the only cereal my sister ever ate. Unfortunately (and evilly) its playing off womens insecurities about thinking they'r fat, when they're not. The women on those ads and IN NO WAY needing to lose weight whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Cheeky Volvic my arse..it's not feckin vodka ffs!!!!

bronte wrote: »
    Cheeky Volvic my arse..it's not feckin vodka ffs!!!!
    That'd be brilliant.
    Lets get that little Twat to drink a litre and a half of Vodka a day. Won't be so fcuking cheeky then will he...:pac:

I wonder does carrying that bottle around all day give him a limp wrist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Fr Martin

Im already on the pantene proV 14 day challenge, which is really interfering with my weetabix week - maybe after Iv chosen my dolmio day Ill take up volvics challenge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

He must piss like a trooper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

All ye haters on here dissing Volvic, conveniently forgetting to mention that it is of course filled with volcanicity and thus can be expected to cure cancer, sort out this recession business, walk the dog...

Which can hardly be said of tap water *spits*...

Fr Martin wrote: »
    Im already on the pantene proV 14 day challenge, which is really interfering with my weetabix week - maybe after Iv chosen my dolmio day Ill take up volvics challenge
    those dolmio puppets are creepy. You know that ad where they're all ringing each other saying 'todays the day'... don't they already know which day is their fcuking dolmio day?! Argh bad bad ads!:mad::pac:

Of course Volvic are laughing their arses off now because we're talking about their product (albeit indirectly). It's just too much fun taking the p out of clarabel there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

When this ad comes on I find myself shouting 'Who plays ****ing Base ball in Europe!!!'

Christ it's tough to display my frustration in Binary.

seimi wrote: »
    I was so pissed off with this advertisement I reported them to advertising standards. It's the first time I made a complaint. Drinking too much water can cause hyper hydration and 1 litre consumed in a few minutes can even be fatal! Don't even get me started on the whole volcano crap.
    WHAT are you on about?!

You'd need to drinking waaaaaay more water than the volvic challenge to cause hyperhydration.

And please enlighten me regarding the physiology of how a litre of water drank relatively quickly can be fatal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Keogg wrote: »

These ones that live beside me have been walking for as long as I can remember and havent got any smaller!Most likely cos they eat a loaf of bread when they get home:mad:

eat less move more fatties:mad:

You're going about this all wrong. Put the pantene on your weetabix, and cook your pasta in the volvic. That way you'll have plenty of time to train your brain with Dr Kawashima's newest set of challenges

eat less move more fatties:mad:

I think you'd make an excellent manager/coach/psychologist type person:D
    Honestly though, you're right. Maybe someday some crappy new fad diet will steal that phrase. It'd work, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Senna wrote: »
    Wasn't Volvic that used the line "There's. something in the water"?
    That "something" is probably piss anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I wonder does carrying that bottle around all day give him a limp wrist?

Sure he seems like a stupid wanker in the first place:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

damn we were gonna have a prob bet on how long it would take to drink 5 litres. i guess that's out.

In fairness, the special K challenge worked. I dropped a dress size. I was going to leave my cross-dressing days behind but now I wonder... I had special K for breakfast, again for lunch, and a coco-pop in the evening. Ended up with an hourglass figure. Well the bottom half anyway.

Of course you did. You were starving yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Oh I definetly agree. It's ridiculous - bottled water is a ****ing joke itself. This is just taking it a step further. I'd refuse to associate myself with anyone who would take a challenge to drink water (1.5L...most of us drink that in a day anyway). The market heads at Volvic must be delighted with themselves at this new stroke of genious.

As for the Special K challenge, well, it's something new every season. Getting slim for a summer bikini, getting slimmer after Christmas dinner, getting slimmer before Christmas dinner, getting slimmer for Halloween, getting slimmer for Easter, getting slimmer of Good Friday, getting slimmer for the summer solstice, getting slimmer for the winter solstice, getting slimmer for the next solar eclipse, getting slimmer to fit in a dress, getting slimmer for Mickey Mouse's birthday, getting slimmer for a foreign trip abroad, getting slimmer to look like a model on TV, getting slimmer for St. Paddy's Day, getting slimmer for Oxegen, getting slimmer to be able to go through your own letterbox, getting slimmer for the Simpson's Appreciation Day.
    There's no reason to get fatter there though, funnily enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Fr Martin

What sort of character you developing - An angry tranny? whats your hook?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

damn we were gonna have a prob bet on how long it would take to drink 5 litres. i guess that's out.

About an hour and a half.

jumpguy wrote: »
    getting slimmer for Oxegen.
    Ah crap I knew there was something i had to do...

yerayeah wrote: »
    WHAT are you on about?!

You'd need to drinking waaaaaay more water than the volvic challenge to cause hyperhydration.

And please enlighten me regarding the physiology of how a litre of water drank relatively quickly can be fatal!
    It's on wikipedia so it must be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

You know what the guy in that ad is the definition of?

A complete and utter douche.

What sort of character you developing - An angry tranny? whats your hook?
    I was going more grumpy old man. Like the series but grumpier.

There's no reason to get fatter there though, funnily enough.

Which would actually increase their sales even more .....

Oh the idiots never thought of that one, did they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

I saw this ad for the first time tonight, I threw my shoe at the telly it pissed me off so much. You know what other ad really iritates me? That Barry's ad with all those bitches going off to Thailand and one of them manages to nearly leave without her fúcking passport but it's all ok because Mammy packed the Barry's.......... Wise up to fúck, all they need to do to sell Barry's is a mug with Barry's written on it getting filled with tea (making that beautiful sound that only hot tea being poured can make) Job done, I just saved ye millions of euros on advertising... no more horney architects running around the place, no more stupid bitches circumnavigating the world to see tranny double adaptors. [/rant]

It's on wikipedia so it must be true.
    Well, that showed me!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Which would actually increase their sales even more .....

Oh the idiots never thought of that one, did they?
    Yeah, if being fat became as popular as being slim, the food market would have the most unprecedented boom in any economic sector (greater than the one they're already having). Special K would disappear altogether, and would be replaced by a box of microwaveable hamburgers.

We're clearly onto something here. I'm on my way to the patent office.

Yeah, if being fat became as popular as being slim, the food market would have the most unprecedented boom in any economic sector (greater than the one they're already having). Special K would disappear altogether, and would be replaced by a box of microwaveable hamburgers.

We're clearly onto something here. I'm on my way to the patent office.

Wait!! *grabs coat because it looks a wee bit nippy out there*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

It's ridiculous - bottled water is a ****ing joke itself.

um no. tap water is pretty awful imo.

I prefer tap water, but one of friends acts like shes allergic to it, she'd probably refuse it if she was dying of thirst

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭c4cat

joey54 wrote: »
    The guy in the ad is a fe*king eejit! Pity he doesn't drown in the bloody volvic!

He is a feckin clever eejit cos he gets paid much better for doing that ad then we get paid for whatever we are doing for a livin, well then, better then most of us i'd say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

Thats depends on your source. I get my water from a well at home and keep a large bottle of it in the fridge all the time, and it taste delicious. Far nicer that any of the bottled waters on the market. But I've lived in places where the tap water tasted like swimming pool water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭c4cat

I am lucky I got crystal clear spring/well water that taste better then volvic