Are girls jealous of their friends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Surely if the girl had a boyfriend, she would have mentioned it at some point. I'd find it hard to believe that she would talk to you all night and not mention anyone, if she did have a boyfriend. Seems more likely that the friends were just cockblocking, to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Aodan83 wrote: »
    Surely if the girl had a boyfriend, she would have mentioned it at some point.
    Fraid not all would tbh.. :/
    I'd find it hard to believe that she would talk to you all night and not mention anyone, if she did have a boyfriend. Seems more likely that the friends were just cockblocking, to me.
    Yessum. It does seem to be the case alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

"Are girls jealous of their friends?"
    "Do girls get overly and aggressively jealous when they're not getting much attention?"

The term "girls" implies all of them, so the answer would be no.

However, some girls are jealous of their friends/become overly and aggressively jealous when they're not getting much attention - because they have issues. And lots of people (irrespective of gender) have issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭b28

99% of peoples friends would be two faced f*cks to them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Dudess wrote: »
    "Are girls jealous of their friends?"
    "Do girls get overly and aggressively jealous when they're not getting much attention?"

The term "girls" implies all of them, so the answer would be no.

However, some girls are jealous of their friends/become overly and aggressively jealous when they're not getting much attention - because they have issues. And lots of people (irrespective of gender) have issues.

Big Issue(s)?:pac: I loved that magazine...

Tbh, sometimes I've seen people out who have very little "to do". They can't talk because of the loud music, can't swallow any more drink cause if they drink any more, it'll make them sick, and so they fill the void by running around to various members of the group who may be talking to new people, corralling them to leave or switch pubs, or merely keep them company.

b28 wrote: »

wow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,594 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

b28 wrote: »

Speaking of issues...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

My sisters name is Aisling and she was out last night...

What a cnut.

Well tell your sisters friends next time there over to stop being a loada twat-blocking cnuts !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    So i was out on the town for a friends 21st bday tonight when we met these girls in this one club, and i started dancing away with this one girl for nearly 2 hours on/off. reason being that her friends (also female) kept draging her away, even though it was clear she wanted to stay, and told them that. when they did manage to pull her away she would leave for 5 or 10min but then come back. We ended up getting on great and she was a really good laugh. anyway i told her i needed some fresh air for a bit cause the place started getting full and sweaty. SHE suggested, when my friends didnt want to come with me, that she should come and give me some company. (which i was kinda hoping she'd do honestly) and we were barely outside for 1min when her friends phoned her. endlessly. (and we were barely 10 steps away from them!)

after 5min of her (Aishling) not answering the phone, her friends came and literly DRAGGED her away. it was really lousy and i didnt even get her number before she had to leave!:mad::mad: she even tried pulling away from them. like it was FULLY obvious she didnt want to go! and it wast like she was being drunk and stupid. she hadnt had a drink while i was with her anyway i.e. most of the night.

anyway, rant over(ish), my question is: Do girls get overly and aggressively jealous when they're not getting much attention (cause none of my male friends were really paying much attention to any of her friends. except 1, but she was sooo stuck-up.)

Now im not a stupid guy (insert jokes over here), i know that to get the girl you've got to get with her friends too, so i was all for dancing and joking and chatting them up too, with my main focus on aishling of course, but they were so dissinterested that they were having none of it! and its not like im an ugly guy or something trivial or shallow or anything. and i get comments on my dancing ability alot, but nothing i could do was working.
    It was so annoying. fair play if you get to know me and not like me, but to judge me for no reason and ignore me and stuff just isnt right, expecially if youve only known me for 5 min.

im sorry to rant so much but i was really into this girl. she was pretty and intellegent and relaxed and funny and laid back, and not the type you come across in places like that easily, and i didnt even get her number cause her friends pulled her down the stage away from me at the speed of light. i wasnt even being sleazy. she was sitting on the far side of the steps away from me, just chatting away with me. uuuugh i really wanna see her again, but the chances of us bumping into each other again is so rediculously slim..

/end massively long rant

///sorry for bad spelling. will fix when i wake up in the morning, and somewhat more sobre///

Think my ones worse...

On hols last year i was hit with "fat-friend-syndrome" ! i was in bed with a girl and her fat friend came in in a huff(she happened to be the only one not with a fella that night) and said you's 2 better not do anything there im going asleep !! My one start giving her loads of abuse and we had to stop...of course the second she fell asleep we..........;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

before cock blocking became a popular term I used to call them wan's anchors, ya know, always dragging their friends down with them . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

If she allowed herself to be dragged around by her bitchy, jealous, petty mates then she's not worth talking to herself. She sounds like she's not mature enough to be her own women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Girls can be very obsessed about their girls nights out....like its not just something they say but they mean. I dated a girl for a while...one night she told me she was having a girls night out in her local place which was fine...i headed into city centre...anyway she and her friends changed their mind and came into town and by some weird coincidence we bumped into each other in the same bar. She didn't look happy to see me (even though she'd been texting me all week and she knew there was no way I could have known she was there so she knew i wasn't following her or anything...in fact i'd been there all night and she just arrived).

Anyway, I was talking to her friends for a while having the craic and although she was talking to me she clearly wasn't herself. Anyway I could tell she didn't want me to be there so I told her I had already agreed to go with the lads somewhere else (which was true) and went.

She text me later saying that her friends had agreed on a girls night out, no boys allowed and that the girls were reminding her of this after they seen me. WTF?P Its like something a bunch of 10-year olds would say!! I was surprised because I was laughing and joking with them so I thought it was just her.

Anyway, we still met loads of times after and dated for a while so it wasn't like she didn't want to be with me. But a girls night out means a girls night out apparently. I dunno, women behave in ways guys just don't understand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Abigayle wrote: »
    Ok.

Yes I would have had a total knicker-fit if this happened to me. She was far nicer than I would have been about it. "I'm staying bye" would have been "Get the fcuk out of my face, I'm warning you". I'm not talking about getting into a physical fight or anything, but they would have got the message pretty fast. Tbh, I wouldn't have friends like that anyway. Annoying little bitches.

See this is the part I don't get, if a friend of mine was messing about a bit and shouldn't have been, and insisted on going back over.. I would have taken the responsibility of saying to the guy "Look I'm not being pissy about this, but she has a boyf". She might be angry with me for saying it at the time, but probably glad I intervened later (hopefully!).

Oh you menz :pac:

are you the new aguny aunt ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

Girls can be very obsessed about their girls nights out....like its not just something they say but they mean. I dated a girl for a while...one night she told me she was having a girls night out in her local place which was fine...i headed into city centre...anyway she and her friends changed their mind and came into town and by some weird coincidence we bumped into each other in the same bar. She didn't look happy to see me (even though she'd been texting me all week and she knew there was no way I could have known she was there so she knew i wasn't following her or anything...in fact i'd been there all night and she just arrived).

Anyway, I was talking to her friends for a while having the craic and although she was talking to me she clearly wasn't herself. Anyway I could tell she didn't want me to be there so I told her I had already agreed to go with the lads somewhere else (which was true) and went.

She text me later saying that her friends had agreed on a girls night out, no boys allowed and that the girls were reminding her of this after they seen me. WTF?P Its like something a bunch of 10-year olds would say!! I was surprised because I was laughing and joking with them so I thought it was just her.

Anyway, we still met loads of times after and dated for a while so it wasn't like she didn't want to be with me. But a girls night out means a girls night out apparently. I dunno, women behave in ways guys just don't understand.

Should have dumped her. Sounds like a child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Abigayle wrote: »
    Ok.

See this is the part I don't get, if a friend of mine was messing about a bit and shouldn't have been, and insisted on going back over.. I would have taken the responsibility of saying to the guy "Look I'm not being pissy about this, but she has a boyf". She might be angry with me for saying it at the time, but probably glad I intervened later (hopefully!).

That's what I think too...the friends in the OP sound much more like jealous cows than helpful friends!

I just don't "get" girls like that, to be honest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭goldenbrown

observed james joyce many years ago.... is 'envy'... continues to be the number one destructive negative force in this society........:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭goldenbrown

like rust it never sleeps and is everywhere:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,118 ✭✭✭✭walshb

So i was out on the town for a friends 21st bday tonight when we met these girls in this one club, and i started dancing away with this one girl for nearly 2 hours on/off. reason being that her friends (also female) kept draging her away, even though it was clear she wanted to stay, and told them that. when they did manage to pull her away she would leave for 5 or 10min but then come back. We ended up getting on great and she was a really good laugh. anyway i told her i needed some fresh air for a bit cause the place started getting full and sweaty. SHE suggested, when my friends didnt want to come with me, that she should come and give me some company. (which i was kinda hoping she'd do honestly) and we were barely outside for 1min when her friends phoned her. endlessly. (and we were barely 10 steps away from them!)

after 5min of her (Aishling) not answering the phone, her friends came and literly DRAGGED her away. it was really lousy and i didnt even get her number before she had to leave!:mad::mad: she even tried pulling away from them. like it was FULLY obvious she didnt want to go! and it wast like she was being drunk and stupid. she hadnt had a drink while i was with her anyway i.e. most of the night.

anyway, rant over(ish), my question is: Do girls get overly and aggressively jealous when they're not getting much attention (cause none of my male friends were really paying much attention to any of her friends. except 1, but she was sooo stuck-up.)

Now im not a stupid guy (insert jokes over here), i know that to get the girl you've got to get with her friends too, so i was all for dancing and joking and chatting them up too, with my main focus on aishling of course, but they were so dissinterested that they were having none of it! and its not like im an ugly guy or something trivial or shallow or anything. and i get comments on my dancing ability alot, but nothing i could do was working.
    It was so annoying. fair play if you get to know me and not like me, but to judge me for no reason and ignore me and stuff just isnt right, expecially if youve only known me for 5 min.

im sorry to rant so much but i was really into this girl. she was pretty and intellegent and relaxed and funny and laid back, and not the type you come across in places like that easily, and i didnt even get her number cause her friends pulled her down the stage away from me at the speed of light. i wasnt even being sleazy. she was sitting on the far side of the steps away from me, just chatting away with me. uuuugh i really wanna see her again, but the chances of us bumping into each other again is so rediculously slim..

/end massively long rant

///sorry for bad spelling. will fix when i wake up in the morning, and somewhat more sobre///

Fully understand that and yes, the girls are just plain pissed and jealous and because maybe they haven't a guy to hang to, they don't want their friend to be 'scoring.'
    It pisses me off and you feel like freaking knocking the friends out. I don't know why the girl(s) can't be plain forceful and tell the pests to fu*%^ off.

Can you imagine guys trying to scupper their mates plan to score?
    They would end up killing to get their rocks off, but girls seem
    to allow their friends to drag them away from a 'score.':rolleyes:

BTW, I can understand a girl looking out for her friend and making
    sure she is safe, but the incessant dragging away from a completely
    jovial and friendly situation is pure spite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Mackleton wrote: »
    From a female perspective, it sounds like this girl has a bf somewhere and her friends were preventing her from doing something with you that she would later regret. That seems like the only rational reason behind the friends behaviour.

We're talking about women here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭iguana

She was sobre. well from what i could tell. as i said, she didnt have a drink the entire time i was with her.

Any chance that she and her friends may have been on coke or pills? What you describe sounds to me as if they all may have been high. The more I think about it, the more that sounds most likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭hobochris

It seems the only way to chat up some women in groups is to do it with a few friends that way the jealousy doesn't occur so much, provided the guys are all roughly the same level looks wise.

Its sad the deceit and games on both sides has ruined some of the fun of a night out for single people.

I mean you should be able to approach someone of the opposite sex without having your head ripped off, talk to them,If all goes well and everyone is having a good night, exchange numbers and arrange to go out sometime without the jealously(women),cock blocking(both men and women), aggressive attitudes(mostly women), sleazy remarks(mostly men) and other games that go with the current way things are.

All it takes is a little honesty and acceptance, if a lady isn't interested or is not available she should just be honest and say so in a polite manner, at the moment many although not interested or unavailable, will string a guy along if she can to get attention and drink bought for her.

The same goes for guys who approach a girl who's not interested, no need to lose the head as some do, if a lady is unavailable or not interested no amount of cursing or sleazy comments will change that, just politely excuse yourself and don't bother her again.

Sadly I can't see things changing, but its all good for me :D I've already got my lady.

I also think more traffic light events would help the single folk looking for someone out.

</my two cents>