Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are girls jealous of their friends?

• 21-06-2009 3:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭

So i was out on the town for a friends 21st bday tonight when we met these girls in this one club, and i started dancing away with this one girl for nearly 2 hours on/off. reason being that her friends (also female) kept draging her away, even though it was clear she wanted to stay, and told them that. when they did manage to pull her away she would leave for 5 or 10min but then come back. We ended up getting on great and she was a really good laugh. anyway i told her i needed some fresh air for a bit cause the place started getting full and sweaty. SHE suggested, when my friends didnt want to come with me, that she should come and give me some company. (which i was kinda hoping she'd do honestly) and we were barely outside for 1min when her friends phoned her. endlessly. (and we were barely 10 steps away from them!)

after 5min of her (Aishling) not answering the phone, her friends came and literly DRAGGED her away. it was really lousy and i didnt even get her number before she had to leave!:mad::mad: she even tried pulling away from them. like it was FULLY obvious she didnt want to go! and it wast like she was being drunk and stupid. she hadnt had a drink while i was with her anyway i.e. most of the night.

anyway, rant over(ish), my question is: Do girls get overly and aggressively jealous when they're not getting much attention (cause none of my male friends were really paying much attention to any of her friends. except 1, but she was sooo stuck-up.)

Now im not a stupid guy (insert jokes over here), i know that to get the girl you've got to get with her friends too, so i was all for dancing and joking and chatting them up too, with my main focus on aishling of course, but they were so dissinterested that they were having none of it! and its not like im an ugly guy or something trivial or shallow or anything. and i get comments on my dancing ability alot, but nothing i could do was working.
    It was so annoying. fair play if you get to know me and not like me, but to judge me for no reason and ignore me and stuff just isnt right, expecially if youve only known me for 5 min.

im sorry to rant so much but i was really into this girl. she was pretty and intellegent and relaxed and funny and laid back, and not the type you come across in places like that easily, and i didnt even get her number cause her friends pulled her down the stage away from me at the speed of light. i wasnt even being sleazy. she was sitting on the far side of the steps away from me, just chatting away with me. uuuugh i really wanna see her again, but the chances of us bumping into each other again is so rediculously slim..

/end massively long rant

///sorry for bad spelling. will fix when i wake up in the morning, and somewhat more sobre///

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Yeah they will do this, under the guise of "looking out for their friends" as if all guys are assholes who can't be trusted alone with a girl for five minutes in case she gives into his advances!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

A hot girl's ugly friend who has a chip on their shoulder about no one hitting on them, so they do everything in their power to stop their friend being nailed. also the friend might not want to leave them alone.

Defintion on Urban Dictionary

A bit crude but you get the gist of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Was one of these friends a 'DUFF'? They're usually the ones responsible for the cock blocking.

I suggest this in future -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Fr Martin

Its called fat friend syndrome - grow more balls in future, get the girl - save the world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

I don't think her friends appreciated you Tea-Bagging their friend on the dance floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

wow people are pretty quick at replying, concidering the time too.

its not even that her friends were fugly, they were ok like, but my friends were shot down within seconds of meeting them. wtf. i concider us (our group i was in) to be pretty good looking and sound out at the same time.

if it was a girls night out, wouldnt they have said something? im really interested on getting a females point of view here. what are girls looking for when going out on the town? i thought my recipe was what it was ie Fun, good loud music, good friends, good laughs, and a few shots of tequila inbetween for spice. am i wrong?

u worry to much what girls think....
    lol.
    sorry, i dont normally care. "Fun, good loud music, good friends, good laughs, and a few shots of tequila inbetween for spice" is what i want from a night out. girls are a bonus that doesnt bother me all that much normally:) except on this occassion, for the first time in a while, i was actually really interested in what this girl had to say and stuff. but the fact that i spent so much time with her without getting bored/disinterested made me even more impressed/attracted to her, and then to not walk away with a number or anything just kills me.

well there is a possibility that she had a boyfriend and the girls didn't want her to do anything stupid.

Yes, girls get jealous of their friends, it's normal, as long as it doesn't turn to envy then it's healthy enough I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Yeah they will do this, under the guise of "looking out for their friends" as if all guys are assholes who can't be trusted alone with a girl for five minutes in case she gives into his advances!!

I'd say it was this ^^ alright. I part agree with this, looking out for each other is important. But this particular case sounds very OTT.

Was "Ashling" quite drunk? This would be the only scenario I would be anxious about her being away from the group. The better thing for her friends to do is take her home in that case though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

It applies to both sexes!!! Lads do it subtely! It happened to me last night... Fecking pissed me off as well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I know my firends would only do this if one of us was very drunk or had a boyfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Mackleton

From a female perspective, it sounds like this girl has a bf somewhere and her friends were preventing her from doing something with you that she would later regret. That seems like the only rational reason behind the friends behaviour.

In general, the occasion often dictates what girls are looking for on a night out. If it's a girl's birthday and she's single and others in the group are too then the group is usually on the lookout for guys. If we're finished exams or some such then the objective is to get tipsy and have a laugh, (stress release mode), if a girl has recently split from her bf then her group will sometimes take the girl out to forget him and have a good dance/laugh etc. If the majority of the group are spoken for then often the night is for some girl time and guys are usually not on the cards. It just depends on the group and the occasion. But don't take their behaviour personally OP, they were probably acting in the girl's best interests, if she has a bf that is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Fr Martin wrote: »
    Its called fat friend syndrome - grow more balls in future, get the girl - save the world

This. Most decent looking girls will hang around with a whale to make them feel better about themselves and, in turn, the whale usually ends up cock-blocking any guy who so much as looks at anyone but her because of her jealously at not getting hit on at all unless some hammered guy is looking for a practice girl.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

well there is a possibility that she had a boyfriend and the girls didn't want her to do anything stupid.

Yes, girls get jealous of their friends, it's normal, as long as it doesn't turn to envy then it's healthy enough I think.

I assume that this was it. If not, she really needs to get new friends.

If I'm out, I don't really do girls nights out with most of my friends being male and all...but I'm out to have fun, good laughs etc and if you meet someone and have a chat and a dance thats just an added bonus, my friends would be told to get ****ed if they tried to drag me away from someone without good reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    i know that to get the girl you've got to get with her friends too,
    Sorry dude but this was the first thing that sprung to mind when I read this.... :p

Seriously though, a lot of girls are jealous, insecure bitches and it seems like you encountered some last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Yep this happens. Happened to me a few times and it drove me up the wall.

A lot of girls are just geebags. Simple as that.

Wagon wrote: »
    Yep this happens. Happened to me a few times and it drove me up the wall.

A lot of girls are just geebags. Simple as that.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=60693673&postcount=73

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

My sisters name is Aisling and she was out last night...

What a cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Gator

Maybe because you resemble some lobster like creature and her friends were looking out for her

mental07 wrote: »
    Sorry dude but this was the first thing that sprung to mind when I read this.... :p

Seriously though, a lot of girls are jealous, insecure bitches and it seems like you encountered some last night.
    ha ha nice.

well i usually have a friend out with me who can pretty much deflect any cockblocker cause he's from NZ and can charm the pants off a girl while her bf is with them, without even trying hard. Sadly he's in AUS atm on holliday. but ive never really come across cockblocking that was so harsh. it took me by total suprise.

i guess from now on i wont go for a group with a beached whale/snob in their midst, unless hes with me...

still pissed about it though:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

Girls dont have to be ugly to do this, they just have to be not hit on. I mean it depends on the girl, but a large enough percentage will try and block their friends success, on the guise of "looking out for them".

And yes, some guys do it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭jinxycat

speaking as a girl the only time i'll ever stop a friend being persued by a guy is when she's :

1 totally wasted and hasn't a clue what's going on, this is when i usually try to get them home, althought this hasn't happened in years :p

2 in a relationship and i'd know she'd regret if she'd did anything ( cause i'm usually the more sober one i get asked to look out for my friends before we even start drinkng):rolleyes:

3 giving you the look to say "get this guy away from me" :D

other than that, they're old enough to decide for themselves if they want to stay or leave the guy they're talking too.

on the other hand, out of all my friends i'm the only single one :o
    and i do pity the poor guys who do approach me cause before they even get a chance to say hi my friend usually gives them an ultimium, talk about embarrassing, the poor guys being lectured before he even gets my name:eek: so usually for the next 20 minutes i'm saying sorry about that. thankfully it doesn't put them off though :D well so far it hasn't yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

all the girls looking for tea bag action eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

asdasd wrote: »
    Girls dont have to be ugly to do this, they just have to be not hit on. I mean it depends on the girl, but a large enough percentage will try and block their friends success, on the guise of "looking out for them".

And yes, some guys do it too.

A lot less guys than women do it i can guarantee you! The only possible way i might say something to a friend is if he's blind drunk and some "big boned" "lady" is dragging him home and even then id say soemthing like "man u alright" cause in the end i want to hear what happened the next morning and the realization of "Beer Goggles Syndrome".

Oh beer goggles where would we be without them!

bleg wrote: »
    all the girls looking for tea bag action eh?
    yea. they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

There was a poster on here a few days ago, on this same topic, regarding Men. He gave an example of a friend of his who came over to lads who were doing well with a few girls, getting phone numbers and possibly getting them back to a party.

He come over, starts to cough and splutter, eventually brings up green phlegm which he spits out onto the lounge carpet, then says

"So are yez girls coming over to the party to give me buddies some blow jobs later"

That sorta thing. I have seen something like that myself. Thats the male version.

Tea-bag, how drunk did you perceive her to be? Couldn't you hear anything her friends were saying to her as they were dragging her away? You said they did this several times, when she came back - did you not ask her why they kept doing this?

I'd have a knicker-fit if this kept happening to me, so their reason would have to be a damn good one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

Abigayle wrote: »

I'd have a knicker-fit if this kept happening to me, so their reason would have to be a damn good one.

Am I the only person that would like to see this? :p

Tea-bag, how drunk did you perceive her to be?

She was sobre. well from what i could tell. as i said, she didnt have a drink the entire time i was with her.
    Couldn't you hear anything her friends were saying to her as they were dragging her away?

sorry i should have posted this, as i feel its important. they were saying things like "comeon and dance with us" "we were looking for you and got worried" "were going soon and you better come"
    my fav
    them: "do you want to stay here, cause we want to go"
    her: "im staying. bye"
    them: "oh comeon" *then starts dragging her away*
    You said they did this several times, when she came back - did you not ask her why they kept doing this?

yeah i did and she just said how they were needy and stuff.

maybe if they can walk all over her she isnt such a great girl afterall, or she was in one serious relationship and her friends didnt want her screwing up, which is fair enough i guess. But i hav to make it clear that she definately wasnt drunk or drinking..

She was sobre. well from what i could tell. as i said, she didnt have a drink the entire time i was with her.
    Ok.
    sorry i should have posted this, as i feel its important. they were saying things like "comeon and dance with us" "we were looking for you and got worried" "were going soon and you better come"
    my fav
    them: "do you want to stay here, cause we want to go"
    her: "im staying. bye"
    them: "oh comeon" *then starts dragging her away*
    Yes I would have had a total knicker-fit if this happened to me. She was far nicer than I would have been about it. "I'm staying bye" would have been "Get the fcuk out of my face, I'm warning you". I'm not talking about getting into a physical fight or anything, but they would have got the message pretty fast. Tbh, I wouldn't have friends like that anyway. Annoying little bitches.
    maybe if they can walk all over her she isnt such a great girl afterall, or she was in one serious relationship and her friends didnt want her screwing up, which is fair enough i guess. .
    See this is the part I don't get, if a friend of mine was messing about a bit and shouldn't have been, and insisted on going back over.. I would have taken the responsibility of saying to the guy "Look I'm not being pissy about this, but she has a boyf". She might be angry with me for saying it at the time, but probably glad I intervened later (hopefully!).
    Am I the only person that would like to see this? :p
    Oh you menz :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Surely if the girl had a boyfriend, she would have mentioned it at some point. I'd find it hard to believe that she would talk to you all night and not mention anyone, if she did have a boyfriend. Seems more likely that the friends were just cockblocking, to me.

Aodan83 wrote: »
    Surely if the girl had a boyfriend, she would have mentioned it at some point.
    Fraid not all would tbh.. :/
    I'd find it hard to believe that she would talk to you all night and not mention anyone, if she did have a boyfriend. Seems more likely that the friends were just cockblocking, to me.
    Yessum. It does seem to be the case alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

"Are girls jealous of their friends?"
    "Do girls get overly and aggressively jealous when they're not getting much attention?"

The term "girls" implies all of them, so the answer would be no.

However, some girls are jealous of their friends/become overly and aggressively jealous when they're not getting much attention - because they have issues. And lots of people (irrespective of gender) have issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭b28

99% of peoples friends would be two faced f*cks to them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Dudess wrote: »
    "Are girls jealous of their friends?"
    "Do girls get overly and aggressively jealous when they're not getting much attention?"

The term "girls" implies all of them, so the answer would be no.

However, some girls are jealous of their friends/become overly and aggressively jealous when they're not getting much attention - because they have issues. And lots of people (irrespective of gender) have issues.

Big Issue(s)?:pac: I loved that magazine...

Tbh, sometimes I've seen people out who have very little "to do". They can't talk because of the loud music, can't swallow any more drink cause if they drink any more, it'll make them sick, and so they fill the void by running around to various members of the group who may be talking to new people, corralling them to leave or switch pubs, or merely keep them company.

b28 wrote: »

wow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

b28 wrote: »

Speaking of issues...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

My sisters name is Aisling and she was out last night...

What a cnut.

Well tell your sisters friends next time there over to stop being a loada twat-blocking cnuts !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

So i was out on the town for a friends 21st bday tonight when we met these girls in this one club, and i started dancing away with this one girl for nearly 2 hours on/off. reason being that her friends (also female) kept draging her away, even though it was clear she wanted to stay, and told them that. when they did manage to pull her away she would leave for 5 or 10min but then come back. We ended up getting on great and she was a really good laugh. anyway i told her i needed some fresh air for a bit cause the place started getting full and sweaty. SHE suggested, when my friends didnt want to come with me, that she should come and give me some company. (which i was kinda hoping she'd do honestly) and we were barely outside for 1min when her friends phoned her. endlessly. (and we were barely 10 steps away from them!)

after 5min of her (Aishling) not answering the phone, her friends came and literly DRAGGED her away. it was really lousy and i didnt even get her number before she had to leave!:mad::mad: she even tried pulling away from them. like it was FULLY obvious she didnt want to go! and it wast like she was being drunk and stupid. she hadnt had a drink while i was with her anyway i.e. most of the night.

anyway, rant over(ish), my question is: Do girls get overly and aggressively jealous when they're not getting much attention (cause none of my male friends were really paying much attention to any of her friends. except 1, but she was sooo stuck-up.)

Now im not a stupid guy (insert jokes over here), i know that to get the girl you've got to get with her friends too, so i was all for dancing and joking and chatting them up too, with my main focus on aishling of course, but they were so dissinterested that they were having none of it! and its not like im an ugly guy or something trivial or shallow or anything. and i get comments on my dancing ability alot, but nothing i could do was working.
    It was so annoying. fair play if you get to know me and not like me, but to judge me for no reason and ignore me and stuff just isnt right, expecially if youve only known me for 5 min.

im sorry to rant so much but i was really into this girl. she was pretty and intellegent and relaxed and funny and laid back, and not the type you come across in places like that easily, and i didnt even get her number cause her friends pulled her down the stage away from me at the speed of light. i wasnt even being sleazy. she was sitting on the far side of the steps away from me, just chatting away with me. uuuugh i really wanna see her again, but the chances of us bumping into each other again is so rediculously slim..

/end massively long rant

///sorry for bad spelling. will fix when i wake up in the morning, and somewhat more sobre///

Think my ones worse...

On hols last year i was hit with "fat-friend-syndrome" ! i was in bed with a girl and her fat friend came in in a huff(she happened to be the only one not with a fella that night) and said you's 2 better not do anything there im going asleep !! My one start giving her loads of abuse and we had to stop...of course the second she fell asleep we..........;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

before cock blocking became a popular term I used to call them wan's anchors, ya know, always dragging their friends down with them . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

If she allowed herself to be dragged around by her bitchy, jealous, petty mates then she's not worth talking to herself. She sounds like she's not mature enough to be her own women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Girls can be very obsessed about their girls nights out....like its not just something they say but they mean. I dated a girl for a while...one night she told me she was having a girls night out in her local place which was fine...i headed into city centre...anyway she and her friends changed their mind and came into town and by some weird coincidence we bumped into each other in the same bar. She didn't look happy to see me (even though she'd been texting me all week and she knew there was no way I could have known she was there so she knew i wasn't following her or anything...in fact i'd been there all night and she just arrived).

Anyway, I was talking to her friends for a while having the craic and although she was talking to me she clearly wasn't herself. Anyway I could tell she didn't want me to be there so I told her I had already agreed to go with the lads somewhere else (which was true) and went.

She text me later saying that her friends had agreed on a girls night out, no boys allowed and that the girls were reminding her of this after they seen me. WTF?P Its like something a bunch of 10-year olds would say!! I was surprised because I was laughing and joking with them so I thought it was just her.

Anyway, we still met loads of times after and dated for a while so it wasn't like she didn't want to be with me. But a girls night out means a girls night out apparently. I dunno, women behave in ways guys just don't understand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Ok.

Yes I would have had a total knicker-fit if this happened to me. She was far nicer than I would have been about it. "I'm staying bye" would have been "Get the fcuk out of my face, I'm warning you". I'm not talking about getting into a physical fight or anything, but they would have got the message pretty fast. Tbh, I wouldn't have friends like that anyway. Annoying little bitches.

See this is the part I don't get, if a friend of mine was messing about a bit and shouldn't have been, and insisted on going back over.. I would have taken the responsibility of saying to the guy "Look I'm not being pissy about this, but she has a boyf". She might be angry with me for saying it at the time, but probably glad I intervened later (hopefully!).

Oh you menz :pac:

are you the new aguny aunt ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

Girls can be very obsessed about their girls nights out....like its not just something they say but they mean. I dated a girl for a while...one night she told me she was having a girls night out in her local place which was fine...i headed into city centre...anyway she and her friends changed their mind and came into town and by some weird coincidence we bumped into each other in the same bar. She didn't look happy to see me (even though she'd been texting me all week and she knew there was no way I could have known she was there so she knew i wasn't following her or anything...in fact i'd been there all night and she just arrived).

Anyway, I was talking to her friends for a while having the craic and although she was talking to me she clearly wasn't herself. Anyway I could tell she didn't want me to be there so I told her I had already agreed to go with the lads somewhere else (which was true) and went.

She text me later saying that her friends had agreed on a girls night out, no boys allowed and that the girls were reminding her of this after they seen me. WTF?P Its like something a bunch of 10-year olds would say!! I was surprised because I was laughing and joking with them so I thought it was just her.

Anyway, we still met loads of times after and dated for a while so it wasn't like she didn't want to be with me. But a girls night out means a girls night out apparently. I dunno, women behave in ways guys just don't understand.

Should have dumped her. Sounds like a child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Ok.

That's what I think too...the friends in the OP sound much more like jealous cows than helpful friends!

I just don't "get" girls like that, to be honest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭goldenbrown

observed james joyce many years ago.... is 'envy'... continues to be the number one destructive negative force in this society........:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭goldenbrown

like rust it never sleeps and is everywhere:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,370 ✭✭✭✭walshb

/end massively long rant

Fully understand that and yes, the girls are just plain pissed and jealous and because maybe they haven't a guy to hang to, they don't want their friend to be 'scoring.'
    It pisses me off and you feel like freaking knocking the friends out. I don't know why the girl(s) can't be plain forceful and tell the pests to fu*%^ off.

Can you imagine guys trying to scupper their mates plan to score?
    They would end up killing to get their rocks off, but girls seem
    to allow their friends to drag them away from a 'score.':rolleyes:

BTW, I can understand a girl looking out for her friend and making
    sure she is safe, but the incessant dragging away from a completely
    jovial and friendly situation is pure spite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Mackleton wrote: »
    From a female perspective, it sounds like this girl has a bf somewhere and her friends were preventing her from doing something with you that she would later regret. That seems like the only rational reason behind the friends behaviour.

We're talking about women here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Any chance that she and her friends may have been on coke or pills? What you describe sounds to me as if they all may have been high. The more I think about it, the more that sounds most likely.