Racism in Norm Iron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Yes they were Romanians and yes they are of the Roma ethnic grouping.

I don't condone the violence against them but it is easy to see why they're disliked.

lol @ all the high horse brigade condemning Belfast scumbags for this racist violence. If I had a quid for every time I'd seen a Roma bashing thread I'd be a wealthy man now.

Now some facts;

FACT 1 - Scumbags are scumbags. Some live in Belfast, some in Dublin, some in Liverpool etc etc. This is not a "Northern Ireland" thing.

FACT 2 - Violence in this context cannot be accepted at all. Whatever issue one might have with adults who have the power to make their own decisions, small children caught up in the middle of this are blameless and as such the violence is reprehensible.

FACT 3 - People of the Roma tradition bring a lot of problems onto themselves. They must know that in our culture begging is frowned upon, especially proactive begging. So why do they continue to harrass people? Why can I not go for a smoke outside my favourite nightclub on a Saturday night without being constantly harangued, continually asked if I want to buy a b@starding rose. Why should people be harrassed at cash machines? Why do they get involved in petty crime? Why can't they learn to speak more English, have a shower and get a job stacking shelves in Tesco or hanging up clothes in Dunnes? They would then integrate much more effectively into our society but they choose not to do this. I'd love someone who knows more about Roma tradition to give me an answer to these questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Jigsaw wrote: »
    FACT 1 - Scumbags are scumbags. Some live in Belfast, some in Dublin, some in Liverpool etc etc. This is not a "Northern Ireland" thing.
    Indeed. It's a Norm Iron thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

FACT 3 - People of the Roma tradition bring a lot of problems onto themselves.

Whatever they do does not warrant anyone to start attacking women and children.

I never give money to them and I don't think I've ever been harassed by one lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

If it's not a Northern Ireland thing how come, when Poland played a World Cup Qualifier there a few months ago, was there riots and Polish people attacked, when nothing happened when they played in Dublin last year??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

Whatever they do does not warrant anyone to start attacking women and children.

I never give money to them and I don't think I've ever been harassed by one lol
    Well it's usually the women and children who do the thieving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 conormob

Romainians in my opinion are the lowest of all the groups that were ever let just walk into this country is it any wonder we are in a bad economic stage and a big reason for this is that the government isn't lookin after number 1 there own people, instead they give thousands of houses to these romainians then they pay there bills for them as well as given them all welfare money while these are the people who are stealing,begging,cheating in ireland and they just get away with it all its a disgrace fair enough if they want to live here let them come but don't give them a penny and if they don't like it ship them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

This thread's not long for this world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

javaboy wrote: »
    This thread's not long for this world.

I vote we deport it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

conormob wrote: »
    Romainians in my opinion are the lowest of all the groups that were ever let just walk into this country is it any wonder we are in a bad economic stage and a big reason for this is that the government isn't lookin after number 1 there own people, instead they give thousands of houses to these romainians then they pay there bills for them as well as given them all welfare money while these are the people who are stealing,begging,cheating in ireland and they just get away with it all its a disgrace fair enough if they want to live here let them come but don't give them a penny and if they don't like it ship them out.

For the nth time, Roma does not equal Romanians.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Morlar wrote: »
    I vote we deport it.

Let's go to the Poles.

I voted yes for the sake of the little children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Let's go to the Poles.

Will you Czech the votes?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    Will you Czech the votes?

Praha-ha

How the hell dit a thread about Ni Bigots become an anti-roma rant, rhetorical question as it clearly shows that there are bigots everywhere.

Please kill this thread!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

How the hell dit a thread about Ni Bigots become an anti-roma rant, rhetorical question as it clearly shows that there are bigots everywhere.

Please kill this thread!

You cannot kill that which cannot die my man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 ivelostthewill

northern loyalists are the most bigotted people on the face of this earth. remember or prez described some of them as nazi's. she was'nt far off the mark imho.

remember or prez described some of them as nazi's. she was'nt far off the mark imho.

She didn't describe them as Nazis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

FACT 3 - People of the Roma tradition bring a lot of problems onto themselves. They must know that in our culture begging is frowned upon, especially proactive begging. So why do they continue to harrass people? Why can I not go for a smoke outside my favourite nightclub on a Saturday night without being constantly harangued, continually asked if I want to buy a b@starding rose. Why should people be harrassed at cash machines? Why do they get involved in petty crime? Why can't they learn to speak more English, have a shower and get a job stacking shelves in Tesco or hanging up clothes in Dunnes? They would then integrate much more effectively into our society but they choose not to do this. I'd love someone who knows more about Roma tradition to give me an answer to these questions.

It was only a matter of time before the crap the Roma pull landed them in major grief. They were a pain in the ass to deal with in Dublin's city centre and it sounds to me they just picked the worst part of the country to pull there **** in. To bad, very sad and nevermind :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Yes they were Romanians and yes they are of the Roma ethnic grouping.

Phew. That explains it.

The lads thought they were one of them 'Roman' lot.

stovelid wrote: »
    Phew. That explains it.

The lads thought they were one of them 'Roman' lot.

Infamy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭McArmalite

What is it with people up there; after decades of hating each other, they now have turned on immigrants!

Can't they live in peace with anyone!!!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/8104287.stm

" Can't they live in peace with anyone!!! " They in fact are british loyalists attacking the Romas *. But it’s nothing new mobs of british bigots attacking and looting homes down in the northeast, here is an account from a Dail debate 6 August, 1920 by TD Sean McEntee (Monaghan) tells the plight of nationalists at the time -

We assume that you have read the press reports of the pogrom which started on July 21st with the violent expulsion from work of well over 5,000 people; of the murders wrecking, looting and wholesale eviction of families. The situation for expelled workers grows worse daily, and all signs go to show that the persecution is to be continued with unabated vigour. No one, not being in Belfast can have any adequate idea of what our people are suffering now and must continue to suffer. "

http://historical-debates.oireachtas...008060056.html

It should also be noted, that was in the ' good old days ' when these british mobs could enjoy the open support of the british army and RIC in their attacks on nationalists. Mind you, the ' mainland ' has had it's share of attacks on immigrants, Brixton and Toxeth in Liverpool in the 80's, Notting Hill in the 1950's etc and are certainly not in a position to be pointing fingers at anyone :rolleyes:.

* " Loyalist paramilitaries are believed to be behind a significant proportion of the reported incidents, which have doubled in the past two years. " http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2006/may/30/race.northernireland

McArmalite wrote: »
    " Can't they live in peace with anyone!!! " They in fact are british loyalists attacking the Romas *. But it’s nothing new mobs of british bigots attacking and looting homes down in the northeast, here is an account from a Dail debate 6 August, 1920 by TD Sean McEntee (Monaghan) tells the plight of nationalists at the time -

And then there's ultra republicanism, not a shot in the hole away from the bigotry mentioned before tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

@McArmalite. Why have you omitted The Falklands out of your sig?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

McArmalite: What about the Jews in Limerick in the 1930's? Can't Irishmen be just as bad as Englishmen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭PeterLT

You can see how they where living in Romania...

http://wazoo.ru/news_3535_Ruminskie_cigane.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

What is it with people up there; after decades of hating each other, they now have turned on immigrants!

Can't they live in peace with anyone!!!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/8104287.stm

back to romania with them... problem solved

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

130 odd roma concentrated in one area?
    Its sounds to me like residents were on the thick end of an orgy of criminal and antisocial behaviour and banded to get them out.

People are all in favour of evicting scumbag families as long as they're not foreign,then they can do what the hell they like.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

PeterLT wrote: »
    You can see how they where living in Romania...

http://wazoo.ru/news_3535_Ruminskie_cigane.html

http://www.plural-magazine.com/article_the_gypsies.html
    Read the bit about Gypsey Palaces..

McArmalite wrote: »
    " Can't they live in peace with anyone!!! " They in fact are british loyalists attacking the Romas *.
    Would you be as critical if they were republicans or do you only criticize bigotory from Loylists?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭PeterLT

I know a story that happened somewhere in Lucan to a Lithuanian family. After a night out they were coming back home. There were a conflict near their house with few local teenagers and as I know man slapped one.

After few minutes about 20 of them armed with golf clubs smashed houses windows and doors. They fled when gardai arrived. Guards advice for them was - move your home, we can do nothing about it, so they did.

In this case it's nothing to do with racism, but we don't know what the exact story is with Northen Romanians, maybe the reason isn't their nationality?