im sickened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

How is that his fault?

You're missing the point OP. If he really wanted to fight for Ireland, he wouldn't be going over to Britain to fight for them. If he was really bothered by the fact that the Irish Army aren't recruiting, he wouldn't be going to Britain.
    And furthermore, you seem to be the one with the problem, not him. It doesn't sound like he wants to be a patriot for Ireland, it sounds like he wants a job in the Defence Forces. Which is perfectly acceptable.
    maybe i dident explain myself properly,he wants to be in irish army but cant(not recuting for 4 years).I wish him the best of luck.......why you trying to be a smart arse CA??

BostonB wrote: »
    You make no sense. People emigrate. Nothing new there.

We're not fighting anyone. So if you want that experience, you won't get it here anyway. Nothing new about that either. We've been fighting for other people all down through history.
    wtf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Captain-America

I wasn't, I just misunderstood your position on it. No smart arsery intended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,053 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

cruiser178 wrote: »
    wtf

Thats helpful isn't it.

Do you think they should have unlimited numbers or something or that people have a right to a job? Regardless of the cost?

Thats helpful isn't it.

Do you think they should have unlimited numbers or something or that people have a right to a job? Regardless of the cost?
    you've got a lot of voices in your head dont you,read everything ive said again...d.a

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

maybe i dident explain myself properly,he wants to be in irish army but cant(not recuting for 4 years).I wish him the best of luck.......why you trying to be a smart arse CA??

No, it's not 4 years the Recruitment embargo is the same one that is on the entire public sector, schedualed to last until the end of 2010. That's not 4 years is it.

No matter what he does, it's his choice. Noone will force him to go to the British Army. The way I see it, if he wants to do it then more power to him and I wish him the very best.

I just fail to see why the OP is so angry about his friend's choice. The fact of the matter is, if the Irish Army was so important to him, he wouldn't be joining the British Army.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

im sickened.My mate has just told me he is joining the british armynot because he whants to fight for the brits,but because the irish army are not recruting for another 4 years.this man would love to fight for his own.
    Hate to break this to you but he's not going to have much chance to fight for his own since we are a neutral country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭c-note

i say fair play to the lad...
    friend of mine from college joined the RAF simply because he didnt see the point joining the irish air force. Some people shunned him for this decision.

i understand theres historical sensitivities as to why joining the british army may still be a shock/taboo thing to do. but i'm an optimist and think that in time thoose days will pass, and it will be a better world for everyone when they do.

as far as the cannon fodder argument goes, i cant say, as i dont know how the army operates. but i'm sure he's considered this, and i have admiration for anyone who is proactive in persuing a career in tough times. it's arguably more patriotic than joining the dole queues over here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,053 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

you've got a lot of voices in your head dont you,read everything ive said again...d.a

If you've said something that answers my questions, quote it. Otherwise its just babble.

No, it's not 4 years the Recruitment embargo is the same one that is on the entire public sector, schedualed to last until the end of 2010. That's not 4 years is it.

No matter what he does, it's his choice. Noone will force him to go to the British Army. The way I see it, if he wants to do it then more power to him and I wish him the very best.
    if you were 22 and wanted to join the irish army,you would be told come back in 4 years....got few mates in the army

If you've said something that answers my questions, quote it. Otherwise its just babble.
    read again ....d**b a**

Maybe keep it constructive and try and explain your point a bit further.

if you were 22 and wanted to join the irish army,you would be told come back in 4 years....got few mates in the army

Are you reading my Damn Posts? It's NOT 4 YEARS!!!! It's a year and a half now. So stop relying on the 4 years excuse for him not going.

Maybe he would have gone anyway even if the Irish Army were recruiting. But the fact of the matter is they are not.

You mate made a decision by himself and I hope he goes through with it and has a fantastic career, even if just to spite you.

Also, please start using Capitals, your posts offend my eyes.

yes it is 4 years for new recuite,check it out

No, it's until the end of 2010. Check it out.
    http://www.finance.gov.ie/documents/public%20expenditure/2009/stanletter.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I dont see a problem with granted you could be getting shot at but.. thats the risk you take...
    I wouldnt join the army id go for the raf...

I dont see a problem with granted you could be getting shot at but.. thats the risk you take...
    I wouldnt join the army id go for the raf...

Likelyness of becoming Pilot - 0

Likelyness of you craftily telling the ladies you are a fighter Pilot - Uncalculable.:D

Irish people can't join the RAF as Pilots. However the RAF Regt. are top class.

Are you reading my Damn Posts? It's NOT 4 YEARS!!!! It's a year and a half now. So stop relying on the 4 years excuse for him not going.

Maybe he would have gone anyway even if the Irish Army were recruiting. But the fact of the matter is they are not.

You mate made a decision by himself and I hope he goes through with it and has a fantastic career, even if just to spite you.

Also, please start using Capitals, your posts offend my eyes.
    its not year and half,its 4 years why you think my mate is f***ing off to england.In 4 years time he will be over 25 too old to join,and by the way f.y.e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭RadioGaGa

Fair play to him. I wonder if recruit training is anything like Full Metal Jacket ;)

its not year and half,its 4 years why you think my mate is f***ing off to england.In 4 years time he will be over 25 too old to join,and by the way f.y.e

YOu are ignorant of alot.

It is 1.5 years simple as. I already posted a link stating that. Straight from the Dept of Finance. It IS 1.5 years that's undisputable. It is in Point 2 on the document.

Also, the upper age limit for joining is 25, but there have been exceptions to that.

Your mate is not going because the Irish Army aren't recruiting, he is going because he wants to be in the Military.

There is no possible way for you to dispute this.

Likelyness of becoming Pilot - 0

Likelyness of you craftily telling the ladies you are a fighter Pilot - Uncalculable.:D

Irish people can't join the RAF as Pilots. However the RAF Regt. are top class.

I was thinking of doing photography like my old man :) my dads watched a tornado pull vertical a tree top level :cool:

tho id like to do this job http://www.raf.mod.uk/careers/jobs/aerialerector.cfm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

im sickened.My mate has just told me he is joining the british armynot because he whants to fight for the brits,but because the irish army are not recruting for another 4 years.this man would love to fight for his own.Hes only 22 and an amazing talent when it comes to irish tradidional music(he plays 14 different instruments,self taught)im a lot older then him and i think its terrible that this is what the young people of this country think they have to do to earn money.This is just my rant,what you lot think??

I think armies are a waste of money

I was thinking of doing photography like my old man :) my dads watched a tornado pull vertical a tree top level :cool:

tho id like to do this job http://www.raf.mod.uk/careers/jobs/aerialerector.cfm

Sounds cool!!! I say go for it if you have nothing better going for you!!! And TBH in this Economy, it's unlikely you have much better going for you!!!

YOu are ignorant of alot.

It is 1.5 years simple as. I already posted a link stating that. Straight from the Dept of Finance. It IS 1.5 years that's undisputable. It is in Point 2 on the document.

Also, the upper age limit for joining is 25, but there have been exceptions to that.

Your mate is not going because the Irish Army aren't recruiting, he is going because he wants to be in the Military.

There is no possible way for you to dispute this.
    1.5 years,load of toss,no matter what you try to link,try going for it,differant story,again read what i said,i wish him the best of luck,my point is,why such an irish talent should be on front lines for another country,because the irish army are not recruiting for 4 YEARS

What you say is Bullshit. You are quite obviously either intoxicated or extremely stupid.

I linked the letter from the Dept. Of Finance Declaring FACTS, but you keep repeating the same bull.

How is he such a talent? because he plays a few instruments? So Do I! Does that make me a talent.

You sir are an eejit. Your Friend going to the British Army is not just because the Irish army aren't recruiting. It's because he wants to!

And who told you that the Irish Army wasn't recruiting? Was it your friend? I think he may have lied to you so you couldn't say just wait a year and a half.

What I state is fact. You are stating pure Bologne.

What you say is Bullshit. You are quite obviously either intoxicated or extremely stupid.

I linked the letter from the Dept. Of Finance Declaring FACTS, but you keep repeating the same bull.

How is he such a talent? because he plays a few instruments? So Do I! Does that make me a talent.

You sir are an eejit. Your Friend going to the British Army is not just because the Irish army aren't recruiting. It's because he wants to!

And who told you that the Irish Army wasn't recruiting? Was it your friend? I think he may have lied to you so you couldn't say just wait a year and a half.

What I state is fact. You are stating pure Bologne.
    so you linked a letter from the dept. of finance. So that must be true,what an eejit i am. D.A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭.Bob

that link posted does state that there will be no recruiting until 2010, but thats just the minimum, the dept of defence wont recruit for a good while after that, and even so they will take preferance to people in the reserves. and the irish army is over crowded as it is..

btw im not sure if that link is even valid towards the military, as the reserve defence forces have actually started recruiting again.

also see here: http://military.ie/careers/index.htm they say they dont even know when they will actually start recruiting

so you linked a letter from the dept. of finance. So that must be true,what an eejit i am. D.A.

Yes, it must. It is a fact that there is a Ban on recruitment and promotion across the entire public sector.

It is a fact that this includes the Defence Forces.

It is a fact that the current ban will end at the end of 2010.

If the ban is continued after that then that's just the way it is, but it is so unlikely that it will be that to even present the idea of a 4 year ban is one of the stupidest things I have heard in a long time.

You have no facts, please go find something to back up your claim. And you heard it from a friend in the Army is no good. I hear alot of rumours from the Army side of things and this is one I haven't.

Sounds cool!!! I say go for it if you have nothing better going for you!!! And TBH in this Economy, it's unlikely you have much better going for you!!!

Id love to tho im waiting to see if fas will send me on a similar course...
    It does sound good but its the big question do I want to be in a military establishment do i want the life that goes with it.... :eek: