Have you ever stolen anything from a pub/nightclub?

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Magic.Marker

The only thing I've stolen from a pub is glasses shaped like penises from a nightclub in Tenerife a few years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Apart from the usual glasses and mats that everyone takes my stranger prizes from nightclubs include a stapler, a measuring tape, a silver dish and a menu. I got caught trying to take the menu though which amused and bemused the bouncer. It was in Spain and he was trying to ask me in english why I had done it, was funny at the time. Other things which I have seen others take are: road signs and then get caught at the airport with them (cue bollocking from the police!), A JCB (just for a spin) fire extinguishers, hand dryers, fittings for smoke machines (when asked why, he said although he wouldn't have any use for it but the night club would miss it!), A tap from the bar (literally wrenched off), a man size corona cardboard cut out (they walked out in front of me and I got searched for trying to steal plastic glasses!)

Nothing is safe in a night club, even if it is nailed down... and most drunks seem to think everything is fair game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭charmer

Things that have made it home with me:

Half of our xmas tree decorations have come from different pubs/clubs over the years
    A joint effort between myself and my siblings :pac:

A cod & chips sign from my local supermacs

Various glasses

A Dunnes shopping basket

Handbags full of flowers/shrubbery from smoking areas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

Got myself a nice cocktail shaker, It's nearly full of change now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

A friend of mine (who does this ridiculous stupid stuff all the time) stole a fire extinguisher from a nightclub in town once. We were all standing around outside waiting for people to catch up so we could go get food/taxis, and he stupidly stood there with it half hidden under his jacket. Few seconds later I spot two guards walking towards us over his shoulder. I manage to warn him under my breathe but it was too late, they had seen him leaving with it. Cue ten minutes of the guards and bouncers giving him a right tear down in front of everyone. He pretended it was just a prank rather than actual theft (he was gonna give it back :/) Eventually the manager comes out and tells him he's not gonna press charges so get the fukc away from his pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

I still don't get why people would steal most of these things. What are you going to do with a menu? One guy I knew did things like that in bars and then started stealing or breaking things in people's houses he knew so be warned if you know somebody like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭iHeartRyanAdams

its not stealing if its lying outside right?
    a watch
    a ring
    an earring(which is now a brooch)

i took a massive plastic green leaf from a venue i was playing the other night!
    most of my glasses in my flat are from nightclubs or pubs we borrowed them from!
    one of my housemates has 6 stolen martini glasses! impressive much!
    posters
    a tea cup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

ive got a sprite glass that has " i stole this glass from the pub" written on it!!!
    also have a really cool martini glass from tgi fridays and a couple of those frosted smirnoff ice glasses.

and threequaters of my username.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Irjudge1

Yes.

Weights off a set of curtains in a Nightclub 500m from the Border. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

toiletduck wrote:
    Anyone who takes whiskey, brandy or (proper) wine glasses from a pub is a scumbag imo.

Wtf!?:confused:

These (speaking from my own experience) are the most likely glasses to be stolen. I've seen, well indirectly or else you'd be on it, massive amounts taken in nights to the point where you'd be down to practically none. Queue much bitching and whining from people (rightly) giving out about getting a brandy or whatever in a half pint glass. All the while some "character"has one stuffed in a handbag and thinks it's oh so funny (and would probably be the first to complain in the above situation).

Do these same people steal plates and cutlery from restaurants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 mushypeas30

I've only ever manged glasses, ash trays, posters and a toilet roll when i was a student, but the best thing I've seen taken was a bar stool by a girl i knew i college. She managed to get it home in a taxi and everything.

When i was on a weekend away with my class in college in Dingle, we woke up in a rented house in the morning with a mountain bike in the hall. To this day i don't know who stole it to save on taxi fair home. Needless to say,we didn't go back to Dingle after that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭D-A-V-E

i personally havent taken anything but a few years back myself and a load of my friends got absolutely langers when we were camping..woke up with a stool in the boot of the car, 3 local election posters and a men at work sign! nobody knows how they got there!

i remember also not so long ago i was in a really busy pub in Limerick and the lights went off for about half a minute and in that time apparently someone had ripped the cistern out of the wall for the piss wall..water everywhere! you can imagine the hilarity of the situation when all you hear from the jacks in the pitch dark is a massive crash!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Stole a barman once.

We made him live in a cupboard under the stairs and serve us drinks at parties for months afterwards.

He was ginger and we called him Dennis. We loved him very much.

One day we let him out in the back garden for a run. He was excited, hopping all over the place, having a great time of it until he got his foot tangled in the hose and fell, snapping his ankle bone.

Well, as you all know, a barman with a broken foot is no good so there was nothing for it except a tear-filled trip to the Vet's office and nighty-night for Dennis.

We still remember him fondly and even named a drink in his honour - whiskey and red or 'A Denny' as we now call it.

*sniff*

Godspeed you ginger emperor!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Dumbledore

Not much from clubs and pubs, though one time in The Hague we noticed that spirits were kept very high up(it was an oval shaped bar with only 2 staff and the place was packed) So we got my hottest, tallest friend and told her to ask could she dance on the bar( the enamoured barman promptly agreed) and got her to pass us down a couple of spirit bottles!:p

We went on a rampage on our school graduation night the other week, election posters were the primary target. Surprised anyone on Booterstown avenue knew the names of their local candidates.

My friends brother is the master of this though, multiple road signs and I sh1t you not a bus stop! The tall skinny blue one's there is actually one in his room!

p.s. Anyone steal the ads from the DART? Tts like taking candy from a baby and some of them are class! Few nice Jack Daniel's and Budweiser ones on my wall!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭Greyfox

I remember walking out of the Trinity Arch (Now Citibar) with a pint glass of Smirnoff Ice...bouncer followed me out afterwards to take it back...I purposely went back 2 weeks later to get another one...which I then broke 2 days later : (

A few weeks ago I was just coming out of Dicey Rileys and just befor you get to the door theirs usually unfinished bottles of wine etc on the tables...straight into my inside jacket pocket, happy days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Dumbledore wrote: »
    Not much from clubs and pubs, though one time in The Hague we noticed that spirits were kept very high up(it was an oval shaped bar with only 2 staff and the place was packed) So we got my hottest, tallest friend and told her to ask could she dance on the bar( the enamoured barman promptly agreed) and got her to pass us down a couple of spirit bottles!:p

We went on a rampage on our school graduation night the other week, election posters were the primary target. Surprised anyone on Booterstown avenue knew the names of their local candidates.

My friends brother is the master of this though, multiple road signs and I sh1t you not a bus stop! The tall skinny blue one's there is actually one in his room!

p.s. Anyone steal the ads from the DART? Tts like taking candy from a baby and some of them are class! Few nice Jack Daniel's and Budweiser ones on my wall!

ANyone remeber the Heinz Billboards? massive black billboards with "lets get naked" written on them and three beans in the corner?

Me and one a my buddies robbed one in Cork, they're about 40ft by 20ft, rolled it up like lino and sauntered off down the road:)

Good Times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭irisheddie

Woke up one morning after a serious gargling session to find a huge wooden chef on my bed along with a big pan of spaghetti and cheese sandwiches in it freaked me out apparently i came home and the other ppl in the house thought i had brought "someone " home as i was waffling away in the kitchen:rolleyes: he was nicked from outside a pub in meath,another time i came downstairs to find a big huge set of those mobile traffic lights in the sittingroom with my mate lying there with vomit all over him and no shirt on had to sit down and work that 1 out my mate had no idea how he did it but it was from the same pub mr chef came,he got a fair few free pints outta that 1:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

Some Hennessy branded tealight holders

Mugs from starbucks (anyone else?)

Toilet paper