Have you ever stolen anything from a pub/nightclub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Plenty of pint glasses when I was a student.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

some pint glasses and posters in my college days, what is it with students and posters????:confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I went through a phase of stealing those proper smirnoff ice glasses when I was a bit younger. Wouldn't do it now.

My OH also put a giant beer stein in my handbag once in a bar in Salzburg and then told me to run!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I know a lad who tried to nick a fancy pint glass years back and as he walked past the bouncers, it fell out of his jacket and smashed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

At a bike rally someone swiped two giant bottles of vodka (Upside down label with the measure) from behind an unattended counter at a GAA venue. It was discreetly passed around the hall with everyone taking a swig, the MCC club ended up having to cough up for the damage whenn the empty bottles were found.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 beezer84

Back in my student days in Leeds, me and a mate had had a fair few in a beach club, had a great night and wanted to top it off with something to remember. We put our eyes on a life size cardboard cut out of the hoff, stuffed it down my mates back and trousers and made haste. The Hoff was stood peering out our window guarding our house for our third year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Two friends and I managed to steal the Heineken flag from the top of the flagpole outside our local nightclub one night. I honestly don't know how we did it, it involved standing on shoulders and lots of shimmying. It must have taken about 10 minutes but the bouncers didn't cop on. Unfortunately they caught us on CCTV and my friend got a call the next day....return the flag or get barred :D

I've stolen posters from the bathrooms that I have found amusing, such as the contraception ones. Also robbed rolls of toilet papers on a few occasions when going back to house parties....I felt like I should bring a gift!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭life_is_music

Ah being a student I'm still obsessed with stealing from pubs/clubs!

This year I managed to take over 100 posters.... My room looked cool!

Also on the list:
    2 (small) bar stools
    2 framed no smoking signs
    2 signs which I had to screw off the wall :P
    1 pint (I always get caught!)
    Numerous shot glasses and pint glasses
    1 rubber drip mat
    Cardboard Coors light signs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

No, because thieves make baby Jebus cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Sooooooooo many things.
    A barman took my wallet before, i still dont know why to this day.
    Jokes on him though, there was only about a fiver in it and nothing else.

It was in a hotel i was staying it, so i snook back in(easy to get behind the bar, even with the shutters down, stupid design flaw) and got my money back... and then some.:rolleyes:

Not usually the kind of thing i'd do, but the guy was a prick.

I've also taken endless amounts of signs, cushions, glasses... Few cans of redbull, bottles of this and that.
    I only do it when i don't like the staff, to me that makes it alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Chunkylover

took an ashtray once, used it to pay the taxi driver for the trip home cause I had no cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

CianRyan wrote: »

It was in a hotel i was staying it, so i snook back in(easy to get behind the bar, even with the shutters down, stupid design flaw) and got my money back... and then some.:rolleyes:

Not usually the kind of thing i'd do, but the guy was a prick.

I've also taken endless amounts of signs, cushions, glasses... Few cans of redbull, bottles of this and that.

You stole money from a bar. That's the owner's money, not the guy that took your wallet.

The staff don't pay for stolen cushions and glasses. Why would they care? The owner does. Call a spade a spade; you steal because it suits your own purposes. I'm sure you'd look down on a "scumbag" who shoplifts. But when the shoe is on the other foot you say "the barman was an ass." That doesn't justify your actions. I'm not calling you a scumbag but stealing money from a bar is a lowlife thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭poisonated

I dont think there is really a problem stealing pint glasses from the pub as they get them for free.I live beside a pub and have a couple(usualy from finishing off the pints at home...We generally bring them back after a while though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Students here in Waterford have to some of the most ****ed-up people anywhere. A guy was in where I work one night, pulled a toilet seat off the toilet and proceeded to dance around the club with around his neck. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

Went back to some birds gaff on tour down in Killkenny, the next morning when i was leavin i looked everywhere for my classy €25 coat, when i asked her where my coat was she pointed at the Calvin Klein Jacket worth about €200 on the floor saying thats the one i came back in. I didnt really steal it, i dont remember pickin it up in the 1st place, thats not stealing is it???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

poisonated wrote: »
    I dont think there is really a problem stealing pint glasses from the pub as they get them for free.I live beside a pub and have a couple(usualy from finishing off the pints at home...We generally bring them back after a while though

Guinness glasses aren't free. Neither are unbranded pint glasses. The rest are fair game as far as I'm concerned though. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

I stole one of those velvet ropes pubs/clubs use to cordon off areas, I wore it out past the bouncer like a belt.

I had a friend who stold a lit cadle before, put it in his jean front pocket. His shirt nearly caught fire.

You stole money from a bar. That's the owner's money, not the guy that took your wallet.

The staff don't pay for stolen cushions and glasses. Why would they care? The owner does. Call a spade a spade; you steal because it suits your own purposes. I'm sure you'd look down on a "scumbag" who shoplifts. But when the shoe is on the other foot you say "the barman was an ass." That doesn't justify your actions. I'm not calling you a scumbag but stealing money from a bar is a lowlife thing to do.

The :rolleyes: says it all man. I took my money back and found my wallet and got that too. The money was taken out of the wallet and that's why i took that.

I doubt the bar would miss the cushion, raggedy oul torn yoke.
    I'm not saying what i did was right, i know it was wrong, and i'm passed doing stuff like that now.
    Stupid kid stuff, ya know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Hedone

lots of shot glasses (my mate has them now tho), small bulmers glass, beermats & a white pool ball (i only found it the next mornin in my handbag & was wonderin how it got there, found out weeks later one of my friends had slip it in there for a laugh :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

I'm not saying what i did was right, i know it was wrong,

Yes you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,873 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

Believe it or not, When I was a teenager I was with a group who stole a smoke machine :D It was so cool in my shed, till it ran out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

toiletduck wrote: »
    Anyone who takes whiskey, brandy or (proper) wine glasses from a pub is a scumbag imo.
    Wtf!?:confused:

Yes you are.

Tongue in cheek man, the whole thing.
    More of these guys wouldn't have went astray.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

big b wrote: »
    No, because thieves make baby Jebus cry.
    But aren't pubs and nightclubs dens of iniquity? I dont think baby jebus would be too bothered. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Maddison

Depends on how drunk I am really.....if I get a pretty cocktail glass I may try smuggle it out in my bag....when I get home though Its no longer a glass but a reminder that stealing is wrong when i reach into said bag:o

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,371 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

I've got a pretty nice Erdinger glass, and a shot glass, ...and some clothes. I've a friend who has come home with road signs and election posters amongst other things.ah thievery, it's so justifiable while drunk.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,081 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

quirkster wrote: »
    Many many many many shot glasses

This! it got a drawer full of the things at this stage! Every time i do a shot i feel compelled to take the shot glass, cos a shot glass will always come in handy! By the time i get home and am emptying my pockets im thinking "not another f*cking shotglass!!":rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭dossier

Me and my mates took a big bottle of vodka, bottle of jaeger and bottle of peach schnaps(wtf?) from an upstairs bar in a nightclub left completely unattended. Very pikey, I know.

My brother stole an ambulance after the club some other night, he still hasn't lived it down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

dossier wrote: »

My brother stole an ambulance after the club some other night, he still hasn't lived it down

Please please elaborate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭dossier

He was taking a shortcut through the hospital on his way home and there it was, keys in the ignition. He was very locked so only drove around the car park a bit. When the guards arrived he was still trying to figure out how to open the barrier. I had to get him out of the cop-shop at 5am.