Can people be "serious" on After Hours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

seanybiker wrote: »
    Was fairly crap alright. Had a few good ones before. Me minds gone blank though.

God I finally find myself agreeing with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

stepbar wrote: »
    God I finally find myself agreeing with you.
    Good man yourself

easyeason3 wrote: »
    There is no argument for keeping 'threads like that' off After Hours because there are specific forums provided for serious conversations & thoughts to be held.
    Every forum has a purpose. After Hours, & it's followers, are more than capable of having a serious discussion. But they are also capable of being light hearted & funny. It might not be to your taste but if we all had the same opinion on everything this world would be a very dull place.
    If you don't like it then go to another forum that caters to your needs. Leave AH alone, if it isn't broken then you don't need to fix it.

There is if it might remove the muppets from same. And remove the very same muppets from posting nonsensical sh1te as what was posted in the original thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Wow, you might want to take a look back over all the posts so...... please put me straight.

It's AH and it's a dumb thread, I'll leave it.

Put it this way, all you've left is to Godwin the thread.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

There is if it might remove the muppets from same. And remove the very same muppets from posting nonsensical sh1te as what was posted in the original thread.

And do you not think that the original thread would have been more suitable to Aviation?
    Seriously, what else are you expecting from AH?
    That's like giving out about Tommy Tiernan cursing at his own show or making a few jokes about things we shouldn't laugh about but yet we do.

stepbar you are not a mod. Maybe if you where I might listen to you but your just an ordinary member like the rest of us. This thread isnt going to change after hours at all. Your simply wasting your time.
    Do what everyone else does and report posts instead of starting a thread in the forum ya dont like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

There is a difference between making a joke about a subject and making the subject a joke.

Someone posted "Ben Linus knows where it is". That's not offensive and it's funny if you watch Lost.

Someone posted an image from 4chan with the Air France plane and "404" on it. Now that's funny because 404 is a missing webpage and that very smart person obviously made a connection to the missing plane. That's a joke about the subject.

Someone registered an account "Funny Man" just to have a smart reply to another poster, that was funny even though it was on a serious topic.

The problem is when those jokes start to degrade the subject. I think puns are a good example of this.

A great example of jokes degrading the subject are the Maddie McCain jokes.

I can't stand the obsession with some people on AH trying to be degrade every subject. The forum doesn't need it, AH used to be great and I never noticed this around. You don't need to be offensive to be funny. Go to the LOLocaust with your 4chan obsession.

/half arsed rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

b28 wrote: »
    that and people with potentially jungle like manners and a problem getting on with people
    Wow, 2 thanks for that:eek:

Maybe I'll check that forum. thanks for pointing that out.
    another expert in the field of aerodynamics waiting to give us a nosedive into this entire situation.. maybe you could expand your expertise to the investigators of this crash
    Oh god, that was the substance of your argument <penny drops> :rolleyes:
    well english teacher, try the dictionary for the word sarcasm. i'm a good student, now you know I know what sarcasm means and i can act it!
    Wow, you might want to take a look back over all the posts so...... please put me straight.

You know, these are the kind of posts that wouldn't last a minute in one of the more serious discussion forums. You'd be asked to put up or shut up.

This is the point I'm making.

You are exploiting the same 'elasticity' of AH to spout off your distaste as the others are using to get as close to the edge with their jokes without being banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Went bit off course alright

Ba-Dum-Tish i say.
    The 44th poster to use that line.
    Congrats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Like it or not, this is generally the underlying reason why some stories arouse feelings of remorse in us and others don't.

A quarter of a million people dying in a tsunami in Asia is hard to fathom, in terms of the pain felt by the relatives of victims and the general population of the area. 48 people dying in the Stardust disaster, while on the face of it, seems like a minor tragedy in comparison, has the ability to arouse a much greater deal of sympathy amongst us.

A psychological flaw amongst humans I'd imagine; probably something to do with the fact that our capacity for empathy for other peoples' sufferings evolved in an enviroment wherby everybody knew everybody else.
    My mother died in 1983. I was 7.
    I moved in with her sister and her children. They looked after me.
    Her sister died when I was 12 and most of her children had moved on and had their own families at that stage.
    Oh, poor me. I was all alone.

Everyone has a tragic story and we could mourn all tragic deaths for the remainder of our existence.

Shít happens. Deal with it.
    Get the fúck over your selves and stop pretending to feel sorry for people you would never have known.
    John Smith died in Brighton this week. Where's your sympathy for him?

Oh yeah. It's only worth sympathy if it makes the news.
    John Smith was not newsworthy, so his death goes unrecognised.

I ws never a big fan and Norwegian Wood is probably my favourite song, but this one really sums up the false sentimentality of today's society:
    People have died from falling off horses.

poindexter wrote: »
    so is where everything is fair game then?? i've never really ventured in here, only occasionally popping my head round the corner for a quick peek
    No.
    They were right when they said that if you make an exemption for one group of people you are going to have to do it for another...and then another, and so on until you are at a point where you cannot make fun of anything.
    In your opinion.
    I think people who follow the words of Parker and Stone to the letter are complete idiots.
    As someone who follows their words to the letter, would you feel that I am being harsh on you and would you be insulted if I was to call you a comlete tool for following the words of a couple of cartoon writers?
    As people have said already. If it wasnt Irish people involved it would be a free for all.
    I see things all time that I dont like or agree with, I choose not the whine about it because this is after hours. Ya hardly expect a serious discussion in here.
    We all know there is a serious thread in aviation for the plane crash. Well not serious cos some of them decided that AH is full of tards. Which is also wrong. My mother works with disabled people I think Ill go in and whinge cos someone used the word tard.
    Balls to it. Ill just live my life in the real world on not get annoyed at a computer screen.
    Indeed.
    I look after an autistic chld on a regualr basis.
    In the past I did allow crass comments to get to me, but I don't any more.
    That's not to say that uncalled for comments are allowed in AH.
    I'm just saying that I have let people go without banning them for something that another AH mod would deem bannable.

Who was the very first person to make a joke out of the Air France crash?
    Don't know. Tell me.
    I made a joke about the tv show Lost.
    First of all, remember the killing of the catholic man in norther ireland this week?
    nope.
    how many people here joke about that?
    No idea.
    Or maybe someone killed in a car accident?
    Again, no idea.
    Or a major earthquake?
    Oh wait a catastrophic aviation disaster?
    Again, no idea.

Fair enuf,
    Text speech.
    All credibility lost.
    freedom of speech and all that!
    Not on this site.
    the internets freedom to write comments isn't reality! its people acting who they really are behind computer sceens! freedom of speech of course! but cop on and have some consideration for others, unless you're retarded
    What about retarded people?
    Should they not have a say in their lives?
    my point being, people should try and encourage good civil behaviour online about tragic events as they would at a funeral and keep their jokes to themselves. remember, a family member may google the story and once they read the page you all left comments on, they might feel way worse! think!
    Ahh. I see.
    Northsiders suck. Southsiders rule because we are better than you and stuff.
    Kirnsy wrote: »
    Well would people be interested in :

a) a sub forum of AH for more serious discussion?
    b)a Current affairs forum specifically for serious discussion?

I agree with the people who thought the Air France thread was tainted with a few nasty malicious posts. There have been numerous other 'serious' topics that have faced the same problems.

However

I also agree with Terry in saying that the forum is what the posters have made it. ie There are plenty of posters who find those comments funny (and i have laughed at a few myself).

IMO there is nothing wrong with AH and it is a brilliant forum, but i think there maybe a market for a sub forum or another forum catering for the needs of posters who'd like to discuss some of the same threads without the jokes.

Opinions?! or just tl;dr.....:p
    think soccer forum had the right idea. Can we have a closed after hours forum where we have to ask for permission and read the rules . Make it state that we will not through our dummies outta the pram because we know the forum is for general piss taking. Be handier
    Lets be blunt about this, the only way to "filter" is to set up a forum allowing derogatory comments relating to a tradgic or unsavoury events.
    How about setting up a sadistic jokes catagory!

People would think twice next time when talking about the people who suffered in that. just like teaching a nightmare child good manners lol
    Ruu wrote: »
    You are talking to the scrapings from the bottom of the barrel, After Hours is a place where they can unleash.:)
    i didnt catch that thread, did it take a nose dive?

easyeason3 wrote: »
    And do you not think that the original thread would have been more suitable to Aviation?
    Seriously, what else are you expecting from AH?
    That's like giving out about Tommy Tiernan cursing at his own show or making a few jokes about things we shouldn't laugh about but yet we do.

I don't expect much from AH TBH lets put it that way. As much as people give out about TT, I've never heard him mocking the dead..... Yep, perhaps the original thread would have been more suited to Aviation but on the other hand it wouldn't have been right to limit it to a thread that most posters havent a clue where it is. That been said, I'd hope posters here could discuss the topic without resorting to stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

There is a difference between making a joke about a subject and making the subject a joke.

Someone posted "Ben Linus knows where it is". That's not offensive and it's funny if you watch Lost.

Someone posted an image from 4chan with the Air France plane and "404" on it. Now that's funny because 404 is a missing webpage and that very smart person obviously made a connection to the missing plane. That's a joke about the subject.

Someone registered an account "Funny Man" just to have a smart reply to another poster, that was funny even though it was on a serious topic.

The problem is when those jokes start to degrade the subject. I think puns are a good example of this.

A great example of jokes degrading the subject are the Maddie McCain jokes.

I can't stand the obsession with some people on AH trying to be degrade every subject. The forum doesn't need it, AH used to be great and I never noticed this around. You don't need to be offensive to be funny. Go to the LOLocaust with your 4chan obsession.

/half arsed rant
    Nail. Head. Bang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭b28

stepbar you are not a mod. Maybe if you where I might listen to you but your just an ordinary member like the rest of us. This thread isnt going to change after hours at all. Your simply wasting your time.
    Do what everyone else does and report posts instead of starting a thread in the forum ya dont like.

I'm an ordinary person. Some ordinary people on this have high jobs in every industry with knowledge(knowledge is power not a keyboard(although it helps)).. why shouldn't their opinions influence any change?

some ordinary people are decent members of society with views why shouldn't that count.
    why is a mod special, as far as i know they're ordinary people who done the mod work voluntarily

Ha Ha Terry's post should be thread over. That was brilliant.

Terry wrote: »
    I moved in with her sister and her children. They looked after me.
    Her sister died when I was 12 and most of her children had moved on and had their own families at that stage.

Everyone has a tragic story and we could mourn all tragic deaths for the remainder of our existence.

Shít happens. Deal with it.
    Get the fúck over your selves and stop pretending to feel sorry for people you would never have known.
    John Smith died in Brighton this week. Where's your sympathy for him?

Oh yeah. It's only worth sympathy if it makes the news.
    John Smith was not newsworthy, so his death goes unrecognised.

I ws never a big fan and Norwegian Wood is probably my favourite song, but this one really sums up the false sentimentality of today's society:
    People have died from falling off horses.

No.

In your opinion.
    I think people who follow the words of Parker and Stone to the letter are complete idiots.
    As someone who follows their words to the letter, would you feel that I am being harsh on you and would you be insulted if I was to call you a comlete tool for following the words of a couple of cartoon writers?

Indeed.
    I look after an autistic chld on a regualr basis.
    In the past I did allow crass comments to get to me, but I don't any more.
    That's not to say that uncalled for comments are allowed in AH.
    I'm just saying that I have let people go without banning them for something that another AH mod would deem bannable.

Don't know. Tell me.
    I made a joke about the tv show Lost.

nope.

No idea.

Again, no idea.

Text speech.
    All credibility lost.

Not on this site.

What about retarded people?
    Should they not have a say in their lives?

Ahh. I see.
    Northsiders suck. Southsiders rule because we are better than you and stuff.
    You are right. thats life. but i see no need to joke about the loss of a person in pub let alone an internet forum. its like bitching behind someones back and then being nice to the person they were bitching to their face.

why is a mod special, as far as i know they're ordinary people who done the mod work voluntarily

Mods have to go to mod camp, supposed to be tougher than anything the wimps in guantanamo go through. Then after weeks of torcher beyond belief they do an apptitude test. If they pass that they become mods. hen they can edit and delete things, not like superman here trying to change the world thread by thread.

O holy god, again you miss the point totally. This thread is not about me liking AH or not. I quite like AH BTW. It's idiotic posters who I don't like taking threads down for their own sadistic enjoyment.

And who knows, it "might" change AH. At least I didn't sit back and take it on the chin.

Holy god I might start into a Fianna Fail rant if you're not careful......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

That been said, I'd hope posters here could discuss the topic without resorting to stupidity.

OK, It's AH, there will be stupid and serious posts. Usually after the first couple of pages, the stupid comments die and go to whatever is the next topical thread.

What's your line though? Would jokes about Jade Goody be ok on a thread about her?

Susan Boyle? What's your stance on that?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »

Susan Boyle? What's your stance on that?

ah come on now. Anyone against jokes about her are just wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

You are right. thats life. but i see no need to joke about the loss of a person in pub let alone an internet forum. its like bitching behind someones back and then being nice to the person they were bitching to their face.

If someone in a pub (within your earshot) makes a crass remark that upsets you and you hear others agreeing you could just up and leave so you don't have to listen anymore.
    Or move to seats or an area where you don't have to listen to them.
    You can do the same here.
    Move on to a different thread or a different forum.

If someone in a pub (within your earshot) makes a crass remark that upsets you and you hear others agreeing you could just up and leave so you don't have to listen anymore.
    Or move to seats or an area where you don't have to listen to them.
    You can do the same here.
    Move on to a different thread or a different forum.

Well ya could do that, or ya could just go over and smack the fooker. Obviously with it been the interwebz we cant smack people who say things we dont like so moving to somewhere else is a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

I have no problem having a "light hearted" dicussion. But when it borders on the downright discusting I have a problem. As someone said earlier, there could be family members or other people who knew these people directly looking at this. As 10% of posts on boards are posted through this forum, I don't think its too much to ask for posters to have a bit of cop on regarding sensitive issues like this.

See here's my point. I find it downright disgusting when someone tries to impose their beliefs on me. I live my life to a simple policy, have fun wherever possible and don't take anything too seriously.
    If I die in a humourous fashion I really hope people see the funny side, why the hell would it bother me. I understand that when things are close to home people can get upset and some don't share my beliefs. They really shouldn't though expect me to curb my beliefs completely because they are at a contradiction with theirs. On the other side I would never intentionally go out to hurt someone who had family in this tragedy or any other less publicised.

At the end of the day I really feel for the mods here. Every time a big issue like this comes up two groups of opposing beliefs have at it and people feel disgusted/restricted. Also I do hope that as you started a thread rather than just report posts that you were genuinely willing to listen to those that don't agree with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

I don't expect much from AH TBH lets put it that way. As much as people give out about TT, I've never heard him mocking the dead..... Yep, perhaps the original thread would have been more suited to Aviation but on the other hand it wouldn't have been right to limit it to a thread that most posters havent a clue where it is. That been said, I'd hope posters here could discuss the topic without resorting to stupidity.

There is no perhaps about it, IF the OP of the original thread wanted a better response then it should have been posted in Aviation.
    Posters here are able to discuss topics without resorting to stupidity. At times they choose to be serious. At times they choose to be funny. At times they can be serious & funny.
    And maybe you would have gotten the response you wanted if it was posted in the Aviation forum, just because there is not as many followers, which might mean a delay in people posting comments, it doesn't mean you can try & lay a guilt trip on the rest of us.

We are all human and all different. Some sad loosers joke about this type of thing, the ones that end up in some cases disliked lonely old eejits!
    this argument is a no win from either side, agree to disagree but i stand by my point and value my position on life!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

After Hours is known for being bottom of the barrel,why are you so shocked OP?
    Whilst I prefer not to make light about others misfortunes I also can not abide smug self-righteous zealots,at whom,it is worth noting, much of AH humour is directed.

ShooterSF wrote: »
    See here's my point. I find it downright disgusting when someone tries to impose their beliefs on me. I live my life to a simple policy, have fun wherever possible and don't take anything too seriously.
    If I die in a humourous fashion I really hope people see the funny side, why the hell would it bother me. I understand that when things are close to home people can get upset and some don't share my beliefs. They really shouldn't though expect me to curb my beliefs completely because they are at a contradiction with theirs. On the other side I would never intentionally go out to hurt someone who had family in this tragedy or any other less publicised.

At the end of the day I really feel for the mods here. Every time a big issue like this comes up two groups of opposing beliefs have at it and people feel disgusted/restricted. Also I do hope that as you started a thread rather than just report posts that you were genuinely willing to listen to those that don't agree with you.

+1000

If I die in a humourous way ye fookers better laugh about it. Ill more than likely bust meself on me bike off a wall at hopefully a really really high speed. Yeah I crashed before but obviously I lived to tell the tale. I also know a lot of people who lost their lives on bikes over the years. They where not on boards so I cant take the piss outta them but if I do go like that I would be annoyed if none of ye'z feckers dont take the mickey outta me. Fair enough not everyone is like me in that sense but hey, horses for courses.
    I think everyone knows that nobody on here is happy that people lost their lives. The sad truth is, they lost their lives, I would rather get on with my life than talk about what they dont have achance of, which is a future on this sh1thole we call home.

live_long_and_prosper.jpg:D

ShooterSF wrote: »

So what you are trying to say is thst because you didnt know these people your beliefs change some what to suit the mood?

As I've said before reporting post / ignoring posts mean jack sh1te to me. Holy god, if everyone was to take your attidute we might still have dodgy priests operating under the radar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

That was quite a post Terry. You'd give Wibbsy a run for his money there ;)

I'm going to run with the theme of the thread when I say;
    Terry wrote: »
    I moved in with her sister and her children. They looked after me.Her sister died when I was 12 and most of her children had moved on and had their own families at that stage.
    There is a point where you become too hardened. Regardless of how badly somebody tries to put something behind them it does leave a mark. And by speaking outwardly about it in that way, it gives off the impression that it is 'out of bounds' area, which is a defense mechanism.
    Quite, I've aired a few of my own on AH of all places. But if a question is asked (genuinely) here, I will genuinely answer it.

AH is a mixed bag of genuine debate and bored messers from my take on things. I have moments of both categories. It's probably hard to place for new comers I suppose, as it isn't named 'General / Other discussion'. Whether or which, I do like it here.

the_syco wrote: »

I could have started a joke about something as simple as whatever and there's surely someone who would take offense to it out there somewhere in the cyber world and perhaps a regular user of AH. Depending on their personality type, they either lash back or say nothing!

Define serious?