Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mr. Kennedy Released

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Kennedy suggesting someone in he wwe would lie :eek: Kennedy injured again is quite an easy one to pull off. Strange though did he really just get fired despite them paying him to get injury free then giving him a big comeback on Raw because he botched a move on Orton? maybe this should be the stance taken but people with a lot less potential have done the same or worse and survived.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,714 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

That video is open to interpretation.

I've decided to look at it like this:
    He is miffed and was fired rather than looking for a release.

If his injuries made him dangerous due to lack of ring time maybe WWE decided to say go away and retrain, we can't be bothered paying for you to learn all over again.

He has blown enough storylines and they set him up with another chance for a big role, this time with orton and he blew it...... again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,602 ✭✭✭✭ShawnRaven

Hasn't Orton had his fair share of injuries too?, just out of interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

At first I'd've thought he was doing that to show he wasn't injured and that WWE were full of ****. The look at the end kind of looks like he's being cheeky, whether it's for effect for the video or to say, "Hah, I'm not injured!" is something none of us can know for now.

amacachi wrote: »
    At first I'd've thought he was doing that to show he wasn't injured and that WWE were full of ****. The look at the end kind of looks like he's being cheeky, whether it's for effect for the video or to say, "Hah, I'm not injured!" is something none of us can know for now.

I gotta agree here, it really does look as if to say "Screw you WWE, i found a way out of my clause, and i'm off to work for the competition in six weeks time"

ShawnRaven wrote: »
    Hasn't Orton had his fair share of injuries too?, just out of interest.

Yep.

But at least when he comes back from one he doesn't start dropping people on their Injury prone shoulders.

At first I was miffed when Ken was released. Not anymore.

On Monday he was brought back into things by interacting on screen with Orton. They put Ken over by getting Randy to look worried.

But then they have interaction during a match and Ken does something daft, a bad back drop to the star with bad shoulders. They could have no trust in him at that stage and would have to pull the plug on that storyline.

That left him open to being released considering he blew wrestlemania 24's big storyline with a dodgy drug prescription. Since then he was daft enough to claim steroids should be aloud!

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Yep.

But at least when he comes back from one he doesn't start dropping people on their Injury prone shoulders.

At first I was miffed when Ken was released. Not anymore.

On Monday he was brought back into things by interacting on screen with Orton. They put Ken over by getting Randy to look worried.

But then they have interaction during a match and Ken does something daft, a bad back drop to the star with bad shoulders. They could have no trust in him at that stage and would have to pull the plug on that storyline.

That left him open to being released considering he blew wrestlemania 24's big storyline with a dodgy drug prescription. Since then he was daft enough to claim steroids should be aloud!

For some one who claims to call everything as they see it, your view is very dim, with all due respect.

You're bashing Kennedy about the dodgy drug prescription, defending Orton, hasn't Orton failed wellness a couple of times too?
    You're talking about Kennedy blowing the wrestlemania big story, wasn't Orton supposed to be the one to take Takers streak from him a few years back?
    Orton is almost as injury prone, he has to be handled with kid gloves at the best of times!

It's one thing to not like to guy, fair enough, but at least TRY to be impartial. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Kennedy made one mistake in the ring after being rushed back by WWE management so they wouldn't have to bring Hunter back. That is in no way grounds to be fired especially given the companies history. I think it's a mistake, if Kennedy can stay injury free he'll get his momentum back. he's been by far the closest they've come to making an almost immediate star in the last couple of years

For some one who claims to call everything as they see it, your view is very dim, with all due respect.

You're bashing Kennedy about the dodgy drug prescription, defending Orton, hasn't Orton failed wellness a couple of times too?
    You're talking about Kennedy blowing the wrestlemania big story, wasn't Orton supposed to be the one to take Takers streak from him a few years back?
    Orton is almost as injury prone, he has to be handled with kid gloves at the best of times!

It's one thing to not like to guy, fair enough, but at least TRY to be impartial. :)

I do like Kennedy. In fact I only posted that the other day, I'm sure you read it;)

Calling his decisions daft doesn't change the fact I still like him. Originally I was miffed that he was fired/released. But I have looked at reasons why this may have happened and posted possible reasons as I see them.

I mentioned the drugs in relation to Ken because even after that mistake he was stupid enough to claim drugs should be allowed if a wrestler wants to use them. So many wrestlers families have suffered as a result of a wrestlers drug use but apparently (according to ken) steroids and other drugs only hurt the wrestler himself. That was a pretty thick thing to say while you are off injured and supposed to be promoting WWE.

I said when Orton returns from whatever the latest mistake/injury is, at least he doesn't become a danger to other wrestlers. This was the only comparison I made between the two and the only place I was "defending" Orton.

Ken could have used many moves Monday but poorly executed a move that could Drop the Brands Champion on his previously injured Collar Bone or shoulder. That was Daft. That daft move would abolish any trust WWE could have in him to work with Orton.

If he can't be depended on to work with the top guys, then as i see it, WWE may as well free up a midcard spot for someone else and get Ken off the wage bill.

I mentioned the drugs in relation to Ken because even after that mistake he was stupid enough to claim drugs should be allowed if a wrestler wants to use them. So many wrestlers families have suffered as a result of a wrestlers drug use but apparently (according to ken) steroids and other drugs only hurt the wrestler himself. That was a pretty thick thing to say while you are off injured and supposed to be promoting WWE.

While it was a stupid thing to say in terms of internal politics, it's nice to see one guy come out and say it's not a sport so they should be allowed use steroids. It's an opinion I agree with

I said when Orton returns from whatever the latest mistake/injury is, at least he doesn't become a danger to other wrestlers. This was the only comparison I made between the two and the only place I was "defending" Orton.

Ken could have used many moves Monday but poorly executed a move that could Drop the Brands Champion on his previously injured Collar Bone or shoulder. That was Daft. That daft move would abolish any trust WWE could have in him to work with Orton.

He botched one move. One. And he was clearly not at 100%. As for one botched move destroying trust that anyone could have working with a champion, Hunter stayed on top, Taker as champ was in the ring with kozlov and Khali and mister money in the bank and former champ CM Punk has a finisher that is guaranteed to break at least one guys nose every 3 months

Bubs101 wrote: »
    former champ CM Punk has a finisher that is guaranteed to break at least one guys nose every 3 months

As both Rey Mysterio and Kofi Kingston will attest to...

Knox got nailed, too, didn't he? Or was it Snitzky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭EdK

Wrestling is dangerous by it's nature,a ring rusty wrestler does one loose move and it's a big incident because Orton starts crying I bet he didn't start bitching at Triple H who threw him on his shoulder to begin with

And by the way Orton can't hurt anybody in the ring when he returns after injuries because it's pretty damn hard to hurt anyone doing a headlock or by walking really slowly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

I think this just may be one of the first times WWE's new 'Golden Boy' has flexed his muscles.

Agree 100%. When he got released I thought there were 3 possibilities. Another long term injury, 3rd stike or Orton getting rid of him. Apparently it's not a long term injury and if he did get a 3rd strike the company would probably publicize his punishment. I hope he stays fit and goes to TNA as I actually see him doing a decent job there. They need a younger guy who's not great on the ring but on the mic

Anyone would think I Fired Ken!

At the start I said that I was miffed he was released.

Since then I have looked at reasons why WWE may have wanted rid of him and posted possible reasons why Ken was released.

Apparently my views are Dim and I'm not impartial! If i decided to stick with my original thoughts then I could accept such suggestions.

In my view Ken's recent decisions may have contributed to his release.

Saying drug use is okay was never on. In a time when wwe is trying to appeal to kids, a time the business is under the spotlight, a time when so many guys have died and when you are under contract to wwe, making such comments is beyond stupid. He was lucky not to be fired straight away. For me this proved he couldn't be trusted to go out and meet the media and represent wwe in the way the company wants/needs to be represented. This means he may not be be trusted as champion of a brand.

Then he gets another chance and drops Randy in a daft move execution. This would lead to him being put on the back burner and when wwe are trying to cut costs and create new stars they didn't have the time to keep him a spot that someone else could get.

Either One was forgivable, combine them and I think you have grounds for a release.

For me, from a business point of view it makes sense to let him go. If Ken wants it enough he will work hard and WWE would give him another shot when he proves he deserves it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

He's always seemed dangerous to work with, I think I remember some stuff on here during his program with Shawn about him being dodgy, and if someone can't work a solid match with HBK there's something wrong. Great charisma though, I'm sure he will find work in the indys or TNA and if he improves his ring work I'd say WWE will take him back in a few years.
    Yep, posting drunk at ten past two in the morning is not a good idea!

Seems to work for me :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,261 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Knox got nailed, too, didn't he? Or was it Snitzky?

Nope Knox never got his nose broke, it was only Snitsky and I think Rey.

orestes wrote: »
    He's always seemed dangerous to work with, I think I remember some stuff on here during his program with Shawn about him being dodgy, and if someone can't work a solid match with HBK there's something wrong. Great charisma though, I'm sure he will find work in the indys or TNA and if he improves his ring work I'd say WWE will take him back in a few years.

Seems to work for me :pac:

Yes he was the one guy who not even HBK could get a good match out of. HBK stiffed him in a Raw tag match where he was botching like hell. Kennedys partner on the day. Orton:D
    I don't see why Orton should get any blame out of this, he told someone who was just back from injury, who botched a suplex to be more careful. Wow, I doubt that got him him fired. :p

Rjd2 wrote: »
    I don't see why Orton should get any blame out of this, he told someone who was just back from injury, who botched a suplex to be more careful. Wow, I doubt that got him him fired. :p

Stephanie McMahon got Christy Hemme fired for less. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

orestes wrote: »
    He's always seemed dangerous to work with, I think I remember some stuff on here during his program with Shawn about him being dodgy, and if someone can't work a solid match with HBK there's something wrong.

Yeah I can recall that. I remember a match involving Jeff Hardy teaming up with Shawn against Kennedy and someone else and he was messing up tons of spots. There was one point where Michaels seemed noticeably pissed off with him. I think he needed more in-ring work before getting his big push.

I think he needed more in-ring work before getting his big push.

Which i'm pretty sure he'll get working the indies, and hopefully TNA.

There is a cheeky little wink at the end of the video he posted I don't think he'll have too much trouble finding work, the hard part is creating a new gimmick/character

Yeah I can recall that. I remember a match involving Jeff Hardy teaming up with Shawn against Kennedy and someone else and he was messing up tons of spots. There was one point where Michaels seemed noticeably pissed off with him. I think he needed more in-ring work before getting his big push.
    It was young Randall.

EdK wrote: »
    There is a cheeky little wink at the end of the video he posted

That looked more like a blink to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Stephanie McMahon got Christy Hemme fired for less. :P

What happened there?
    There is a cheeky little wink at the end of the video he posted I don't think he'll have too much trouble finding work, the hard part is creating a new gimmick/character

He won't really have to though will he? He can call himself Ken Kennedy (probably not "Mr Kennedy" i guess) so therefore he won't have to change name or gimmick too much, at least compared to other former "superstars."

Degag wrote: »
    What happened there?

This was four years ago, so details are sketchy, but from what i remember, when she was on RAW, she was travelling around with Batista and HHH amongst others. Reported that Steph was none to happy about it and had her drafted to SD, then moved to OVW and subsequently terminated from the company as there was "nothing for her".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

He won't really have to though will he? He can call himself Ken Kennedy (probably not "Mr Kennedy" i guess) so therefore he won't have to change name or gimmick too much, at least compared to other former "superstars."

Not sure if he can use the Ken Kennedy name either as it's probably owned by WWE too.

He could be Mr Anderson though. He'll probably just use Ken Anderson and just use the cocky persona he had on the WWE phone in show.

What happened there?

His name isn't really Kennedy so that's probably out, they'll be watching him like a hawk wherever he goes so if mics start dropping from the rafters it might not be pretty haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Not sure if he can use the Ken Kennedy name either as it's probably owned by WWE too.

He could be Mr Anderson though. He'll probably just use Ken Anderson and just use the cocky persona he had on the WWE phone in show.
    His name isn't really Kennedy so that's probably out, they'll be watching him like a hawk wherever he goes so if mics start dropping from the rafters it might not be pretty haha

Feck it, ye're right lads. For some reason i had it in my head that his real name was Kennedy also.:rolleyes: