Should the Irish Education system be reformed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

segaBOY wrote: »
    You can do religion as a LC subject. If you get an A1 in it at higher level you get 100 points just like all the other subjects.

yes... when did i say other wise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

people giving out about how there should be more emphasis on the spoken irish need to cop on. you've been doing irish since jnr infants!

Does that mean the emphasis on spoken Irish should just suddenly be stopped once you hit 1st year?
    you'd want to be fluent by the time you reach 6th year.
    It's nigh-on impossible to be fluent without having been completely immersed in a language for a long period of time. Sure, many have an excellent level by the time they reach 6th year. Many in my year did, but they would never have described themselves as 'fluent'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

no I didn't mean to not learn any spoken irish. I meat that 20% is enough

Not nearly enough in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Ian C

There are not many real world applications for maths

:confused: Of course there are...?
    students must be able to understand maths to actually do it, whereas in other subjects you can learn off stuff and mould it to fit a question, in maths you need to understand the syllabus

How is that a bad thing? If anything, other subjects should be more built around students needing an understanding of the syllabus. There is no case for making Maths less so. As pointed out in other posts, the exams seem to be getting easier and easier as the years go on, which is a worrying trend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,248 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

there is a huge problem in primary schools with Irish - not enough of it is taught and that impacts on secondary schools.

Ian C wrote: »
    :confused: Of course there are...?

How is that a bad thing? If anything, other subjects should be more built around students needing an understanding of the syllabus. There is no case for making Maths less so. As pointed out in other posts, the exams seem to be getting easier and easier as the years go on, which is a worrying trend.

first part - the stuff I did for higher I won't about 90 per cent of it in real life, thats what I meant by that comment.

I agree with that statement, other subjects should be built more around understanding, but at the moment they are not as much as Maths is.

That's an argument for revising other subjects, not maths...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Unaton

I'd get rid of Irish and Religion as compulsory subjects. Leave it up to the parents to choose whether they want their kids to learn this. I'd be more supportive of a proper learning of German, French, Italian, Spanish etc.

+1 for proper Physical Education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Introduce some kind of computing-related subject at Leaving Cert level. It would help to reduce the huge dropout rate from the first year of many technical courses.

I also think the LC maths syllabus needs to be restructured - tbh I think way too many people take pass that could have taken honours, but at the very top end most A1 students (myself included, back in the day) are bored out of their skull. Make ordinary level easier (aiming at the B/C/D in OL), introduce an intermediate level (current C/D at higher level and A at ordinary level) and have some kind of super-honours paper (to keep the A1 students awake in class).

I would also agree that Irish should not be compulsory for the Leaving Cert. Honestly, it was pointless. I don't think religion should be an examination subject at all, and I think that PE should be available as an examination subject.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

Unaton wrote: »
    I'd get rid of Irish and Religion as compulsory subjects.

Religion isn't compulsory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

I'd have thought far more emphasis on spoken irish would be far more important. When have you ever had an oppurtunity to write a letter in irish?
    The spoken part is nice to know and you can actually use on holidays etc. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭p1akuw47h5r3it

just because you don't like a subject doesn't mean you shouldn't be educated in it.

Yes it does. What's the point tryin to understand something you've no interest in understanding. That's just silly and as I've said will be of a detrement to the subjects that you do like and want to understand.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Someone mentioned bonus points for honours maths, pretty sure that doesn't happen anymore

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Someone mentioned bonus points for honours maths, pretty sure that doesn't happen anymore

I think some colleges giv them, UL is one afaik

strongr wrote: »
    Religion isn't compulsory
    I think it is for Junior Cert

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

mental07 wrote: »
    At junior cert level you pretty much do what the school tells you to do anyway

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

#15 wrote: »

Some teachers are not that smart (I mean, they are clueless about the outside world, lack basic understanding of subjects etc).

I was discussing icebergs seen from Argentina in TY Chemistry. The teacher stopped me mid sentence "WHAT? Is it not hot there?!?!" Get a map, please!

Maths is a subject people will always have issues with. I think greater care needs to go into selecting teachers. It's not just about how good you are at doing sums! In first year I sank to fails and Ds as I was getting no attention from the teacher. She had no charisma and did not care. I had just stopped doing homework by January. Did she notice? Did she ****!

Fast forward to Leaving Cert, I had the best teacher I could have wished for. He made it so easy to learn, we had a bit of craic and I got a B1 in the Leaving :D

The idea of a humanities/society class is excellent. Students often haven't a clue what's going on in the rest of the world. A floor for debate will be an asset, develop oration skills and be a real help in college life.

DanDan6592 wrote: »
    I think some colleges giv them, UL is one afaik

UL does give extra points for honours maths, starts with 20 I think for an A1, and decreases going down the grades

Humanitarian class - AFAIK there is a Leaving Cert CSPE (Civic, Social and Political Education) or something like it in the pipeline , think there were pilot projects done in it

As for languages, you look abroad and for example Germans are taught German and English from the time they are 4 in schools, whereas here English is taught. I was reading a study about languages, and according to it, it is nearly impossible to learn a language after the age of 13. But Irish in primary schools isn't really properly taught, students are only taught in from about 3rd class up (in my experience).

Humanitarian class - AFAIK there is a Leaving Cert CSPE (Civic, Social and Political Education) or something like it in the pipeline , think there were pilot projects done in it

As for languages, you look abroad and for example Germans are taught German and English from the time they are 4 in schools, whereas here English is taught. I was reading a study about languages, and according to it, it is nearly impossible to learn a language after the age of 13. But Irish in primary schools isn't really properly taught, students are only taught in from about 3rd class up (in my experience).

No it isn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭yurmothrintites

5318008! wrote: »
    There's way too many work-hours in a school say for primary school, they should be playing and developing skills other the acedemic. I don't see any reason why primary school can't be more fun.

I'm in Froebel Teacher Training college and there is a massive emphasis on play in terms of learning, this is based on the philosophies of Frederich Froebel.

Children at a young age learn though play and at least an hour a day should be allocated in the primary classroom to discovering learning through the methods of play.

On the topic of Irish, in alot of primary schools now, Irish is taught through Irish with no English spoken at all in a lesson. In this way children are emmersed in the language. If a teacher says a sentence in Irish and then in English what translation will they remember? English

The problem is with the dedication of some teachers to teach Irish through Irish and to foster an appreciation of Irish in the children in primary and secondary school. There should be an emphasis on relating the language to everyday life (as stated in the 1999 primary curriculum) and this is not done in many schools, with an emphasis on writing and grammar, especially in secondary school.
    Look at it like this: Where would you learn Italian better: In a classroom, through English with others in the class who can't speak it or in a class taught through Italian with an emphasis on speaking rather than writing the language?

Probably is not - but it is definately more difficult taking up a language at 12/13 rather than 4/5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭yurmothrintites

It depends how good your linguistic intelligence and dedication is, how well you are taught and if you are taught though relating the language to everyday situations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Riddle101 wrote: »

tl;dr

A reduced school-day of 4 hours duration is all that's needed for now.

I'm in Froebel Teacher Training college and there is a massive emphasis on play in terms of learning, this is based on the philosophies of Frederich Froebel.

Children at a young age learn though play and at least an hour a day should be allocated in the primary classroom to discovering learning through the methods of play.

On the topic of Irish, in alot of primary schools now, Irish is taught through Irish with no English spoken at all in a lesson. In this way children are emmersed in the language. If a teacher says a sentence in Irish and then in English what translation will they remember? English

The problem is with the dedication of some teachers to teach Irish through Irish and to foster an appreciation of Irish in the children in primary and secondary school. There should be an emphasis on relating the language to everyday life (as stated in the 1999 primary curriculum) and this is not done in many schools, with an emphasis on writing and grammar, especially in secondary school.
    Look at it like this: Where would you learn Italian better: In a classroom, through English with others in the class who can't speak it or in a class taught through Italian with an emphasis on speaking rather than writing the language?

I'm doing a B.Ed in PE and something that we discussed was discovery learning - that the teacher does not tell the students, but instead sets up the environment so that the student will discover the subject topic. And it is something that definately works - Maria Montessori's philosphy was a good line "I watched my children and they taught me how to teach". I heard in France that these types of education are commonplace up to a late age.

The next few lines are bits from a report into Irish in the Primary school - some interesting facts and statemets

Kelleghan et al. (2002) reported on aspects of preservice teacher education and indicated that colleges of education were unhappy with the standard of Irish of most students on entry to teacher education programmes. It was also reported that schools, and the Department of Education and Science, were unhappy with the competency levels in Irish of newly qualified teachers when graduating.
    They found that 3% of the teachers had a poor level of spoken Irish, 20% had only a fair ability to speak Irish, 55% had a satisfactory standard and 22% had a high standard of Irish.

It depends how good your linguistic intelligence and dedication is, how well you are taught and if you are taught though relating the language to everyday situations.

I'd love to see more of Howard Gardner's theory implemented. the current system examines 2/3 intelligences - what about the rest of them??

its not technically - the four subjects compulsary for the JC are Irish, English, Maths and CSPE. Some schools make religion compulsary, but it is not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭#15

I'd love to see more of Howard Gardner's theory implemented. the current system examines 2/3 intelligences - what about the rest of them??

But is there not some dispute as to the validity of that theory? Not all psychologists accept the multiple intelligences theory. Or Gardner's version of it at least. Things like 'naturalist' intelligence are disputed. I think. I'm not an authority on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,244 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

It's not, I didn't do it for the Junior Cert.