Did Coppers burn down last night?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

coopers is the only decent place to go out regulary in dublin. its not for some people, i.e. ponses, people who want to sit down and drink wine and have a chat about the price of the dollar, people who are up their own a*s or people who are too good to mix with the common people.

its for people, the real people of ireland who just want to go out, get locked and have a laugh. its the most popular nightlcub in dublin and shock shock, dublin people, and lots of them, go there too. the drink is cheap compared with some other clubs and the music and the laugh is generally good. if coppers happened to close, the nightlife in dublin would take a hit.

Why do you feel the need for reverse snobbery?
    WTF are the "common people"?
    So if you don't want to "get locked" on cheap booze you're a "Ponse"... ?
    Wine is disgusting
    The dollar costs a dollar I thought
    Coppers is still a kip imo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Coppers is a kipp, but it can be good craic at times too.
    I have a few good memories of the place and I have had nights where after 20 minutes I hod to GTFO of there as quickly as possible before I smacked the next drunken yokel who spilled his drink on me.

the talent in the place, in fairness, is cat, if I was looking to pull in dublin the last place I'd go is coppers, if I wanted to head out on a tuesday night with a group of lads and have a laugh, the first place I'd go, funnily enough, is coppers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Off topic much?

Answer: No

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

i have a lovehate relationship with coppers.you have to be in the mood for the place and already fairly drunk going.

also the stereotype of that its full of culchies isnt true.the D4's have invaded the place in the past while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

coopers is the only decent place to go out regulary in dublin.
    In your opinion.
    its not for some people, i.e. ponses, people who want to sit down and drink wine and have a chat about the price of the dollar, people who are up their own a*s or people who are too good to mix with the common people.
    Yes, there is Coppers, then there is the type of place you sorta described above - no other type of pub.
    its for people, the real people of ireland who just want to go out, get locked and have a laugh.
    LOL :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭googlefan

I'm an accountant with one of the 'Big Four'. I'm not from Dublin, but I rememver when I started my training contract we went there our first weekend.

At 2am I thought I'd pull a fast one and get my coat ahead of the que. I came back 5 mins later and the lads were asking me where I was going, "sure this place won't be closing for hours!". Brilliant. Another double vodka and Energise please bartender!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

the talent is always decent there, a good mix of everybody, not just nurses, not just cops, not just students and culchies, everybody. the one beautiful thing about is, very few scankers and scobers go there and nor do the upper class d4 snobs who go a few doors up the street.

i love the place... but

the talent is awful there usually,its full of as you call them 'D4 SNOBS' and i have had run ins there with many the dirty pikey, the bouncers let anyone in dressed anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

googlefan wrote: »
    I'm an accountant with one of the 'Big Four'.

Man United?

Ha! Actually spotted a Masters in Football Management recently. So maybe if you ask me that again in 5yrs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

coppers is a great spot after a gaa game in croker i have to say, was there the night mark vaughan got into an argument with a mayo fan :P

like someone says it is what it is, i have been in better and i have been in far far worse places

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

googlefan wrote: »
    Ha! Actually spotted a Masters in Football Management recently. So maybe if you ask me that again in 5yrs...

You'll reflect on your failures and burst into tears?

I'll be able to dry my eyes with wads of cash.