Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did Coppers burn down last night?

• 24-05-2009 9:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭

Some weird facebook status updates seem indicate so.

People saying "was anyone in Coppers" or "Copperrrrssss" and other saying things like "I am charred".

Or are my associates just talking about different things?
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Call the Gardai in case they haven't heard.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,936 ✭✭✭nix

People saying "was anyone in Coppers" or "Copperrrrssss" and other saying things like "I am charred".

So from the comments listed above you assume the building may have burned down ? o_O

Or did you leave out the more important ones? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Hopefully so because the place is a kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Many yokels will no doubt be devastated at this news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Coppers in Rosslare?

That's terrible :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

charred is the new locked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Quazzie wrote: »

Copper Face jacks in harcourt st? O yes. I was assured that you could hear yourself think at the bar. Went in, felt the sound on levels approaching the SFX, lasted 15 minutes (Couldn't chug the pint, as I'd three or two earlier).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

galwayrush wrote: »
    Call the Gardai in case they haven't heard.:rolleyes:

The Gardai would have all been inside trying to get a ride off any drunken nurse that'd have them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Coppers in Waterford? No loss!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

The CSO predicts a drop in birth-rates among rural couples of over 8000%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Nodin wrote: »
    Copper Face jacks in harcourt st? O yes. I was assured that you could hear yourself think at the bar. Went in, felt the sound on levels approaching the SFX, lasted 15 minutes (Couldn't chug the pint, as I'd three or two earlier).

The SFX, jesus, flashbacks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

I'm confused. What part of their child has a Mexican eaten? How many heads has a baby been born with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Quazzie wrote: »

You won't have a better night anywhere else tbh. Great spot if you enjoy it for what it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

javaboy wrote: »
    I'm confused. What part of their child has a Mexican eaten? How many heads has a baby been born with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I hope it did...
    Please tell me the OP is true!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Mask wrote: »
    The SFX, jesus, flashbacks!

Aye, one night of enthusiastic head banging = a week of stiff neck.
    Mind you, the first gig I ever went to was in the TV Club, so I suppose I am getting on.

Still, I never could drink and be deafened simultaneously. Theres no craic when nobody can talk. At least in Club M (*spit) you could watch the wimmin on the dance floor (though it was a slow night the one time I was in it....I left quicker than out of the other place).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

Coppers is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Coppers is an absolute HOLE!

Good riddence if it did, KIP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭yurmothrintites

Dear God No!

Were will we all go for the "shift"?:(

The people posting itt about how much of a **** hole coppers is are probably the ones who dont go out or who never are able to get with girls when ever they do.

Just sayin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Ass wrote: »
    The people posting itt about how much of a **** hole coppers is are probably the ones who dont go out or who never are able to get with girls when ever they do.

Just sayin'.

Interesting point, now for rebuttal:

Coppers is a toilet, the only people that like it are culchies and virgins

It's the only place open in Dublin that stays open serving drinks till about 4 or 5am. Hating coppers is just a band wagon, and you are on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

A sh1thole is still a sh1thole, no matter who goes to it or how long it stays open for...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

phasers wrote: »

Quote of the week, imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

So...if it burned down, you don't think you might have heard about it on the news or anything...?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Never saw the issue with coppers tbh. It is what it is.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Wibbs wrote: »
    Never saw the issue with coppers tbh. It is what it is.
    Yes. Another ****hole attended by a shower of drunken shallow hoorebags and ignorant gits with fashionably ripped jeans and swanky shoes...

Hope it burned down (with nobody inside) so they build a pub instead :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Xavi6 wrote: »
    You won't have a better night anywhere else tbh. Great spot if you enjoy it for what it is.

It pains me to admit but I agree :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

so, aside from the usual "coppers is (the) ****" debate, has anyone actually an answer for the OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Anyone who dresses and dances differently to me are dickheads and should have the places where they attend, which are completely seperate from having any influence on me and my life, burned down.

I've never been to "Coppers," but I'm gathering that this would be an appropriate response to this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Some people genuinely think it's sh1t though - it's not a matter of getting on a bandwagon etc. And they're entitled to their opinion.

I've never been to Coppers but I'm reliably informed it's the Dublin Reardons (awful place in Cork) so I know I'd hate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I've never been to "Coppers," but I'm gathering that this would be an appropriate response to this thread.
    Preconceived prejudices FTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Harcourt St last night about 3am... there was a FB and 2x AMB outside the place 2 doors down from Coppers. I just assumed (as there was no smoke) that the FB came as they are often first responders to a medical incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Coppers is not bad at all... I am sick and tired of hearing people complain... These same people end up in Coppers regularly!!!

I like Coppers and I HAVE NO SHAME SAYING IT!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

never got the whole coppers is a whole ****e... the place is grand. Its not a hole, what do you even mean by thats????. Sure its full of culchies, so ****in wat! jesus..

And its full of easy women!! really really easy women!! whats wrong with you??

I'm sick of people saying "I'm sick of people bashing Coppers" - they have an opinion, get over it. I really don't understand why they should change their opinion to that of the people who like Coppers...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

phasers wrote: »
    Interesting point, now for rebuttal:

Virgins go? Now I'm devastated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭scarymoon1

ive never been to coppers or heard about it tbh. Im just wondering, the people that said its a s**t hole etc, how do ye know???? You can't judge a place from being there once so Im assuming ye went back again after the first visit????! It wasn't such a **** hole if you frequented the place more than once.

Of course you can judge a place after one visit - and maybe some people get dragged there by their friends.

i disagree about judging a place from one visit, say ur in langtons in kilkenny and its full of a drunk hen night gone bonkers. Langtons is usually good but that night u visit u get the impression of drunk hens.

For the record, I do think coppers is shit. I'm just trolling.

ehehehhehhehehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

scarymoon1 wrote: »
    ive never been to coppers or heard about it tbh. Im just wondering, the people that said its a s**t hole etc, how do ye know???? You can't judge a place from being there once so Im assuming ye went back again after the first visit????! It wasn't such a **** hole if you frequented the place more than once.

So you're gonna dismiss their opinion if they've only been there once, but then call them a liar if they've been there more than once?! :confused:

its just my opinion u cant judge a place from one visit. im not getting into a debate about it. its just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

its just my opinion u cant judge a place from one visit. im not getting into a debate about it. its just my opinion.

But have you only thought about that once? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭smartblaa

For the record, the emergency stuff was outside Dicey's Garden.
    As I was leaving I noticed it all there...just about(blurry vision)

Place was jammers, maybe someone got squashed??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

With all they hay on the floor in coppers it's bound to go up some day

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Why do the people that hate the place so much want it to burn down?

That would just mean that whatever it is that you hate so much now has to go somewhere else for their nights out. If you really hate it so much then surely you don't want the Coppers customers turning up at wherever you are currently going?

Well then it's not a fact, so I don't see how you can apply it to everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Coppers is brilliant for looking at culchies in their natural habitat, still don't understand why supermacs haven't set up shop beside it, they'd make a killing.