Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Gardaí to stand trial in connection with alleged assault on teenager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

Degsy wrote: »
    Its is my belief and my hope that the guards involved will be exhonerated.
    A good beating is the only thing little cnunts understand
    No doubt the scumbag is proceeding nicely with his criminal career and wont be getting away with stuff forever.
    No doubt also the next time he commits a crime the victim can go and tell his mother as she's got a finely tuned moral compass.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/27th_G8_summit

Would I be right in thinking this is the kind of policing you have in mind then? You have to scroll down to get to the good stuff, but there's a lot of beatings, and they're 'hippies' too so you should enjoy it even more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Holsten wrote: »
    The little scummer probably deserved it.

He probably did, and people here who know me know that I'm not lilly livered liberal.

But the day we turn a blind eye to AGS stepping outside of the law, and indeed appauled them for doing so is the day we've totally lost what little grip we have left on lawlessness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Yep.
    The fact that he had three cop cars full of guards to talk to him.

...is proof of nothing. You've failed so far to explain why he wasn't arrested. You've also failed to explain your remarks re 'criminal career' and what source you have for them.
    To either
    a)(.....)and he broke down.

Another snide whinge in place of an answer. Quelle Suprise.
    he wasnt a criminal,what were the guards doing there?

According to the Gardai, who are charging them with assault, they went there to (allegedly) beat the crap out of him. You know this of course, you're just being obtuse.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

IF the cops are proved guilty without any shadow of a doubt here's all they have to say:

"I came from a deprived background and i have a problem with drink and i'm sorry but its me background,like"

And they'll WALK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

This thread has been an eye opener to how thick some people are.

Words fail me, maybe we should replace the legal system altogether with thugs with bats.

I was arrested a while back, I was attacked on the street after a nights drinking by some ne'er do well, I was punched twice in the side of the head before I knew what was happening and the fists were still flying by the time I got my guard up.

By the time I copped I was in a fight I managed to block the rest of his blows and land a punch busting his nose open, there was blood everywhere and I basically had him well on the back foot. I was tackled to the ground moments later by gardai who were just up the street, o'connell street at the weekend for context. I was pinned to the ground with a knee on my head, and cuffs put on me, not comfortable I'll tell you, and there was blood coming out of my ear where this sh1te wipe had hit me.

Despite my friends protests, the gardai saw one guy losing a fight with a bloody nose and one guy winning a fight with less damage, so I was hauled off. I was taken up and stuck in a van and went through the process.
    Now there were no shadow of a doubt I was in the right once I got to explain it at the station, and I was let go, but that was how it should work.

Now if puck sh1tkicker the gard had arrested me as a scumbag and taken me off for a hiding, would that suit the red top reading knuckle draggers so far posting the pro-summary beatings stance? There is a legal system for a reason, sure, you guys will read in your daily mail about all the tragic injustices happening in the once off cases, but you wont read below your Jordan and Pete headline about proper carriage of justice.

The guy here wasn't arrested, he was beaten by all accounts for having an altercation with a garda, he should have been arrested in that case, a garda testifying an assault against him isn't going to be taken lightly, and unless he decided to try his arm as puck sh1tkicker himself and have it backfire, he would have done so.

Less untouchables please, and more decent policing, I'm well aware the scum can run wild, but when the gardai are wilder I'll be worried.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

OP, climb out of your arse you stuck up fool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Four gardaí will stand trial after allegedly assaulting a teenager, a court heard today.
    Allegedly? it was recorded on a mobile phone by the guys friends on a set of stairs where it happened, my little bro knows who it happened to and the cops who did it deserve prison, but since in this country its not what you know, its who you know, they will get off on some "technicality":mad:

IF the (....)WALK!

Another generalised rabble rabble that has but the slightest connect to the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Why does there need to be justification for Degsy's statement. He's making a damn fine educated assumption.

Because if he's going to accuse someone of being a criminal in a published medium, he should make sure it's true.
    You seem to be preaching from a mighty high pedestal, sticking to the letter of the law in every facet of life is not feasible, especially so when you're dealing with scum...giving these people 'Due Process' is like giving them vouchers for freedom.

If he's scum.... if he's guilty of some crime... if they have any evidence to indicate that... why wasn't he arrested? Why wasn't he charged with anything?

Do you really want the Gardaí to have carte blanche to decide when the law should be applied and when they should just dish out their own vigilante justice? You don't think that could lead to anything dodgy?
    I dont particulary care whether the guards broke the law in this instance and I also commend them for their actions.

Despite not knowing anything about the 18 year old involved?
    If he wasnt a criminal,what were the guards doing there?

Somebody link to the fact that he wasnt a criminal.

No. You link to the fact that he was a criminal. That's the way it works.

carlop wrote: »
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/27th_G8_summit

Would I be right in thinking this is the kind of policing you have in mind then? You have to scroll down to get to the good stuff, but there's a lot of beatings, and they're 'hippies' too so you should enjoy it even more.

Very good.
    Here's what we're up against
    http://www.echo.ie/courts/Theft-boy-gets-nine-months.4331139.jp

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/kfqlsncwauoj/
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/0407/1224244144797.html

http://news.eircom.net/national/15401117/

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/1210/okanea.html
    http://www.herald.ie/national-news/guido-paralysed-in-bottle-attack-happy-to-return--home-and-enjoy-a-pint-1693714.html

http://en.newspeg.com/Teenager-back-in-court-over-south-Dublin-knife-death-4107168.html
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/teenager-charged-over-death-of-schoolboy-stabbed-during-row-690446.html

and so on and so on..

Do you really think the current court and justice system is acting as an effective detterent to scumbaggery?

Its not working at all,a different approach is needed.

maxxie wrote: »
    OP, climb out of your arse you stuck up fool

Banned.

Do you really think the current court and justice system is acting as an effective detterent to scumbaggery?

Its not working at all,a different approach is needed.

And would this different approach have any checks and balances at all? Who would get to decide who gets the beatings and who doesn't?

javaboy wrote: »
    And would this different approach have any checks and balances at all? Who would get to decide who gets the beatings and who doesn't?

So you have a 16 year old with 33 convictions,33 victims have been failed by the courts.
    Maybe the victims should decide..?

So you have a 16 year old with 33 convictions,33 victims have been failed by the courts.

So in a practical sense how would that work then? After the judge gives the kid a 6 month suspended sentence, should a Garda discreetly approach the victim afterwards and ask if they would like the kid to have an "accident" or not?

So those least likely to be objective or rational?

Ok Degsy, we'll use your suggestion.

Now the victim of this assault, a teenager beaten by gardai, he gets to decide how they are dealt with, you approve of this, he decides under the influence of his anger and there is no trial, or is it new justice for some, no justice for others? See the flaw in logic?

javaboy wrote: »
    So in a practical sense how would that work then? After the judge gives the kid a 6 month suspended sentence, should a Garda discreetly approach the victim afterwards and ask if they would like the kid to have an "accident" or not?

That would be illegal would it not?
    It would sure make alot of victims feel better though.

That would be illegal would it not?

Well yeah I thought that was what you wanted?

Ok so how would it work then in a practical sense?
    It would sure make alot of victims feel better though.

Yep. Doesn't make it justice though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Degsy is a legend. Spot on mate.

The people want and need a Lugs approach. Current Criminal Justice System is broken. Maybe the liberals should spend some time speaking with the normal folk and see how many of them will ask for more Lugs. Liberal PC brigade have ruined this country at this stage and the right wing politics will move up in popularity as a resulting backlash.

On topic - hell, I've even spoken to people and read about people who where on the receiving end of a few Lugs Brannigan whacks, and they have nothing but admiration and respect for the man.

Some are thankful for the clip round the ear and the boot in the arse for putting them on the straight and narrow.

So those least likely to be objective or rational?

Ok Degsy, we'll use your suggestion.

Now the victim of this assault, a teenager beaten by gardai, he gets to decide how they are dealt with, you approve of this, he decides under the influence of his anger and there is no trial, or is it new justice for some, no justice for others? See the flaw in logic?

Assuming they're found guilty.

I'm willing to bet quiet a bit that
    a)they wont be
    and
    b)the kid had it coming to him.

Lets see,shall we?

Kernel wrote: »
    Degsy (....)narrow.

Don't suppose you'd actually address the OP as oppossed to just talking about the 'good aul days'......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Nodin wrote: »
    Don't suppose you'd actually address the OP as oppossed to just talking about the 'good aul days'......

What are you on about? It's entirely relevent. :rolleyes:

Assuming they're found guilty.

I'm willing to bet quiet a bit that
    a)they wont be
    and

Lets see,shall we?

But the lad wasn't found guilty of anything, yet you advocate his beating?

He wasn't even arrested ffs.

Your logic, gardai can beat anyone they like, gardai cant receive the same, gardai no longer subject to same laws as everyone else. Great one.

As theres no such thing as corporal punishment, he couldn't have had anything coming. Were there such a thing, he hasn't done anything that constitutes an arrestable offence and thus could not be sentenced to it.

Wheres your back up to allegations against the alledged victim btw?

But the lad wasn't found guilty of anything, yet you advocate his beating?

He wasn't even arrested ffs.

...On this occasion.

I tell you what.
    If at the court hearing it turns out the kid had NO previous convictions i'll donate 50 euro to the SSF.
    If it turns out he HAS..you do the same.
    Okay?

...On this occasion.

I tell you what.
    If at the court hearing it turns out the kid had NO previous convictions i'll donate 50 euro to the SSF.
    Okay?

So if somebody gets convicted of anything at any stage they are deserving of a random beating at some later unannounced date? Hmmmm.

You're all saying the bloke didnt do owt to deserve a baiting from the cops and i'm saying He bloody well must have!
    Here's a hint
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/nine-gardai-face-investigation-over-claim-of-serious-assault-1311598.html

"A source said an off-duty garda, aged in his 20s, had been assaulted by a man from the south-inner city the previous night. Although the assault was not considered serious and not reported, it is believed to have sparked off the confrontation the following evening in Basin St. "

He assauted a guard by the looks of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Can someone please tell me who the f*ck Lugs Brannigan is ?!

...On this occasion.

I tell you what.
    Okay?

Ha ha 50 euro wager?

You are advocating random beatings by the gardai as a new method of law enforcement, 50 euro my arse degsy, are you posting this from a pub?

So even IF the lad had convictions, he suddenly can be beaten on any subsequent occasion? He may well be a scummer, I'll give you that, but your reaction to him possibly being a scummer is saying its ok for 9 gardai to form a punishment beating posse? This is unreal.