C&H sex discussion thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭tatabubbly

That and schools are still backwards in thinking.

That they are but there is never any talks in schools about how you should respect your body.

Our shady lesson in sex ed. consisted of the teacher telling us "Now when your a teenager, you'll begin to experience different physical things". No lesson on contraception or what to do if you think you are pregnant!

But back to the topic on hand, underage sex isn't that bad as long as your safe and are sure that it's what you want. And your not feeling pressured into doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭AvAv

i'll have you know me and my lady bits can be just as easily distracted by sex as any male.

tongue.gif

Hear hear! Nice to know that its not just me lol

We got the sex ed in 6th class in which they did nothing but show us pictures. No talk of emotions or anything. Bit odd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

AvAv wrote: »
    No talk of emotions or anything. Bit odd?

I dunno. Guys don't have emotions, so I wouldn't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭QueenOfLeon

AvAv wrote: »
    Hear hear! Nice to know that its not just me lol

We got the sex ed in 6th class in which they did nothing but show us pictures. No talk of emotions or anything. Bit odd?

I dont think we even had sex ed in 6th class. All i remember is one day our teacher (male) told us to look up virgin in the dictionary. Seriously. I think that was the extent of it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

I dont think we even had sex ed in 6th class. All i remember is one day our teacher (male) told us to look up virgin in the dictionary. Seriously. I think that was the extent of it :rolleyes:

Im surprised they even have dictionaries in Sligo :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Stev_o wrote: »

They dont want them to breed, thus no sex talk:p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭bythewoods

Ah, I remember we got sex ed in 6th class.
    They seperated the boys and girls, and taught us all sorts.

"This is a tampon, it works just like a penis".
    That scared us all, if I remember correctly.

Fad wrote: »

Just. Dont. Take. The. Bait.

Meanies :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭p1akuw47h5r3it

All hail Stev-o and Fad...

Quality stuff, Pure quality

DanDan6592 wrote: »
    All hail Stev-o and Fad...

Quality stuff, Pure quality

Wtf?? Like, seriously, WTF??? :mad::mad: its like, if i DARED say something about dublin i'd be shot down by everyone. So just cos im 1 little sligo person, all alone, i get all the insults about it?? Jaysus, talk about dublin people being unfriendly and hostile.....no wonder all we get here is advice to stay away from the place next year....ffs, it was a totally un-county-related statement in the 1st place :mad::mad:

Ok, i took the bait. And, eh, a slight over-reaction. But still. *crosses arms and sulks*

Wtf?? Like, seriously, WTF??? :mad::mad: its like, if i DARED say something about dublin i'd be shot down by everyone. So just cos im 1 little sligo person, all alone, i get all the insults about it?? Jaysus, talk about dublin people being unfriendly and hostile.....no wonder all we get here is advice to stay away from the place next year....ffs, it was a totally un-county-related statement in the 1st place :mad::mad:

Ok, i took the bait. And, eh, a slight over-reaction. But still. *crosses arms and sulks*

Relax.

Nobodies like this in person, or at least I'm not (Bythewoods is an exception, its just too east with her cousin marryingness).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭SarcasticFairy

There there.. It could be worse.. You could be from the Midlands.

Seriously though, they're silly boys, don't mind them. They're only messing around, I wouldn't take it so seriously. :)

Relax.

Nobodies like this in person, or at least I'm not (Bythewoods is an exception, its just too east with her cousin marryingness).

Seriously though, they're silly boys, don't mind them. They're only messing around, I wouldn't take it so seriously. :)

Heehee, dont worry, im just messing around aswel. Sick of trying to defend my whole province, so, eh, tried a different approach :p

Relax.

I think what you meant to say is "Nobody's" :P
    (This is all I have.)

Yeah, Fad's right though- because I'm a culchie I'm obviously inbred. Like, I'm not even going to try denying it. It's way too obvious in real life.

bythewoods wrote: »
    I think what you meant to say is "Nobody's" :P
    (This is all I have.)

Yeah, Fad's right though- because I'm a culchie I'm obviously inbred. Like, I'm not even going to try denying it. It's way too obvious in real life.

Not because you're a culchie, its just you :p

Inbred people have over developed grammar capabilities......

Not because you're a culchie, its just you :p

Inbred people have over developed grammar capabilities......

Oh right, sorry about that little mix-up there.

Us inbred cretins haven't really got a regular knowledge of common things tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

Jaysus guys the thread has went well so far don't take it too far off topic .

I think we had sex ed in 6th class , had to get a form to fill out.

Can I ask , where did most people feel they learned the most about sex and
    what things were you told that were not true at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭SarcasticFairy

As good as I feel the sex ed was in my school, I totally learned more from friends/boyfriends/general chat than I did in class.

You hear loads of absolutely ridiculous things though, usually with regard to getting pregnant... All the usuals - Can't get pregnant if you do it standing up, you'll definitely end up pregnant if you swallow (I mean...what?! :confused: How would that even begin to work?), you can't get pregnant if you shower/pee after sex, can't get pregnant if it's your first time... The best one is, a girl can't get pregnant if she pushes really hard on her bellybutton afterwards or sneezes continually for a while after. Seriously, what?! Who in their right minds told you that? But it's amazing the people who believe some of it....

cHaTbOx wrote: »

My close friends and I are all pretty open about sex with each other, so we all just learned by discussing it and such, I suppose. We'd all openly have a conversation about contaception or anything really.

The myths are great.
    I remember in about 2nd year the whole "You can get pregnant from giving someone oral sex" thing was almost a FACT for many people. That and the whole- "You can get pregnant from a toilet seat".
    They were some good'uns.

Exactly.:P

Who's tellin u to stay away? No sayin this as an insult or anything but the 3 best Uni's are in Dublin.

Learned nothing from school sex ed tbh. Even in 6th class I new all the stuff bein talked about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Wtf?? Like, seriously, WTF??? :mad::mad: its like, if i DARED say something about dublin i'd be shot down by everyone. So just cos im 1 little sligo person, all alone, i get all the insults about it?? Jaysus, talk about dublin people being unfriendly and hostile.....no wonder all we get here is advice to stay away from the place next year....ffs, it was a totally un-county-related statement in the 1st place
    Id back you up, not shoot you down.
    I might take the piss outta sligo but I wish dublin would burn in the firey depths of hell for all eternity(except the hot girls, theyre allowed out 1st). And take cork with it. Cant have them thinking theyre the capital any more then they already do :pac:

I also meant to make an on topic point here..............ah ill edit when I remember it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

OI! Cheeky fécker :p

That said, I still claim to be from Galway....:cool:

DanDan6592 wrote: »
    Exactly.:P

Who's tellin u to stay away? No sayin this as an insult or anything but the 3 best Uni's are in Dublin.

Ah, you should hear the shíte in our school. Not many people go to Dublin, well the odd few, but only if they couldn't do the course anywhere else. Its like, "medicine in dublin?? b..b...but its in galway? Why would you go to dublin? Why anne-marie, WHY??!!"...they just dont get it. Kinda reminds me of the bulmers pear ad :P

Totally agree bout the unis. I think its gunna sound shít when i say i went to uni in galway. Just doesnt have the credibility that a dublin uni has. :(
    Id back you up, not shoot you down.
    I might take the piss outta sligo but I wish dublin would burn in the firey depths of hell for all eternity(except the hot girls, theyre allowed out 1st). And take cork with it. Cant have them thinking theyre the capital any more then they already do :pac:

Woo!! High 5s for not being from dublin :cool: :D

Anyways, back on topic. We learned f-all sex ed in school, both national or secondary. In 1st year, we were split up into boys and girls, then into smaller groups of about 10. Our teacher was so embarassed, she had this little book and was mumbling away with her nose buried in it to hide her bright red face :) And it was a little catholic book, so it was mainly "loving and devoted married couples may decide to have children.....sex....blah blah blah..." absolutely no talk of contraception or unplanned pregnancys :rolleyes:

Heehee, i also dug this up
    Is there only 5 of yis? I suppose Galway's a credible enough county. Sligo to (cause Anne-marie lives there...awwww...ye I know I know). But as for the other 3...

Thanks Simeon Mealy Scone. I know you love us all really :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭tatabubbly

And it was a little catholic book, so it was mainly "loving and devoted married couples may decide to have children.....sex....blah blah blah..." absolutely no talk of contraception or unplanned pregnancys :rolleyes:

Sounds like a round up of the irish sex ed system there:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Can we get back on topic please? You can Dublin-Bash on the general discussion thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Chanandler Bong

heres a sex related question,

how come girls dont get that "must take home and shag something" urge that we get at 2am in nightclubs, if it was mutual i think we'd all be alot happier!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

I've never gotten that urge....
    Drunk sex is really, really crap. That said, it's the alcohol which likely provokes this urge in some guys.
    At about 10/11, I was given a book by my mother which was aimed at Catholics and was very prudish. It really explained very little, and was quite warped.

By 13 or 14, I got all my info online. I never listened to any of my peers, who I had decided (probably correctly) were all idiots at that stage, so never really believed any stupid myths.

Heehee, i also dug this up

Thanks DanDan6592. I know you love us all really :D:D

*Burys face in hands*

I never heard any of these myths ie can't get preg standin up etc. etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

heres a sex related question,

how come girls dont get that "must take home and shag something" urge that we get at 2am in nightclubs, if it was mutual i think we'd all be alot happier!

meh...cant speak for all girls but one night stands dont hold any appeal for me and aswell the whole stranger danger stuff still stands.