Most liked names

• 01-05-2009 01:27PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭

Refering to the thread of Most hated names i was wondering what names folks DO like :)

lets hear it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Ice-cream. I don't care how often my son gets beaten up, I think it's worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Aodhán and Fiachra for lads; Caoimhe and Niamh for girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Rod Fanni

Ciarán
    Alés
    Cáit
    Kasha
    Beibhinn
    James
    Oscar
    Ruairí
    Chiara

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Saoirse. But I'm a bit put off by shinner knackers giving their daughters that name (for those who don't know, it means "freedom").
    I also really like Alex (for either gender - love "Lexie" for a girl) and Aidan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭omyatari

Mrmoe wrote: »
    Rod Fanni

he will either turn out an absolute loser or a legend. 50/50

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Dionysus wrote: »
    Aodhán and Fiachra for lads; Caoimhe and Niamh for girls.

Let me guess - you live in Greystones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

bertha-peaches -kylie -lala -trixie -charisma -jane-evangeline-evadne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭thealltimelow

john boy
    john jo
    boards.ie?

I really like Ethan....and Grace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

omyatari wrote: »
    he will either turn out an absolute loser or a legend. 50/50

I'm waiting to see what his ball skills are and whether he can whip one in from long range.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

Leaving out the whole 'antichrist' thang, Damian's quite a good name.
    Esp, if your last name begins with D.

Deborah for girls. Can't understand why it isn't used more...

well speaking Dutch for a native language, the word "Debiel" is to easaly linked to Deborah. but i wouldnt know why it is not used here :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Alés
    Cáit
    Kasha
    Beibhinn
    Ruairí
    Chiara

OMG I tewtally, loike, love these names. Seriously though, have you any idea what names like this will do to a kid's life/reputation?

PS: Start calling the dyslexia experts now.

well speaking Dutch for a native language, the word "Debiel" is to easaly linked to Deborah. but i wouldnt know why it is not used here :)

Say it in a Dublin accent, like you know what I mean, bud. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,905 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

David St. Hubbins

As long as you don't have a problem with your child being able to predict your own death

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭limericklady87

For girls i like

eve
    amy
    michaela
    elaine
    laura
    sarah
    emma

for boys
    Jack (love it)
    cian
    cathal

none of your apple or romeo craic

As long as you don't have a problem with your child being able to predict your own death

Ha! Could come in handy when planning life insurance policies.;)

Confab wrote: »
    OMG I tewtally, loike, love these names. Seriously though, have you any idea what names like this will do to a kid's life/reputation?

PS: Start calling the dyslexia experts now.

Ruairí is a legend of a name!

for girls,
    Ava
    Lana
    Caiomhe (but i'd spell it differantly :s)

for boys....
    i'm clueless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Hmm.. Lisa, John (must have the h).

Softer sounding names are good. I actually like my own name too, do people generally like or hate their own name?

for girls,
    Ava
    Lana
    Caiomhe (but i'd spell it differantly :s)

for boys....
    i'm clueless.

If Caoimhe is not 'caol le caol and leathan le leathan' (http://www.nualeargais.ie/foghlaim/caol.php) it wont look as good. It looks a bit D4 then. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭Communicationb

Allison
    Aisling
    Siobhan
    Louise

Think in Polish 'dobra' means 'good' though:)

Dionysus wrote: »
    Ruairí is a legend of a name!

AHA! We know what your name is now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭thealltimelow

Think in Polish 'dobra' means 'good' though:)
    Dobra can refer to:

Places in Europe

Jim/James.
    Classic, yet Classless.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Rob
    Robbie
    Bob
    Bobby

and finally Roberta

The only names you ever need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Magnus Magnusson