Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Banking

• 30-04-2009 8:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭

Hi, today i got a call from the bank on my mobile it was a private no by the way. They said they where calling to update my details and that had i time to talk to them. I said ok and she begab to ask security questions ie the first part of my adress etc, then she said that she sees i am finishing up college soon and do i hope to continue on at 3rd level etc and then she askes for my last transaction etc and i told her that i cant remeber as its been awhile. Then she asked had i my card on me so that could i give her the first 5 digits for more security but as i hadnt the card on me she said she would call me back next week and what day dose it suit.

Dose this sound normal and the fact they ring on a private no makes me suspicous

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Dodgy as hell. They cannot prove who they are over the phone so why should you give them any info. Ring up your bank and tell them about it if they say it wasn't them you might be able to get your phone provider/the Gardaí to find out where the call came from.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

They called you...to update your details...uh... huh...

I mean, sure. Wallet Inspector; hand it over.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Bloody hell, Banker Wanker probably wanted a loan from you.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭dny123456

its usually the last 4 digits of the card number they would use... sounds dodgey as hell to me. dont give out any more information.

By the way, when's your birthday?

• Registered Users Posts: 45,334 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

NEVER answer a private number !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I rang em today so i could set up a transfer funds to me fathers account. For security reasons a different person rang me back and the phone number was private.
    Me mate got a phonecall from the bank today and he told em he was gone to the shop and he would get himself to ring them back when he came home.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

AIB do this all the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Yep that's normal, AIB ring off a Dublin number, BOI off private in my experience

And @Dny123456 - they can't do anything with the card number, that's just the 7/8 digit number on all cards, not the laser/maestro number! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Absolutely. In fact, never answer any phone - they could play a hypnotic message and take control of your min...ah, **** it - you're just a loon.

AIB do this all the time.
    So does Permanent TSB, but they never ring out of the blue as the OP would suggest.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Actually, I got a call from Bank of Ireland asking the same things. I immediately said that I wasn't going to give any details to a random stranger over the phone (it was a withheld number too). The guy insisted he was with the bank, so I asked for his number. I then rang Bank of Ireland and asked them about it. They told me it was legitimit and forwarded me onto the same dept. And they had the cheek to say I was being overly paranoid!

So, it could of be legit, but you should of hung up and rang the bank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭dny123456

Jev/N wrote: »

And @Dny123456 - they can't do anything with the card number, that's just the 7/8 digit number on all cards, not the laser/maestro number! :rolleyes:
    op didnt specify what type of card it was, more than debit cards out there :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

It's very bad practice if it is legitimate.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

dny123456 wrote: »
    op didnt specify what type of card it was, more than debit cards out there :rolleyes:

either way, credit cards from the same financial institution have the same first 4-6 digits AFAIK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,082 ✭✭✭✭Random

Banks do this a lot. MBNA did it to me a few times too. Someone rang from the fraud dept telling me there was some potential security issues with my card. He then asked me to confirm my card number, mothers maiden name and other nonsense.

I asked him again if he was definitely from the fraud dept. I asked him for his extension number which he refused to give me.

I told him to put a note on my account about what he wanted to check with me and I'd call MBNA back straight away and answer it.

I was shocking this guy is from the security dept and he wants me to just hand out details over the phone to a private number with no confirmation, and then he acts all funny when I suggest calling back - nonsense!

I often get calls from AIB but they're usually customer service ones and the number has been withheld at times. However AIB card services called me last summer regarding a transaction they considered dodgy (it wasn't though) and it was a Dublin number they called from.

However "vishing" does exist so you were dead right to be wary about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,082 ✭✭✭✭Random

vishing? Do you mean phishing or is vishing something else?

+ edit - nevermind .. phishing is email and vishing is phone Who knew!

Ulster Bank do it also. I refuse to allow it though, considering the chances of identity theft from post or litter. If they want my details confirmed, they can ask me the next time I'm in the bank, or provide me with a secure form on the net. I hate all the feckin banks, and I'm not going to help them when they're being so retarded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

javaboy wrote: »
    It's very bad practice if it is legitimate.

Ridiculously bad. Even porn sites tell ya they'll never ask for your details in an email and to not give them out.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Karoma wrote: »
    ah, **** it - you're just a loon.

BANNED.

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭keezer

Thanks for all your replys, i just wasnt sure to believe them or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭keezer

dny123456 wrote: »
    its usually the last 4 digits of the card number they would use... sounds dodgey as hell to me. dont give out any more information.

By the way, when's your birthday?

Jan 23 err why.

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭MadgeBadge

It's legit, in fact, it was probably me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Completely legit, my application for AIB internet banking got verified that way.

All the same, pays to be aware when you get one of these calls.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I have gotten at least 5 calls like that from AIB bank. As soon as they ask me for personal info I point out that I don't want to give out personal info on an inbound call and they hang up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

rarnes1 wrote: »

Never understood this mentality. I know a lot of people that wont answer their phones if it's a private number, and some who won't answer if they don't know who it is. If I miss a call from a private number it WRECKS my head. If it's someone you don't want to talk to, just hang up.
    mikemac wrote: »
    Completely legit, my application for AIB internet banking got verified that way.

All the same, pays to be aware when you get one of these calls.

Fair enough if they call to verify something you have done/applied for, but a call out of the blue, i'd be very wary.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

I remember seeing on banks websites that they'll never ask for details over the phone. :confused: Seems odd to me.

Stee wrote: »
    Never understood this mentality. I know a lot of people that wont answer their phones if it's a private number, and some who won't answer if they don't know who it is. If I miss a call from a private number it WRECKS my head. If it's someone you don't want to talk to, just hang up.
    I have this problem in work. One of the lines I use to dial out is a VoIP line with no inbound PSTN number, so when dialling out it comes up as private. I've noticed that many people don't answer the phone when I use that line yet if I use the regular eircom line they do (because the number is sent).

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,488 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

At best they could take away your student account privileges and make you pay fees. At worst, they could be trying to get your banking details from you.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,488 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Karsini wrote: »
    I have this problem in work. One of the lines I use to dial out is a VoIP line with no inbound PSTN number, so when dialling out it comes up as private. I've noticed that many people don't answer the phone when I use that line yet if I use the regular eircom line they do (because the number is sent).

As an aside, I always think that the people who don't answer private numbers or who answer very furtively probably have some serious problems, like they are in arrears on their mortgage or are awaiting an STD test.

Why are they afraid of private numbers? If it is someone they don't want to talk to, they can always say "got to go" then hang up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 490 ✭✭babaloushka

I often wonder why so many people choose to keep their number private - what have they got to hide or fear? I don't avoid answering these calls all the time, but they're not on my priority list. If I'm busy or eating or watching a TV programme, for example, I'm unlikely to waste my time answering a call when the number is withheld. It cuts both way :p