Rossport protestors get nasty.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

IWWNCU wrote: »
    I think we would benefit more, from the 50 Billion - Don't you ?

Plenty more oil off the West Coast for the future;), right now, we couldn't afford to build a few hundred yards of the pipeline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 IWWNCU

galwayrush wrote: »
    Plenty more oil off the West Coast for the future;), right now, we couldn't afford to build a few hundred yards of the pipeline.

Oh, I see. So lets just give it away instead ye ?

It ain't going to be given away.;)

That's a relief !. So tell us, how much will the irish economy gain from the deal.

No idea, hopefully we'll do well.
    I agree the Government has ****ed up badly up to now money wise, not really surprised that it was FF who gave it away for free at the time.:rolleyes:
    I don't see how criminal damage on the site will solve anything though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It must be quite toxic in that neck of the woods with all the fumes given off by the un-washed crusties. At least Shell keep their fumes in a pipe.

No idea, hopefully we'll do well.
    I agree the Government has ****ed up badly up to now money wise, not really surprised that it was FF who gave it away for free at the time.:rolleyes:
    I don't see how criminal damage on the site will solve anything though.

As I previously stated, we will not get a cent, we will however have the option of purchasing 20% of our own gas supply at market value - and that is not about to change in the near future. Meanwhile, Shell and Fianna fail are happy for us to discuss the criminality at the site and thereby distract from this scandal - aided of course by a compliant media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭chosen1

I find the comments here amazing. A rush of diatribe against local people who simply want to prevent a dangerous pipeline pass through their homes. Why cant people deal with the real issue - at a time when our economy is on our knees, we are giving away a valuable resource which has been valued at, at least 50 Billion Euro. Shell must be laughing at the thick Paddies fighting among themselves. !

A lot of the local concern would have stemmed from bitterness over not getting what they thought was enough compensation for the pipeline going through their land, along with a few local nuts/troublemakers like Maura Harrington. I'm sure there are a few locals that are genuinely concerned about the pipeline but they are always overshadowed by the former.

Most of the protesters that you see aren't locals but hippies/crusties bussed in or camped in the hostel around there. The protesters have very little support in general in Mayo.

As for giving away our natural resources; where do you think this gas would be if it weren't for shell? It would still be under the sea as we don't have the money or resources as a country to keep doing explorations off the coast. That's the simple reason that exploration rights are leased to big oil companies and if they then do find anything, the country still benefits from it in the form of employment and tax income from the gas.

chosen1 wrote: »
    A lot of the local concern would have stemmed from bitterness over not getting what they thought was enough compensation for the pipeline going through their land, along with a few local nuts/troublemakers like Maura Harrington. I'm sure there are a few locals that are genuinely concerned about the pipeline but they are always overshadowed by the former.

Most of the protesters that you see aren't locals but hippies/crusties bussed in or camped in the hostel around there. The protesters have very little support in general in Mayo.

As for giving away our natural resources; where do you think this gas would be if it weren't for shell? It would still be under the sea as we don't have the money or resources as a country to keep doing explorations off the coast. That's the simple reason that exploration rights are leased to big oil companies and if they then do find anything, the country still benefits from it in the form of employment and tax income from the gas.

Personally, I would prefer to leave it 'under the sea' than to simply, give it away. I think future generations might thank us for that. Also, a few hundred jobs in exchange for 50 Billion euro worth of gas does not consitute a good deal in my book and the only people who will get 'tax income' will be SHELL who will claim back full tax on their investment !.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭chosen1

Personally, I would prefer to leave it 'under the sea' than to simply, give it away. I think future generations might thank us for that. Also, a few hundred jobs in exchange for 50 Billion euro worth of gas does not consitute a good deal in my book and the only people who will get 'tax income' will be SHELL who will claim back full tax on their investment !.

If there is 50 billion worth as you say, that has to be sold by the company resulting in tax revenue for the government. Hardly gaining nothing and much better in my book than having it left under the sea doing nothing with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

at this stage what is hoped to be achieved by protesting?physcial or not

Its nearly built, every court in the country has given it the go ahead an no expert in the world can be found to ridicule the whole idea.

it seems you only argument is the loss of €50 billion to the irish economy. nothing you do other than somehow force an election will change that.

I mean it has been found that liffey valley shopping center was built on land that was paid to be rezoned and it was further advised against by experts.

You still dont see it getting knocked to the ground after we found out.

The decision about the gas field has been done, your issue should be with the politicans why are you not protesting outside the Dail. Because you will actually be arrested and not just shoved in a ditch.

why are you not screaming for an election? actually as a point how many of the protesters are registered to vote? if your not even irish then you have less of an argument.

Who was elected last time round in Mayo? It was the usual supsects because they have the support of the majority and thats a democracry.

I have no issue with protesters as long as there argument is vaild and im afraid at this stage yours is lost.

chosen1 wrote: »
    If there is 50 billion worth as you say, that has to be sold by the company resulting in tax revenue for the government. Hardly gaining nothing and much better in my book than having it left under the sea doing nothing with it.

You need to research this more. I'll repeat it once more 'we will NOT get any 'Tax Revenue' from this Gas - Fianna Fail haven't even attempted to make claim this. Also, 50 Billion is a conservative estimate !!!.

at this stage what is hoped to be achieved by protesting?physcial or not

Its nearly built, every court in the country has given it the go ahead an no expert in the world can be found to ridicule the whole idea.

it seems you only argument is the loss of €50 billion to the irish economy. nothing you do other than somehow force an election will change that.

I mean it has been found that liffey valley shopping center was built on land that was paid to be rezoned and it was further advised against by experts.

You still dont see it getting knocked to the ground after we found out.

The decision about the gas field has been done, your issue should be with the politicans why are you not protesting outside the Dail. Because you will actually be arrested and not just shoved in a ditch.

why are you not screaming for an election? actually as a point how many of the protesters are registered to vote? if your not even irish then you have less of an argument.

Who was elected last time round in Mayo? It was the usual supsects because they have the support of the majority and thats a democracry.

I have no issue with protesters as long as there argument is vaild and im afraid at this stage yours is lost.

Thanks for YOUR opinion/rant.

is that it no answers to my questions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

at a time when our economy is on our knees, we are giving away a valuable resource which has been valued at, at least 50 Billion Euro. Shell must be laughing at the thick Paddies fighting among themselves. !
    It was given away before the Celtic tiger... and no, no-one knew where it was at the time. You can't tax something 20 or so years after you sell it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭brundle

It annoys me that alot of people in other parts of the country think that all the locals here in mayo are against this gas. I would put the figures at between 95% & 99% in favour of the development. For this reason, I feel that the shell to sea group should not be given any form of media coverage and certainly should not be allowed to say they are speaking for the people of mayo. The strongest and most accurate indication of the true feelings of the people of mayo and Rossport is a secret vote as there was alot of bullying of pro gas businesses & individuals with threats to peoples families etc. We had this secret vote in the form of the last general election. It is very interesting to note that Dr Gerry cowley who was a sitting TD when he decided to jump on board with shell to sea, lost his seat in the election. That gives an indication of the feelings of the people in the wider mayo area. A much more interesting stat is that he recieved only a handful of votes from the local polling station (It was 4 or 8 votes I think). On the other side of the coin, Another local TD who came out and said that the development had got all its consents etc and should go ahead topped the poll.
    There is currently an accomodation boom in Belmullet which is set to continue for a long time with many houses being rented for 2, 3, 5 years etc. All these workers in addition to the locals employed on the plant are bringing huge money into the county.
    In relation to the government giving the gas away, yes it was a bad deal no doubt but is it not a fact that the tax benefits to shell stop once the capital cost of the project has been recovered? If this is the case, there is huge revenue to be had for the country as all the estimates in relation to value of the gas in the field are regarded to be conservative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

1. The realistic estimates of Corrib's value is more like 10 billion.50 billion is an invented figure. It was valued at 2 billion when it was first commercially valued in 2001,
    2. The field was awarded to Enterprise, not Shell. (Shell later bought Enterprise)
    3. We had the chance to develop the field as a national asset, but didn't want to. An oil company spent millions taking a chance, hit paydirt, now the small-minded want it back.
    4. The gov. agreed a deal to guarantee supply. That guarantee is welcome. The fact the deal could/should have been better is long gone. Get over it.
    5.Shell to Sea was supposedly formed to "force" Shell to build an offshore platform, which isn't economically viable for a field that size. S2S's agenda now seems very different - their name is false advertising now.
    6. There is no profit in building dodgy pipelines. These people have done it all many times before and must pass stringent safety audits. It's not a ticking time bomb, and I believe the locals were fed a diet of fear by those with a bigger agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

is that it no answers to my questions?

I think you will find Gerry that unless the likes of IWWNCU and their fellow protestors can chain themselves to it, lie down in front of it or scream about Gardai "brutality" then they are usually lost for words in the face of reason and sense.

Simple logical, well reasoned argument or debate does not compute with them. Hysteria, criminal activities and over the top twisted facts and figures are their only mantra. 50 billion worth of gas! Jesus wept :rolleyes: That's why 99% of the Irish public and media will have nothing to do with them.

Them being some crusty, professional soap dodging, dole drawing scroungers and a handful of deluded locals who have backed themselves so far into the S2S corner that they do not know how to get out of it. (I bet some of them realise they are wrong). Thus they have to plow on with their futile protests or else loose face to the country.

It's just ridiculous at this stage and they are a laughing stock.

I think you will find Gerry that unless the likes of IWWNCU and their fellow protestors can chain themselves to it, lie down in front of it or scream about Gardai "brutality" then they are usually lost for words in the face of reason and sense.

Simple logical, well reasoned argument or debate does not compute with them. Hysteria, criminal activities and over the top twisted facts and figures are their only mantra. 50 billion worth of gas! Jesus wept :rolleyes: That's why 99% of the Irish public and media will have nothing to do with them.

Them being some crusty, professional soap dodging, dole drawing scroungers and a handful of deluded locals who have backed themselves so far into the S2S corner that they do not know how to get out of it. (I bet some of them realise they are wrong). Thus they have to plow on with their futile protests or else loose face to the country.

It's just ridiculous at this stage and they are a laughing stock.

Well done lads, you really have put me in my box. I'm feeling every bit the protesting crusty you have just labelled me !!. The only problem is, I have never set foot in Rossport in my life, least of all I've never been involved in a public protest in my life unfortunately. Both of you however clearly need to get your figures right - I'm pretty sure of my research - enough of the lazy name calling lads, come up with some real arguments please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭leitrim lad

pointless protests about nothing,

do these people not realise how good this is for their local area ,it put north west mayo on the map,

and i recall maura harrington saying on rte news not so long ago that it was her gas and not shells,

is she even a native of north west mayo atall , or did her teaching career bring her there

where were her parents, grand parents from

She is from the area but not near the terminal. She taught near it but no longer does. She has now retired. I live nearer the terminal/pipeline than she does and Ive no problem with it.
    She is the hippy type as are her brothers and although I would credit them with being very intelligent, they are certainly not speaking for the people. Recently the government set up a forum where everyone could get together for talks. Shell to sea refused to attend what they termed "Shells forum". I guess they didnt want to speak with "shells government" just like they dont believe "Shells Guards" are behaving fairly by removing protestors from the site.
    As usual everyone is wrong except them.
    They now have their own forum in a room adjoining the official forum where I presume only shell to sea supporters will be admitted. I dont quite get the point of that but yet they feel this should be the only forum. Its all mad stuff really.

big b wrote: »

5.Shell to Sea was supposedly formed to "force" Shell to build an offshore platform, which isn't economically viable for a field that size. S2S's agenda now seems very different - their name is false advertising now.

LOL, that is the part i find most amusing about the nutters.:D

as someone said earlier, shell to sea was originally formed to try to get shell to move the terminal to sea or so we thought.
    This was clearly found to be nonscene live on Primetime on a show they did from Belmullet. Dr Mark Garvin (a onetime leading member of Shell to sea)was there and he spoke of how he had no problem with the whole development as long as the terminal was at sea etc etc. In response to this, a very well prepared pro gas person produced a letter that Dr Garvin had written months even years earlier tating that this gas must never be removed from the seabed giving various (hippy) reasons why it must not leave the seabed. He did not have an answer to this. He was therefore shown to be bull****er live on RTE. Since then, he has either taken a behind the scenes roll or has left Shell to Sea because Ive not heard of him now in a long time. He also attempted to be elected to the senate thinking he had huge support. He found he had in fact no support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,902 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

He's living a quiet life in Ross off the Castlebar - Pontoon road.

Well done lads, you really have put me in my box. I'm feeling every bit the protesting crusty you have just labelled me !!. The only problem is, I have never set foot in Rossport in my life, least of all I've never been involved in a public protest in my life unfortunately. Both of you however clearly need to get your figures right - I'm pretty sure of my research - enough of the lazy name calling lads, come up with some real arguments please.

excuse me i never called you names or preluded you to anything, my questions were a genunine(?) ask for information.

I have nowhere made mention to you protesting physcially.

I have made no mention of figures only what you personally quoted.

Please answer the questions and stop fluffing around the issue of which I seek answers to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

When was the initial deal even done? How long are these eejits lookign for the government to backtrack on a signed agreement?

How many other countries do the exploration and pipeing themselves Vs how many sign deals to have commercial companies do it?

These protestors need to be shown the door at this stage.

I'm pretty sure of my research - enough of the lazy name calling lads, come up with some real arguments please.

It should be very easy to back up the €50B claim so. The floor is yours............

Stekelly wrote: »
    When was the initial deal even done? How long are these eejits lookign for the government to backtrack on a signed agreement?

How many other countries do the exploration and pipeing themselves Vs how many sign deals to have commercial companies do it?

These protestors need to be shown the door at this stage.

It should be very easy to back up the €50B claim so. The floor is yours............

I wonder, would the 50 billiion information you long for change your blinkered view - I suspect not. I invite you to do your own research and enough of your lazy ranting.

You were asked nicely to back that up.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Ah the old easy way out of tryign to turn it to me. good man.

I made no claims on knowing anything, your the one claiming to have the answers, so out wiht it or jog on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭leitrim lad

well belive it or not there is an estimated 5 trillion euro worth of gas/oil located in the area between the mayo coast and scotland, and they reckon 1/3 of it is inland in the lough allen basin

so lets see the idiocy that will protest against that and come out alive,

dont ask me for links unless your prepared to show me how to put up links and pictures as i dont know how to,

bellmullet is only a trickle compared to whats in the pipe line