Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rossport protestors get nasty.....

• 23-04-2009 11:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭

Heard on Galwaybay FM radio a gang of up to 15 balaclava wearing vandals broke into the Shell compound wielding iron bars and chains. They manged to start a digger at the site and used it to cause extensive damage to the compound. What exactly is this going to achieve? The compound will be built, its all over lads. Give it up. I hope they are caught and serve long jail terms.

Be ready for that crazy hag Maura Harrington and the usual shower of soap dodgers on 6-1 news this evening spouting sh1te.

Twats!!!

"IN A SEPARATE INCIDENT, WILLIE CORDUFF – ONE OF THE ROSSPORT FIVE – WHO WAS PROTESTING UNDER A TRUCK AT THE SHELL SITE – CLAIMS HE WAS REMOVED BY UP TO 6 MASKED MEN AT ABOUT 4 AM THIS MORNING, AND SUSTAINED INJURIES IN THE INCIDENT."

Of course you were Willie. What are the chances huh? The exact same night 15 masked lads break in and wreck the gaff, a seperate 6 masked lads were hanging about at 4am waiting to assault you.... Christ.

More twats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I reckon Willie lost his bottle during the incident, hid under the truck and had to get dragged out by his own buddies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I hope they feel guilty about the damage caused to the eco-system when they revved up that digger and punched another hole in the ozone layer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Indymedia has published the official S2S press release - makes it sound like hell ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

......."IN A SEPARATE INCIDENT, WILLIE CORDUFF – ONE OF THE ROSSPORT FIVE – WHO WAS PROTESTING UNDER A TRUCK .......

on an otherwise fairly bleak day, that made me lol :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

"IN A SEPARATE INCIDENT, WILLIE CORDUFF – ONE OF THE ROSSPORT FIVE – WHO WAS PROTESTING UNDER A TRUCK AT THE SHELL SITE – CLAIMS HE WAS REMOVED BY UP TO 6 MASKED MEN AT ABOUT 4 AM THIS MORNING, AND SUSTAINED INJURIES IN THE INCIDENT."

Wow, what a coincidence, masked men in the same place and the same time but the incident wasn't linked to the vandalism.

So there were 15 masked men for the vandalism and another 6 masked men at the truck?
    Hmmmm :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

mikemac wrote: »
    Wow, what a coincidence, masked men in the same place and the same time but the incident wasn't linked to the vandalism.

So there were 15 masked men for the vandalism and another 6 masked men at the truck?
    Hmmmm :confused:
    Unless of course the masked men were never protesters in the first place.
    Who stands to lose most as a result of an incident like this?
    Who stands to gain most?
    A bit of very public damage to equipment and the protesters get the blame even if it can't be proven who did it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Death metal should be blasted all around the area. Hippies hate death metal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Rossport protestors smell nasty.....

It's what I read.

Meh - sue me.

Hagar wrote: »
    Who stands to gain most?
    A bit of very public damage to equipment and the protesters get the blame even if it can't be proven who did it.

We should put a curfew in place on those damn protesters. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Be ready for that crazy hag Maura Harrington and the usual shower of soap dodgers on 6-1 news this evening

Last I heard of her, she went on hunger strike.
    In fact, I started a thread on it here in AH.
    That was a while ago, probably sometime in 2008

Did she win? :p
    Or was it all for show and media attention and she backed down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Harrington was released after 28 days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Muckers :rolleyes:

mikemac wrote: »
    Last I heard of her, she went on hunger strike.
    In fact, I started a thread on it here in AH.
    That was a while ago, probably sometime in 2008

Did she win? :p
    Or was it all for show and media attention and she backed down?

Didn't she release one of those celebrity fitness hunger-strike dvds and get paid to appear in ads for Weight Watchers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

BrightEyes wrote: »
    Death metal should be blasted all around the area. Hippies hate death metal

No they dont. My hippy friends love the music of morbid angel, impaled nazarene and rotting christ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

BrightEyes wrote: »
    Death metal should be blasted all around the area.

Only in the evenings. Folk and Viking metal is best in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

DrumSteve wrote: »
    No they dont. My hippy friends love the music of morbid angel, impaled nazarene and rotting christ.

..... my God.....
    THEY'RE IMMUNE!!!
    RUN SAVE YOURSELF!!!
    GET OUT OF THE COUNTRY!!!!
    FOR THE LOVE OF GOD NO!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

Nothing in the Indymedia Article about masked Gardai taking Willie out.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

connundrum wrote: »
    "Masked Gardai taking willie out"?

Has overtime been cut to the extent that they're resorted to Full Monty style stripping shenanigans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

It's Slayer. Hippies hate Slayer.

Rossport is something of a joke at this point. Maura Harrington is a dedicated antagonistic cow. Someone should have hunger-struck her on behalf of the nation.

..... my God.....
    THEY'RE IMMUNE!!!
    RUN SAVE YOURSELF!!!
    GET OUT OF THE COUNTRY!!!!
    FOR THE LOVE OF GOD NO!!!

who couldn't failed to be inspired by the lyrics such as:

"Sodomize thru the night - who has killed the ****ing light
    What the **** do you expect to see
    When Jesus lying naked in front of me

Goat in pain - the satanic reign
    Who has killed the ****ing light,
    Who has killed the ****ing light, huh ?
    You are all doomed to misery
    So **** some goatcorpses in praise of me"

Impaled nazarene-speaking for the people.

That man is a ****ing poet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Maybe it was Jack Bauer?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Wow. My tiny little world has been rocked by such elegant and reasoned verse. I may be now forced to reconsider several of my life choices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭leitrim lad

another attention seeking mission from the rossport people and their continental european hippie friends,

what a bunch of wasters and all living compliments to the state,,

i belive from working on that project that word of mouth has lead me to belive that there is only one person in stable employment in that area, apart from the workers on the site,

and that one person works in the post office handing out the dole, socail, and pensions every week to the likes of maura harrington and associates.

another source told me that the main reason they were objecting to the whole gas line and base, was because they were afraid that they would be offered jobs there and loose their dole money,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I had no idea they were from Wicklow.

who? impaled nazarene? ah yeah they hail from just outside blessington. lovely bunch of chaps too.

Who stands to gain most?

You're seriously suggesting that Shell sabotaged their own site, to make some protesters look bad?

Meanwhile, back in the real world....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

connundrum wrote: »

masked security staff, possible former military, who colleague recently went to to south america to stoke terrorism there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

These crustie scum should be slain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

Heard on Galwaybay FM radio a gang of up to 15 balaclava wearing vandals broke into the Shell compound wielding iron bars and chains. They manged to start a digger at the site and used it to cause extensive damage to the compound. What exactly is this going to achieve? The compound will be built, its all over lads. Give it up. I hope they are caught and serve long jail terms.

Be ready for that crazy hag Maura Harrington and the usual shower of soap dodgers on 6-1 news this evening spouting sh1te.

Twats!!!

Of course you were Willie. What are the chances huh? The exact same night 15 masked lads break in and wreck the gaff, a seperate 6 masked lads were hanging about at 4am waiting to assault you.... Christ.

More twats
    the only people who can't tell the difference between a hurting a person and damaging a metal fence are pyschopaths, if you can't tell the difference you might want to go seek help or hand yourself into mental hospital for the safety of the public

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 thescruff

i am amazed at the hatred shown on this website to the rossport protestors.
    Have Shell paid you to do this.
    Shell is a very nasty organisation as was outlined in the Sunday Observer two weeks ago.
    The comments made about the rossport people are the same type of comments that the Nazi's made against the jews around 1933.
    The moderator of this website is not doing their job in allowing this racism to be aired.
    If my home was endangered by a 60cm pipe line carrying the detritus of the bottom of the atlantic ocean at a pressure 150 times that of the atmosphere.......i too would be alarmed to say the least.
    The only conclusion i can take from this is that the posters here are right wing fascists without a brain.
    Has anyone questioned why the irish govt., and fianna fail in particular have co-operated with shell in raping our country of its natural resources.
    How much money has changed hands to allow shell extract oil from the detritus on land when all internation practise is to this offshore.
    As a former captain of an irish rugby team said 'use ur f**king brains' not ur d**ks.
    So what a digger was started...it's not the end of the world, go and join the reactionary forces of the state in mayo....and lock these people up, more will take their place.
    Thankfully Cowan got rid of Devins married to the judge who locked Harrington up.......as if they don't have enough money...two incomes one for being a member of the judiciary and and another as a junior minister whatever that is.
    Shame on you all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

thescruff wrote: »
    Shell is a very nasty organisation as was outlined in the Sunday Observer two weeks ago.
    The comments made about the rossport people are the same type of comments that the Nazi's made against the jews around 1933.
    The moderator of this website is not doing their job in allowing this racism to be aired.
    If my home was endangered by a 60cm pipe line carrying the detritus of the bottom of the atlantic ocean at a pressure 150 times that of the atmosphere.......i too would be alarmed to say the least.
    The only conclusion i can take from this is that the posters here are right wing fascists without a brain.
    Has anyone questioned why the irish govt., and fianna fail in particular have co-operated with shell in raping our country of its natural resources.
    How much money has changed hands to allow shell extract oil from the detritus on land when all internation practise is to this offshore.
    As a former captain of an irish rugby team said 'use ur f**king brains' not ur d**ks.
    So what a digger was started...it's not the end of the world, go and join the reactionary forces of the state in mayo....and lock these people up, more will take their place.
    Thankfully Cowan got rid of Devins married to the judge who locked Harrington up.......as if they don't have enough money...two incomes one for being a member of the judiciary and and another as a junior minister whatever that is.
    Shame on you all!
    Have rossport protesters paid you to reg and do this? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Shame on you all!

People don't like "alternatives" around here, it's not limited to Rossport. I don't know if it's because of fear or some sort of need to hate.

Of course, if a massive gas field was found beneath south Dublin tomorrow, you'd see quicker u-turns than Superman on acid.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

No they're not. :rolleyes:

Way to Godwin the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭TobyZiegler

I love the reasoned arguments by the Rossport protestor defenders. If you do not agree with the protestor's (thuggish and down right stupid at times) actions you are a psychopath and a right wing, fascist, racist. :confused::rolleyes:

Shame on you all!

can you explain if these hippies are a race now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

hahaha~! racisim against protestors brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

big b wrote: »
    You're seriously suggesting that Shell sabotaged their own site, to make some protesters look bad?

Meanwhile, back in the real world....
    It's the quickest most expedient way to get the protesters locked up.
    If you were Shell and this whole episode was costing you untold thousands per day what would you do?

Tigger wrote: »
    hahaha~! racisim against protestors brilliant

We'll have none of that crustyphobia here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Yes. Shell have paid us to do this. Prepare yourself for the short, sharp shock of the Shell shill show.

Agamemnon wrote: »
    Yes. Shell have paid us to do this. Prepare yourself for the short, sharp shock of the Shell shill show.

savage alliteration there man. just savage.

I think he deserves thanks for it.
    But that's just me.

It's the quickest most expedient way to get the protesters locked up.
    If you were Shell and this whole episode was costing you untold thousands per day what would you do?

Maybe I'd say "ah well, maybe the price will go up by the time we're finished, so more money for us"

maybe I'd say "Guarda, please do your job & stop the illegal part of these activities"

maybe I'd say "this is a bit of a pain, but hardly unique in our line of business"

What I don't think I'd say, as head of an international multi-billion business is "let's hire a few goons to trash the place, hopefully it'll make the protesters look bad"

C'mon Hagar, it's really not a feasible theory, is it?

I think he deserves thanks for it.
    But that's just me.

i wasnt gonna but your arguement persuaded me. grammar nazis ftw. actual nazis... maybe not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

The Nazi's had a pipline in the entire Germany? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

big b wrote: »
    Maybe I'd say "ah well, maybe the price will go up by the time we're finished, so more money for us"

maybe I'd say "Guarda, please do your job & stop the illegal part of these activities"

maybe I'd say "this is a bit of a pain, but hardly unique in our line of business"

What I don't think I'd say, as head of an international multi-billion business is "let's hire a few goons to trash the place, hopefully it'll make the protesters look bad"

C'mon Hagar, it's really not a feasible theory, is it?

that made me laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 IWWNCU

It seems to me that some of the antipathy towards the rossport issue should be directed towards our government who have given away our natural gas without us receiving a red cent in return for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭leitrim lad

at around 4.50 matt cooper had the superintendent of mayo himself on the mobile comunicator and he stated,

it was early days yet ,they didnt know who broke into the compound

,but it was 15 masked men armed with chains and steel bars,

who were also military trained, and had expierence with heavy machinery ,

according to the super he also said they damaged the peoples and the companies right to work on the site with this ambush,

and then another fella came on after the super and said that the gardai were not worried about the man who was on his death bed in castlebar hospital, they hadnt even taken a statment from him and didnt want to either,

but the man on the death bed in hospital was able to give this other fella a full ackted run down on how he was beat and he used the hospital bed as a mock shell lorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Shame on you all!

Go away Maura!

I do agree with you that we are being racist towards Mayo people,another breed thay are:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    People don't like "alternatives" around here, it's not limited to Rossport. I don't know if it's because of fear or some sort of need to hate.

Speak for yourself, not me.