Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irelands toughest town

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭road_2_damascus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

An File wrote: »

As for his (barely coherent) point, one of my best buddies in college is from Castleisland. He's one of the nicest gents I've ever met. Something tells me the poster in question is over-reacting a little bit.
    Me brother has been a cop down there the last few years and going by him its not bad down there at all. I have a few mates down that way meself and never heard anything bad about the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Look tralee is nothing out of the ordinary but you should go to castleisland, it is so rough man it isn't funny. My cousins are from St. Stephens park and man look im not open to discussion, castleisland is scum

Fxd dat 4 u, pls lrn to spel prop nxt time!:rolleyes:

Fxd dat 4 u, pls lrn to spel prop nxt time u dope!:rolleyes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zjqyDvSn2XA&feature=related

Why did you quote me?

sorry, unintentional...watch the clip...all the best

No bother haha! Watched, very serious stuff mate!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 568 ✭✭✭TheLoc

interestin enough. I wonder if he will do a show on Dublin or Limerick or something. probably not limerick but maybe dublin anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭D-A-V-E

scary stuff this..southill.....unreal!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gRw3Tvw67Lk

Shameless?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Dillinger3000

its hard to be able to judge which town is the roughest unless you have been to all of them, and ideally went drinking in all of them.

i travel all over the 26 counties as a rep, literally most towns witha couple of thousand population or more. have stayed overnight in a lot of them.

imo, i couldnt say which i found to be the roughest because its subjective and based on individual experiences on a given night, but i could make a list of the ones i thought were dodgy

carrick on suir is rough defo
    same with clonmel
    tipp town yes
    cobh in cork
    castleisland? maybe it is but i thought tralee was dodgier
    rathkeale is fine... its half populated by travellers but they seem pleasant enough. i just wouldnt like to live there thats all
    newcastlewest yes
    mullingar
    ennis was a bit rough

cant think of any more off the top of my head

oh yeah, one guy said sligo... he's right, that place can be fairly rough ok

the worst places i have seen have been in limerick and dublin, but theres something very redneck about the smaller towns thats scary :p
    any scumbags tend to be a big fish in a small pond which makes them think theyre invincible

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭happytime

Theres probably no argument about Belfast...but there was a paramilitary situation there...

As a regular town, the most Crime ridden, inbred, and downright backward town in the Republic is Kilrush Co. Clare, by a mile.

I worked in this town and it is very, very backward..sexual abuse rampant and massive crime empire...air of intimidation...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

pinder wrote: »
    lot of done up cars

What a joke of a statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭4tothefloor

1huge1 wrote: »
    Rathkeale and NCW may be limericks toughest towns but their deffinetely not Ireland's
    Newcastlewest Limerick's toughest town?! Hahaha :p:p Good one.
    Anything that has happened in Newcastlewest over the last few years can be attributed to either foreigners (mostly Lithuanians, now all gone) and scumbags from Limerick City or other towns on a jolly (who are also terrorising Abbeyfeale and Askeaton among other places). Unfortunately scumbags from Limerick City, including key criminal families, have also been re-housed in these towns which has also brought it's own problems. NCW is nowhere near toughest town category yet. Try Shannon, Kilrush, Tipp Town and Dundalk/Drogheda for examples of real ****holes, NCW is Bel Air in comparison :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭irishleedsfan

tipp town is quite nice ill have ye know

hahaha. good one

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,865 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

First bonfire of the season yesterday, on the green opposite People's Park :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Milkey Bar Kid

Longford town is a dump.Really because of the amount of traveller weddings there.
    The garda are so scared they will not show there faces. And the whole main street shuts down

• Registered Users Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

First bonfire of the season yesterday, on the green opposite People's Park :rolleyes:

Yeah I saw them setting it up on Monday alright.

Bonfire or rubbish burning?:rolleyes:

The city should really do something with that piece of land, apart from having the peoples park across the road, they could turn it into a park as its one of the first things people see when they enter the city, and having rubbish burning in the middle of it only further damages our city's reputation

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,865 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Bonfire or rubbish burning?:rolleyes:
    A bit of Column A, a bit of Column B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭irishleedsfan

TheLoc wrote: »
    hahaha. good one
    bit harsh really aint it? not everybody is a scumbag like

I never said they all were. what exactly would be the point in this thread then? but tipp town is a kip full of scumbags.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Kess73 wrote: »
    Rathkeale I would not stroll around on foot at anytime of the day.
    You have obviously never set foot in Rathkeale then! I have never heard such misplaced non-sense in all my life. I cant even remember the last time there was any trouble in Rathkeale, it might be full of travellers (who stick to themselves) but there is certainly little or no rough element to the town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

grenache wrote: »
    You have obviously never set foot in Rathkeale then! I have never heard such misplaced non-sense in all my life. I cant even remember the last time there was any trouble in Rathkeale, it might be full of travellers (who stick to themselves) but there is certainly little or no rough element to the town.

Its certainly intimidating. I used to pass it through the bus in my college days and rocks used to be thrown through the bus window. Many times bus drivers would drive a little faster out of the area in case youths were around to take pot shots. I passed the place a few days ago as I took a short route from Limerick to avoid Adare and the place is a dive and I can imagine it is rough also.

Simple equation too many travellers = bloodshed on the streets

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

tech2 wrote: »
    Its certainly intimidating. I used to pass it through the bus in my college days and rocks used to be thrown through the bus window. Many times bus drivers would drive a little faster out of the area in case youths were around to take pot shots. I passed the place a few days ago as I took a short route from Limerick to avoid Adare and the place is a dive and I can imagine it is rough also.

Simple equation too many travellers = bloodshed on the streets
    so because you can ''imagine'' a place is rough, means that it is rough? Its this kind of stereotyping that annoys a lot of people in Limerick City no doubt. That ''equation'' of yours makes little sense too. Tuam is full of travellers, yet it is not a rough town, Longford is too, but i wouldn't call it rough either. Certain parts of Rathkeale are run down yes, but its defo not rough. I'd gladly walk thru it on my own at night, i wouldn't dare walk thru the Square in Newcastle West at night. There is rarely any trouble in Rathkeale. I went to school there for 6 years, have socialised in the town on a quiet a few occasions and have never once seen trouble. Whatever about rocks being thrown at buses years ago, the amount of anti-social activity going on there now is minimal. How often do you hear Rathkeale mentioned in either the local or national headlines for the wrong reasons? Very rarely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Max Cohen

I have to laugh at the people who mentioned shannon on here,
    the place is pure quiet.
    and the fellas that do act the hard men ****e themselves of lads from limerick.

the 'hardmen' out there are wannabie limerick heads.
    eejits out in that place.

imho, limerick is the same as nearly anywhere but we just got bad luck with the particular gang we have doin the rounds.
    thing is, a lot of the youngins with them are only wannabies themselves ie fakin it to fit in

• Registered Users Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

grenache wrote: »

Have been there many times, and have seen nothing to change my mind on it. It is a run down, dirty little town, with a rough element there that spreads out into the surrounding areas. I suppose it is a fluke that the areas around there have so many break ins and things of a similar nature, or maybe that is all the city boys going out there doing that.

The only good thing about the place is the fact the main road bypasses it.

Max Cohen wrote: »
    I have to laugh at the people who mentioned shannon on here,
    the place is pure quiet.
    and the fellas that do act the hard men ****e themselves of lads from limerick.

the 'hardmen' out there are wannabie limerick heads.
    eejits out in that place.

imho, limerick is the same as nearly anywhere but we just got bad luck with the particular gang we have doin the rounds.
    thing is, a lot of the youngins with them are only wannabies themselves ie fakin it to fit in
    eh.... i'd have to disagree there. the young fellas that hang around with them dirty rotten low life scumnags are just as bad. they are not just wannabies. they are doing it to fit in but a wannabie only acts like a scumbag. what about that young tosser who killed roy collins from orders. he's not a wannabie. the couple who left the taxi friver out for dead a couple of days ago out in crough, the amount of shootings going on at the moment are being carried out by them so called "Wannabies".

I agree with the rest you said though:) we are unlucky we landed on a few family's that couldn't wipe their own arses properly if their life depended on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Max Cohen

TheLoc wrote: »
    eh.... i'd have to disagree there. the young fellas that hang around with them dirty rotten low life scumnags are just as bad. they are not just wannabies. they are doing it to fit in but a wannabie only acts like a scumbag. what about that young tosser who killed roy collins from orders. he's not a wannabie. the couple who left the taxi friver out for dead a couple of days ago out in crough, the amount of shootings going on at the moment are being carried out by them so called "Wannabies".

I agree with the rest you said though:) we are unlucky we landed on a few family's that couldn't wipe their own arses properly if their life depended on it.

well disagree away there all you want but they get roped in by the bravado