Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Subscribers Posts: 16,783 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

jeez, can't believe he came out with that.
    The game is hard enough as it is without a fellow manager trying to do, what seemed to be, an undermining gesture.

get out the violins, rafa shrugged and crossed his arms, thats a massive goal celebration by his standards.

Clearly what he should have done was given Sam a big hug and said "there there, will we play with 9 and give ye a bit of a chance?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Ferguson is afraid.
    He wants the likes of you to think he is afraid.

copaceptic, nice over reaction.

Allardyce isn't asking for special treatment, just a bit of decorum from opposition managers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Thank God the schools are back on Monday eh?

• Subscribers Posts: 16,783 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Des wrote: »
    He wants the likes of you to think he is afraid.

copaceptic, nice over reaction.

Allardyce isn't asking for special treatment, just a bit of decorum from opposition managers.

you're kidding right, shrugging and folding arms is now worse than jumping up and down and running around?

Allardyces comments in the media in the past show what kind of 'decorum' he has himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

copacetic wrote: »
    you're kidding right, shrugging and folding arms is now worse than jumping up and down and running around?

Allardyces comments in the media in the past show what kind of 'decorum' he has himself.
    And also the reason he'll never get a job managing a top side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

and this isnt disrespectful sam?
    copacetic wrote: »

Im with Copa on this one. Allydyce has been quoted as saying he is not interested in anything said, before, during or after a game. Or is it just his mate asked him to do it as a favour?

thegen wrote: »
    Im with Copa on this one. Allydyce has been quoted as saying he is not interested in anything said, before, during or after a game. Or is it just his mate asked him to do it as a favour?
    Of course he did. Since Liverpool hammered Utd at OT i think he is genuinley concerned (rightfully so) that it is now highly likely he will never surpass the Anfield clubs trophy haul and that has him cracking up. Some of his comments these last few weeks have bordered on embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,218 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Well big sam is right about one thing, rafa did humiliate them

however it was on the field not with any 'gesture'

ive never heard such nonsense, and fergie must be on the bottle hard at the moment if he is agreeing with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Daemonic

Why shouldn't Rafa undermine the opposition? His job is to get results and if a gesture is enough to undermine Allardyce and his team they need to grow a pair. Whats he supposed to do, give the players the signal to go easy on them??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

lint316 wrote: »
    http://www.fernando9torres.com/?p=3137

Interview with Torres on his web site. He says he wants to play for Liverpool for many more years. He also wants to maybe play in Italy and Germany before returing to Athletico. He must be planning for a long career :)

or just planning his escape early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭gucci

Slow news day i see........once again sky / setanta trying to turn managers press conferences into WWE type story lines......

You really should be careful about what you are posting up here and stating as facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

or just planning his escape early.

never seen you post here before....but already i can tell we won't be friends.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    never seen you post here before....but already i can tell we won't be friends.

Be alright if I posted it though, eh.

Give the lad one more chance Al.

Go on.

:pac: Just seen ferguson's comments there on sly sports news. How utterly pathetic. Shows just how worried he is now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,074 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

You really should be careful about what you are posting up here and stating as facts.

QFT

Please refrain from posting defamatory/libelous comments

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Alex Ferguson has accused Rafael Benitez of 'arrogance' and showing 'contempt' in his dealings with fellow Premier League managers.

The Liverpool chief has been in combative mood recently, on several occasions launching verbal volleys at Ferguson.

And ahead of Sunday's FA Cup semi-final with Everton, Ferguson has hit back with a withering assessment of Benitez's conduct.

First he lambasted the Spaniard for his description of Everton as a 'small club' before rounding on him for the attitude he showed in dismissing Blackburn last weekend once Liverpool had scored their second goal at Anfield.

'Everton are a big club, not a small one which Benitez arrogantly said,' said Ferguson.

'But arrogance is one thing. You cannot forgive contempt, which is what he showed (Blackburn manager) Sam Allardyce last weekend.

'When Liverpool scored their second goal he signalled as if the game was finished. I do not think Sam deserved that.

'Sam has worked so hard for the LMA (League Managers' Association) and he's had a weakened team. I just thought it showed contempt.

'In my experience no Liverpool manager has ever done that. It was beyond the pale.'

The tirade should enliven the Premier League title battle when it resumes next week, although Ferguson will feel justified in making the attack.

Benitez had delivered what he claimed to be 'facts', about United which the Red Devils do not believe to be true.

And while Ferguson has tried to resist the temptation to respond, this time he felt he needed to make a stand against the Liverpool manager, who feels more sure of his ground after finally steering his club into championship contention despite this week's Champions League exit at the hands of Chelsea.

monkey9 wrote: »
    Alex Ferguson has accused Rafael Benitez of 'arrogance' and showing 'contempt' in his dealings with fellow Premier League managers.

The Liverpool chief has been in combative mood recently, on several occasions launching verbal volleys at Ferguson.

And ahead of Sunday's FA Cup semi-final with Everton, Ferguson has hit back with a withering assessment of Benitez's conduct.

First he lambasted the Spaniard for his description of Everton as a 'small club' before rounding on him for the attitude he showed in dismissing Blackburn last weekend once Liverpool had scored their second goal at Anfield.

'Everton are a big club, not a small one which Benitez arrogantly said,' said Ferguson.

'But arrogance is one thing. You cannot forgive contempt, which is what he showed (Blackburn manager) Sam Allardyce last weekend.

'When Liverpool scored their second goal he signalled as if the game was finished. I do not think Sam deserved that.

'Sam has worked so hard for the LMA (League Managers' Association) and he's had a weakened team. I just thought it showed contempt.

'In my experience no Liverpool manager has ever done that. It was beyond the pale.'

The tirade should enliven the Premier League title battle when it resumes next week, although Ferguson will feel justified in making the attack.

Benitez had delivered what he claimed to be 'facts', about United which the Red Devils do not believe to be true.

And while Ferguson has tried to resist the temptation to respond, this time he felt he needed to make a stand against the Liverpool manager, who feels more sure of his ground after finally steering his club into championship contention despite this week's Champions League exit at the hands of Chelsea.

thats brilliant,

i wonder will fergie be bigging everton up if they knock them out of the cup tmrw :rolleyes:

If anyone is in any doubt mark this day down in your calender. This is the day ferguson finally cracked up and lost the mind games to Rafa. You know the funniest thing they where giving out on the TV last week about Rafa having no emotion on the touchline and then he does something with his arms and ferguson is giving out. Love it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,602 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

lol, he's right, the game wasn't finished........... there were a couple more goals left in it :D:D:D

Big Sam can go do one. I've never seen Benitez react after a goal except that one time, and I took it at the time that he did it because 'Big Sam' was mouthing off in the press only a day earlier about Benitez.

what are you referring to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Did you see Drogba after Lampard got the fourth on Wednesday? He did the same thing to the Chelsea fans. Giving it the old 'finished' sign. It's over.
    Let's see if cracked up Fergie moans about that as disrepect to Liverpool.

Cyrus wrote: »

A deleted post :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Highsider wrote: »
    If anyone is in any doubt mark this day down in your calender. This is the day ferguson finally cracked up and lost the mind games to Rafa. You know the funniest thing they where giving out on the TV last week about Rafa having no emotion on the touchline and then he does something with his arms and ferguson is giving out. Love it.

Will ya get away outta that! Fergie's been at it with donkey's years. We're still ahead, in the prem and mind games!

Anything out of Rafa yet? I hope he doesn't leave it too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

lolz fergie can't handle rafa on his own so calls in his mate to back him up.

etc

Pathetic.

deisedevil wrote: »
    Will ya get away outta that! Fergie's been at it with donkey's years. We're still ahead, in the prem and mind games!

Anything out of Rafa yet? I hope he doesn't leave it too long.
    Me neither.

lol @ Fergie

Fergie's cracking up he's cracking up he's cracking up he's cracking.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Cyrus wrote: »

He was referring to my post, which has been deleted, fair enough. I should have added the word 'allegedly' to it.

Highsider wrote: »
    Fergie's cracking up he's cracking up he's cracking up he's cracking.:pac:

Plus hes got Big Sam on his side now