"I'm gonna do the splits on your pillow!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,585 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

WindSock wrote: »
    If women arent funny, why are they always laughing in each others company?

'Cause they're idiots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,288 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I might be flamed for this, but I think Joan Rivers can be very funny. And not in a "ha ha, look at the lady try and make a funny" way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

eoin wrote: »
    I might be flamed for this, but I think Joan Rivers can be very funny. And not in a "ha ha, look at the lady try and make a funny" way.

She is funny, but only because her face is falling off as she drops names =p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,436 ✭✭✭Doodee

Dudess wrote: »
    the American Jewish comedienne

The unfunny jew

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

She can be funny sometimes. How she makes a living out of it though is beyond me.

amacachi wrote: »
    She can be funny sometimes. How she makes a living out of it though is beyond me.

I dunno - I think the same about Tommy Tiernan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭Lilyblue

There are lots of male comedians I do not find one bit funny - Tommy Tiernan & Des Bishop spring to mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I think the reason so many women are unfunny is that they're expected to be "ladylike" when out an about. So they may find themselves biting their tongue to not say something crude but hilarious for fear of seeming butch.

But I think young people have similar senses of humours and can be equally funny, but once women get to their late twenties/early thirties they become dry and boring (in general, there are exceptions etc...) whereas men keep their sense of humour for life.

Piste wrote: »
    I think the reason so many women are unfunny is that they're expected to be "ladylike" when out an about. So they may find themselves biting their tongue to not say something crude but hilarious for fear of seeming butch.

I think the opposite can be true actually. You don't have to be crude to be funny, but some comediennes think you do and try too hard to shock people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭mac_iomhair

no its cos none of their role models are funny... alex curran, colleen rooney, posh spice. probably why they all walk around with faces like a smacked ass. hey look at me, i think i my **** dont stink! wrong thread sorry.

but the couples humour, yes i agree wit that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 banana66

Lilyblue wrote: »
    There are lots of male comedians I do not find one bit funny - Tommy Tiernan & Des Bishop spring to mind

The main reason women are not funny is because they cant take the pi ss out of themselves. Men can completely ridicule themselves and tell stories where they are total gobs hites and not worry if people think less of them, this is the main area the women fall down on. There are some exceptions, Fiona Looney has been known to completely ridicule herself and I have found her amusing but generally women are very unfunny. Maybe they are busy trying to impress each other and afraid to let their guards down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

no its cos none of their role models are funny... alex curran, colleen rooney, posh spice. probably why they all walk around with faces like a smacked ass. hey look at me, i think i my **** dont stink! wrong thread sorry.

but the couples humour, yes i agree wit that!

Role models:rolleyes:

Aiming high aren't we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭Lilyblue

banana66 wrote: »
    The main reason women are not funny is because they cant take the pi ss out of themselves. Men can completely ridicule themselves and tell stories where they are total gobs hites and not worry if people think less of them, this is the main area the women fall down on. There are some exceptions, Fiona Looney has been known to completely ridicule herself and I have found her amusing but generally women are very unfunny. Maybe they are busy trying to impress each other and afraid to let their guards down.

I am brutal at telling jokes but can totally take the p out of myself & other people and do so on a regular basis. I am very out straight and out spoken in the company of people I know. There are 2 guys I work with and they are the funniest people I know and if they said the sky is blue I would laugh my head off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

The thing I don't like about joking with girls is if you say something that is a bit distasteful is even it is incredibly funny they don't laugh because it's like an instinct kicks in and they say something like ''Oh,thats mean'' and ruins the whole moment and ya just feel like shaking them and saying get over yourself!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The thing I don't like about joking with girls is if you say something that is a bit distasteful is even it is incredibly funny they don't laugh because it's like an instinct kicks in and they say something like ''Oh,thats mean'' and ruins the whole moment and ya just feel like shaking them and saying get over yourself!!

Theres a few like that allright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Offensive joke off, now! C'mon buddy, throw down :p

You're either making a shocking generalisation or hanging out with lame girls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

banana66 wrote: »

I remember reading a study somewhere about bonding and about how men bond by bigging themselves up: "Jesus aren't we all great?" and women bond by being self deprecating: "Sure aren't we all eejits". I think it's probably quite accurate, coz women can't get away with the arrogant/egotistical thing that men manage to make funny. Mainly because other women would murder them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭Ann22

I generally find men funnier. When I'm watching one of those progs where loads of comedians come on one after the other, I hate when a woman comes on, they're so not funny. I have an immature sense of humour, I laugh at silly things, toilet humour and rude stuff etc- stuff you can't say in front of a gang of ladies. When I'm in the company of women I'm inclined to restrain my silly side unless I'm with one or two that are just like me:). I've one friend in particular who is pure mad...the craic is 90 when we're together. We shouldn't really be let loose on the town without the restraint of our ohs:o. I could say anything to her and she wouldn't be shocked...it's soooo refreshing!

I dunno - I think the same about Tommy Tiernan.

I don't, I very, very rarely find him even slightly funny.

Sorry, I was talking about this part of your post.
    amacachi wrote:
    How she makes a living out of it though is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

People describe me as funny. I enjoy comedy. I like to make people laugh and have a pretty sick and sharp sense of humour alot of the time. I love a good belly laugh or dirty laugh at something. Keeps my boyfriend entertained. I'm a woman btw.

Speaking as a woman, no in general we aren't funny and most chicks are very dull. Occasionally you meet a few sound ones that don't talk about weddings.

Sorry, I was talking about this part of your post.

Ah yeah, just specifying that I don't think Tiernan is funny at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Because one of them has just repeated a joke they heard from a man earlier ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,773 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Ah yeah, just specifying that I don't think Tiernan is funny at all.
    I wouldn't say that. I like other people telling his jokes. He is just a hateful bastard and I hate my eyes for looking at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭psicic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

bluto63 wrote: »

Women aren't funny

Thats not true!.Its just that women are not intentionally funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,518 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Lilyblue wrote: »
    There are 2 guys I work with and they are the funniest people I know and if they said the sky is blue I would laugh my head off!
    Methinks you either laugh to impress them or you dont have a single funnybone in your body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

While being "funny" and being "laughable", sometimes appear the same, they are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Fince

i own many leather bound books and my house smells of rich mahogany

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

BrightEyes wrote: »
    :D Vicar of Dibley marathon on Dave coming up in the next few days!!!!!!

I think I will plug out the tv and hide until it's safe to come back out :(

I'd say just remember not to watch Dave when it's on tbh...