If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

RTÉ's Storyland ***MEGA MERGE***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 alvysinger

Pubworld episode 2 promo now online.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b6O0vGzUMgs

Cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 alvysinger

Pubworld episode 2 promo now online.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b6O0vGzUMgs

Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭afatbollix

what a load of ****e... ye should quit that rte thing now....

because your pmping your own show in two threads... im going to post twice that its ****e...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 mknotaro

I think overall this was a nice idea. But I don't think the general public know anything about it - which is really weird as they have three tv stations and three radio channels to advertise it on.

Although it really was a mixed bag of stuff that ended up with a first episode. They all looked like they had different budgets, which wasn't the case.

Also there was supposed to be 10 projects chosen. Pubworld got its first episode after someone else dropped out, and then another project must have dropped out without enough time to put another one in.

Editorally, I'm not sure any of the first episodes really drew me in, that I would desperately need to see the next one.

There was no blending of character and cliffhanger. Pysch ward came close to it. But the main character wasn't directly involved in the cliffhanger.

In saying all that, I'll end up watching the next episodes of all of them.

I hope they get the voting solved for the next round too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Hilarious to see all the people trying to plug their own tosh really subtly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

I don't mind people promoting themselves because in the current climate it really is the only way to get their product out there. The whole world does it so we can't really complain too much.

In saying that...I did think Roaring Twenties was poor and I have no idea how it managed to get onto RTE. Pubworld only got in because another group of writers withdrew their pilot upon reading the crazy RTE contract.

I really hope they asked you what you have in store for this show because based on the pilot you submitted there's no way that you should have been selected for the final ten (11). You're building it up a lot anyway so I hope the final product delivers on your somewhat extended promise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I can't actually believe that people rate Rental Boys at all.

It was poorly directed, terribly written and it looked awful.

The Diet of Worms team deserve a better script than this to be honest, I hope to God none of them were involved in writing in it and are just serving as actors.

It's sub-Clerks nonsense that didn't seem to realise it was a short web episode and instead served up the opening section of a poor 30-min sitcom.

The whole opening section was obviously ripped from an episode of Spaced (the one where Tim and Daisy go to the pub and encounter the Chavs). I hated it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 PopBeloved

I'm really surprised by how little goodwill the series are receiving. All of them are quite obviously being held together with spit and duct tape and four of them are as good as anything RTE has put out in recent times with two of them being better than anything RTE has put out in recent times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

PopBeloved wrote: »
    I'm really surprised by how little goodwill the series are receiving. All of them are quite obviously being held together with spit and duct tape and four of them are as good as anything RTE has put out in recent times with two of them being better than anything RTE has put out in recent times.

probably cause nobody has watched them
    probably cause rte's core viewer base dont use 'puters
    probably cause people like me probably hadnt heard of them till the makers of one of the vids came on here promo'ing the stuff

?????

And/Or RTE have lost any and all customer respect with regard to comedy or drama, so people just cant be bothered!?
    All of them are quite obviously being held together with spit and duct tape and four of them are as good as anything RTE has put out in recent times with two of them being better than anything RTE has put out in recent times.
    Proving my point!

I watched one, Che Guvera one
    started well, meh! from half way

Watched Hardy bucks on Utube

Sorry, no, I mean I'm surprised by how little goodwill the series are receiving here.
    Proving my point!

I don't follow.

What I was saying was that with half the Storyland entries being good, a success rate that far exceeds RTÉ's broadcast batting average, coupled with the series' obviously low budgets, I expected the feelings towards the people involved to be less hostile.

Sorry, no, I mean I'm surprised by how little goodwill the series are receiving here.

Thats what i was answering!
    I don't follow.
    What I was saying was that with half the Storyland entries being good, a success rate that far exceeds RTÉ's broadcast batting average, coupled with the series' obviously low budgets, I expected the feelings towards the people involved to be less hostile.

Why?
    Why should the paying customer be fawning?

EXACTLY whats wrong with the Irish media!

ps. Apparently People on here are getting pretty fed up with media types opening new accounts to pimp their products without being honest

Thats what i was answering!

Then why did you give a set of posible explanations that clearly don't apply to the people here?

People discussing the series haven't seen them? People hanging out on an internet discussion board don't have computers? People who have heard of the series haven't heard of the series?

You can hold the asterisk key all you want: it still doesn't make any sense. I don't see how what I said supports your argument that the computerless internet users who have been knives out about Storyland haven't heard of Storyland.
    Why?
    Why should the paying customer be fawning

There's a big difference between fawning and throwing tomatoes at the student production. "The web serials made for a fiver and a packet of Silvermints are flawed" ? Well, y'know, duh.
    ps. Apparently People on here are getting pretty fed up with media types opening new accounts to pimp their products without being honest

Short of e-mailing you my CV and inviting you to my work, what can I do to convince you? You can be as suspicious of me as you want; you're not my parole officer. Yeah, it'd be nice not to have "Bad faith! Bad faith!" screamed in my face any time I say something mildly positive about an Irish production but then again, it'd be nice not to have 'Blinkers! Blinkers!" screamed in my face when I say something negative; I don't expect it to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

i think you'll find people are only being hostile to the ones that are shite (ie rental boys) and positive to the ones that are good (ie hardy bucks)

Then why did you give a set of posible explanations that clearly don't apply to the people here?

People discussing the series haven't seen them? People hanging out on an internet discussion board don't have computers? People who have heard of the series haven't heard of the series?

You can hold the asterisk key all you want: it still doesn't make any sense. I don't see how what I said supports your argument that the computerless internet users who have been knives out about Storyland haven't heard of Storyland.

There's a big difference between fawning and throwing tomatoes at the student production. "The web serials made for a fiver and a packet of Silvermints are flawed" ? Well, y'know, duh.

Short of e-mailing you my CV and inviting you to my work, what can I do to convince you? You can be as suspicious of me as you want; you're not my parole officer. Yeah, it'd be nice not to have "Bad faith! Bad faith!" screamed in my face any time I say something mildly positive about an Irish production but then again, it'd be nice not to have 'Blinkers! Blinkers!" screamed in my face when I say something negative; I don't expect it to change.

The not viewing thing was related to the lack of viewers the shows are apparently getting

& I didnt hear of the series till they came on here pimping
    So i hadnt watched them
    thats 2 out my 3 covered:eek:

I said people on here were fed up with media types setting up accounts

Didnt say you were one, did I?
    I dont care what you do!:eek:
    why are your responses so aggressive?

AND yes they are fighting against the bad name RTE productions/home made shows have!
    Unfair on them? Yes!
    Is that life? Yes!
    Should they know that and if they have an ounce of sense deal with it? YES!

As for the knives out
    Seems to me they are full of praise for the good ones
    full of something else for the bad ones (again thats RTE baggage, they will have to deal with it)
    + id say the pimping of RTE/TV3 shows (apparenlty going on years) on here is the reason for the grief, YOU REEP WHAT YOU SOW!!!:eek:

BTW your in IRELAND
    the Irish tend to start with "go on them, what you got, aah well"

if you want "well done, at least you tried"
    Try Middle England!!!

Not replying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 mknotaro

Tago Mago wrote: »
    Hilarious to see all the people trying to plug their own tosh really subtly!

I don't know if this was directed at me. But if it was, I'd like to state that I have nothing to do with any of the storyland stuff. Apologies if I've picked you up incorrectly on this.

If it was the case 'cos I mentioned about Psych Ward positively and not others, here's my opinion on the first episode of all nine.

1st Hardy Bucks
    Not the second-coming of Irish comedy. As a piece of YouTube TV, it has its good points. As a first episode in Storyland, it had a nice, almost complete, plot. But it was hit and miss at the best of times, and a bit more miss that hit.

2nd Rental Boys
    Dreadful. This looked cheap - with a glaring continuity error in it. Plus it feels like a longer piece that was just cut, rather than being an interesting full episode. As for its originality, it's not. Very Clerks feel to it.

3rd Psych Ward
    I did like this. It looked visually well. Spent too much time introducing characters (the guy he has the cigarette with) without a real sense of the main character. And as I stated, the cliffhanger... it doesn't actively put the main character in any jeopardy.

4th Happy Slapper
    Bad directing. Bad editing. Felt like it was a transition year project. And a supposed shock-off-camera ending, which is a cheap cop out.

5th Jenny Was a Friend of Mine
    I know what you did last summer. While they tried to get 'its through webcams and phonecams' feel, they had a bizzarre reverse shot in her bedroom, which threw me out of the drama as i tried to figure out if it was someone spying on her after placing a camera there, or just a bad directorial decision. Again no real sense of character.

6th Pub World
    There was as much in this opening episode as there were in the trailers. The main guy, who i think was in the roaring twenties, is an over-acting actor and needs to be calmed down. Again though, no sense of character. This is a George Lucas style effects over substance project.

7th Running Low
    It's sad this one is so low down. But again, slightly unoriginal. Shaun of the Dead type story, with the most laughable cliffhanger of all of the projects. "the greens" WTF? There's some nice ideas in it though which is why it being near the lower end of the rankings. There was a nice sense of the characters in it, probably because of the actors though.

8th Chez Spuds
    Good production values but was a bit too weird. And as a standalone episode, the two central characters were too unlikable to draw people to want to see a second episode. Plus Che Guevara with a dublin accent??? Maybe i don't get surrealism...

9th This is not a conspiracy theory
    This was the worst though. And did deserve to be ranked this low. Terrible. Do I need to say more? I don't think anyone is going to defend this piece of tosh.

Overall all the first episodes were a bit disappointing. There was no one project that I need to see again. I will watch them for curiousity.

There was a lack of overall good solid characters. Hardy Bucks characters feel a bit strong, but that's probably cos they've been playing these characters for a while - running low has two characters with potential.
    Production values - pysch ward, chez spuds and slightly less running low (a spar store, is still a spar store).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

mknotaro wrote: »
    I don't know if this was directed at me
    Nope :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

It's amazing how negative this thread is given the whole project is about getting some new blood into Irish productions.... you know, something people have been crying about for years.

I'm not going to rant about the shows being fantastic, or rubbish, but I would imagine a lot of people involved in each show only started producing things this time 'round, hence why a lot of editing will be choppy, acting hammy & writing a bit weird.

It's hard to believe that people here think this is a whole montrose conspiracy to grab money and make mediocre tv. This is new blood, new talent, etc. Give these projects a chance. A lot of the moaning in this thread comes across as desperate typical Irish begrudgery (how many of the whingers here got rejected from storyland, seriously?). I rarely post 'round these parts on boards but mother of god you lot really are a miserable shower of ......................

Anyway, anyone from storyland reading this, good luck on your second episodes, even if half of the twits in here hate it, but can't do any better.

just seen they all have promos up on the site now...

rental boys need a new lighting perosn :P....

for something so simple hardy bucks made me laugh...

pych ward looks like they have a plot which i though they wouldent as it would of been hard as we dident know where it was going..

running low... hmmmm no idea whats happening yet..

dident watch the rest because i thought there first esp was ****e...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

New teaser posted today. New episode out on Monday.

You never had to chase the crow for food, boy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

ye ****in soft ****ers. heheheh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Max Cohen

"ye voyagers"

class show
    humour is right up my street

the viper's deadly, the ep where they were dancing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭stiff kitten

well i think they are savage....
    i would say that as im from swinford....up mayo
    go us! nice to see were getting on the map

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I'm sick saying this to people: Father Ted was never offered to RTE.

true point, but are you actually sick of sayin that to people?

Max Cohen wrote: »
    true point, but are you actually sick of sayin that to people?

Yes. I actually am.

then thats the best impersonation of someone from the wesht by a scouser i've ever heard.

that would be great, if its true.

It is true.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Yes. I actually am.

Odd,
    i didn't actually expect that the issue would actually be raised that often actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

well i think they are savage....
    i would say that as im from swinford....up mayo
    go us! nice to see were getting on the map
    Even though everyones laughing at you, not with you.. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 wild boar

The biys were out in castlebar a few nights ago and if they do have a scouse accent it's very light, couldn't notice an accent on them at all.

the boo's exactly the same in real life too, no difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,384 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It's the funniest Irish prodused comedy I've seen in years. Really hope it gets picked up.