Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DK47

lucygoosy wrote: »
    Hey guys sorry havent been on in a while the whole budget and public servant talks were wrecking my head big time!!!!! How did ye get on down at the open day? My friend passed out on Wednesday she had a great day but apparantley Fachtna said that will be the last class to graduate till 2011 at least. Depressing or what? What is oe meant to do in the meantime? There are no jobs and I certainly cant afford to go to college! PSNI are recruiting or so I hear?

hey lucygoosy, open day was great, really was, well worth the 3 hour drive there and back, indeed 2011 my be the next intake but the process will start b4 that, and from what i seen and heard in templemore it will be well worth it, as for the mean time, the reserves is a good idea, as for college, if you are inrecept if a social welfare payment, the back to education allounace is well worth a look, the elligbility critera is changing for the better, it was announced in the budget but no details were given, aslo volunteering is a good idea if thats your thing. unenployent is crap, i know, but aleat one positve thing is now people wont be joining up just becaus thay dont have a job? maybe we colud all come up with positives that will come out of the lact of recruitment?:p iam trying the positive thing people, work with me :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭lucygoosy

dkhill47 wrote: »
    hey lucygoosy, open day was great, really was, well worth the 3 hour drive there and back, indeed 2011 my be the next intake but the process will start b4 that, and from what i seen and heard in templemore it will be well worth it, as for the mean time, the reserves is a good idea, as for college, if you are inrecept if a social welfare payment, the back to education allounace is well worth a look, the elligbility critera is changing for the better, it was announced in the budget but no details were given, aslo volunteering is a good idea if thats your thing. unenployent is crap, i know, but aleat one positve thing is now people wont be joining up just becaus thay dont have a job? maybe we colud all come up with positives that will come out of the lact of recruitment?:p iam trying the positive thing people, work with me :cool:

So am I am doing whatever I can to better myself for AGS so that when they do recruit ill be well able to get it!!! Have my exams for phase two reserves next week ahhhh I should be studyin!!

What did u think of the college it is nice isnt it? Im back down there myself in two weeks cant wait!

li@mo wrote: »
    There was a bit on tv3 news there from the passing out ceremony. They said that the Garda college will remain open

They have to keep it open because Full time members do be sent on courses etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

apparantley Fachtna said that will be the last class to graduate till 2011 at least.

you heard wrong from her. There will be phases passing out well into the end of 2010. Our phase (KC)will be the last big phase passing out (270 people), whenever that is I don't have a clue, July 2010 or something :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭spudz21

So am I am doing whatever I can to better myself for AGS so that when they do recruit ill be well able to get it!!! Have my exams for phase two reserves next week ahhhh I should be studyin!!

What did u think of the college it is nice isnt it? Im back down there myself in two weeks cant wait!

Hey lucygoosy, I'm the same as yourself and loads of others sitting tight for the next recruitment campaign:(Im half thinking of signing up to the reserves while I'm waiting.....still unsure though?!Would u recommened it for people waiting??I suppose the experience would be good:):)You doing anything else in preparation??:)Im doing a bit of volunteer work and an evening course, keeping busy!!
    We have a long wait ahead of us:confused:

Hey Greydiamond,

Just referring to ur comment that the reserves are just wannabes.. I'm in the Reserves for the last 6 months and the reason i joined is because i'm still in college and thought the experiences will be good when i do apply for the full time gardai.. Plus to find out is that what i want to do with the rest of my life or just continue with my degree..
    And believe me, when ur on night shifts doing 10pm to 6am and dealing with all that sh*t, who cares if u are full time or part time, the fact is the gardai are seriously lacking man power and every bit helps.

Hope this doesnt come across like i'm arguing with you, just giving you my view.

Im in the Reserves too. I wouldnt call it a wannabe job. The way I see it is I wasnt lucky enough to get full time when I went for them previously and if being in the Reserve will give me good experience in dealing with the public correctly and learning more about AGS then why wouldnt you do it.
    If I was a Super on a panel and I hear "Ive always wanted to be a Garda" well why didnt you join the Reserves if you had so much interest in them is exactly what i would say back. I dont think its fair that Reserves get slated. Im not doing it for the good of my heakth. Im doing it because I have a genuine intereset in AGS and ill do anything to improve my chances of being selected,. It may also be of an advantage to me if I do get in and start my training as I would have had some experiences with AGS. So you may be laughing at us but fire ahead cos at the end of the day we are trying our best and I think if you want something so bad youll try anything to succeeed and I feel like Im getting there slowly but surely.

Nuff Said.

pvt.joker wrote: »
    you heard wrong from her. There will be phases passing out well into the end of 2010. Our phase (KC)will be the last big phase passing out (270 people), whenever that is I don't have a clue, July 2010 or something :rolleyes:

Well fair play to ya your nearly there!!!:)

spudz21 wrote: »
    Hey lucygoosy, I'm the same as yourself and loads of others sitting tight for the next recruitment campaign:(Im half thinking of signing up to the reserves while I'm waiting.....still unsure though?!Would u recommened it for people waiting??I suppose the experience would be good:):)You doing anything else in preparation??:)Im doing a bit of volunteer work and an evening course, keeping busy!!
    We have a long wait ahead of us:confused:

Ya sure ya might as well apply what have you to lose its good experience and you learn a lot from full time members. Im on phase 2 at moment going down end of April for phase3 and cant wait. It is inyense enough but its so worth it!!! Not much else we can do at the moment as tehre is such a long wait!!!

pvt.joker wrote: »

Also hate Mr Drogba

For making it 3-1 against Liverpool wed nite:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 scoobydoo-gaa

Like I think every1 knows what has been said in the paper and at the conference especially the people in the system who have a career depending it. Especially with the way things are like in the country at the moment, sure there is no harm being a little optimistic that more intakes will occur this year.

It doesn't help when people have nothing to do with the process come on and try to dash every1's hopes who are still waiting. People know this already but try and put it to the back of their mind.

Not saying some1 can't be a realistic and state the facts but why constantly bring it up?! Sure being optimistic is doing no harm to any1.
    If you are sour about not being in the system or failed to get in, doesn't give you a right to wreck others hopes.

And that goes for people who are already in and just want to do it for the fun of it...

Im at a loose end as well as the rest of ye. i didnt grt in till i had applied twice. its a year and a half since i started applying. im not trying to rub anyones noses in it. i wish ye all the best of luck. work is that bad at home im out in italy working at the moment and would just love to move home again

Yo Scooby what stage are you at did u succeed when you applied last?? Italy must be fab tho even though sad times over there at the mo isnt ther :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 sally88

Hey Guys!:D
    Does anyone have any idea when the next recruitment drive is? im pretty sure it wont be any time soon,but thats ok i am going travelling for the next year( well trying to find work:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭StreetAngel

sally88 wrote: »
    Does anyone have any idea when the next recruitment drive is? im pretty sure it wont be any time soon,but thats ok i am going travelling for the next year( well trying to find work:)

Hey sally88!
    no one has any clue about the next recruitment drive will be :rolleyes:, but it does look like it could be a couple of years even, so I'd say defo a great chance to go travelling for the year! I'm hoping to do the same...It will all be 'life expericence' anyway when it comes to applying! :D I'd say you should go for it anyway!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭missmorbeg

sally88 wrote: »

sorry to say but that big noise we heard when we got to templemore was the gate SLAMMING behind us

dont hold yer breath , it cud be a while b4 they open again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 scoobydoo-gaa

Yo Scooby what stage are you at did u succeed when you applied last?? Italy must be fab tho even though sad times over there at the mo isnt ther :(
    italy is ok. headin home next week and then headin for france after that. my job requires alot of travelling and im sick to the teeth of it. im about 60 miles from that earthquake. i felt the shaking but nothin fell down near me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 delta5

looks like we could be waiting another while here yet lads!!! it does not look good! heard they have a huge list of people waiting to get in due to the fact that they are only taking 100 every 4months or something!

delta5 wrote: »
    looks like we could be waiting another while here yet lads!!! it does not look good! heard they have a huge list of people waiting to get in due to the fact that they are only taking 100 every 4months or something!

if what you said above was true we would be lucky, i not sure if that is even going to happen?:confused: anyone waiting on medical or have medical and pct done here anything? are yea still in suspended animation ?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭pink star

if what you said above was true we would be lucky, i not sure if that is even going to happen?:confused: anyone waiting on medical or have medical and pct done here anything? are yea still in suspended animation ?:rolleyes:

Hey ya, I have my medical next wednesday haven't heard anything further and god knows how long we're goin to be waiting to be recruited but it'll eventually happen guys it's just taking longer than we all thought!:rolleyes:

pink star wrote: »
    Hey ya, I have my medical next wednesday haven't heard anything further and god knows how long we're goin to be waiting to be recruited but it'll eventually happen guys it's just taking longer than we all thought!:rolleyes:

id sooner to to be waiting to start rather then waiting for a recruitment drive, good luck Wednesday, no doubt the will be so impressed they will send you straight to templemore:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

pink star wrote: »

This has to be good news. The medical only lasts (if that's the right word to use) 12months afaik before it has to be re-done, so if they're doing medicals then that sure gives me a little optimism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 delta5

it is happening know that well! but next recruitment drive wont be for a long bit yet! they going to get rid of this list first so training wont stop just recruitment drives will

id sooner to to be waiting to start rather then waiting for a recruitment drive, good luck Wednesday, no doubt the will be so impressed they will send you straight to templemore:p

Oh don't you know it!!! If some miracle happened I'd be blessed!!;) Thanks anyway I'll let you know how it goes! But as you said I suppose I am lucky that I'm only waiting to start and not waiting for a recruitment drive!

kerry4sam wrote: »
    This has to be good news. The medical only lasts (if that's the right word to use) 12months afaik before it has to be re-done, so if they're doing medicals then that sure gives me a little optimism.

Well we all have to stay positive so it is a good thing to see! I'm not complaining anyways!:cool:

delta5 wrote: »
    it is happening know that well! but next recruitment drive wont be for a long bit yet! they going to get rid of this list first so training wont stop just recruitment drives will

the quicker they get rid of the backlog of people in the system the better for everyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Dj-del rio

i am in the garda reserve and members in my station told me last week that there will not be recruitment for full timers for 3 or 4 years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

Dj-del rio wrote: »
    i am in the garda reserve and members in my station told me last week that there will not be recruitment for full timers for 3 or 4 years now.

i wouldnt be surprised if it took that long, but id say at least 2 years minimum :(

Dj-del rio wrote: »

heard that before, sorry but they have no way of knowing, and if some sort of official decision has been made to that effect the media and opposition parties wold have a field day. the general conciseness is 2 years. but we could be debating this for ever, you just dont know, we know its not likely before end of 2010 for definate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 sparky1977

.Lads these are all just rumours circulating I wish something official would be released in terms of wheter or not recruitment has ended for the forseeable future.
    Im tired of hearing constant rumours and to be fair this is all they are.
    Im a Garda Reserve as well and nobody in my station including my unit sergeant knows whats going on .I know for certain that regular guards dont know the answer to if and when the next recruitmnet campaign will be trust me Im blue in the face asking "relevant" people on this matter but yes a bit of clarification from official sources would be very much welcomed by everyone I do believe and put each and every hopeful out of our misery once and for all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

The right hand just doesn't seem to know what the left hand is doing at the moment. The reason no official statement has been released is bacause nobody knows themselves what is going on! or what could happen next week.

kerry4sam wrote: »
    The right hand just doesn't seem to know what the left hand is doing at the moment. The reason no official statement has been released is bacause nobody knows themselves what is going on! or what could happen next week.

exactly!!!!

post 200 yea!!!!, o god, do you see that this recession is doing to me, i'm getting excited too easy:eek: