Woman shoots her son then herself at shooting range

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

If you want here is the video.

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=e51_1239269004

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

dizzyniki wrote: »
    thats awful....she had been banned from the same shooting range 7yrs ago for trying to commit suicide there!!!! Sure they should have seen that one coming! Americans...will never understand them!
    7 years is a long time to remember someone tbh. Is it not also possible the range changed staff or ownership?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Overheal wrote: »
    7 years is a long time to remember someone tbh.

not if your banned from a pub, i would have thought a firing range would be more careful on remembering who not to let in.

i was in america last summer, i had never held a gun before. i went into a place and got a smith and wesson model 500 with a box of ammo. it was too easy. luckily i took my meds that day lol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

There is a very high post count from American addresses on this thread.

The discussion appears to have two points of view.
    1) Look at the Germans.
    2) We need guns to defend ourselves against people with guns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Depression isnt an excuse. Feck I suffer from "depression" over half me life. Does that mean I can kill someone and have people feel sorry for poor little me. Fecking nice one. I knew there was something to live for lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

kincsem wrote: »
    There is a very high post count from American Irish addresses on this thread.

The discussion appears to have two points of view.
    1) Look at the Germans Americans.
    2) We don't have guns but we do.
    fixed.
    We need guns to defend ourselves against people with guns.

In a majority of cases guns were used to defend from assailants that were not necessarily armed with guns: for instance a shop clerk - customer runs in, hops the counter, with a blade - clearly intending to kill the clerk. You pull a gun out, start firing, and that would-be-murderer just ran away faster than he ran in.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OUff31LRPE4&feature=related

True, guns can be involved on both sides. In this example gunmen took hostages, but one legally armed civilian exercised the 2nd amendment to save himself and others

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L8oEO_MV57I&feature=related

In the original video NTM posted, the woman owns a gun to defend herself from a violent stalker.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OkS8mdbml0A

the gun is a utility to give yourself a much greater defense, especially against attackers physically stronger than you, which is the case for many, many victims of rape. You can defend yourself with your salon-polished nails from the rapist who can bench 130 pounds, or a baretta.