G20 Protesters kill their own indirectly at Bank of England

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,371 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

edit: The video below is the one i'm talking about here.

The guy was camly strolling down the street in front of protesters. All the while, police in riot gear with attack dogs are baring down on him. Does he move out of the way? Quicken his pace even? No. He just strolled along, right until the police were near him. To me it looks as though he way trying to impede their progress or something, in a kind of (and i know this is making a giant inferrence) 'I don't care whats happening, I'm just gonna walk right through here and get in the police's way because I have a right to be here, screw yis' kinda way. If that was me I'd have gotten there ASAP. IMO he deserved to get a smack and be pushed out of the way, and he should've seen it coming. That's not to say it's not a shame he's dead. But since when does being pushed to the ground = heart attack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ixus

Video reveals G20 police assault on man who died

Exclusive footage obtained by the Guardian shows Ian Tomlinson, who died during G20 protests in London, was attacked from behind by baton–wielding police officer

The Video Clip on the Guardian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

Why do so many people have a problem with people protesting against capitilsm?

Thugs would more accurately portray these people. And as others have said, it's more or less the same crowd of useless hippies that also show up at environment and animal-rights protests. I think that's why most have a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,589 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Biggins wrote: »
    Certain details are being help back by guess who ...the police!
    Usual reasons given! Might effect any outcomes of any possible investigations, bla, bla...

BBC news link: here

Apparently on the video footage, the cop that shoved him walked away leaving him on the ground.
    He was then left to bystanders to care for him and get help.

The footage shows him being knocked down and getting back up and heading away. He also appears drunk. He collapsed after the video is shot. The officer will be disciplined but i don't see him losing his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Why do so many people have a problem with people protesting against capitilsm?

Because it's a lot easier to just make idiotic and tasteless comments like this;
    seanybiker wrote: »
    meh one whinger outta the way. Few more to collapse and ill bust meself laughing.

andrew wrote: »

The guy was camly strolling down the street in front of protesters. All the while, police in riot gear with attack dogs are baring down on him. Does he move out of the way? Quicken his pace even? No. He just strolled along, right until the police were near him. To me it looks as though he way trying to impede their progress or something, in a kind of (and i know this is making a giant inferrence) 'I don't care whats happening, I'm just gonna walk right through here and get in the police's way because I have a right to be here, screw yis' kinda way. If that was me I'd have gotten there ASAP. IMO he deserved to get a smack and be pushed out of the way, and he should've seen it coming. That's not to say it's not a shame he's dead. But since when does being pushed to the ground = heart attack?

Are you actaully saying this guy would have had the heart attack anyway?
    He had the heart attack because he was shocked from being assaulted by a police officer.

You have got to be bloody joking me.He was doing nothing and was killed by a police officer,yes KILLED.

If he had not been pushed he would not have died,simple as!

Its clear manslaughter and that officer should be spending a few years in jail at the least.Lets hope his rotten conscience sends him to killing himself with the guilt,a scumbag of the highest order if ive ever seen one.

He has to live the rest of his life knowing he killed an innocent man.
    If I did that i would go to jail and so should he.

(the fact that he had his hands in his pockets and was walking away means a huge amount.Football hooligans do this all the time,because the police cannot say you were hostile or threatening if your hands are in your pockets.So I would expect a conviction)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Cianos wrote: »
    Because it's a lot easier to just make idiotic and tasteless comments like this;
    dont be calling me an idiot girl. Im allowed have my opinion as women like yourself are. Internet tough girl. Ha ha. Would love to bump into you.

andrew wrote: »

I knows what ya mean. Would agree with ya there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Ho_hum

nitrogen wrote: »
    Thugs would more accurately portray these people. And as others have said, it's more or less the same crowd of useless hippies that also show up at environment and animal-rights protests. I think that's why most have a problem.

Oh my, what a bitter little sort you are! "Thugs", "hippies" who "show up at environment and animal-rights protests". Oh, the shame!

And what's your contribution to history, nitrogen....typing right-wing bile on messageboards? Truly, you're a hero. Zzzzzzzzzzz.

dont be calling me an idiot girl. Im allowed have my opinion as women like yourself are. Internet tough girl. Ha ha. Would love to bump into you.

I didn't call you an idiot. I said your comment was idiotic. Flexing your muscles over an internet forum? Good job. You're allowed to have your opinion of course. So are the people who protest. Or would you prefer to see more of them die so you can have a laugh?

Or would you prefer to see more of them die so you can have a laugh?
    Well they do say laughter is the best medicine so I suppose one or two more hippies keeling over could suffice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭towel401

Holy shiat people here spent the last few months moaning and bitching about the recession and when a group of people actually get off their collective arses to protest about it ye complain about them too. loike wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Are you actaully saying this guy would have had the heart attack anyway?
    He had the heart attack because he was shocked from being assaulted by a police officer.

How do you know??

Well they do say laughter is the best medicine so I suppose one or two more hippies keeling over could suffice.

And I suppose you'll be trolling their funerals too? What is it about protesting that turns your stomach so much?

They just wreck me bulb. Their not gonna get anything by standing around bitching. I suppose Im just so used to seeing taxi drivers protesting everytime someone farts, I just go against every protester.

What about the hippies and thugs who's protests gave Ireland independence? Would you rather people let themselves be heard about things they are not happy about, or just sit back and take it and bitch about it down the pub?

Oh christ how did I not see Irish independence not coming up in this. To be honest I couldnt give a fiddlers about what they done and how they are "heroes". Any time anyone brings them up in pub or anywhere I just ignore it and talk about something else cos it bores me. So no offence to you but I'm not even gonna go on about them. Ill just leave the thread get back on track about some dead dude instead of the old reliable ,sure the irish done this debate.
    Woo jeremy kyle repeat on utv now. Im just gonna watch that incase someone decides to slap the little gee bag.

Oh christ how did I not see Irish independence not coming up in this. To be honest I couldnt give a fiddlers about what they done and how they are "heroes". Any time anyone brings them up in pub or anywhere I just ignore it and talk about something else cos it bores me. So no offence to you but I'm not even gonna go on about them. Ill just leave the thread get back on track about some dead dude instead of the old reliable ,sure the irish done this debate.
    Woo jeremy kyle repeat on utv now. Im just gonna watch that incase someone decides to slap the little gee bag.

I'm not trying to elevate the status of any protester in to "hero" or make their acts or deeds "heroic", because that is propagandistic. But I'm saying that people should protest at things that they are in disagreement with. The act of protesting means an expression of contempt with how things are. The alternative is for everyone to be pissed off and trampled over but do nothing about it. Sure some protests and protesters can be patronising, but I'm glad people are concerned about how society is run and do something about their concerns.

And my point about those who fought for Irish independence was to illustrate that you're day to day life is a result of dissidence and protest. In fact you probably wouldn't have even been born if it wasn't for these things. Which allows you to lead a normal life and ironically enables you to moan about those who are today dissident and expressive of their opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Ian Tomlinson, the man who died at last week's G20 protests in London, was attacked from behind and thrown to the ground by a baton-wielding police officer in riot gear, dramatic footage obtained by the ­Guardian shows.
    Moments after the assault on ­Tomlinson was captured on video, he ­suffered a heart attack and died.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2009/apr/07/ian-tomlinson-g20-death-video

One would have thought they'd have the sense to own up straight off, after the De Menzes debacle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

Wow. That's serious, what the hell were they at?! The poor unfortunate was a newspaper seller on the way home from work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

IIMII wrote: »
    Wow. That's serious, what the hell were they at?! The poor unfortunate was a newspaper seller on the way home from work
    Just as long as he wasnt excercising his legal right to protest. We couldnt have that now.

Get your point, but the guy was minding his own business completely in his own locality. You expect trouble at those conventions, and with the way cops react over there, it wouldn't surprise me if a protestor were killed. But this guy was minding his own business, with his hands in his pockets. Sorry, but I feel exceptionally sorry for him and his family. This isn't about the protestors - he wasn't one of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Nodin wrote: »
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2009/apr/07/ian-tomlinson-g20-death-video

One would have thought they'd have the sense to own up straight off, after the De Menzes debacle.

Attacked from behind???? Death video???? Jesus wept.....The Guardian, sensationalise much do we???

It showed the video on the news last night. The dude in question was being a smart arse and walking very slowing in front of about 20 cops and two dogs with their handlers. If it were you or me we would have bloody well moved and quickly if 20 odd cops in riot gear were standing behind you with a wall of baying hippy loons directly in front of you. But our man dawdled along and got shoved (hard) in the back by a cop out of the way. He was flung forward and fell to the ground from where he started shouting at the cops.

He knew what he was doing and in my opinion deservedly got pushed out of the way for it. No doubt the cop who pushed him will be pillared and face months of investigations and lefty twats calling for him to be sacked, independent investigations, police reform, blah blah blah.

Its a shame the dude lost his life, but the cop who shoved him out of the way can hardly be blamed. All he did was push him in the back. No more no less. We have all done it to someone at some stage or other in our lives be in the school yard, on a sports field or horsing around with friends or brothers/sisters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

It's really interesting of people here to go against the left-wing stereotype of young internet posters to spew bile at G20, Corrib gas, animal rights etc protestors - you no-nonsense bunch you! ;)

Next thread: Fianna Fáil are a bunch of bastards - I'm gonna sit here and whinge about them because that'll really change things...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Attacked (...........) around with friends or brothers/sisters.

Great stuff, which doesn't address the issues.

You should really apply to the PRC for a visa. They'd love you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Attacked from behind???? Death video???? Jesus wept.....The Guardian, sensationalise much do we???

It showed the video on the news last night. The dude in question was being a smart arse and walking very slowing in front of about 20 cops and two dogs with their handlers. If it were you or me we would have bloody well moved and quickly if 20 odd cops in riot gear were standing behind you with a wall of baying hippy loons directly in front of you. But our man dawdled along and got shoved (hard) in the back by a cop out of the way. He was flung forward and fell to the ground from where he started shouting at the cops.

He knew what he was doing and in my opinion deservedly got pushed out of the way for it. No doubt the cop who pushed him will be pillared and face months of investigations and lefty twats calling for him to be sacked, independent investigations, police reform, blah blah blah.

Its a shame the dude lost his life, but the cop who shoved him out of the way can hardly be blamed. All he did was push him in the back. No more no less. We have all done it to someone at some stage or other in our lives be in the school yard, on a sports field or horsing around with friends or brothers/sisters.

The cop didn't just shove him though,he brought him down by hitting him on the back of his thigh with his baton.
    There is coverage on CCTV of this guys journey home from work.
    He wasn't involved at all.

All he did was push him in the back.
    It's quite easy to kill someone by pushing them in the back, particularly on a concrete / stone surface and moreso if the person isn't young and fit. You can't have the cops going around like marauding gangs themselves either. Anyway, there are safe ways of taking someone to the ground, and shving an over-weight, middle-aged man in the back is not one of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

looked like a totally unproportional response from our copper friends, he'll have a hard time being able to justify that by most use of force policies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Looks like a lot of naive comments on this thread. I have been confronted by such a police presence (ie herding people with dogs) at football matches and the one thing you do not do is run! You are likely to get a load of teeth marks in your leg for that.

As for the guy who celebrated his death, get a fecking life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Is is called assault. Try hitting some random person with a baton and shoving them in the back to the ground next time your out. Let's see if they accept your 'I was only pushing you out of my way' excuse?