Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

G20 Protesters kill their own indirectly at Bank of England

• 02-04-2009 7:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

LINK

Cruel irony.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Bunch of fúcking retards tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

According to one protester at the scene the man was in his 30s and died of natural causes

He wasnt high on drugs then :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

cause a little mayhem pick up the dole or head back to college - ****tards :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Yo Mamma

The Ironing is Delicious !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

G20 ARE P EABRAIN s (pic 7)

Good on them for protesting, at least they aren't sitting on their fat holes bitching and whinging on the internet. The only problem is is that there are too many causes they are shouting for. They should band together collectivley, one cause at a time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Photi

BeerWolf wrote: »
    LINK

Cruel irony.

What's ironic about it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Did they actually KILL him or where they partly responsible for causing his NATURAL death?
    The fact that he was in a crowd of possibly crushing people was not adventagous to his health but to say the protesters actually killed him - in the face of the already available medical evidence - might be a complete jump too early.
    To be honest I'd wait for any toxicology, cardiac or other fuller medical reports before I'd feel assured that the other protesters actually directly KILLED him.
    I suspect they might have been condusive to his death but take into account that the media also likes to hype things!
    Wouldn't be the first time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Oh dear. One less unemployed college graduate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Photi wrote: »
    What's ironic about it?
    Biggins wrote: »
    Did they actually KILL him or where they partly responsible for causing his NATURAL death?
    The fact that he was in a crowd of possibly crushing people was not adventagous to his health but to say the protesters actually killed him - in the face of the already available medical evidence - might be a complete jump too early.

That the protestors were hurling 'missles' at those trying to help him, and the ambulance, preventing him at getting to the hospital sooner - thus indirectly killing him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

I have to laugh. The crony capitalists rob you all blind and AH spews its bile at a few crusties who stand up to them.

As Jim Morrison said 'Youre all a bunch of ****ing slaves'

I noted that Russle Brand was there yesterday. Some might have hoped it was him.
    Sadly, they will be disappointed.

Never mind, there is still two more days to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

CiaranC wrote: »
    I have to laugh. The crony capitalists rob you all blind and AH spews its bile at a few crusties who stand up to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I suspect they might have been condusive to his death but take into account that the media also likes to hype things!
    Wouldn't be the first time!

Exactly.

Now look what they've done, Protesters are the Devil. Lets all just vent our frustrations at football matches instead.

BeerWolf wrote: »
    That the protesters were hurling 'missles' at those trying to help him, and the ambulance, preventing him at getting to the hospital sooner - thus indirectly killing him?

While they definitely didn't help by their actions, prior to that happening there was obviously a medical problem with the poor man.
    The surrounding stone throwing protesters exacerbated his health medical problem by causing a possible delay in treatment but the initial root cause of the health concern was there first to begin with.

Definitely, the other protesters didn't do the poor man any favors by their follow-up actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Meh, I'll reserve judgement until the doctors report is out.

UPDATE: Footage has emerged of a man apparently being pushed to the ground by a police officer shortly before he collapsed and died from a heart attack.

So at its turning out - he wasn't killed by the actual protesters!

LINK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

CiaranC wrote: »

G20 protesters are mostly despised as rent-a-mob, here-for-the-beer and an un-organised waste. G20 protest is not protesting in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

UPDATE: Footage has emerged of a man apparently being pushed to the ground by a police officer shortly before he collapsed and died from a heart attack.

So at its turning out - he wasn't killed by the actual protesters!

LINK

Unfortunately what that video doesn't show is when he collapsed after he had a heart attack. What happened then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

G20 protesters are mostly despised as rent-a-mob, here-for-the-beer and an un-organised waste

I thought 200,000 people on the streets of Genoa at the G8 was actually not so much 'rent-a-mob' as a strong coalition of grassroots organisations, trade unions and ordinary working people.The same to the G8 and G20 demos in Paris, Japan, Canada and elsewhere.

The G8/G20 protests are not hippy 'reclaim the streets' hangabouts. They tend to be the only protests (along with IMF/WTO demos) where huge critical masses of people take to the streets in such fashion.

London was 20 journos to every activist with one broken window being hailed as some kind of 'victory'- thats their problem. They lacked the widespread support of similar demos in Genoa, Athens, Paris etc. in recent times. Thats a cultural thing. Was it a hang around and get drunk party? Not in the slightest.
    rent-a-mob, here-for-the-beer and an un-organised waste

That actually sounds more like Geldofs 'lets have a sing song in a field and get drunk for Africa' MakePovertyHistory Piss Up in Edinburgh during the Gleneagles Summit. I think a few thousand people were at the Gleneagles gates protesting at the same time, and making the international media pay attention too.

dsmythy wrote: »
    Unfortunately what that video doesn't show is when he collapsed after he had a heart attack. What happened then?

Certain details are being help back by guess who ...the police!
    Usual reasons given! Might effect any outcomes of any possible investigations, bla, bla...

BBC news link: here

Apparently on the video footage, the cop that shoved him walked away leaving him on the ground.
    He was then left to bystanders to care for him and get help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

The guy had his hands in his pockets and was walking past the police when one of them took him down with his stick.
    Looked like he hit him on the back of the legs.
    Certainly did not look like there was any provocation at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

meh one whinger outta the way. Few more to collapse and ill bust meself laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭hopalong85

seanybiker wrote: »
    meh one whinger outta the way. Few more to collapse and ill bust meself laughing.

pretty tasteless. have to say, i have a lot more respect for so called whingers who actually get up off their ass and protest in the real world than people who cry and moan on internet forums. a lot of the people who moan and b1tch about fianna fail/bankers etc. on boards, are the exact same people who'll sign into boards and bash the 'crusty dirty unemployed bum' protestors. go figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

he wasn't a protester. CCTV footage has shown he as walking home from work, and was directed into an area by a police cordon where he was then assulted by the cops, was picked up by others, walked around the corner and then died....
    by hey, why let the truth get in your way of cheap laughs at dead people....

he wasn't a protester. CCTV footage has shown he as walking home from work, and was directed into an area by a police cordon where he was then assulted by the cops, was picked up by others, walked around the corner and then died....
    by hey, why let the truth get in your way of cheap laughs at dead people....
    Ah well thats totally different then. Didnt look at cctv cos im using me phone to browse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

Yeah, it's far too easy to whinge on the internet than it to actually get off your arse and take to the streets.

People in general are far too ambivalent about the sham of a government we have, and that's why we'll keep getting screwed over. I'm far from an anarchist but maybe it's time to make a bit more noise. Those smug TDs would move their fat arses a lot quicker if there were a bloodthirsty, molotov-cocktail wielding mob outside Leinster House baying for blood and planning on a Caeucescu-style ending for those who sold our state and everyone in it to property developers.

/rant, it's been a trying day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Did you even read the last few posts mate??

Put it this way, I was chearing on Robocop from the Irish reclaim the streets protests when I saw the footage. Reveling in each swing of the baton. Thats what you get when you wreck shopfronts, throw bottles and spit in the faces of the Gardai.

This however was pure unprovoked unadulteraded police brutality. Did the copper think he was going to cause the guy a heart attack? No. The copper shouldn't have pushed a guy with his hands in his pockets because he should have thought he'd crack his skull open on the ground and kill or paralyse him. Its actually amazing that the fall didn't kill him but a heart attack later.

No protester deserves to die no matter how much I detest their ilk. A few whacks in the back with a baton YES, death NO. This guy wasn't even a protester.

I should also clarify that I have no problem with peacefull 'issues' protesters at all, but Generally the G** and reclaim the streets protesters are just a bunch of anarchists out for a bit of mayhem and agro with the police and I don't shed a tear when they succeed in getting agro from the police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭Seifer

According to sky news he was not a protester, he was on his way home from work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭Allah Hu Akbar

Why do so many people have a problem with people protesting against capitilsm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Seifer wrote: »
    According to sky news he was not a protester, he was on his way home from work.

He was, and they have the CCTV footage to prove it.
    It was definitely an unprovoked attack by the police officer.
    An American over there on business recorded it and it is there for all to see.
    I can't see them talking their way out of it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

edit: The video below is the one i'm talking about here.

The guy was camly strolling down the street in front of protesters. All the while, police in riot gear with attack dogs are baring down on him. Does he move out of the way? Quicken his pace even? No. He just strolled along, right until the police were near him. To me it looks as though he way trying to impede their progress or something, in a kind of (and i know this is making a giant inferrence) 'I don't care whats happening, I'm just gonna walk right through here and get in the police's way because I have a right to be here, screw yis' kinda way. If that was me I'd have gotten there ASAP. IMO he deserved to get a smack and be pushed out of the way, and he should've seen it coming. That's not to say it's not a shame he's dead. But since when does being pushed to the ground = heart attack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ixus

Video reveals G20 police assault on man who died

Exclusive footage obtained by the Guardian shows Ian Tomlinson, who died during G20 protests in London, was attacked from behind by baton–wielding police officer

The Video Clip on the Guardian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

Thugs would more accurately portray these people. And as others have said, it's more or less the same crowd of useless hippies that also show up at environment and animal-rights protests. I think that's why most have a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Certain details are being help back by guess who ...the police!
    Usual reasons given! Might effect any outcomes of any possible investigations, bla, bla...

BBC news link: here

Apparently on the video footage, the cop that shoved him walked away leaving him on the ground.
    He was then left to bystanders to care for him and get help.

The footage shows him being knocked down and getting back up and heading away. He also appears drunk. He collapsed after the video is shot. The officer will be disciplined but i don't see him losing his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Because it's a lot easier to just make idiotic and tasteless comments like this;

andrew wrote: »

The guy was camly strolling down the street in front of protesters. All the while, police in riot gear with attack dogs are baring down on him. Does he move out of the way? Quicken his pace even? No. He just strolled along, right until the police were near him. To me it looks as though he way trying to impede their progress or something, in a kind of (and i know this is making a giant inferrence) 'I don't care whats happening, I'm just gonna walk right through here and get in the police's way because I have a right to be here, screw yis' kinda way. If that was me I'd have gotten there ASAP. IMO he deserved to get a smack and be pushed out of the way, and he should've seen it coming. That's not to say it's not a shame he's dead. But since when does being pushed to the ground = heart attack?

Are you actaully saying this guy would have had the heart attack anyway?
    He had the heart attack because he was shocked from being assaulted by a police officer.

You have got to be bloody joking me.He was doing nothing and was killed by a police officer,yes KILLED.

If he had not been pushed he would not have died,simple as!

Its clear manslaughter and that officer should be spending a few years in jail at the least.Lets hope his rotten conscience sends him to killing himself with the guilt,a scumbag of the highest order if ive ever seen one.

He has to live the rest of his life knowing he killed an innocent man.
    If I did that i would go to jail and so should he.

(the fact that he had his hands in his pockets and was walking away means a huge amount.Football hooligans do this all the time,because the police cannot say you were hostile or threatening if your hands are in your pockets.So I would expect a conviction)

Cianos wrote: »
    Because it's a lot easier to just make idiotic and tasteless comments like this;
    dont be calling me an idiot girl. Im allowed have my opinion as women like yourself are. Internet tough girl. Ha ha. Would love to bump into you.

andrew wrote: »

I knows what ya mean. Would agree with ya there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Ho_hum

nitrogen wrote: »
    Thugs would more accurately portray these people. And as others have said, it's more or less the same crowd of useless hippies that also show up at environment and animal-rights protests. I think that's why most have a problem.

Oh my, what a bitter little sort you are! "Thugs", "hippies" who "show up at environment and animal-rights protests". Oh, the shame!

And what's your contribution to history, nitrogen....typing right-wing bile on messageboards? Truly, you're a hero. Zzzzzzzzzzz.

dont be calling me an idiot girl. Im allowed have my opinion as women like yourself are. Internet tough girl. Ha ha. Would love to bump into you.

I didn't call you an idiot. I said your comment was idiotic. Flexing your muscles over an internet forum? Good job. You're allowed to have your opinion of course. So are the people who protest. Or would you prefer to see more of them die so you can have a laugh?

Or would you prefer to see more of them die so you can have a laugh?
    Well they do say laughter is the best medicine so I suppose one or two more hippies keeling over could suffice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

Holy shiat people here spent the last few months moaning and bitching about the recession and when a group of people actually get off their collective arses to protest about it ye complain about them too. loike wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Are you actaully saying this guy would have had the heart attack anyway?
    He had the heart attack because he was shocked from being assaulted by a police officer.

How do you know??

Well they do say laughter is the best medicine so I suppose one or two more hippies keeling over could suffice.

And I suppose you'll be trolling their funerals too? What is it about protesting that turns your stomach so much?

They just wreck me bulb. Their not gonna get anything by standing around bitching. I suppose Im just so used to seeing taxi drivers protesting everytime someone farts, I just go against every protester.

What about the hippies and thugs who's protests gave Ireland independence? Would you rather people let themselves be heard about things they are not happy about, or just sit back and take it and bitch about it down the pub?

Oh christ how did I not see Irish independence not coming up in this. To be honest I couldnt give a fiddlers about what they done and how they are "heroes". Any time anyone brings them up in pub or anywhere I just ignore it and talk about something else cos it bores me. So no offence to you but I'm not even gonna go on about them. Ill just leave the thread get back on track about some dead dude instead of the old reliable ,sure the irish done this debate.
    Woo jeremy kyle repeat on utv now. Im just gonna watch that incase someone decides to slap the little gee bag.

Oh christ how did I not see Irish independence not coming up in this. To be honest I couldnt give a fiddlers about what they done and how they are "heroes". Any time anyone brings them up in pub or anywhere I just ignore it and talk about something else cos it bores me. So no offence to you but I'm not even gonna go on about them. Ill just leave the thread get back on track about some dead dude instead of the old reliable ,sure the irish done this debate.
    Woo jeremy kyle repeat on utv now. Im just gonna watch that incase someone decides to slap the little gee bag.

I'm not trying to elevate the status of any protester in to "hero" or make their acts or deeds "heroic", because that is propagandistic. But I'm saying that people should protest at things that they are in disagreement with. The act of protesting means an expression of contempt with how things are. The alternative is for everyone to be pissed off and trampled over but do nothing about it. Sure some protests and protesters can be patronising, but I'm glad people are concerned about how society is run and do something about their concerns.

And my point about those who fought for Irish independence was to illustrate that you're day to day life is a result of dissidence and protest. In fact you probably wouldn't have even been born if it wasn't for these things. Which allows you to lead a normal life and ironically enables you to moan about those who are today dissident and expressive of their opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Ian Tomlinson, the man who died at last week's G20 protests in London, was attacked from behind and thrown to the ground by a baton-wielding police officer in riot gear, dramatic footage obtained by the ­Guardian shows.
    Moments after the assault on ­Tomlinson was captured on video, he ­suffered a heart attack and died.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2009/apr/07/ian-tomlinson-g20-death-video

One would have thought they'd have the sense to own up straight off, after the De Menzes debacle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

Wow. That's serious, what the hell were they at?! The poor unfortunate was a newspaper seller on the way home from work